Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford vs Limerick Munster Hurling Semi-Final

• 07-06-2011 3:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

Right, now the summer really begins :)

waterford.jpg vs limerick.jpg

Date 12.06.11

Time 16.00

Venue Semple Stadium, Thurles

WATERFORD

Possible team
    1. Clinton Hennessy
    2. Darragh Fives
    3. Wayne Hutchinson
    4. Noel Connors
    5. Tony Browne
    6. Michael 'Brick' Walsh
    7. Jamie Nagle
    8. Kevin Moran
    9. Richie Foley
    10. Eoin Kelly/Pauric Mahony
    11. Shane O'Sullivan
    12. Stephen Molumphy
    13. John Mullane
    14. Shane Walsh
    15. Maurice Shanahan/Brian O'Sullivan

Key Player
    Shane Walsh - You wouldn't have thought so a few months ago, but after a fantastic end to the league campaign Waterford now have their first genuine goal threat under Davy Fitz. Scored 3-8 from play in his final 3 league games and has put in the performances beforehand to go with it. Championship goals have been hard to come by under Davy so his play around the square could make all the difference.
    inpho_00505456.jpg

Manager
    Davy Fitzgerald - Love him or hate him, the one thing you cannot question is his dedication. Some in these parts feel Davy's brought the team as far as he could, but the fact remains that a Munster Championship, an All-Ireland final appearance and 2 semi-finals represents a decent return for what many pundits felt was a finished team. Has blooded youngsters well in his tenure, but questions remain about his tactical nuance and many Deise faithful will be expecting progress once again this term.
    000192ee189r.jpg

LIMERICK

Confirmed team
    1. Nickie Quaid
    2. Damien Reale
    3. Seamus Hickey
    4. Tom Condon
    5. Wayne McNamara
    6. Brian Geary
    7. Gavin O'Mahony
    8. Donal O'Grady
    9. Paul Browne
    10. James Ryan
    11. Richie McCarthy
    12. Niall Moran
    13. Sean Tobin
    14. Kevin Downes
    15. Graeme Mulcahy

Key Player
    Seamus Hickey - It's hard to believe it's been 5 years since the 07 Young Hurler of the Year first burst on the scene. Assuming he gets over his heel injury and makes the XV, he'll be up against what many feel is a weak Waterford half-forward line and needs to assert his dominance from the outset. This is a young Limerick team so as one of the more experienced panel members (at the ripe old age of 23) will need all the leadership qualities to go with it.
    000251f8189r.jpg

Manager
    Donal O'Grady - The Cork man returns for his first Championship outing in nearly 7 years, and will know all about Browne, Brick and co. having managed against them twice in his 2 years with the Rebels. Has succeeded in his first task having guided a broken team back into the 1st division of the NHL, but it's a coveted Munster final appearance (only their 2nd in 9 years) that would mark significant progress under Donal and full closure on the disaster that was 2010.
    0003b653189r.jpg

Last 5 Championship meetings
    2009 Waterford 0-25 Limerick 0-17 (Munster SF replay)
    2009 Waterford 0-11 Limerick 1-08 (Munster SF)
    2007 Limerick 5-11 Waterford 2-15 (All-Ireland SF)
    2007 Waterford 3-17 Limerick 1-14 (Munster final)
    2003 Waterford 1-12 Limerick 0-13 (Munster SF replay)

Did you know...
    Since the turn of the century, only Tipp have a better goals per game ratio against Waterford than Limerick do. The Shannonsiders have averaged over 2 goals a game in their 7 Championship encounters with the Deise since 2000.

