Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The feckn Youth of today

• 03-06-2011 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭

Just observing kids and teenagers makes me think that we are f*cked in the future. The youth seems to be wrapped up in cotten and nothing that they do is wrong. Oh johhny you have ADD or something like that even though the doctors say you dont why dont you write down your thoughts :rolleyes:

People are scared to discipline their kids because of the nanny state rules. Now in no way do I believe in beating kids but a little smack on the ass as a last resort to show the boundary of right and wrong cant be wrong.

The general disrespect showing by the youth towards adults which I would have received a boot up the hole for or have being grounded for is unreal.

Now saying that there are some great young people out there that have being raised very well so I dont want to tar them all with the one brush but I feel things will only get worse as the years go by.

So AHers in your finest keyboard warrior wording what are your thoughts on this matter?

I shall come across as an old man in this but I am in my twenties(awaits smart ah comments)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Kids should be taught to treat others the way they treat you...none of this respect your elders b*ll****.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I think the ones that are left after the mass exodus the next few years will have some hard years ahead of them.

There will always be bad ones. There will always be good ones too. Its how we treat the bad ones and the good ones that will decide our and their further futures.
    So far, we haven't been doing it right it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

ADD - 90% of the time its just an excuse used by school guidance councellors that is all too readily accepted by bad parents who just want any excuse to exempt them from blame for their child being disruptive in school or bullying people

speed ramps in housing estates - just a solution for lazy parenting , when I was young people kept an eye on their kids and taught them not to walk out on the road. and listen for cars.

security cameras in schools - a lazy excuse for teachers not watching kids during lunch break.

between all these new medicines , parents not letting kids go outside, alcohol hand wash bottles in handbags and all the other sh*t , kids are just becoming weaker and less able to cope by themselves , when I was in school if somebody called you a name you called them one back or if you were hit you hit them back , now we have something called 'cyber-bullying' in which kids are now too sensetive and dumb to realise that words on a screen cant hurt them

kids these days are pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Spelled feckless all wrong there.

Type 2 diabetes is too good for 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

A good slap across the arse is a grand cure for johnny's ADD. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Little johnny needs a good crack on the arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

ADD - 90% of the time its just an excuse used by school guidance councellors that is all too readily accepted by bad parents who just want any excuse to exempt them from blame for their child being disruptive in school or bullying people

speed ramps in housing estates - just a solution for lazy parenting , when I was young people kept an eye on their kids and taught them not to walk out on the road. and listen for cars.

security cameras in schools - a lazy excuse for teachers not watching kids during lunch break.

between all these new medicines , parents not letting kids go outside, alcohol hand wash bottles in handbags and all the other sh*t , kids are just becoming weaker and less able to cope by themselves , when I was in school if somebody called you a name you called them one back or if you were hit you hit them back , now we have something called 'cyber-bullying' in which kids are now too sensetive and dumb to realise that words on a screen cant hurt them

kids these days are pathetic

Sir I wish to subscribe to your news letter!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Just observing kids and teenagers makes me think that we are f*cked in the future. The youth seems to be wrapped up in cotten and nothing that they do is wrong. Oh johhny you have ADD or something like that even though the doctors say you dont why dont you write down your thoughts :rolleyes:

People are scared to discipline their kids because of the nanny state rules. Now in no way do I believe in beating kids but a little smack on the ass as a last resort to show the boundary of right and wrong cant be wrong.

The general disrespect showing by the youth towards adults which I would have received a boot up the hole for or have being grounded for is unreal.

Now saying that there are some great young people out there that have being raised very well so I dont want to tar them all with the one brush but I feel things will only get worse as the years go by.

So AHers in your finest keyboard warrior wording what are your thoughts on this matter?

I shall come across as an old man in this but I am in my twenties(awaits smart ah comments)

Theres a lot of discrimination against teenagers simply because of school uniforms.Get kicked out of the local supermarket everyday for eating our store bought lunch on the benches in the foyer. Yet when mature shoppers decide to sit down they are left in peace.

