Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All the Way Round kicks off tomorrow!

• 03-06-2011 12:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭

Ok guys so All the Way Round 2011 kicks off tomorrow morning at 9am.

19 people from Boards.ie, most of them regulars of the motors forums will meet up outside the o2 at 9am in preparation for the first leg of the journey, a day long trip from Dublin up the east coast and across the northern coast, taking in the stunning Torr road and driving all the way to Bundoran where we will settle for the night.

The route for day 1 is here - Day 1 http://tinyurl.com/36o7bsc

If you want to meet up anywhere along the leg let us know and if you see us give us a beep.

Day 2 were going down the west coast, going as far west as Clifden and taking in Father Teds house for a tea break and meeting up with a fellow Boardsie in Sligo for some breakfast. Settling in Limerick for the night.

The route for day 2 is here - Day 2 http://tinyurl.com/2vbf4ry

Again if you see us give us a beep or if you want to join us along this leg let us know.

We'll finish the trip with a stint from Limerick to Cork and then all the way back to the starting line.

The route for day 2 is here - Day 3 http://tinyurl.com/2unlpj3

Everyone will be wrecked by day 3 so any beeps if you see us or support would be hugely welcomed by everyone taking part I'd imagine.

The trip is of course all in aid of Barretstown, a very worthy cause who we raised almost €7000 for last year.

This year we've been finding it even harder to raise money for a very worthy cause, 19 people have given up a bank holiday weekend to drive 10 - 11 hours a day around the country to help raise awareness and funds, after doing it last year I can assure you its not an easy trip and the people taking part are to be commended for what they are doing.

With that in mind it would be great if you donate as much as you can - http://www.mycharity.ie/event/allthewayround2011/

This money goes direct to Barretstown and ATWR is entirely non profit.

During the trip we will be updating via twitter, people can follow us - @ATWR_ie, please follow and retweet if you can.

Also if people could re-post this across other forums they use (ask mod permission first) to help spread the word that would be great. last year over €1000 was donated from Boards.ie users, lets try to achieve that again.

Finally we'd like to thank Boards.ie along with everyone else who has helped us so far, Bodhan, Completecarguy and many others. And especially the 19 people who have agreed to take part.

We'll be keeping this thread updated over the weekend along with Twitter, so follow us on the trip and keep us well supported.

Look out for the sticker in my sig on the cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Hope all goes well for ye! If I see ye around cork I'll give ye a beep or a thumbs up. Hope to take part in this in the future if ye decide to do it in future years so just have to get my full license now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

God help anyone without aircon if it's this warm!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

God help anyone without aircon if it's this warm!:(
    Onkle removed his only a few months ago...ahahahaha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Is there a list of boardsies and what they will be driving so that we can watch out for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Fey! wrote: »
    Is there a list of boardsies and what they will be driving so that we can watch out for them?

There is indeed, here's who's taking part from Boards.ie:

Draffodx
    Onkle
    Quazzie
    I Was VB
    Brescia
    Jemmy
    EPM
    Marlow
    Knifey_Spoonie
    jenizzle
    mg1980
    Eljono
    Tallon
    Eljono
    Drummerboy08

+ 4 non Boards participants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Gonna try and keep an eye out for ya's on the saturday afternoon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

Good luck to all of you and enjoy the weekend.

The A/C in the Focus is class but it drinks petrol so I wont be using it either, will be the good old fashioned window down for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Was heading up the M8 there going to Dublin for this and realised the wheels needed balancing. Called into Mikes Tyres in Fermoy. Balanced them for free!

Cheers lads, the next few days will be a lot more comfortable. Hopefully that will be the last bit of help needed:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Good luck lads.

If I sees ya around Donegal Town I'll gives ya a honk.

Be great to get a few beeps along the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

I'll be keeping an eye out when your passing through westport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

id like to come wish you all well but ill still be muntered at 9am , good luck though lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Best of luck to everyone! You'll be passing by me on the motorway so won't see yas, have a good one.