Also if you ever thought it was a young man's game, spare a thought for Tony Browne. When Tony made his Waterford debut, Limerick full-forward Kevin Downes wasn't even born. If someone can scan the history books and find out if that has ever happened in a Munster hurling game before that'd be cool :)

Betting
    Waterford 4/9
    Limerick 2/1
    Draw 10/1

Prediction
    A valiant effort by Limerick's young-guns and will give the Deise an almighty test, but Waterford's better blend of youth and experience should see them over the line with 4-5 to spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Are you a journalist Daysha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

Gotta say I fancy the Treaty men for this one! Are the up and coming team of Munster and Waterford have some guys who I feel have gone to the well too many times to mention. Should be an absolute cracker next Sunday. Thoroughly looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Declan Hannon will not be playing for Limerick on Sunday anyway, he will be in the middle of doing his Leaving Cert

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0607/limerick_hannon.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Good man Daysha. Thought the forum was getting a bit quiet recently so good to see a bit of effort thrown into the thread as opposed to the usual "Predictions Lads" :D

Well Hannon won't be starting anyway since he's doing his leaving cert so that'll be a massive loss straight away. I have no clue what the starting team will be but I'm hearing Geary is hurling some good stuff these days so he might start at centre back and talk of Hickey going to full back. These are probably just rumors mind.

Personally I'd be amazed if Breen starts at wing back. Thought he was very poor against Clare and felt he nearly cost us the game. Mullane could do serious damage against us like he did two years ago on that rotten day in Thurles. I reckon Hannon's teacher Niall Moran might get the nod for this game but I really don't know.

As long as we are competitive I'll be happy enough. Very young team and all that jazz. I never expect us to win any games in Munster so when we do it's a pleasant surprise. I wouldn't back Limerick at 2/1 though. No way are they a 33% chance to win this game. Looking forward to the battle and I hope its better than the stuff I had to suffer through on Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Browney7 wrote: »
    Good man Daysha. Thought the forum was getting a bit quiet recently so good to see a bit of effort thrown into the thread as opposed to the usual "Predictions Lads" :D

Well Hannon won't be starting anyway since he's doing his leaving cert so that'll be a massive loss straight away. I have no clue what the starting team will be but I'm hearing Geary is hurling some good stuff these days so he might start at centre back and talk of Hickey going to full back. These are probably just rumors mind.

Personally I'd be amazed if Breen starts at wing back. Thought he was very poor against Clare and felt he nearly cost us the game. Mullane could do serious damage against us like he did two years ago on that rotten day in Thurles. I reckon Hannon's teacher Niall Moran might get the nod for this game but I really don't know.

As long as we are competitive I'll be happy enough. Very young team and all that jazz. I never expect us to win any games in Munster so when we do it's a pleasant surprise. I wouldn't back Limerick at 2/1 though. No way are they a 33% chance to win this game. Looking forward to the battle and I hope its better than the stuff I had to suffer through on Saturday night.

Yeah Hannon's not playing, I'd expect Niall Moran to replace him. He's a good player who can get scores and I think he should be starting in any case, along with Hannon. Tommy O'Brien is another option, I like him.

Full-back is the problem position really...O'Mahoney played there for most of the league but he's a much better wing-back and it showed in the league final against a better forward line.
    Hickey isn't a full-back either. I'm not even sure at him centre-back, he's a hugely talented player but might be better suited to wing-back or even midfield.
    Lucey is injured but I wouldn't start him there anyway.
    David Breen is an option because of his height and he played there last year but you'd wonder is he good enough.
    And we could always put Richie McCarthy back there but O'Grady seems to like him as a forward.
    There were rumours Geary would either start full-back or play centre-back with Hickey at full-back. Geary's a magnificent hurler, a true legend. Not the quickest but a very dominating centre-back so I wouldn't be sad to see him start.

So it's very hard to know what will happen. You say David Breen was a weak link, I think Wayne Mac is too. Works hard but I don't think he's good enough to be an inter-country wing-back. A half-back line of O'Mahoney-Geary-Hickey would be extremely strong, but then you'd wonder who plays full-back.

As for the match, Waterford are deserved favourites but we do have a chance. If we get good ball into Downes, Tobin and Mulcahy- they are all very skilful players who will score, particularly Downes. If we take our frees when they come and manage to get some sort of hold on Mullane, there are possibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Are you a journalist Daysha?