I dont know what you mean by disrespect but anytime I see disrespect being shown its certainly not unprovoked. Maybe you should take a closer look at things. Watch what happens when a teen accidentally collides with an adult, the words sorry will be heard 99% of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Don't worry, it's all cool OP! They're all going to be superstars in something or other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

ADD isn't even an actual illness. It's a bogus label used to justify kiddy speed prescriptions imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

im different mind to this,i know this and other disorders wasnt always diagnosed until someone might had left school.

You think Irish youth are bad?
    (Well we are all seemingly tarring all with the same brush)
    They are NOTHING compared to Spanish youths. They are in a league of their own.
    As bad as some are here - things could be worse. Trust me, I've seen it elsewhere.

im different mind to this,i know this and other disorders wasnt always diagnosed until someone might had left school.

in all reality, it could very well be real , but even if it is, its wildly over prescribed as a cop out in schools, its a shame to any real sufferers that anto the scumbag has a 'disease' as a label to why hes kicking the sh*t out of people and smoking hash in school

Biggins wrote: »
    You think Irish youth are bad?
    (Well we are all seemingly tarring all with the same brush)
    They are NOTHING compared to Spanish youths. They are in a league of their own.
    As bad as some are here - things could be worse. Trust me, I've seen it elsewhere.

we see it every summer, theres no point in even having a thread about it, the spanish youth are on another plant, disrespectful, dirty smelly , annoying b*stards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

People who deliberately assault (smack) children are bullies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

"The young people of today think of nothing but themselves. They have no reverence for parents or old age. They are impatient of all restraint. They talk as if they alone knew everything and what passes for wisdom with us is foolishness with them. As for girls, they are forward, immodest and unwomanly in speech, behaviour and dress."
    Plato, or Socrates - 4th century BC

people have been saying this for years.when todays generation grow up im sure they will be saying it about the next generation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

i've got 2 teenage boys, and while they drive me nuts quite a lot, they and their friends are no different than I was at that age, ie nice, solid lads - they're all down swimming in the canal as I type this, and the waters feckin freezin, so I don't think they are any softer than we were, and maybe they just might be a damn sight smarter than I was at that age. (And they are not weaker/woosier nowadays, there are just more rules to be followed regarding what is acceptable etc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Yeah, we're cúnts, tbh.:pac:

we see it every summer, theres no point in even having a thread about it, the spanish youth are on another plant, disrespectful, dirty smelly , annoying b*stards
    My mother came back from Barcelona yesterday and in all honestly she mentioned this very topic.
    She said they were a curse over there - not just here.
    Having seen how bad things was over there still, she had to genuinely review her thoughts on Irish youths that they weren't as bad by any stretch of the imagination.

which plant would that be then?

Solnskaya wrote: »
    which plant would that be then?

Weeds!

My mother came back from Barcelona yesterday and in all honestly she mentioned this very topic.
    She said they were a curse over there - not just here.
    Having seen how bad things was over there still, she had to genuinely review her thoughts on Irish youths that they weren't as bad by any stretch of the imagination.

What's so bad about them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭groovie

I remember being in my twenties, the decade when I went from someone who thought he knew it all to someone who learned a number of hard lessons about people and life. Perhaps you are on this road now. Cast your mind back 10 years, was it all so clear cut to you when you were one of the feckless youth? Did you always know what to say, what to wear, what to think? Did your elders never think that you were 'having it easy'?

But this isn't really about you, it's about the country that we are creating around us. We are still very young when you consider the age of most of the countries around us - not even 100 years old. Right now the approach seems so enlightened - to indulge those who do not fit into the strictures of education, knowing what career to choose etc. To indulge those who do not fit into the strictures of full time employment. To indulge those who do not believe in birth control. Or indeed those who fit into all three categories.

A lack of respect? Can you respect anyone who has stood by and watched this country circle the rim? while bankers and developers and politicos played dice with our future economic stability?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

orourkeda wrote: »
    Little johnny needs a good crack on the arse

Norris!!!! Behave yourself.

