Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do RTE ignore Ron Paul?

• 02-06-2011 10:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭

I was watching RTE earlier and they were showing clips of Mitt Romney announcing his candidacy for president of the US in 2012! After this they were talking about other republicans like pawlenty, palin, trump, none of which have even announced yet that they are running for candidacy! Ron Paul has announced he his running and is doing very well in all the polls he has been in, yet RTE don't feel it's necessary to mention him! What's their problem?

Note this is not just RTE, I seen the exact same situation on sky news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,136 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

sean gallagher is the ron paul of ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Ron Paul has some fantastic ideas that the majority of the US would agree with, however, MSM of all sorts has their own stable candidates that they want to focus on. RTE, when it comes down to US news, is simply a mouthpiece of the US MSM. RTE does (to my knowledge) absolutely no journalism in the US and simply re-runs pieces from US news outlets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

rte ,s present u.s reporter is overtly left wing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,706 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

they probably think it is Rue Paul

RuPaul_fl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

He has zero coverage in the States either as he is not a credible candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭rocksteady36

KerranJast wrote: »

Of course he is a credible candidate, but the Amercan media, the federal reserve, the repubicans and Democrats and AIPAC are shi tt ing themselves if he took over, he wants to end the Federal Reserve and stop propping up Israel and the Arabs, and limit the power of Washington and give power back to the states.

His supporters raised 6 million dollars in one day, a world record, and coined the new saying for fund raising called the MoneyBomb

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moneybomb

Not only did they raise this cash but they did it without him asking, he had no part in this fund raising, no other politician has had that support, the others like clinton etc have had teams of fundraisers knocking on doors giving favours etc.

He is a legend and its a fkn disgrace the way he is treated by the media, and to say he is not credible is just because Donald Flump said it, and the medai keep playing it, but lots of credible people are now saying he has a good chance.

The people power he has is much stronger than any of the other candidates.

They call Palin the 'Darling of the Tea Party' on RTE, it just shows how little they understand,

Ron Paul has some surprising news for the Tea Party:

You’re being taken for a ride.

At least this is what many libertarians like Ron Paul believe when they see someone like Glenn Beck or Sarah Palin trying to lead the Tea Party at the “restoring honor” rally this weekend. In fact, Ron Paul believes, if you’re looking for real freedom, you should really go back to the core of the constitution and the bill of rights, which Beck and Palin do not fully endorse when you really look at their beliefs. Whether it be Palin’s support for starting more wars or Beck’s beliefs on paying the private Federal Reserve MORE interest on our money by means of a VAT tax.

You could go on and on about how credible this guy is, all you have to do is listen to him...Then compare him to the other candidates...and the lies they spin..It has taken years for him to get his real message otu there because the media have tried to manipulate it, and spin it..But the internet has helped him..

I actually googled "WHY RTE IGNORED RON PAUL" and found this thread and another on POLICITCS.IE. So it is not just me wondering why Ron Paul was not mentioned, its a joke, cant believe RTE would not even mention him even if 'he is not credible' he is still VERY interesting and what he says is so honest it is worth hearing about.

So fair play to you for starting thread Autonomy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

The idea of someone like Paul running for candidacy is terrifying to a lot of people. American media is more or less paid off to not give him any airtime. His policies are dangerous to the current system of government.

I have to say I agree with his overall attitude, however. The federal system in the U.S. is a complete joke, highlighted by the marijuana debacle currently ongoing in which California medical marijuana clinics are being repeatedly raided by the feds, among other current issues.

While I'm generally a proponent of government-funded healthcare and education, which Paul disagrees with (I see his disagreement as a glaring oversight of his policy), if I were in America I would be inclined to vote for him. Neither the Republicans nor the Democrats have a steady platform, neither the Republicans nor the Democrats are willing to act like adults when presenting campaigns or speaking of the opposition, neither the Republicans nor the Democrats are in favour of transparency and personal responsibility.

His speeches are refreshing. He seems to have a legitimate understanding of the way things need to work; what, exactly, can be compromised, and what cannot. He understands the idea of responsibility. He understands what values America was built on. He openly supports WikiLeaks, truth and transparency; unheard of from a politician. He believes in letting the people make their own decisions instead of him making the decisions for people.

But the problem lies in that he wants to effectively neuter the federal government, the money machine, and that's a pretty big threat to a lot of dirty politicians.

I'm not exactly a CTer, but I've read/listened to/seen enough of what he's said, and enough of what the Republicans and Democrats have to say/do to have a fair understanding of the reality of why he's not getting time on American media.

It's not hard to see why he has such a dedicated following. He's a good speaker and has remained more or less consistent in policy. He believes in allowing people to do what they want so long as they don't hurt anyone else, in a nutshell, and imo it's the only approach that has a bit of sense given the options available there.

here is the complaints email

complaints@rte.ie

Ask them why they are ignoring Ron Paul lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 emacdonald

Ron Paul getting elected would be amazing. Unfortunately like you said he's rarely even mentioned (in the US media at least from my experience). He won't get the Republican seat but hopefully he will run as an independent again. Even if he doesn't win at least he goes out there and promotes an alternative to the two big parties that take turns messing with the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

liah wrote: »
    I have to say I agree with his overall attitude, however. The federal system in the U.S. is a complete joke, highlighted by the marijuana debacle currently ongoing in which California medical marijuana clinics are being repeatedly raided by the feds, among other current issues.
    While I'm generally a proponent of government-funded healthcare and education, which Paul disagrees with (I see his disagreement as a glaring oversight of his policy), if I were in America I would be inclined to vote for him. Neither the Republicans nor the Democrats have a steady platform, neither the Republicans nor the Democrats are willing to act like adults when presenting campaigns or speaking of the opposition, neither the Republicans nor the Democrats are in favour of transparency and personal responsibility.
    But the problem lies in that he wants to effectively neuter the federal government, the money machine, and that's a pretty big threat to a lot of dirty politicians.

That's the thing, he wants to end fed interference. However if states (like MA) want to do something like Medicare on their own then the fed shouldn't interfere. It's great how Romney will sign off on it for a state but not the fed. :pac: It's surprising to me that RP hasn't been shut up yet tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

If Ron Paul became President of the USA, he'll end up like Kennedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

How are PBS covering Ron Paul?
    sean gallagher is the ron paul of ireland

Ahhh see that were I made my mistake thinking that David Norris was the Ron Paul of Ireland
    Note this is not just RTE, I seen the exact same situation on sky news!

Title: Why does the media ignore Ron Paul?

Well there are lots of dead presidents but sure at least he will get to sleep with Marlin Monroe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭autonomy

His supporters in the US are certainly the most dedicated supporters of all the candidates, they regard him as the re-founding father! I've been following Ron Paul for the past few years and I love his libertarian views! If the media wasn't so bias, this man would of been president in 1988 when he first ran!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭denlaw

Skerries wrote: »

RuPaul_fl.jpg

Oh I so would ....

Wait a minute ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Love the guy,if I had a vote,he'd definitely get it. The more powerful politicians/media are scared of him though so he never gets any exposure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Great doc on Ron Paul, a breath of fresh air in american politics

http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/for-liberty/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Crosáidí wrote: »
    Had a listen to one of the videos above, about his views on wikileaks, and I agree with this statement. He seems to think it's okay for people to leak details about Americas foreign policy, and that America shouldn't spy on other people... I can see more planes hitting buildings... :pac:

Also, lol @ "end of Korean war" :D

Also, without the current wars, I'd wonder would Americas economy have gone down a few years ago: war is good for the economy, it gives jobs to people (soldiers), and makes jobs for other people (support). Heck, I'd nearly say that the continuation of war by America is needed by America to keeps its economy afloat, and anyone saying otherwise, such as Ron Paul, gets ignored.

=-=

Ron Paul wants to pull America out of the ME, and the UK leader want also wants to do so, so if RP gets in, I can see it happening. However, the generals are saying to do so now, before the time-line allowed it, would ensure the terrorists back back in power very quickly. Which is something I don't think they (USA military) want repeated after GW1, where they pulled out before finishing the job, only to come back nearly a decade later to finish the job?

If RP thinks the job market is bad now, wait until he pulls all the troops back home, and then you'll see more than a small blip of soldiers joining the unemployed.

=-=

If states are allowed to do whatever they want to do, I pity any child that is suspected of "being gay", and I pity children that are gay, as some of the southern bible thumping states have a pretty f**ked up mindset on how gay people should be "cured".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

Because the Fianna Gael-led government are involved in a thinly-veiled conspiracy with the special interest lobbyist groups in the US that are supporting the opposition of the Romney campaign so they will cause the Ron Paul campaign to appear to be quenched out by the foreign media in order to then create cognitive dissonance within the masses and allowing Obama to sweep home a second term, under threat of dissident pen-pushers making a bill which negotiates trade agreements with China that would get the Russians to put pressure on the ECB to raise interest rates by one fifth of a quarter of a percent thus crippling the Irish economy for the next couple of hundred years.

Or it could be just, ye know, because Ron Paul seems much less likely to win at this stage, isn't in full campaign mode yet and isn't getting that type of coverage anywhere at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,136 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

he's congressman that makes him mention worthy.

Well their going to be forced to mention his name when he gets elected next year

he's congressman that makes him mention worthy.
    Most of the other candidates are congressmen/senators of various ilk and only get mentioned if they have a realistic change of winning the nomination.
    Which he doesn't.
    Currently it's a toss up between Romney and Huntsman. If Rick Perry enters the race he's a shoe in.

RTE mentioned Ron Paul today and showed a clip of him speaking during the republican presidential debate last night in New Hampshire, so I was delighted with that! Maybe they seen this thread...:D

autonomy wrote: »
    RTE mentioned Ron Paul today and showed a clip of him speaking during the republican presidential debate last night in New Hampshire, so I was delighted with that! Maybe they seen this thread...:D

Haha, yea I saw it, very good...I emailed their complaints dept 10 days ago lol..I alos posted on Ron Paul Facebook page asking others to do it...

RTE replied

Thank you for your e-mail and your interest in our programmes.

Your comments about US Republican Presidential candidate Ron Paul have been noted and forwarded to our News Editorial team for attention.

Thank you for taking the time to make your views known.

With every good wish.

Máire Nic Fhinn,
    RTÉ Information.

Not saying thats why they gave him air time, but who knows...Its good to see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I believe Ron Paul is adequately covered by his legion of kooky online fans who will endlessly spam every message board from here to the election with Ron Paul mentions.

Spam lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

hmmm wrote: »
    I believe Ron Paul is adequately covered by his legion of kooky online fans who will endlessly spam every message board from here to the election with Ron Paul mentions.

:D:D

So true. He has no chance of winning.

Temaz wrote: »
    :D:D

So true. He has no chance of winning.

May be he has no chance, but either did Barack Obama. But yea its a shame he is peaking at seventy something..But may be his libertatrian ideals will move forward after he is gone..

I think the change he would bring about is too much for the people to understand, and too much loss of power for politicians and the Federal Reserve..

If he doesn't get nominated then Barack Obama will probably win, but I here the Americans are not too happy with him. But I can't see Mitt Romney winning, he is such a bull****ter..

He is also a mormon and I cant see Americans voting for a Mormon when it comes to it...

Ron Paul actually won poll showing he was the only candidate with a chance of beating Obama..

Also if we were to judge the reaction of the CNN debate

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/washington/2011/06/ron-paul-won-first-gop-debate-according-to-applause-.html

Ron Paul may be a long-shot candidate to some, but the conservative congressman from Texas received more than twice as many rounds of applause as his opponents at Monday night's GOP debate.

According to our friends at the Baltimore Sun, Paul was applauded 11 times while Mitt Romney, Michele Bachmann and Tim Pawlenty were applauded five times each. Newt Gingrich and Herman Cain were applauded four times each. Rick Santorum brought up the rear by only being applauded three times during the two-hour CNN debate.

Paul received one of the best reactions of any of the candidates after Romney said that if he were president, he would withdraw troops from Afghanistan only if his generals agreed that it was the right move.
    "I wouldn’t wait for my generals," Paul responded.

"I’m the commander in chief. I make the decisions. I tell the generals what to do," Paul, 75, said. "I’d bring them home as quickly as possible. And I would get them out of Iraq as well. And I wouldn’t start a war in Libya. I’d quit bombing Yemen. And I’d quit bombing Pakistan. I’d start taking care of people here at home because we could save hundreds of billions of dollars."

This journalist did a good job being objective.....

http://www.benzinga.com/general/politics/11/06/1167882/did-michele-bachmann-and-ron-paul-win-mondays-debate

Political pundits seem to pull their analysis out of thin air, filtering the candidate's performances through their own filters and expectations. The result seems to be support for bland candidates whose ideas most closely match the reporters involved.

Monday's debate seems to be bringing out the same silly analysis from Washington pundits. Romney is declared with winner despite saying nothing of substance. Bachmann gets high marks for not tripping over her words? Ron Paul gets a C grade despite being the only candidate to actually SAY something? Crap, crap, and more crap. Here are my grades for the debate.

Mitt Romney Media Grade: A. My Grade: B The media elite and the GOP party seem to want to coronate Romney the nominee before the rabble (the Republican primary voters) get a chance to ask questions and cast their votes. The media calls Romney the front-runner? Romney is a robot who advocated essentially the same health care plan as Obama. While that may or may not play nationally, it certainly should be a deal-breaker in Republican primary circles. Romney is the Bob Dole of this election season. He does get points for emerging from the first debate without anyone laying a glove on him, but there is no reason to think he did anything exemplary.

Michele Bachmann Media Grade: A. My Grade: A+ Bachmann is the tea party favorite who isn't supposed to be able to manage walking and chewing gum at the same time, so you can imagine my surprise when she walked onto the stage and did extremely well. She connected with voters in a way that does not always carry well across television, and was clearly comfortable with the format. She may not be ready for the top of the ticket, but she has worked herself into the conversation for vice president.

Ron Paul Media Grade: B-. My Grade: A- I know Ron Paul's fans think he deserves an A for every single performance, but something was still missing from Paul's game last night. He deserves major points for having the willingness to speak honestly, even on issues that may cost him among primary voters. He also articulates libertarian and freedom ideology better than anyone else in politics. It's a shame he's peaking now, in his 70s, rather than when he was a younger man. Still, Paul could benefit if a candidate like Romney emerges as the early favorite, and tea party activists turn to an alternative with views closer to their own. He would make an interesting top of the ticket for Bachmann.

I was so annoyed that he wasn't invited to the Frontline the other night. :rolleyes:

Ron Paul "has no chance", seems like he does now..

He came second in the Iowa Ames Poll, Bachman beat him by only 152 votes, she got 28.5% of votes Ron Paul got 27.6%. Bachman is also from Iowa, the voters are all from Iowa, so its a massive boost to Paul's chances.

The top two get more support and funding historically, the rest usually drop out..

If he actually won, they would say it means nothing, so I am glad he lost by such a small margin, it means they are all saying it is important and a sign of who could win the Republican nomination. It actually gives him more credibilty to the biased media who try to discount him.

Sweeeet.

It's Iowa, the arse end of nowhere, in a poll where neither of the big hitters Mitt Romney or Rick Perry took part. Don't go clutching at straws now :D

http://history.howstuffworks.com/american-history/iowa-caucus.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

This has moved far far away from being relevant to this forum.
    Moving from Television to News & Media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 northkildare

whos Ron Paul

Eh I was referring to the Iowa straw poll. :rolleyes:

The point is that Iowa is an important state and those that can do well in the straw poll will get funding from PACs and elsewhere.

If you don't perform well in Iowa straw poll, your funding is as good as gone.

Any more brain busters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 deepertheroots

Ron Paul "has no chance", seems like he does now..

He came second in the Iowa Ames Poll, Bachman beat him by only 152 votes, she got 28.5% of votes Ron Paul got 27.6%. Bachman is also from Iowa, the voters are all from Iowa, so its a massive boost to Paul's chances.

The top two get more support and funding historically, the rest usually drop out..

If he actually won, they would say it means nothing, so I am glad he lost by such a small margin, it means they are all saying it is important and a sign of who could win the Republican nomination. It actually gives him more credibilty to the biased media who try to discount him.

Sweeeet.

Ron Paul was only 152 votes behind Bachmann and 218 votes were missing!

It's Iowa, the arse end of nowhere, in a poll where neither of the big hitters Mitt Romney or Rick Perry took part. Don't go clutching at straws now

The point is that Iowa is an important state and those that can do well in the straw poll will get funding from PACs and elsewhere.

If you don't perform well in Iowa straw poll, your funding is as good as gone.

Any more brain busters?

Also if it is not important why have others dropped out of the race because they didnt come 1st or 2nd............................................................................................

If Paul came third or fourth he probably would have had to drop out, so I think on that alone its very important...

Imagine if he was younger and his message was being recieved the same, he would be mental. You can tell he is getting older. Hope he canpull off a miracle. He is really swimming against the tide..Some of the major networks have said nothing about him coming second, and blanked him, but like i said, they legitimise his performance when they legitimise Bachman.

Also as for Mitt Romney is playing a strategic game. If he was so confident of a win why not comepte, it is a comptetion, but he knows how important it is and how detrimental it would be if he didnt finish 1st or 2nd. Rick Perry, Palin, and others are still thinking of going in, but there all plaaying strategy, they wanted to see who will be culled after this, and they didnt have the balls to put their neck on the line. Anyway, this will seriously boost RonPaul, so it will be fun to hear him talk sense and put the rick santorums in their place...

For Ron Paul to effectively Tie in Iowa is very important...Its hilarious to hear people here saying its not.......Pawlenty spent a million dollars trying to get second place, now hes dropped out..

It could all be so different for Ron Paul if the media were behind him, then the sheep would row in too. Bachman will slip up along the way, get a headache or something....She only got the Iowa love becasue she kept saying she is from Iowa and you got to send an iowan to Washington. Shameless ****...But no one is saying she only won because of that on the mainstream media..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

autonomy wrote: »
    Ron Paul has announced he his running and is doing very well in all the polls he has been in, yet RTE don't feel it's necessary to mention him! What's their problem?

Same reason they largely ignore the San Fransico 49ers. Of limited interest to their target audience.

Who is Ron Paul anyway?

The Next President of the United States of America!

Same reason they largely ignore the San Fransico 49ers. Of limited interest to their target audience.

Who is Ron Paul anyway?

The Messiah lol

No he's not, he's just a very naughty boy.

Very quick there Elmo lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

http://gawker.com/5831167/

its not just rte that ignore him

http://gawker.com/5831167/

its not just rte that ignore him

It's every single mainstream media in the US and Europe, they keep saying he is unelectable even though he wins most straw polls he enters! The media are building their lovely little relationship with Rick ''Bush'' Perry, so don't be surprised to see him in the white house next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Of course he is a credible candidate, but the Amercan media, the federal reserve, the repubicans and Democrats and AIPAC are shi tt ing themselves if he took over, he wants to end the Federal Reserve and stop propping up Israel and the Arabs, and limit the power of Washington and give power back to the states.

His supporters raised 6 million dollars in one day, a world record, and coined the new saying for fund raising called the MoneyBomb

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moneybomb

Not only did they raise this cash but they did it without him asking, he had no part in this fund raising, no other politician has had that support, the others like clinton etc have had teams of fundraisers knocking on doors giving favours etc.

He is a legend and its a fkn disgrace the way he is treated by the media, and to say he is not credible is just because Donald Flump said it, and the medai keep playing it, but lots of credible people are now saying he has a good chance.

The people power he has is much stronger than any of the other candidates.

They call Palin the 'Darling of the Tea Party' on RTE, it just shows how little they understand,

Ron Paul has some surprising news for the Tea Party:

You’re being taken for a ride.

At least this is what many libertarians like Ron Paul believe when they see someone like Glenn Beck or Sarah Palin trying to lead the Tea Party at the “restoring honor” rally this weekend. In fact, Ron Paul believes, if you’re looking for real freedom, you should really go back to the core of the constitution and the bill of rights, which Beck and Palin do not fully endorse when you really look at their beliefs. Whether it be Palin’s support for starting more wars or Beck’s beliefs on paying the private Federal Reserve MORE interest on our money by means of a VAT tax.

You could go on and on about how credible this guy is, all you have to do is listen to him...Then compare him to the other candidates...and the lies they spin..It has taken years for him to get his real message otu there because the media have tried to manipulate it, and spin it..But the internet has helped him..

The same bloke that forced Obama to show his birth cert, he's a fool in my opinion, i would prefer Ron Paul to be elected over the rest of them, especially the likes of Sarah palin... i shutter to think of what would happen if she were to get elected.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Paul's a fairly hardcore libertarian from all I've seen. And candidates from extreme ends of the political spectrum never fare very well.

Coming second in that straw poll is still pretty small beans in the greater scheme of things. If Paul is going well in the primaries and the media are still ignoring him then, there may be a point to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭two wheels good

It's not just RTE. Seems to be the case in the USA too

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/cifamerica/2011/aug/16/ron-paul-media-bias

"For the last few days, the American media and political classes have been debating the fallout from the Ames straw poll:

But what of Ron Paul, who came second? The Texan congressman, outspoken libertarian and Tea Party idol got a mere 152 votes fewer than Bachmann. Where was the analysis of his campaign chances or – better still – a debate over his policy positions.

As usual, Paul was mostly ignored. The Washington Times declared him a "loser" even as it said Santorum, with 3,014 fewer votes than Paul, was a "winner". The blanking given to Paul was best summed up by Jon Stewart of the Daily Show, who showed news anchors and analysts laughing at Paul and treating him like a geek in high school being teased by jocks."

It's not just RTE. Seems to be the case in the USA too

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/cifamerica/2011/aug/16/ron-paul-media-bias

"For the last few days, the American media and political classes have been debating the fallout from the Ames straw poll:

But what of Ron Paul, who came second? The Texan congressman, outspoken libertarian and Tea Party idol got a mere 152 votes fewer than Bachmann. Where was the analysis of his campaign chances or – better still – a debate over his policy positions.

As usual, Paul was mostly ignored. The Washington Times declared him a "loser" even as it said Santorum, with 3,014 fewer votes than Paul, was a "winner". The blanking given to Paul was best summed up by Jon Stewart of the Daily Show, who showed news anchors and analysts laughing at Paul and treating him like a geek in high school being teased by jocks."

Respect has to go to Jon Stewart in sticking up for the congressman and his supporters, they deserve to be acknowledged at least after their success in the polls!