I try to be, but that's for another day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

Very nervous about this one. man to man I think Waterford should just about shade it but I am a big admirer of Donal O´Grady & I think he might just have a plan that we will struggle to beat. Why oh Why couldn´t we get (afford!!!!) O´Grady?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

comeraghs wrote: »
    Very nervous about this one. man to man I think Waterford should just about shade it but I am a big admirer of Donal O´Grady & I think he might just have a plan that we will struggle to beat. Why oh Why couldn´t we get (afford!!!!) O´Grady?

I'm thinking along the same lines. I think he will have Limerick set up right and will push waterford all the way. 10/1 for a draw could be worth a shilling or two, it could be that tight.

If Waterford could afford Fitzgerald I'd say they could have afforded O'Grady. I'd see it was his ego that stopped him from managing Waterford job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Have a feeling deep down that Limerick will scrape a victory and Waterford could head for an early summer

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Have a feeling deep down that Limerick will scrape a victory and Waterford could head for an early summer

Even if we do beat Waterford, it will most likely be through the shock factor, and them being caught unprepared. I would fancy them to beat any of the Leinster semi-finalists, even Dublin/Galway.

I think we look in better shape than we have done in the past few year and will go from strength to strength this year and be close again this year (please god let us be more than close this year-I'm getting sick of just being close). Sunday could be a slow start and a close run affair but I'd see some thing similar to Clare last year with a late surge seeing us win with 5 points to spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I think Limerick are a huge banana skin here, they'll be absolutely fired up to the nines for their first chsmpionship game back as a full panel since the strike - look how that propelled Cork last season vs Tipp. Waterford will have to be shrp and fired up to win this. I could even see a draw, Waterford have a habit of being in tight games and have had a few draws in Munster the last couple of years.

The last thing we need is to be going into qualifiers vs Galway or Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

which ends are the supporters at?
    am i right in saying waterford have the town end?

If the 2 ends are open Limerick will have the Town End I'd imagine. At least they did when they played in the Munster final in 2007 and the semi in 2009. Limerick always get the Town end in Thurles for matches these days except when they play Cork but we havn't played Cork in the Championship with a proper team for years.

Yeah similarly Waterford are nearly always in the Killinan End. The only match I can recall where both stands were open and we were placed in the Town End was the Clare game in 2004 (although that one ended up pretty well!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

I don't think Bus Eireann are running a bus to Thurles, rang them today and asked them and they said they don't know if they are running a bus, and only 4 days before the game. Rapid Express aren't running a bus either. If anyone knows of any buses going from Waterford or Tramore could ye let me know. I don't have a car so can't go to the game unless I can get on a bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

If Waterford are in the right frame of mind, they should win this match with a few points to spare. Limerick will give it their all, but you have to take into account that they were playing Division 2 hurling for all of the Spring and will not be up to the pace of Waterford.

I'm not saying that Limerick won't win, but they will have to set up their team to keep the game tight and physical. If they go mout and try to play stylish hurling with Waterford, then I'm afraid to say they will loose well If they keep it tight and frustrate Waterford, then Limerick have a very good chance.

Daysha wrote: »
    Yeah similarly Waterford are nearly always in the Killinan End. The only match I can recall where both stands were open and we were placed in the Town End was the Clare game in 2004 (although that one ended up pretty well!)

I am utterly useless with ends, were we not in the town end for 2007 munster final..........

O Riain wrote: »
    I am utterly useless with ends, were we not in the town end for 2007 munster final..........

No, Killinan

Yeah the Killinan is behind the goal on the left when watching a game on TV.

I was actually in the terrace for that game.....

Looks like it might not matter in the end!
    Admission Prices –
    Covered Stand – €30
    Uncovered Stand – €25
    Terrace (Town End Terrace only) – €15 (note – the estimated terrace attendance requires the opening of the Town End terrace only).
    Group Terrace Tickets – €10 each with a minimum order of 20 tickets per Club
    Family – Adult €30 / €25 – Juveniles €5
    Juvenile Groups – There will be a limited number of Juvenile Group Stand tickets available for this game – €3 per Juvenile with a free Adult with every 10 children. Orders through clubs only in the participating counties.
    Adult Group Stand Tickets – Tickets at the end of both stands – €25 per person ordered only through clubs – minimum order per Club is 10.
    Student/OAP – Concession on Stand Tickets only – pay full price and get a refund of €10 at specified Stiles on the day (on production of I.D.)

http://munster.gaa.ie/2011/06/06/munster-senior-hurling-championship-limerick-v-waterford/

That's rather annoying, but €15 is some value for money. Would always choose terrace over stands anyway but they're obviously not expecting that big of a crowd.

