Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Banter Lads!Wey!

• 07-06-2011 4:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭

Hey

Just wanna clear things up, I'm aware I'm in the Ladies Lounge so my voice is a little nervous, k.

I've made a few observations upon my nightly adventures (and other contexts) on the whole mating interaction. Btw, this is Dublin only, if you're from the shticks ...then sorry about that! Haha ha ha.....ha. (this doesnt apply to you sexy womens beyond the pale)

So there I am trying to have the 'Bant', the 'Craic', basically trying to look like every song was personally written about my triumphs in life. All the Woohing and the Weheying and the Hahaha'ing. I did this for a reason.
    I notice that women seem intoxicated by the lad who's roaring and laughing his ass off, talking crap, half his craic on display, making the most stupid observations, basically a symphony of bullsh*t spewing in her direction. Just acting the boll*x.
    What I dont get is that she loves this. Shes there like "wow, this peice of crap likes me, I cant believe it!". There's no wit btw, just eejitary. Think of an eejit....right, there. Thats what I'm talking about.

Also, it fits together when I see relaxed, what seem like decent, cool lads pretty much alone. I've got a good friend, handsome, witty, intelligent, good fun but kinda shy. He gets very little compared to these complete twits that sometimes come out with us. When I see other cultures this doesnt seem to be an issue. In fact, most other cultures tend to be a bit more subdued than ourselves and the somewhat shy/introspective lad still seems to have a niche. He's still respected and has a part in the social interactions including women. I've met plenty of couples from abroad where the fella has a sense of humour, has charm etc but doesnt need to act "the wag".

What is it about yobs thats so endearing? Its not some spiteful observation as I've gotten this from many others. Is a more laid back, easy going guy that repulsive and uninteresting here in Dublin? And I'm not shaming either, whatever the heart desires so be it. I think as Irish people we have some great qualities that other countries dont come close to but this particular traite boggles the mind.

What impressions do women get from a more subdued guy than the yob? There are times where women walk away as if they're some beggar. With the yob its like some Oedipus Complex, like shes regressing into some infant while the fella is some Clown. I dont get it. I cant even pretend to be interested in these idiots if I'm in there company yet, ha, 2 secs later they are face to face with a very pretty woman.:confused:.

Of course, I expect the usual on this thread but I'm not biting. Its plain curiousity:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Lavezzi

You see, we are living in a technologically advanced age. We as humans are so far from our natural state that our perceptions of ourselves and of reality are completely mixed up. One aspect of this is gender roles. Previously, almost all jobs were those of manual labor. Advances in technology have changed this and resulted in women being equally, if not more capable as men in the work place. Women rightfully had their liberation and no longer depend on men the way they used to.

Now, what does this have to do with the issue at hand? Well you see much of women's natural attraction to men was tied into the fact that they were dependent on them. When you remove that dependency, it mixes up the basis of how women judge their potential partners. Women no longer judge on how much a man could help them survive but more on how they can help further their sense of self-importance by being with what is perceived to be the most important mate in their surroundings e.g. the loudest and most obnoxious. That's the gist of my take on it anyway. Hope this helps.