Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nightclubs Vs. Pubs

• 03-06-2011 11:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or has the nightlife become...well, boring?

I was in Coppers a few weeks back and I couldn't wait to get out of the place. It was so stuffy and packed with blokes, that it was hard to walk by with a drink in that meat-market. Same goes for anywhere up Harcourt Street. Diceys is dull, D2 is full of snobs and Temple Bar is overpriced. Seems like clubs are falling by the wayside - more guys going out than wimminz. Was in Cork and Galway too - same thing.

Anyway, I'm going to go with pubs. Lots of foreigners, things to see and do (literally). Prices are cheaper and people don't even have to shout to hear them. Is it an age thing or is the market slowing down?

Nightclubs Vs. Pubs 153 votes

Clubs
    0% 0 votes
    Pubs
    16% 25 votes
    Both Are ****
    83% 128 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Its all about the gargle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Pub first then hit the Club, no need to choose only one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I was in Coppers.........

There's your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

If you want your hole, go to coppers.

If you want to talk to your friends, ring them.

Simples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I hate clubs. Head wrecking places!! Pubs are better. Especially the one in my back garden :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

winston82 wrote: »
    If you want your hole, go to coppers.

If you want to talk to your friends, ring them.

Simples

Not anymore.

Coppers has been established as a place to get "your hole". Now, all that flocks there are horny blokes and the girls have their backs up now.

Pubs are still better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I hate clubs. Head wrecking places!! Pubs are better. Especially the one in my back garden :D

your back garden you say? and a Tallaght man too no less :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

your back garden you say? and a Tallaght man too no less :P

I do say....but im not a man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

Not anymore.

Coppers has been established as a place to get "your hole". Now, all that flocks there are horny blokes and the girls have their backs up now.

Pubs are still better.

Pubs are better but, from what i remember, last resort used to be Coppers. It's been a long time since i've been there.

I'm probably out of the loop so.

If everybody sends me €5 each, i'll go there tomorrow and report back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I do say....but im not a man...

my apologies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Depends on what kind of night your after.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Do I have to go?????

winston82 wrote: »
    Pubs are better but, from what i remember, last resort used to be Coppers. It's been a long time since i've been there.

I'm probably out of the loop so.

If everybody sends me €5 each, i'll go there tomorrow and report back?

I expect a full report on my desk on Monday morning. I have dispatched an envelope containing exactly €100. With this, you should be able to buy precisely two drinks in Dublin. I have also sent you ear-plugs so that your ears don't bleed when exposed to that horrible crap they call music. God speed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Pub me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Pub with a good band and a few friends, can't go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭DanTheMan91

I prefer the pub because you can have a proper conversation with your mates or girlfriend without someone spilling a drink on you or some idiot dancing on your shoes.

Yeah, pubs are better for pullin' too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

I'd pick a pub over a club any day tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭TheFullDuck

Late bar, live music and craic with the friends!

Hate clubs, and I'm only 19!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Its an age thing mostly. If I was smart and could draw a graph night-club would plot around 20, late bar with dance floor around 25, Late bar 30 and nice quiet place for a few beers 35 onwards. Although there's always sleazy auldwans as outliers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I'll have a pub please Bob.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

... and the girls have their backs up now.

i saw this in the laneway beside coppers last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Pub and a house party suits me down to the ground , I never liked clubs , too much pretentious bull from the local loser clientele.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Pubs for me. Cheaper drink and you don't have to fight for a seat.

knird evol wrote: »
    i saw this in the laneway beside coppers last week

lol wut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Definitely pub. Can't stand clubs and I'm only 18, but most of my friends love going to clubs so I have to suffer through it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I like them both in different ways.

Nightclubs is where I am now in life. All my friends go there and I've met some really nice people in nightclubs who I would have never met otherwise.

Pubs is where I'll start going after I'm 25. Way better for just craic and a chat compared to the blaring speakers in nightclubs.

Less scumbags in pubs though. Can't exactly dance in pubs though either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

baz2009 wrote: »
    Pub me.

What do you mean? Aren't you only a child?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Both are usually shyte but worst of all are those pubs with a late licence and DJ who invariably tend to combine the worst features of both

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

In Ireland? Neither most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Clubs can be good for a change but not every week. Your head would be wrecked.
    Pubs all the way. Even better if it has a late bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭ChristinaIndigo

Was charged 7.80 for a Vodka redbull the last night I was out at a nightclub...

