Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breakdown of Robbie Keane's International Goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

That goal he scored against the north the other day reminded me of this goal:
    (0:50 seconds in)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Cue the usual ****e about Keane having scored the majority of his goals against piss poor sides and how because of that, he's no good afterall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

34 in 66 competitive is even more impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

In before the usual d*ckheads cutting the back off an Irish legend for absolutely no good reason.

for all the boll*x spouted about him only scoring against weaker nations, he has scored against pretty much every major footballing nation in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Cool Running

flahavaj wrote: »
    for all the boll*x spouted about him only scoring against weaker nations, he has scored against pretty much every major footballing nation in Europe.

Exactly, Thats what I always say to people who slag him.

He has scored against every team that has won the World Cup in the last 20 years that Ireland have played in a competitive match.

CLASS ACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,998 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Love to see him get a consistent starting position and strike partner at a decent club next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭dexter647

Just watched his goal against Germany in the dying mins of the game in the 2002 world cup.... Brings back happy memories:)... Still gives me goose bumps! Thank you Robbie.. Legend:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

He has scored more career goals than Michael Owen now and all playing for lesser teams!!
    I remember the same things being said about Raúl only scoring against poor international sides, Keane has been excellent for Ireland and has shown committment to the green shirt more than any club he's played for and has been rewarded with scoring over 50 international goals.
    He's now joint 27th on the all time international list and Miroslav Klose is the only player ahead of him still active at international level.

1. Ali Daei 109
    2. Ferenc Puskas 84
    3. Pelé 77
    4. Sandor Kocsis 75
    = Bashar Abdullah
    6. Stern John 69
    = Hossam Hassan
    8. Gerd Muller 68
    9. Majed Abdullah 67
    10. Kiatisuk Senamuang 65
    11. Jassem al-Houwaidi 63
    12. Ronaldo 62
    13. Miroslav Klose 61
    = Saeed Mohammed
    15. Imre Schlosser 59
    16. Gabriel Batistuta 56
    = Carlos Pavón
    18. Romario 55
    = Kunishige Kamamoto
    = Kazuyoshi Miura
    = Jan Koller
    = Joachim Streich
    = Bum-Kun Cha
    24. Adnan al-Talyani 53
    25. Poul Nielsen 52
    = Zico
    27. Robbie Keane 51
    = Lajos Tichy
    = Jon Dahl Tomasson
    = Hakan Sukur
    = Thierry Henry
    32. Samuel Eto'o 50
    = Karim Bagheri

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

frantic190 wrote: »
    http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/5821/goals-robbie-keane/

In honour of him becoming the only man in Britain and Ireland to score over 50 goals for his country, ET did a breakdown of all his goals and showed some of the goals of note.

The only man in Britan and Ireland and Belgium and Indonesia you mean ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,998 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

The only man in Britan and Ireland and Belgium and Indonesia you mean ;)

or just player from the British Isles ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Credit where credit is due: the man scores goals - end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I go to lot Irish games mainly home but few away and over the years I be honest I sometimes gave him roasting

But credit where credit is due he knows where goal is and he loves playing for his country, if he was from any other country he be legend status.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

We haven't played England since he got his 1st cap, but other than that he's scored against every European World Cup winner (Italy, Germany, France, Spain).

Looking through his list of goals, the "big" teams he's scored against:
    1 v Yugoslavia - Euro 2000 quals - They were quarter finalists
    1 v Turkey - Euro 2000 qual playoffs - 3rd place at the next WC
    1 v Czech Rep - Friendly - Runner up at previous Euros
    1 v Holland - WC 2002 quals - 4th at previous WC, lost semi of previous Euros on Penos.
    1 v Iran - WC 2002 playoffs - Not a big team, but a clutch goal, ultimately the winning goal over the 2 legs.
    1 v Germany - WC 2002 - eventual runners-up
    1 v Spain - WC 2002 - Spain really should have made at least the semis that year.
    1 v Czech Rep - Friendly - Semi finalists in Euro 2004 a few months later
    1 v Holland - Friendly - It's Holland
    1 v Italy - WC 2010 quals - Defending World Champions, 2nd most World Cups of all countries
    1 v France - WC 2010 qual playoffs - Runners up at previous WC, admittedly, the team was ****e...
    1 v Russia - Euro 2012 quals - Group top seeds. The only match we lost in which he scored.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Great player for Ireland and a great servant. It will be a sad day when he retires from international football as I dont think we'll see anything come close to him for a long time in a green shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

bonerm wrote: »
    34 in 66 competitive is even more impressive.

Yeah fair play that record is excellent. I dont think friendlies should count as goals and caps but Keane shows that his record in real games is very impressive.
    In before the usual d*ckheads cutting the back off an Irish legend for absolutely no good reason.

