Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards outing

• 03-06-2011 12:35pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Since every forum seems to have a beers I thought a boards outing might be some fun. Obviously, would take some organising but would people be interested?

Date of first outing - a Friday in July 64 votes

1st
    0% 0 votes
    8th
    12% 8 votes
    15th
    17% 11 votes
    22th
    21% 14 votes
    29th
    48% 31 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Since every forum seems to have a beers I thought a boards outing might be some fun. Obviously, would take some organising but would people be interested?

Great idea. I'd be interested :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Golf and Beers, sounds good

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Golf and Beers, sounds good
    Not sure about beer as some may have to travel!

Great idea but thinking that it could be a while before we get some real interest so we could even arrange a game in the coming weeks or just set a venue and date and see who turns up?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Vanbis wrote: »
    Great idea but thinking that it could be a while before we get some real interest so we could even arrange a game in the coming weeks or just set a venue and date and see who turns up?
    Could be done. Suppose we would have to try put people together who are at similar levels. Don't want to exclude anyone.

True and i'm no tiger woods myself. I've only started playing again in the last few months as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Figo69

Sound grand......as long as it in Macreddin GC. :D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

Great Idea,
    Where in the country were you thinking of having this outing?
    I can get vvvvery good discounts on a lot of courses around the country, id pass them on free of charge.
    Might event put up a prize as I have some from my website www.worldcupofgolf.com
    July or August suit most golfers best? I think to organise it correctly would need the notice to get good deals, maybe some sponsors= prizes etc.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

The whole idea of a handicap is to level the playing field!!!

I'd be up for this too. Would a midland venue suit everyone? I don't mind travelling though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Im on for it.

Depending on the numbers it might be a good idea to hold a few outings on the same day (ie) one in Leinster, Munster, Ulster and Connaught so that people only have to travel within their province. Then the winners of each outing could play each other at a later date in a winner takes all, fight to the death sort of a match. Would take a bit of organising all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Keano A Legend - great idea, I'd definitely be up for it. I think, in terms of location, somewhere slightly west (i.e. within 40 mins) of the M50 would suit the maximum number of people... I wouldn't mind travelling at the same time though.

Regarding day of the week, my suggestion would be a Friday afternoon, from 3pm onwards. Weekends are precious to most people but I think, for a round of golf on a decent course, a lot would be willing to take a half-day off to play.

That's my tuppence-worth anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

How much people be willing to spend is another question.

The heritage popped into the head as an option. Location is pretty good with good access from all directions. Bit on the steep side fee's wise but as we all know they could be up for a bit of bargaining ;) Decent track too.

Druids glen resort, Wicklow
    Close to Dublin and south and midlands?
    Druids Heath golf course
    http://www.druidsglenresort.com/golf-hotel-wicklow/druids-heath-golf-course/
    Maybe an option as it is good value at €35 a round. I could get a deal where we get round of golf, dinner and a drink if people would like this course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Beaulieu

Midlands club would be ideal - Tullamore / Glasson / Athlone - all decent tracks with good deals going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

Great idea, a Friday would be best and a deal with a course for a round and food would be easy to get if there was a decent amount of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Beaulieu wrote: »
    Midlands club would be ideal - Tullamore / Glasson / Athlone - all decent tracks with good deals going

they would be ideal places alright. middle of the country and all easily accessible by motorway for majority of people i would imagine.
    Any day of the week would do me but Friday afternoon would probably be the most ideal day of the week.
    Maybe a scramble would be the best format to play with the various handicaps we may have.

Glad a lot of people are interested. I've only started playing myself in the last few months so no world beater either.

Ya I would agree it would have to be somewhere that would suit everybody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I'd be on for a round and would travel too- there could be a spot prize for "Cop the Conno" competition or the like. Often wondered what a troll with a golf club looked like.

Ok where is everyone from/based so we can maybe start to pick a course.

I'm based in Clare

Tipperary :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

staker wrote: »
    I'd be on for a round and would travel too- there could be a spot prize for "Cop the Conno" competition or the like. Often wondered what a troll with a golf club looked like.