You failed with the young ones then, I take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭baddebt

all the youth of today eat is junk food (chips, burgers coke packets of biscuits etc etc ), day after day ,
    they will all be fat bastards by the time they rest 18

baz2009 wrote: »

NEVER say 'sorry' for walking in front of you, across your path, queue jumping, open foul language, disrespectfully totally of the aged in numerous ways, their attitude stinks (think they own the world and have a god-given right to take it from you). They look down at other countries people as if we are all dirt on their shoes. Much more terrible, terrible drivers compared actually to young Irish drivers.
    My parents have seen it, I have seen it many, many times in Ireland and in Spain over as many years.
    They are simply unreal. I'm sorry that it has to be said but they are.

beano345 wrote: »
    "The young people of today think of nothing but themselves. They have no reverence for parents or old age. They are impatient of all restraint. They talk as if they alone knew everything and what passes for wisdom with us is foolishness with them. As for girls, they are forward, immodest and unwomanly in speech, behaviour and dress."
    Plato, or Socrates - 4th century BC

people have been saying this for years.when todays generation grow up im sure they will be saying it about the next generation

...there seems to be an almost instinctive need in us as a species to romanticise our recent past and think that now is less than then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Send em all off to the concentration camps I say! That'll teach em.

i've got 2 teenage boys, and while they drive me nuts quite a lot, they and their friends are no different than I was at that age, ie nice, solid lads - they're all down swimming in the canal as I type this, and the waters feckin freezin, so I don't think they are any softer than we were, and maybe they just might be a damn sight smarter than I was at that age. (And they are not weaker/woosier nowadays, there are just more rules to be followed regarding what is acceptable etc)

I understand what you are saying and a lot of this could be down to how you have raised your kids. I did mention in the Opening post that I didnt want to tar all the youth with the same brush but rather I think that things are getting worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

Kids need love and sensible parenting.

Simple really bar taking into account some kids can be a fukin nightmare to bring up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Respect works both ways you know? Teenagers generally aren't shown respect by adults and are seen as thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Now in no way do I believe in beating kids but a little smack on the ass as a last resort to show the boundary of right and wrong cant be wrong.[/SIZE]

So what if I smacked you to show you that your argument is wrong?

Take that to logic school, smartie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

The kids now have more then any generation that came before them and sometimes it shows in strange ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

ADD = filling kids with sugary soft drinks and sweets and then wondering why there are distracted in class

The best cure for ADD isn't drugs, it's diet
    Well food is a drug too if you think about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

ye were all young once upon a time or have ye forgotten.

baz2009 wrote: »

Have already answered your question.

Lost connection as I posted the post originally and on reconnecting it posted again. Apologies.

Yeah I've noticed them being rude and disrespectful in general whenever they're in Dublin. Must have a look and see what they're like at home the next time I'm in Spain!

I think teenagers take you as they find you. My lads friends include a few guys who would be considered "wild" by the world at large. I was sitting in my office working the other day and there were at least 7 teenage boys on the couch sitting in the next room playing x-box, and one of them died(it was black ops, so understandable) and roared out "ahhh f#ck" -one of the others(not one of mine) said to him "mind your language will ya". I nearly fell off my chair.
    One lad in particular, from a very well to do, but rough as feck, family, is labelled at school as "a madzer", but whenever I have seen him here with the rest, he has never been anything but polite and nice, and I genuinely like him as a person. So, rather than just saying "all kids these days are shyte", maybe take them as you find them. I expect, and give them, respect/I'm not soft(in fact i'm the opposite) but I don't lecture them, I don't nag, and I expect certain standards which I will not accept less than, and I think the kidz are alright.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    So what if I smacked you to show you that your argument is wrong?

Take that to logic school, smartie.

I got a little smack on the arse and it did me no harm when I was younger there is a difference between a box and a little tiny smack that wouldnt hurt anything never mind a child besides teach them boundaries! All my friends had the same growing up and they all agree there is nothing wrong with it when done in the correct manner.