There is a reason people dont like him. He is a twat. A very good player but a very unlikable person at that as well. If Kevin Doyle had scored those goals he would be loved as much as the likes of Brian O'Driscoll. Keane is just very unlikable.

Pauleta wrote: »
    There is a reason people dont like him. He is a twat. A very good player but a very unlikable person at that as well. If Kevin Doyle had scored those goals he would be loved as much as the likes of Brian O'Driscoll. Keane is just very unlikable.

If I was to let my opinion of the vast majority of soccer as people into consideration when analysing their ablities as footballers, I'd have stopped trying years ago. Most footballers are twats. Robbie Keane barely registers on the scale of twattishness compared to most of them.

What in particular do you find unlikablae about him? If anything he's a bit dull, but thats no bad thing when you look at others in his profession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

All credit to Robbie but I'm confused at the constant statements in the media this weekend. "The only player in Ireland and Great Brittan..." Why the hell are they mentioning Great Brittan? Why not come out with something like the only player in Ireland and the Ukraine. It's about as applicable as Great Brittan is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

iregk wrote: »
    All credit to Robbie but I'm confused at the constant statements in the media this weekend. "The only player in Ireland and Great Brittan..." Why the hell are they mentioning Great Brittan? Why not come out with something like the only player in Ireland and the Ukraine. It's about as applicable as Great Brittan is!

You aren't aware of the close cultural ties? Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

iregk wrote: »

Not really, who from our national team makes their living in Ukraine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

He has scored against every team that has won the World Cup in the last 20 years that Ireland have played in a competitive match.

CLASS ACT.

class act:confused: really?

maybe for Ireland (on occasions) but for his clubs i don't know

Liverpool > flopped West Ham > flopped Inter Milan > flopped Spurs (2nd spell) >flopped

ya, i don't like him either...he comes across as a right big head..he says its not about him but the team, but the way he celebrates and gestures to the crowd its all ego and me me me.

btw whats on his wrist that he keeps kissing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Jesus I've heard it all now, moaning and bitching about how a player celebrates after scoring a goal.

Sad sad sad

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

TBh i hope he scores 51 more and i don't care who they're against. World class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

Robbie Keane is a Irish legend.

Simple as that.

If I was to let my opinion of the vast majority of soccer as people into consideration when analysing their ablities as footballers, I'd have stopped trying years ago. Most footballers are twats. Robbie Keane barely registers on the scale of twattishness compared to most of them.

What in particular do you find unlikablae about him? If anything he's a bit dull, but thats no bad thing when you look at others in his profession.

That time he went on the Late Late Show and blamed everyone apart from himself for Ireland under Staunton. He even had a go at the supporters despite that if he played for any other country he would of been lynched after the Cyprus shambles.

His 47 Boyhood clubs.

His rolly polly celebration and that he does it because he thinks everyone loves it.

His media-whore wife and the absurd amount of media coverage she gets despite the fact she doesnt actually do anything. :confused:

That interview he did with ESPN in a staged bedroom with a Liverpool duvet, wallpaper, clocks, lamps and everything in the club shop. It was ESPN that set it up but jaysis it was cringeworthy.

His new celebration where he just stands in front of the fans with his arms out. He used to do it every time and spit in their direction :confused: Maybe somebody had a word with him and he doesnt spit anymore

He is a very poor diver. He is Ireland captain and im a firm believer if you are not cheating, you are not trying hard enough but cmon man, if you are gonna do it, do it right and get away with it occasionally.

WPB other wise known as Wavy Poity Bloke to spurs fans

Starting every Ireland press conference with "ah well you know, its always great to represent your country. Growing up as a boy its all i ever wanted to do". Thats great once, twice, maybe ten times but every single time? Learn a new sentence Robbie.

Blaming every one of his team mates or the ref when something doesnt go right on the pitch.

Im sure i can find more reasons to dislike him but i shall save it for another day. I find him irritating. He is not a nasty person he just comes across as a bit of a tool in a Shooter McGavin sort of way only Shooter McGavin had some charisma. You can debate it all you want but opinions wont change. He will never be loved by the Irish public the way others are. He will be liked and respected but not loved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

His rolly polly celebration and that he does it because he thinks everyone loves it.

Actually. That's the one thing I was gonna mention. I think that 'Robin Hood' celebration actually added to his popularity. It was kind of joyful and exuberant and fans seemed to love it. However he seems to have chosen to stop it as tho "I'm too mature for that now" and has replaced it with a "Look at me, amen't I great" pose which I imagine cannot be helping him in this regard? Also, watching him do it in the Scotland game to a section of the crowd amounting to approximately one man and his dog was kind of pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

I wish we had a whole team of players as crap as Robbie Keane.

dexter647 wrote: »
    Just watched his goal against Germany in the dying mins of the game in the 2002 world cup.... Brings back happy memories:)... Still gives me goose bumps! Thank you Robbie.. Legend:)

Everybody forgets the amount of great chances he missed in that game!