I was wondering would they do that. With only 30,000 at the Tipp vs Cork game you'd have to be anticipating a further depleted crowd for this game.

I dont understand why they dont just drop the prices, it looks bad on tv having only a half filled stadium, reduces atmosphere and make it less attractive overall. Terrace 10 euro and stand 20 simple as! they have good deals if you have a family or whatever etc but what about the lone ranger wanting to buy a single ticket, its crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

Has either team being named yet lads?

This has the potential to be a right classic....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

Excellent Preview Daysha, I think that Limerick will be a stern test, but I am not thinking they will cause a shock the Deise boys will go far this year and this will be the first successful step along the way. Limerick will be with us untill the 50th minute but we will pull away.

Is Sean Tobin from Limerick an ex-WIT....or was that his bigger brother??

Blue Magic wrote: »
    Has either team being named yet lads?

This has the potential to be a right classic....

No teams yet. Should be class.

Reading the Limerick Leader today, they predict Condon at full-back and Moloney in the corner...but they also have Paul Browne in the team and I'm almost sure he's injured.

And Martin Kiely said that Declan Prendergast is one of Waterford's best forwards and will be a huge attacking threat for them. :confused: Am I missing something or is he an idiot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

No trains from to Thurles for the match either, well there is, but you have to get a 9am train (Wateford-Kildare-Thurles) which takes 4 hours to reach Thurles. You can then get the return train at 5.20pm (before the game is finished) for another 4 hour trip back to Waterford. Fcuk it anyway.

Munster Council says it's expecting 25,000 people to attend:
    http://www.wlrfm.com/news-and-sport/waterford-sport/25849.html

So yeah, the Limerick team:

1. Nicky Quaid (Effin)
    2. Damien Reale (Hospital Herbertstwn)
    3. Seamus Hickey (Murroe Boher)
    4. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
    5. Wayne McNamara (Adare)
    6. Brian Geary (Monaleen)
    7. Gavin O'Mahoney (Kilmallock Capt)
    8. Donal O'Grady (Granagh/Ballingarry)
    9. Paul Browne (Bruff)
    10. James Ryan (Garryspillane)
    11. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
    12. Niall Moran (Ahane)
    13. Sean Tobin (Murroe Boher)
    14. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)
    15. Graham Mulcahy (Kilmallock)

Taking into account that we're missing Hannon and Lucey, I suppose it's one of the strongest teams we could have put out.

Quaid's a fine goalie, first Championship game in goals but I'd say he'll be okay.

Full-back was a question mark and they've chosen Hickey. I prefer him further up the field, he's a superb hurler but I suppose he could do a job. Reale and Condon are excellent corner-backs and we've got Razor and David Moloney as backup.

Geary's back in at centre-back, some were saying he could be put to full-back (could still happen). I've always liked him, good hurler. O'Mahoney's an excellent wing-back but I'm not sure about Wayne Mac. I really don't think he's good enough for Championship. Hopefully he'll prove me wrong...and bar playing Hickey there, the only other option atm seems to be Breen. Maybe Razor? Still he's solid enough I suppose.

Midfield is good. Paul Browne was supposed to be injured, it's good that he's starting and Donal O'Grady has been one of our most consistent players over the last few years. No real worries there. Eoin Ryan would have come in if Browne was out.

Slight worries about this line. Hannon's missing which is a blow because he's class though he's only young. Moran has come in which I think is a good thing, very experienced player, good hurler and is able to take his scores. James Ryan willl work hard and can pop up with scores, doesn't always excel though. Richie McCarthy.....I thought he might go to full-back, I'm still not certain about him as a forward. Bit inconsistent but he's there for his free-taking. I'd have liked to see Eoin Ryan or Tommy O'Brien on the wing with James Ryan at centre-forward, and Eoin Ryan could have taken free-taking duties. Hopefully McCarthy will play well.