He would be easy to spot with thirteen Bay Hill 7 irons and a gold plated Scotty Cameron dressed up as Ian Poulter ;):D:D:D

From Roscommon but work in Offaly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭judosean2005

Im from Clare but Live in Limerick.
    Id be up for a round also,Friday suits aswell.
    And ive only been playing about 3/4 months.
    But willing to travel.
    Great idea.

Sean

Quick scan of the thread and 14 people have shown interest. Really good start and would be great if we could make it 20.

Friday seems to be a popular choice and would probably help us with with tee times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

Is Tulfarris Wicklow too far out of the way?>

just came back from a night their in the hotel and the course looks super.
    I can get good deals with golf €30 and Ill ask for golf + food price.

what date r u all thinking of?
    June or July?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭judosean2005

So i guess we obviously have the numbers.

But do we have someone with enough knowledge into these kind of events to 'take this by the scruff of the neck' and Do some planning??

Sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

I'd be up for this also. Only started playing last year, current h'cap is 22 but heading towards 23....but the cut will come soon (I hope). Based in Dublin - Friday would suit and prepared to travel.

So i guess we obviously have the numbers.

But do we have someone with enough knowledge into these kind of events to 'take this by the scruff of the neck' and Do some planning??

Sean
    Well I would have no problem trying to get it arranged. Still will need to get prizes sorted so that's going to take a bit of work

Based in Dublin, Friday would be a good for me too but it depends on work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

Vanbis wrote: »
    Based in Dublin, Friday would be a good for me too but it depends on work.

Would be interested too. Based in Dublin/Meath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Based in Cork, willing to travel and can get out whenever so long as there's notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 MagsF

I'd be up for this also. I'm not playing long so I've a high-handicap but I'm not a total hacker.

I'm based in Dublin - Friday would suit and I'm prepared to travel.

Mags

Is Tulfarris Wicklow too far out of the way?>

just came back from a night their in the hotel and the course looks super.
    I can get good deals with golf €30 and Ill ask for golf + food price.

what date r u all thinking of?
    June or July?
    Probably would be July at this stage.

Can you get any deals around Laois?

My home course Rathdowney Co.Laois dose society or groups for 30e pp + food.

It's pretty much half way between Dublin and Cork so just over an hour both ways maybe and hour and 20. Just over an hour from Limerick. About 40 min easily from Kilkenny so add another half hour from Waterford. It's only 15 min from Roscrea so thats bout 30km from Portumna so could figure out from their if coming from the west.

It's for the same travel advantages I suggested the Heritage earlier in the thread as its only about 20 min up the road from Rathdowney.

In regards to Rathdowney. Course in brilliant condition. Greens are in awesome condition. really good track yet to hear of anyone coming away disappointed. Obviously wouldn't be my first choice to play their since I play their every day, and it completely rules out the "I didn't know the course!" excuse for being ****e but it's an option/suggestion anyway.

k.p.h wrote: »

It's pretty much half way between Dublin and Cork so just over an hour both ways maybe and hour and 20. Just over an hour from Limerick. About 40 min easily from Kilkenny so add another half hour from Waterford. It's only 15 min from Roscrea so thats bout 30km from Portumna so could figure out from their if coming from the west.

It's for the same travel advantages I suggested the Heritage earlier in the thread as its only about 20 min up the road from Rathdowney.

In regards to Rathdowney. Course in brilliant condition. Greens are in awesome condition. really good track yet to hear of anyone coming away disappointed. Obviously wouldn't be my first choice to play their since I play their every day, and it completely rules out the "I didn't know the course!" excuse for being ****e but it's an option/suggestion anyway.
    I really would like to play the Heritage. Do you think it would be expensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭eskimoparty

Sign me up for it for sure as well. Clareman based in Dublin but will travel. Any day suits once there is notice! Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭meolwan

Wish you all the best in getting this outing going. I would love to join you but just had a microdiscetomy 6 weeks ago so clubs are going to be in storage for a wee while longer. Still have a good round all who play.