I'm slightly playing Devils advocate here. I'm not a huge Robbie Keane fan in terms of his personality....despite the fact that I would battle against anyone who says his goal return isn't really impressive.

I think he got too arrogant a long time ago. Cast your mind back to late 2005 when we were playing Switzerland at home in our last 2006 World Cup qualifier and we needed to win to get into the play-offs. On 70-75 minutes or so, with the score at 0-0, Kerr decides to take Keane off coz he'd done nothing all day and we need a goal fast. Keane, seeing his number come up, stares at the bench for ages with hands on hips in "Disbelief" that they would be so "Foolish" as to take him off in such circumstanes. He then slowly walks over to the sideline and off the pitch - doing a better job of working the clock down and frustrating the Irish support than even the Swiss were doing!

I had been wondering about him for a long while before this. but this was the day I made up my mind that Robbie was just an arrogant pr!(k! An opinion I never changed subsequently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Likeable? You know what I like, 51 goals. His Wife, roly poly celebrations, boyhood club stuff... Honestly! I think he Had a sneaky nose pick in one game as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

The missed chances line, not only in the Germany game but in general is such a tired and rubbish argument. Awareness, anticipation and movement are a massive part of his game and this is why he gets so many chances, he gets himself into these positions.

He's not the most technically gifted player and despite his very impressive goal tally, he's not the best finisher. He compensates for this brilliantly through hard work and smart positioning, imposing himself on the defense and making sure he finds himself in these positions far more often than most.

Do Ireland really create that many chances? No, we don't. If he scored half the chances people say he's missed, then surely he'd be up there with Pele and ahead of the likes of Muller, Ronaldo and Batistuta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Likeable? You know what I like, 51 goals. His Wife, roly poly celebrations, boyhood club stuff... Honestly! I think he Had a sneaky nose pick in one game as well.

He pushes grannies and parks in handicapped spaces as well :pac:

Seriously though I'm not going to defend Robbie. An Irish legend.

That time he went on the Late Late Show and blamed everyone apart from himself for Ireland under Staunton. He even had a go at the supporters despite that if he played for any other country he would of been lynched after the Cyprus shambles.

The poverty of the team was down to Staunton not Keane.
    His 47 Boyhood clubs.

What releveance does that have with his international form? He does the business for Ireland bottom line and shows up for every game withut fail.
    LOL.

His media-whore wife and the absurd amount of media coverage she gets despite the fact she doesnt actually do anything. :confused:

LMAO.
    That interview he did with ESPN in a staged bedroom with a Liverpool duvet, wallpaper, clocks, lamps and everything in the club shop. It was ESPN that set it up but jaysis it was cringeworthy.

Not his fault then.
    His new celebration where he just stands in front of the fans with his arms out. He used to do it every time and spit in their direction :confused: Maybe somebody had a word with him and he doesnt spit anymore

So he stopped doing the cartwheel an you're still crying into your coco pops? You're some laugh.

He is a very poor diver. He is Ireland captain and im a firm believer if you are not cheating, you are not trying hard enough but cmon man, if you are gonna do it, do it right and get away with it occasionally.

Lord above, so the diving isn't the problem its that he's not good at it? You're unreal.
    WPB other wise known as Wavy Poity Bloke to spurs fans

More LOLs.
    Starting every Ireland press conference with "ah well you know, its always great to represent your country. Growing up as a boy its all i ever wanted to do". Thats great once, twice, maybe ten times but every single time? Learn a new sentence Robbie.

Struggling badly now.
    Blaming every one of his team mates or the ref when something doesnt go right on the pitch.
    Rubbish.
    Im sure i can find more reasons to dislike him but i shall save it for another day. I find him irritating. He is not a nasty person he just comes across as a bit of a tool in a Shooter McGavin sort of way only Shooter McGavin had some charisma. You can debate it all you want but opinions wont change. He will never be loved by the Irish public the way others are. He will be liked and respected but not loved.
    You have shown him no respect at all though. He's our greatest striker and you're bitching about him because he celebrates with a cartwhell and his wife is a model. You're pathetic and your post above is doubly so.

I respect him as a player but as i said i think he as a person is an A-hole and you cant seem to accept that some people dont like him. I dont know why you are trying to form some sort of debate about it. You are not going to convince me to start liking him :confused:

It would help if your reasons weren't so laughable.

No but I can have a right good laugh to myself showing up your reasons for hating him as the pathetic, petty garbage that they are.

"He does cartwheels, what a prick." LMAO.

No but I can have a right good laugh to myself showing up your reasons for hating him as the pathetic, petty garbage that they are.

"He does cartwheels, what a prick." LMAO.

You're right. You have suddenly convinced me that i like him. I must get his name on the back of my jersey and im gonna start doing the rolly polly whenever i score :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

He does the business for Ireland bottom line and shows up for every game withut fail.

TBH he should be in the squad for the Italy game...I know it was Trap's decision to let him leave but he has hardly had the most tiring season so he could have said he would play one more game.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    TBH he should be in the squad for the Italy game...I know it was Trap's decision to let him leave but he has hardly had the most tiring season so he could have said he would play one more game.

He's injured, he played whilst injured on Saturday FFS. He said if he needed an injection to play, he'd do it.

You're right. You have suddenly convinced me that i like him. I must get his name on the back of my jersey and im gonna start doing the rolly polly whenever i score :cool:

I wasn't trying to convince you. Just laughing at your stupid reasons for believeing the tripe that you do. I learned long time ago you can't convince some people that the bullsh*t they peddle isn't gospel.

You keep spouting, I'll keep laughing. Everyone's happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

He's injured, he played whilst injured on Saturday FFS. He said if he needed an injection to play, he'd do it.

Ah didn't know he was injured...you're off the hook with this one Robbie.

I wasn't trying to convince you. Just laughing at your stupid reasons for believeing the tripe that you do. I learned long time ago you can't convince some people that the bullsh*t they peddle isn't gospel.

You keep spouting, I'll keep laughing. Everyone's happy.

It doesnt seem like you are laughing. I think you are quite upset that somebody doesnt like Robbie Keane, otherwise you wouldnt of asked why people dont like him. I will let you get the last word in because i know it really irks you so much to the point that you have to pretend your having a swell time.

You replying surely means you get the last word, no? :pac:

Would not have is not equal to wouldn't of btw

I just find it odd that so many Irish people despise a man who has carried the Irish team for 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I can see where you are coming from with the cartwheel stuff.

Robbie scores vital goal for Ireland.
    I go mad celebrating in pub with mates.
    Replay of goal shows cartwheel celebration.
    In retrospect we all agree he is a bit of a cunt.

The fact that you're so hung up on your bullsh*t upsetting people speaks volumes really. Nobody mentioned getting the last word until you brought it up. Blinded by bitterness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

tolosenc wrote: »
    We haven't played England since he got his 1st cap, but other than that he's scored against every European World Cup winner (Italy, Germany, France, Spain).

Looking through his list of goals, the "big" teams he's scored against:
    1 v Yugoslavia - Euro 2000 quals - They were quarter finalists
    1 v Turkey - Euro 2000 qual playoffs - 3rd place at the next WC
    1 v Czech Rep - Friendly - Runner up at previous Euros
    1 v Holland - WC 2002 quals - 4th at previous WC, lost semi of previous Euros on Penos.
    1 v Iran - WC 2002 playoffs - Not a big team, but a clutch goal, ultimately the winning goal over the 2 legs.
    1 v Germany - WC 2002 - eventual runners-up
    1 v Spain - WC 2002 - Spain really should have made at least the semis that year.
    1 v Czech Rep - Friendly - Semi finalists in Euro 2004 a few months later
    1 v Holland - Friendly - It's Holland
    1 v Italy - WC 2010 quals - Defending World Champions, 2nd most World Cups of all countries
    1 v France - WC 2010 qual playoffs - Runners up at previous WC, admittedly, the team was ****e...
    1 v Russia - Euro 2012 quals - Group top seeds. The only match we lost in which he scored.

He's come back into form in his "old" age. 2003-2008 has quite a gap in your own list there but I'm glad he's back to 2002 levels.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I quite like Keane's celebrations, old and new. Nice to see passion and interaction with the fans like that

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

dsmythy wrote: »
    He's come back into form in his "old" age. 2003-2008 has quite a gap in your own list there but I'm glad he's back to 2002 levels.

Hint: Managers.

Also don't overlook the important goals just so you can focus on the ones against Spain, Germany etc.

The two the other night were as important as any he'll get during this campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,750 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

When I first started watching them in the late 70s you'd look around the pitch and realise we didn't have a goalscorer. Scoring 2 in a campaign marked you out as some kind of Pele of Hibernia.

He can be a frustating clown at times but Jebus he's been brilliant. Two more campaigns hopefully and finish off in glorious style in the summer of 2016 in France (shirley we can win one of 23 qualifying slots).

Bless you Bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

gosplan wrote: »
    Hint: Managers.

Also don't overlook the important goals just so you can focus on the ones against Spain, Germany etc.

The two the other night were as important as any he'll get during this campaign.

Every goal is important at this stage.

I just wonder sometimes if he was a perennial top scorer in the English Premier League year after year while scoring 51 goals for Ireland would there be little criticism put against him. Perhaps club form has a way of infecting minds when it turns to acknowleging international performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

You don't happen to support a team in all red, do you?