I like the full-forward line. If they get god ball, they can do damage. All very young, quick, very skilful hurlers. Hopefully they won't be pushed around the place. Downes is class, I've got huge hopes for him to really perform. Tobin is a goal threat, always a danger. Mulcahy is very very skilful and will generally be threat but sometimes drifts out of the game. We need all three of them to perform.

We have a chance, we'll have a gameplan...hopefully we can cause an upset but I wouldn't bet on it.

We have a confirmed Waterford team on a Thursday night! :eek:

C.Hennessy
    D.Fives
    W.Hutchinson
    N.Connors
    T.Browne
    Brick
    K.Moran
    R.Foley
    S.O'Sullivan
    M.Shanahan
    S.Molumphy
    P.Mahony
    J.Mullane
    S.Walsh
    B.O'Sullivan

Well I'm very happy with that team. 90% positive Shane and Molumphy will trade positions but after that it's as lined up. I would've preferred Moran in midfield but he does a decent job at wing-back and as harsh as it may sounds I'm really happy Nagle isn't starting there instead. In fact on paper that's a seriously strong half-back line, but that'll be worth nothing if Davy reverts to the 2 man full forward line and Limerick go right over them a la Tipp last year.

I wonder who'll take over free duty instead of Kelly. Either Foley or Maurice will do a grand job but given he played more league games Foley probably should get it.

Also 4 players making their Championship debut, and 2 of them are in the FB line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Has Wayne McNamara improved dramatically or something? The few times I saw him play he was absolute dirt.

C.Hennessy
    D.Fives
    W.Hutchinson
    N.Connors
    T.Browne
    Brick
    K.Moran
    R.Foley
    S.O'Sullivan
    M.Shanahan
    S.Molumphy
    P.Mahony
    Mullane
    S.Walsh
    B.O'Sullivan

Well I'm very happy with that team. 90% positive Shane and Molumphy will trade positions but after that it's as lined up. I would've preferred Moran in midfield but he does a decent job at wing-back and as harsh as it may sounds I'm really happy Nagle isn't starting there instead. In fact on paper that's a seriously strong half-back line, but that'll be worth nothing if Davy reverts to the 2 man full forward line and Limerick go right over them a la Tipp last year.

I wonder who'll take over free duty instead of Kelly. Either Foley or Maurice will do a grand job but given he played more league games Foley probably should get it.

Also 4 players making their Championship debut, and 2 of them are in the FB line.

Pretty strong team alright. I'd say we should take advantage of the inexperience in your full-back line but 2 of our players are making their debuts in our full-forward line.

And this may be underestimating your forwards, I think that while they're all talented, you only have 1 top class player there. For the others...I'd say it is possible for our backs to win their battles. Midfield battle should be interesting too, I think it's pretty even. I'm worried that our half-forwards will get cleaned out though and with the short hand-passing game a lot relies on them. I hope we just hit quick, direct ball into the full-forwards, it's our best hope.
    Aidric wrote: »
    Has Wayne McNamara improved dramatically or something? The few times I saw him play he was absolute dirt.

And no, he hasn't. Same as he ever was. He's a workhorse, I'll admit but not the quickest and talent-wise, I don't rate him. At all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

C.Hennessy
    D.Fives
    W.Hutchinson
    N.Connors
    T.Browne
    Brick
    K.Moran
    R.Foley
    S.O'Sullivan
    M.Shanahan
    S.Molumphy
    P.Mahony
    Mullane
    S.Walsh
    B.O'Sullivan

Happy with that team myself and I agree that Sully and Molumphy will definitely swap positions. I think it'd make more sense for the more physical Sully to be marked by Brian Geary than the smaller frame of Molumphy. Molumphy will do his best work at midfield and win a lot of dirty ball hopefully.