I really would like to play the Heritage. Do you think it would be expensive?

I plays there a few weeks ago with a society and it was €45

You got to factor in the high handicappers though, heritage ain't easy.

I'v not actually played the heritage but was planning to get their in the next few weeks. Apparently it is quite tough. Littered with bunkers was one expression I heard. But it is a top course and I find no matter how tough a course everyone wants to have a go no matter what the handicap. Well I wouldn't mind playing 50 bunker shots in a round :rolleyes: Cost is another consideration also though. 45e plus travel expenses is a consideration now days.
    One option is to identify a few options and add have a poll see what everyone thinks.

I'v not actually played the heritage but was planning to get their in the next few weeks. Apparently it is quite tough. Littered with bunkers was one expression I heard. But it is a top course and I find no matter how tough a course everyone wants to have a go no matter what the handicap. Well I wouldn't mind playing 50 bunker shots in a round :rolleyes: Cost is another consideration also though. 45e plus travel expenses is a consideration now days.
    One option is to identify a few options and add have a poll see what everyone thinks.

Spot on.

Ok folks start putting out your suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

I'd be interested in playing here,being from Killarney i'll have to travel a good distance wherever ye decide,but i have relatives in Abbeyleix which is very close....i suppose Laois is as central and accessible as anywhere:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭patravers

I am a member at the heritage and am pretty new to golf and shot 103 for my first handicap score card a few weeks back.

So yeah it is a tough course but it is enjoyable and i would imagine that you could get a deal on fees. When i bring a mate i can get them in for €30 a head so i would imagine there would be scope

patravers wrote: »
    I am a member at the heritage and am pretty new to golf and shot 103 for my first handicap score card a few weeks back.

So yeah it is a tough course but it is enjoyable and i would imagine that you could get a deal on fees. When i bring a mate i can get them in for €30 a head so i would imagine there would be scope

Sounds good. We need to pick a date before we can get any quotes for golf. can someone put up a poll for dates? and we can vote?
    then once we have a date picked maybe patravers can get a price for us.
    The Heritage looks like a good option at anything near €30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Right, well it looks like there's agreement on the following;

Date: July
    Day: Friday (afternoon makes sense for those working)
    Venue: Somewhere in the midlands, as most seem to be (at the moment) coming from Dublin / Kildare / Laois / Meath

Options so far include;

1. The Heritage - just off M7, so ideal for almost all corners of the country being only an hour from Dublin and less than two from Cork. I would love to play this.
    2. Rathdowney - the same approximate location. I have played this a couple of times, but would prefer no. 1 above.
    3. Rathsallagh -just off the M9 and still reasonably accessible for most.
    4. Curragh - my own club, so I'd be biased here of course, but is just off M7 and within about 40mins of M50 on a Friday lunchtime - its looking really, really well at the moment too...
    5. Moyvalley - I played this last year, and it is a lovely place. Its not too hard for the higher handicapper, but does present real challenges for the lower ones too. Not sure about its current condition though.
    6. Glasson - with the new motorway, Athlone is only just over an hour from the M50 and this is a class course. Cost may be a killing factor though...

I could go on, but there are literally hundreds of options out there. Happy to help...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭david

Someone here mentioned Macreddin. I'll volunteer to organize this outing if people want to play Macreddin, 40-45 mins from M50/N11 at Loughlinstown. I can do most Friday's at 20pp or 30pp inc. buggy. I might even sponsor a few prizes too :D. If Macreddin is a runner I'll set up a timesheet on Google Docs and people can put themselves down to play.

Regards,
    D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Definitely interested, coming from Cork myself so ideally somewhere on the M7/M8 would be ideal.

July sounds good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭david

How about we do four qualifying rounds in each province and have the final somewhere more central?

david wrote: »
    How about we do four qualifying rounds in each province and have the final somewhere more central?
    I like the idea but I really think the first outing should be more of about people getting to know each other. Yes we will have prizes but if we take it down that route I feel some of the lads starting out might be put off.