Hope all goes well for ye, just about day 3 in Cork, the Cork City Marathon is on then, there will be many traffic restrictions from 9am to 5pm in the City Centre and access routes to same as well as the Marathon route, just a word to the wise, I presume ye have that factored in. Coming from Limerick and heading to Youghal ye can avoid all the restrictions obviously :)

RoverJames wrote: »
    Hope all goes well for ye, just about day 3 in Cork, the Cork City Marathon is on then, there will be many traffic restrictions from 9am to 5pm in the City Centre and access routes to same as well as the Marathon route, just a word to the wise, I presume ye have that factored in. Coming from Limerick and heading to Youghal ye can avoid all the restrictions obviously :)

Already sorted. North circular and on to tivoli:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

best of luck lads.....

EPM wrote: »
    Already sorted. North circular and on to tivoli:)
    :cool:

I partly guessed you'd have that covered :)
    No John Grace's so :pac:

Fcek no. Hillbillies ftw!

See you lot in the morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

50bhp increase makes up for it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Best of luck lads!

Onkle wrote: »
    50bhp increase makes up for it though

Yeah....ahem...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I'm going to head down to the point to wish all the participants well, and i'll accompany them on the first part of the journey - as far as Drogeda, if I can keep up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Best of luck lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

04062011137.jpg

Cracking day for. Good luck lads and keep us updated.

Had a frown on my face pulling off the M1 and leaving everyone else away with it. Can't think of many things that would be better than driving around Ireland on a weekend like this, and it's all for a very good cause too.

04062011136.jpg

04062011139.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Best of luck everyone, see y'all in Limerick tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Have a great trip lads and remember - pics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Might see you pass through bangor, mayo on sunday.

First day down. Wrecked, about 550kms done.

Torr road was epic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

All Arrived safe in bundoran. A pint to relax :)

Check out the twitter for all the photos

Www.twitter.com/atwr_ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Who's gone?

NVM, just spotted on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

What time will ye be in Limerick tomorrow evening?

Mc Love wrote: »
    What time will ye be in Limerick tomorrow evening?

Tallon will keep twitter updated.

Could ye all thank his post? Would really get it out there if that was post of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Who's car's getting raped? If this is a proper road trip, someone needs to wake up in the morning with 'I love men' emblazoned down the side of their car.

Tallon will keep twitter updated.

Could ye all thank his post? Would really get it out there if that was post of the day.

Bit quiet in here at the mo, so snow balls chance in hell really but one never knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Bit quiet in here at the mo, so snow balls chance in hell really but one never knows.

I blame the weather and the cheap beer in Tesco

........... 53 members on now, 50+ thanks before midnight is possible :cool:

Worth a shot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

What's the world coming to ... you'd think some mod or other might make a Motor's announcement thingy above the stickies about t'event. But let's be real here. EPM's in fundoran, after locating the KFC's on the north side of the town, and currently trying to figure out if there's a lapdancing club down by the Promenade. :pac:

Worth a shot!

Indeed.

What's the world coming to ... you'd think some mod or other might make a Motor's announcement thingy above the stickies about t'event. But let's be real here. EPM's in fundoran, after locating the KFC's on the north side of the town, and currently trying to figure out if there's a lapdancing club down by the Promenade. :pac:

Mind reader

The first words uttered by a certain person on arrival in bundoran were 'lads, is there a lapdancing club here'

Anyway day one is over, for most of us :) it was once again an epic day with a great group of lads

In limerick now, all of us are heading to the pub now

We were in father teds house today too:D

Photo's and videos are in production :p

Gimme a while, there are a lot :D

Home, wrecked.... EPIC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Father Ted's house anyway

254387_10150204905308682_698008681_7348565_853727_n.jpg

Invaded by a bunch of petrolheads.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Fair play lads. I was on the M1 on saturday morning and saw plenty of nice cars driving by with stickers on the side. Couldn't figure out what was going on, eventually managed to read one though. In fact now that i think of it there was a big group in ahead of me in the queue at one of the service stops getting breakfast rolls. That could well have been some of ye!

Yeah, that was us :)