Foley I reckon will take frees/65's. I hope the lads making their debuts (Fives, Hutchinson, Mahony and Brian O'Sullivan) go well and I've confidence in them doing so. Few decent options on the bench too to call upon.

Has the makings of being a good game, I hope the weather doesn't spoil it as a spectacle. Sick of going to Thurles and getting p!ssed on and unfortunately it looks like Sunday we'll have rain.:(

I'm delighted to discover that after a bit of calculating, the average age of that starting XV is the shockingly high number of 24, and that's with a 38 year old thrown in the mix. That's younger than both the Tipperary and Kilkenny sides lined out in their first Championship match of the year.

Maybe them pundits can stick their 'ageing side' theories up their hole once and for all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

The weather doesn't look too good for Sunday though... just like in the scrappy drawn game from two years ago, when it lashed down. :(
    Met &#201 wrote: »
    On Saturday night, most areas will be dry at first, but rain will spread from the southwest in over Munster, Connacht and most of Leinster by morning, with some heavy bursts in the southwest. Becoming breezy also, with strengthening southeasterly winds. Sunday will be wet and windy everywhere, with rain spreading in to Ulster during the morning. The rain will be heavy in many areas, with fresh and gusty easterly winds. Still cool in the northern half of the country, but becoming milder further south. Max. 11 to 16 C. Clearer weather will develop in the southwest on Sunday evening, spreading to most parts on Sunday night.

http://www.met.ie/forecasts/

I'm delighted to discover that after a bit of calculating, the average age of that starting XV is the shockingly high number of 24, and that's with a 38 year old thrown in the mix. That's younger than both the Tipperary and Kilkenny sides lined out in their first Championship match of the year.

Maybe them pundits can stick their 'ageing side' theories up their hole once and for all :)

Ya I know, everyone is bulls**ting on about this young Limerick team like, well what about this young Waterford team.... compare the team to who started in 2007 and our squad has been overhauled, Mullane, Clinton and Browne are the only ones over 30. Kinda the same as how Limerick have Moran, Geary and Reale in their team so I think that both teams are matched for youth and experience, Limerick blitzed division 2, but Waterford competed and nearly got the final in division 1.

Ya I know, everyone is bulls**ting on about this young Limerick team like, well what about this young Waterford team.... compare the team to who started in 2007 and our squad has been overhauled, Mullane, Clinton and Browne are the only ones over 30. Kinda the same as how Limerick have Moran, Quaid and Reale in there team so I think that both teams are matched for youth and experience, Limerick blitzed division 2, but Waterford competed and nearly got the final in division 1.

Do you not mean Geary? Quaid is only 21...

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Do you not mean Geary? Quaid is only 21...

Ah yes Geary, sorry early mornings, whats the craic with Timmy Houlihan and Murray, where they considered when O'Grady came back, or is Quaid better than them

Dunno about Houlihan, I never rated him that highly anyway.....maybe he was considered.

Murray is in the panel and played a couple of league games but I think he's missing the weekend anyway. I don't know for certain that Quaid is better than Murray but he's O'Grady's preference.

I was never really a fan of Murray in goals to be honest. He was always prone to errors but didn't he get an all star in 2007??

Who will pick up Mullane I wonder? Will they throw Condon on him or Reale. I wasn't impressed with Reale against Clare in the league at all.

If we are to win this their touch will have to have improved a ton since the Clare game. The positive from that game is that we looked like losing it and we pulled it out of the fire. A Limerick team of old would have lost it.

Lets hope for a bit of this on Sunday. Was a great day!

I was never really a fan of Murray in goals to be honest. He was always prone to errors but didn't he get an all star in 2007??

Who will pick up Mullane I wonder? Will they throw Condon on him or Reale. I wasn't impressed with Reale against Clare in the league at all.

If we are to win this their touch will have to have improved a ton since the Clare game. The positive from that game is that we looked like losing it and we pulled it out of the fire. A Limerick team of old would have lost it.

Lets hope for a bit of this on Sunday. Was a great day!

I liked Murray, fine shot stopper. Deservedly got the All-Star in 2007, he was excellent that year. The next year he was poor, made mistakes but in 2009 he was back to his normal self again. Wouldn't be sad to see him start.

