Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest against the water charges?

• 02-06-2011 8:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭

As a protest against the water charges should people turn on their taps on the 1st Jan 2012 and let the reserves run dry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Useless protest.
    They'll be frozen on that day more than likely.

Think harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Yeah I am totally with you...f*ck those babies that need water for bottles and stuff...we'll show them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

sollar wrote: »
    As a protest against the water charges should people turn on their taps on the 1st Jan 2012 and let the reserves run dry?
    You seriously can't think of anything worthwhile to moan about, can you.

I mean, nevermind that your "protest" just makes the case for metering. Go ahead I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

mikom wrote: »
    Useless protest.
    They'll be frozen on that day more than likely.

Think harder.

The water still ran last year.

The water need not run out.... the councils will be reporting back to the government saying the levels are dropping. The government then panic and remove the charges.

No babies will go without - its a protest. We have to do something we are meekly accepting charge after charge and the only people feeling the pain are the poorer members of society.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Yes the harsh dry conditions of January will surely see the reserves run dry.;)

Overheal wrote: »
    You seriously can't think of anything worthwhile to moan about, can you.

People in this country are afraid of protest... we deserve what we get then so

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

The water need not run out.... the councils will be reporting back to the government saying the levels are dropping. The government then panic and remove the charges.

No babies will go without - its a protest. We have to do something we are meekly accepting charge after charge and the only people feeling the pain are the poorer members of society.

The water charges are part of the IMF deal ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

If the water rates go towards "water and the delivery system" I have no problem with the charges but if they go into the general coffers then I have an issue.

Why does no one on TV and Radio ask that simple question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I'm with you OP

I'm also planning to demolish my house in protest at impending property tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭thisguy

We have to do something we are meekly accepting charge after charge and the only people feeling the pain are the poorer members of society.

No everyone is being charged.

The water charges are part of the IMF deal ?

The same deal that Fine Gael promised to renegotiate but are now implementing like SS men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Just refuse to pay it. I'm paying for enough, last thing I'll do is pay for water, I'll barrel it from somewhere before I pay for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 reptile man

if they bring in these charges we should threaten to rip the country apart .alot of pissed off people out there including me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

if they bring in these charges we should threaten to rip the country apart .alot of pissed off people out there including me

But what can you do? you're only one.....reptile man.

I think something drastic will have to happen soon. The sort of weakness we are displaying in the face of this crisis is embarrassing. The EU and our own government are treating this country and its people with contempt... the sort contempt that is usually shown to people who roll over so easily. And we are doing this on a national scale.

There hasn't been any significant protest yet and we are an international laughing stock because of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

The same deal that Fine Gael promised to renegotiate but are now implementing like SS men.

Worse than the SS, they were known for being dangerous and relentless, whereas the Blueshirts were seen as the saviors of the country before elected into government ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

What else can you expect from auld fascists?

I am refusing to pay. Seriously things are so tight now I am not able to put another bill on my table. I am sick of all of this, I will pay that tax when I am given my apartment that is in a prime Dublin location that was taken over by NAMA, because until then, I am not reaping the same rewards for the last 15 years as those who put us in this position!

Ginger83 wrote: »
    Just refuse to pay it. I'm paying for enough, last thing I'll do is pay for water, I'll barrel it from somewhere before I pay for it.
    yeah yeah ...

people said the same type of **** when the smoking ban came into effect. But like the smoking ban, theres good sense behind this measure, and nobody really has a spine to stand up to it, especially not something thats sensible.

I pay for just about everything except sunshine. Im even paying for the air I breathe, in some shape or form. Nevermind my safety through taxation (military, police, and judicial) my water (through metering) and my other utilities through billing, my housing through rent my car through rent etc. the list goes on. I have basic human rights to lots of things. Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of person. But you pay for it. Hell, you even pay to run the UN that devised those rights in the first place.

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    What else can you expect from auld fascists?

I am refusing to pay.

The government will win on this one though. They will set a date that it has to be paid by and after that date it will increase significantly. So people will be spooked and end up paying.

Overheal wrote: »
    theres good sense behind this measure, and nobody really has a spine to stand up to it, especially not something thats sensible.
    ce.

This is about gathering money to pay debts, dept run up by private bankers etc. Its not a water conservation measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Instead of coming up with some idiotic idea for a protest, how about you come up with a viable idea for raising money? In case you've lived in a cave for the last few years and haven't heard, money needs to be raised so we can deal with that pesky recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I'm with you OP

I'm also planning to demolish my house in protest at impending property tax

You sir/madam are a genius. In fact we should all follow your ingenious lead.

RMD wrote: »
    Instead of coming up with some idiotic idea for a protest, how about you come up with a viable idea for raising money? In case you've lived in a cave for the last few years and haven't heard, money needs to be raised so we can deal with that pesky recession.