So "smartie":rolleyes: do you think the youth of today and the way we are heading in the future is ok then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

I think teenagers take you as they find you. My lads friends include a few guys who would be considered "wild" by the world at large. I was sitting in my office working the other day and there were at least 7 teenage boys on the couch sitting in the next room playing x-box, and one of them died(it was black ops, so understandable) and roared out "ahhh f#ck" -one of the others(not one of mine) said to him "mind your language will ya". I nearly fell off my chair.
    One lad in particular, from a very well to do, but rough as feck, family, is labelled at school as "a madzer", but whenever I have seen him here with the rest, he has never been anything but polite and nice, and I genuinely like him as a person. So, rather than just saying "all kids these days are shyte", maybe take them as you find them. I expect, and give them, respect/I'm not soft(in fact i'm the opposite) but I don't lecture them, I don't nag, and I expect certain standards which I will not accept less than, and I think the kidz are alright.

Some of my mates are similar to this, very nice, well mannered around parents, adults etc. Get them out with a group of us and they'll be the first ones to come up with doing some of the stupidest things you could find.

yesno1234 wrote: »
    Some of my mates are similar to this, very nice, well mannered around parents, adults etc. Get them out with a group of us and they'll be the first ones to come up with doing some of the stupidest things you could find.
    You are telling me nothing! I have worked with a lot of 18-22 year old lads over the years and many, many are the monday morning stories that would turn their parents hair white, so I'm no naive soul, but the question is, what do you think of the teenagers of today, and I think they are just like the teenagers of yesterday, mad, can be bad, and fun to know. Youth is youth, and when I was 19, I was a mad b4stard as well. I just think a lot of people forget as they get older, and then start tut tutting about "the youth of today".

seriously, 'spanish teenagers' over here are an awful lot more better behaved than the 'irish teenagers' i see in spain!!

bubblypop wrote: »
    seriously, 'spanish teenagers' over here are an awful lot more better behaved than the 'irish teenagers' i see in spain!!

..And that says something. As bad as they are here, over there on home soil, much worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

You treat the youth like second class citizens and then are surprised when they don't immediately integrate into adult society?

grown up spaniards are all cnuts, so why would you expect their kids to be any better??

the above post may contain trace amounts of sarcasm and a percentage(unknown) of flippant generalisation. We at solnskaya accept no responcibility for the accuracy/lack of accuracy of the above post. The above post may well be boll0x and spaniards may well be gas people who we really like who always make us welcome when we go there on holiday.Or not.If they're from Barcelona, they are indeed, cnuts..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I'm 35. Young people have been like this for as long as I can remember. Some of the children I went to school with were as bad as the children that are around today.

I did some stupid things myself when I was younger. My parents never hit me but they did tell me when I had done something wrong.

Some parents let their kids away with murder. I don't just mean parents today; some parents years ago were as bad. I used to hang around with someone that was always in trouble. When his mother found out about what he had been up to she would just say "you're not the worst of them; you just always get caught". I remember he had a part time job in a shop and he would rob boxes of sweets. Not that I complained at the time because he gave me some of them.

He did worse than that though. He locked me out of my house once pretending it was some kind of a joke. He then stole cigarettes and money from my sisters room. At the time I didn't want to believe he had stolen them but it was pretty obvious it was him. I stopped hanging around with him eventually.

Indeed. It was not your fault. Go now and never sin again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

grown up spaniards are all cnuts, so why would you expect their kids to be any better??

the above post may contain trace amounts of sarcasm and a percentage(unknown) of flippant generalisation. We at solnskaya accept no responcibility for the accuracy/lack of accuracy of the above post. The above post may well be boll0x and spaniards may well be gas people who we really like who always make us welcome when we go there on holiday.Or not.If they're from Barcelona, they are indeed, cnuts..

Unless you know every single Spanish adult then that statement is absurd and misinformed and possibly even racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

That much of it is in the head - every generation has said the same about kids. And ADHD is a real condition - just because some people might (might) use it as an excuse, doesn't mean there aren't genuine cases of it. It wasn't recognised by medical experts until recently - that's why it appeared not to exist until then. Why would parents all of a sudden stop disciplining their kids/wrap them in cotton wool? Today's parents live the same experience as yesterday's parents.
    One thing though, to be fair: while it's great that harsh physical punishment is frowned upon, the pendulum has swung in that direction to the extent that even a light slap as a last resort is virtually abuse, which is not reasonable IMO.