I also hate the fact that you can't hear what people are saying... I'd much rather sit in a beer garden with a big group. That way, you get the enjoy the banter and, hopefully aren't diddled out of as much money.
    10euro in, 7.80 for the drinks... A pitcher amongst friends is starting to appeal more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The only clubs I want to frequent are the ones that dont exist in the real world...

- Not over-crowded
    - gender balance is 80% female to 20 male
    - a counter which is overstaffed and never very busy
    - large plush sofa's to sit on, where a nice waiter brings you your reasonably priced drinks,
    - music which is played at a level which doesnt melt eardrums

Yeah, pub for me thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

there are no good clubs in ireland. need to go to prague, berlin or the shore yo!

Need a recommendation tonight people. Any decent place around Dublin pub wise? I got family coming over and may want to go out...any place half decent you've been to recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

If you are looking to have sex with a random drunkard or druggy then obviously a club is where you want to be heading. Other than that pubs should be your destination.

Having said that I prefer a good house party to either by a country mile...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I was in Coppers

Stopped reading there.
    Coppers?
    Coppers???
    Coppers????????

If Dublin nightclubs were rooms in a hotel, Coppers would be the septic tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Agricola wrote: »
    The only clubs I want to frequent are the ones that dont exist in the real world...

- Not over-crowded
    - gender balance is 80% female to 20 male
    - a counter which is overstaffed and never very busy
    - large plush sofa's to sit on, where a nice waiter brings you your reasonably priced drinks,
    - music which is played at a level which doesnt melt eardrums

Yeah, pub for me thanks.

Kobra / NV Nightclub, Leeson Street is your friend. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Both are usually shyte but worst of all are those pubs with a late licence and DJ who invariably tend to combine the worst features of both

Yeah. City centre pubs where come 10 o'clock they feel the need to emulate a night-club by turning the music up to 11, but just with more tables and chairs and no entry fee. It's ****e. If I'm in a pub, at most I want decent background music to kill the lulls in conversation. If I'm in a late bar it's because I've started to talk shíte and feel the need to talk more shíte while drinking pints. Not because I want my conversation with friends drowned out.

To be honest, I'd love if the government brought in secondary alcohol licenses. A license based on the idea that your primary business isn't selling alcohol, but that it's an ancilliary aspect to it. Let tapas/pincho bars pop up, computer game bars with consoles and arcade machines*, feck it, even a bar that hosts chess or scrabble tournaments. I bet there's loads of people out there who would love to be able to spend their night practising a hobby while still getting a few scoops in. This is what clubs (private members clubs) are for, but they're really hard to get setup.

*If any gamers' know Yahtzee from The Escapist he has a bar like this in Australia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Hate clubs myself, just see them as a drink fueled meat market.

Pubs are much better, you can get a nice seat with a few people, chat without roaring your head off and generally nicer to chat to randomers in.

Im 21

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

It's been mentioned ad nauseum in these sort of threads, but Coppers, Dicey's etc. are not the only clubs in the country, nor would they even give you a taste of what a decent club is like. I have no idea why this is so hard for people to wrap their heads around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Nesie

Need a recommendation tonight people. Any decent place around Dublin pub wise? I got family coming over and may want to go out...any place half decent you've been to recently?

If you're in the city centre try against the grain on camden st. No telly no loud music but nice food, beers and board games...it's my new favourite place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Camackaze

Pub definitely

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Black Leather

There's nothing like getting out on the dance floor and strutting your stuff and of course watching all those sexy women shaking what they've got! For me its clubs everytime!

Pace2008 wrote: »
    It's been mentioned ad nauseum in these sort of threads, but Coppers, Dicey's etc. are not the only clubs in the country, nor would they even give you a taste of what a decent club is like. I have no idea why this is so hard for people to wrap their heads around.

Aren't nightclubs illegal in Ireland anyway?

Every foreigner I've spoken to says that the atmosphere and vibration of our 'nightclubs' is totally different from that of abroad. In fact, they are just large, loud and refurbished dancehalls - nothing to do with the international nightclub scene. In reality, the owners work within the rules, nevertheless, Ireland has not made nightclubs a legal entity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

hate both drinkin down da beach is were its at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

I like clubs, but lately I've found myself enjoying pubs a lot more.

Nothing like grabbing your favourite booth, at your favourite bar with good music and being able to have a proper chat.

chat in ur ****in gaf when u go out u go out to get locked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

ye both mad boring, but only thing most ppl do at nights now....ah bring me back to the days of hanging around estate at nite.....