Condon will take Mullane, I'd say. He's our form player, good man marker and is a lot quicker than Reale which he'll need against Mullane. Hope he doesn't lose his head though.

If we cut out the messing we did against Clare and take over scores instead of trying to walk the pitch with ball in hand, we'll have a much better chance.

The game in 2007 was epic, I can't see it being on the same proportions but hopefully it'll be a good, proper game of hurling- traditional Munster Championship style.

I liked Murray, fine shot stopper. Deservedly got the All-Star in 2007, he was excellent that year. The next year he was poor, made mistakes but in 2009 he was back to his normal self again. Wouldn't be sad to see him start.

Condon will take Mullane, I'd say. He's our form player, good man marker and is a lot quicker than Reale which he'll need against Mullane. Hope he doesn't lose his head though.

If we cut out the messing we did against Clare and take over scores instead of trying to walk the pitch with ball in hand, we'll have a much better chance.

The game in 2007 was epic, I can't see it being on the same proportions but hopefully it'll be a good, proper game of hurling- traditional Munster Championship style.

Agreed, the munster final in 2007 was epic! :D

Hopefully it won't rain and if it does, it'll hopefully be better than the first day in 2009. Richie Foley or Paudie Mahony will be on frees. Mahony is a better free taker in my opinion, but he's never played a championship game before so it's hard to see it, Foley will probably take them.

Agreed, the munster final in 2007 was epic! :D

Hopefully it won't rain and if it does, it'll hopefully be better than the first day in 2009. Richie Foley or Paudie Mahony will be on frees. Mahony is a better free taker in my opinion, but he's never played a championship game before so it's hard to see it, Foley will probably take them.

Ah now...that was a decent game but lacked the passion and ferocity of the semi-final.

It surely can't be as bad as the drawn game in 2009, that was just awful. Probably the worst conditions at an inter-county match that I was at. And the standard of hurling was similarly shocking.

Hopefully it'll be dry at least.

Ah now...that was a decent game but lacked the passion and ferocity of the semi-final.

It surely can't be as bad as the drawn game in 2009, that was just awful. Probably the worst conditions at an inter-county match that I was at. And the standard of hurling was similarly shocking.

I think both counties performances differed greatly in both games in 2007.

Yeah I'd agree, weather was shocking. The game of hurling was also shocking, but I thought some people were overly harsh on the teams. I'd love to have seen some of the other counties attempt to play in that weather.

The forecast is pretty bleak unfortunately. It's unfortunate, because if there was ever a possibility of a team led by Fitzgerald playing an open brand of hurling (not sure that it is) it would be in this game I feel. Equally, I don't see Limerick playing 7 defenders are any of that rubbish. So weather permitting, it's a game with potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Confident (as per usual >.< ) that limerick can win this :P hopefully the likes of tobin and downes can perform well coz limerick were always in need of a few decent forwards. Unfortunate hannon is doing his leaving cert, would have been a great asset :/ can't waaaaait.

I've my leavin' the next day but I've been waiting for sunday for months so feck it :D

Confident (as per usual >.< ) that limerick can win this :P hopefully the likes of tobin and downes can perform well coz limerick were always in need of a few decent forwards. Unfortunate hannon is doing his leaving cert, would have been a great asset :/ can't waaaaait.

I've my leavin' the next day but I've been waiting for sunday for months so feck it :D

So do I :D we're turning up, you'd think Hannon could play a measly 70 minutes :p

(I'm only joking...in case anyone here doesn't have a sense of humour :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

Really looking forward to this now.

Tight first half but Waterford to pull away in the second for me. Deices by 8 with a man of the match performance from Shane Walsh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭kildare9

hon the Deise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Mr Cork Man

Those Waterford lad's think that the championship is all about what happens in june and july not august and september.I wouldn't be surprised if Limerick pull it off and to be fair to ye gave an account of yereselves when ye got to an all ireland final unlike Waterford who just embarrassed themselves when they got to an all ireland final.:pac: