Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Italy v. Ireland | 7th June | KO: 19:45 in Liege | SS2

• 05-06-2011 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭

italy+logo.JPGfai-logo-5008.jpg

This one has me baffled. What exactly is the point? We've built up a nice bit of momentum and confidence in the last few games so it would be great to keep that going and go into the summer on a high. I'd imagine the likes of Foley, Coleman, Cox and Ward will get another chance to impress.

And why is it on in Belgium?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

Yeah bit of a strange one, be good hopefully for Ward and Foley to start and I suppose it wouldn't be any harm those who haven't played much football this year to have another game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭James_LWAU

This on RTE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

If Kilbane starts, I'm resigned to him playing against Slovakia and Russia. At least he'd be playing regular football though as the Huddersfield boss want to make the transfer permanent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I can see why Italy might want the game considering they're in a group with our nursery team, but I can't see why the FAI would want the game. They must owe somebody a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

James_LWAU wrote: »
    This on RTE?

Nothing on the Sky guide for it but I was full sure that they mentioned it last night in the upcoming matches on RTE bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭RobTheLad

If Kilbane starts, I'm resigned to him playing against Slovakia and Russia. At least he'd be playing regular football though as the Huddersfield boss want to make the transfer permanent.

Apparently Kilbane and Given will miss this game, as they have already booked there coaching badges course which start tomorrow and had organized to do it before this game was announced, and aren't going to be in the squad for Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

This is a bit tedious. We've built up a nice bit of momentum and then we're going off to face Italy in Belgium..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

Squad available to play against Italy

Goalkeepers

David Forde
    Brian Murphy
    Defenders
    Damien Delaney
    Kevin Foley
    Stephen Kelly
    Paul McShane
    Darren O'Dea
    Sean St. Ledger
    Stephen Ward
    Midfielders
    Keith Andrews
    Seamus Coleman
    Stephen Hunt
    Liam Lawrence
    Keith Treacy
    Glenn Whelan
    Forwards
    Simon Cox
    Andy Keogh
    Shane Long

My XI to play Italy:

Forde
    McShane-St. Ledger (if not fit then O'Dea)-Delaney-Ward
    Coleman-Whelan-Foley-Treacy
    Long-Keogh

Subs: Murphy, Kelly, O'Dea, Andrews, Hunt, Lawrence, Cox.

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    Nothing on the Sky guide for it but I was full sure that they mentioned it last night in the upcoming matches on RTE bit

Live on Sky Sports 1 from 7:30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Is Keiren Westwood injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

2395961.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Maybe trap has a clause in his contract that we have to play Italy every year or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Perfect game to try Coleman at right back. Thats about all the purpose I can see in it though, and not a hope of him doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,669 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

This might answer a few questions as to the why and the where of the game.
    Or it might confuse you more like it did to me.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0517/1224297119404.html

Apparently its on in Liege in the hope of appealing to the resident Italian population of 250,000. Would it not have been better to have it in Italy with its resident Italian population of ~63,000,000? NewJersey was suggested at one stage as well it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Mac Geady and Hunt were given the choice and both opted to stay with the squad for this game. Fair play to them, especially Aiden as Spartak are playing this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

I hope Gli Azzurri put out a strong team for this, I think any time we play a team of Italys quality is a good thing so im happy about this match being played and looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

They'll probably make quite a few changes.

http://www.football-italia.net/jun6c.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Mr. Fancypants

Mcgeady is on his way back to Russia at the request of Spartak http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0606/mcgeadya_ireland.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Stupid, pointles game. Let the lads go on holiday ffs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

The way I look at it in 5 games

We started with our B+ team and won

Then we moved to our B- team and won

No harm in seeing the C team.

Let's hope we have all our best players available for Slovakia and Russia. That's the main thing.

11 goals, none conceded. That's excellent no matter what the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭dubmick

I hope Italy don't put out their first XI or we could get a tonking!

dubmick wrote: »
    I hope Italy don't put out their first XI or we could get a tonking!

Italy never beat teams by more then 2 goals. They play in a negative way when they have the lead.

darkman2 wrote: »
    11 goals, none conceded. That's excellent no matter what the opposition.

Why do people keep saying 11-0 here? I think it's the 3rd or 4th time I've read it since Saturday.

If you want to count our last 4 matches then it might help to remember our fourth to last match was a 3-2 loss to Uruguay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭dubmick

Italy never beat teams by more then 2 goals. They play in a negative way when they have the lead.

Yeah? They beat Estonia 3-0 on Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Team Named - 4-4-2: Forde, McShane (C), St Ledger, O'Dea (Kelly, if not fit), Ward, Coleman, Andrews, Foley, Hunt (Lawrence, if not fit),Keogh, Long.

Subs: Murphy, Kelly, Delaney, Whelan, Treacy, Lawrence, Cox.

mcshane as captain, mother of jaysus :eek:

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

mcshane as captain, mother of jaysus :eek:

dubmick wrote: »
    Yeah? They beat Estonia 3-0 on Friday night.

pffft your splittin hairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Viviano; Cassani, Gamberini, Chiellini, Criscito; Nocerino, Pirlo, Marchisio; Montolivo; Rossi, Pazzini.

Very strong forward line.

Vokes wrote: »
    Viviano; Cassani, Gamberini, Chiellini, Criscito; Nocerino, Pirlo, Marchisio; Montolivo; Rossi, Pazzini.

Good selection of players esp in midfield and attack. They even have a few first choice like Chiellini, Montolivo and Pirlo. They seem to be taking the game more seriously than we are anyway.

OT, Robbie Keane has scored more than the entire Italy squad.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

McShane as captain, urgh. I thought Trap said it'd be the most capped player. Surely that's Whelan?

Meanwhile Liam Brady agress with his missus:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Banjaxed82 wrote: »

Clear as day then that Trap rates him and that he is a key member of his squad...

Sweet Jesus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Maybe the guy just needs a confidence boost and really is a fantastic defender otherwise... maaaybeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Well he was good in his first cupla games, til he played ****e, and presumably lost his confidence, so you could be onto something here!

Sure look at players like Darren Fletcher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Vokes wrote: »

Rossi and Pazzini being fed by Montolivo and Pirlo will make Captain Ginge have a nervous breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭sdanseo

McShane. Captain. The italian fella really has lost his feckin' marbles this time. I mean it's nice that trap refuses to give up on him but seriously, captain is just pure stupidity.

5-1 Italy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Can see us getting a good beating in this one.

3-0 Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

2-1 Italy, I reckon.

Paul McShane 1-0 Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    What exactly is the point?

A good jolly up?

BelgianBeers.jpg

Just hope the FAI contracted it out. :D

Paul McShane 1-0 Ireland

Ireland 1-2 Italy
    McShane 6'
    McShane (OG) 89'
    McShane (OG) 90'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭James_LWAU

TG4 are showing extended highlights of the game at 10:30 hopefully the commentary is in English;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

sdonn wrote: »
    McShane. Captain. The italian fella really has lost his feckin' marbles this time. I mean it's nice that trap refuses to give up on him but seriously, captain is just pure stupidity.

5-1 Italy?

Is this the same way he "lost it" when people suggsted he had lost before the game on saturday. This is a friendly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

McShane Captain??? we must be in the...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

You're all like a pack of bloody sheep,so what if he is captain?
    Give it a rest ffs ,hope he has a great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Trap just seems to be awarding his most experienced players who haven't gotten much of a chance. Didn't he make Kelly captain for a game as well?

Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

digme wrote: »
    You're all like a pack of bloody sheep,so what if he is captain?
    Give it a rest ffs ,hope he has a great game.

Well said. Im no fan of his but the amount of posters getting on his back and slagging him off is embarrassing, reminds me of the wrost escesses of the uk tabloids. He's been a regular starter in epl and c'ship teams for the past 6 years so knowledgeable football people must see something in him , i said KNOWLEDGEABLE football people which obviously rules out many on here. he's going to be in the squad as long as trap is manager . Get used to it and support the lad ffs.

Any stream for this?