Your right don't protest, don't create a scene. Just be good little citizens and pay up regardless. Good man RMD you have it sussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭seanin4711

We have become super passive over the last decade we need to take action now!
    Mass protests a la madrid a few weeks back !
    WE NEED EVERYONE this time and demand our country back FFS!!!!
    Watching primetime about water charges and household charges it is getting to be ridiculous.
    No payment by unwaged etc.
    The hard pressed tax payer(ie me and my wife and two kids) cannot take much more of this.
    The Government are pricing me out of the jobmarket and onto the dole where I may be better off TBH!

Are Fine Gael any better than the last shower of S**TS?

Jesus help me I would be out of this country if I wasn't in negative equity!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Piss all over the Dail I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭sonic85

FFS not this sh!t again. the irish will NEVER protest because every person on this island is a me feiner simple as that. i see it in my own workplace - everybody pulls in different directions and when that happens nothing meaningful gets done. we are spineless - a bunch of selfish cowards really and its just best to accept it bend over and await penetration.

for the record i agree with the OP about a protest but ive said it before a few thousand people will only give the government a bit of a giggle - to make them nervous 100,000+ would have to take to the streets and shut down dublin completely but itll never happen

Your right don't protest, don't create a scene. Just be good little citizens and pay up regardless. Good man RMD you have it sussed.

Well whats your plan? Keep on protesting till taxes and charges are abolished? What do we do then? Fund the government with the magical monopoly money from Lalaland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The OP should set himself on fire in front of government buildings.

Unfortunately we'll have no water to put him out, but no loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Equium

Am I the only one who agrees that charges should be brought in? Not that I will have to pay them or anything...

Well whats your plan? Keep on protesting till taxes and charges are abolished? What do we do then? Fund the government with the magical monopoly money from Lalaland?

and whats your plan may i ask? keep squeezing money from people already stretched to the limit? theres only so many times you can go to the well before it dries up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I am so unbelievably annoyed as to whats happening here in country and as to what happened. I would highly recommend for people to direct their energies in a positive way like raise money for charity. Do whatever, anything at all thats positive and beneficial. This train of thought has helped me to be a lot more happier and content within the past couple of weeks. Im broke as fcuk but am somewhat happy.

sonic85 wrote: »
    and whats your plan may i ask? keep squeezing money from people already stretched to the limit? theres only so many times you can go to the well before it dries up

I'm not doing the squeezing, I'm not involved in the civil service. I'll pay what they charge me, I'll work hard and get through the recession. People need to realise, as a country we're nothing more than talkers and complainers. We have no problem complaining about the latest crap thrown at us by the government, but when it comes to doing something the vast majority couldn't give a shít. People also need to realise we're the most in debt country in the world per capita, we've a lot of money to pay off and sadly they're going to squeeze everything out of us until it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭ForestFire

I personnel believe that water charges in some form is the right thing to do........now wait for the rest.......;)

There should be a basic amount free per month, based on a per house, per bedroom or per person basis. This should be enough to cover the basic needs and in most cases people would rarely go over this limit and not be charged....

The charge should come in for households that are excessivly using water...to wash cars, leaving taps run, fill the swimming pool:p etc.

The chances of this happening....I fear....is very slim.....:rolleyes:

Also worth noting, if they don't get the money this way....they will get it somehow....although it could be fairer I suppose

I'm not doing the squeezing, I'm not involved in the civil service. I'll pay what they charge me, I'll work hard and get through the recession. People need to realise, as a country we're nothing more than talkers and complainers. We have no problem complaining about the latest crap thrown at us by the government, but when it comes to doing something the vast majority couldn't give a shít. People also need to realise we're the most in debt country in the world per capita, we've a lot of money to pay off and sadly they're going to squeeze everything out of us until it is.

basically what i said in my first post. ill do the same ill work and pay my taxes but im not willing to keep giving bigger and bigger lumps of my wages away im just not gonna do it.

as for the second highlighted bit "were" not in debt. i didnt contribute in any way to the mess the country is currently in. i resent this we crap and ive been hearing it for ages now from the tools in government - we all have to share the burden. fcuk off. if i went off and bought a house i couldnt afford fair enough id hold my hands up and take the blame but ive lived conservatively and whats my reward? getting rode without lubrication

sonic85 wrote: »
    basically what i said in my first post. ill do the same ill work and pay my taxes but im not willing to keep giving bigger and bigger lumps of my wages away im just not gonna do it.

as for the second highlighted bit "were" not in debt. i didnt contribute in any way to the mess the country is currently in. i resent this we crap and ive been hearing it for ages now from the tools in government - we all have to share the burden. fcuk off. if i went off and bought a house i couldnt afford fair enough id hold my hands up and take the blame but ive lived conservatively and whats my reward? getting rode without lubrication

Problem is, as a citizen of the in-debt country it is part of your burden. It's just the way things are, if the government fúcks up, it's the citizens who pay the price.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

protesting is stupid.

basically your willing to take Sean Quinn and others gambling debts up the ass and call people who say no "moaners"

WHAT A PATRIOT YOU ARE

basically your willing to take Sean Quinn and others gambling debts up the ass and call people who say no "moaners"

WHAT A PATRIOT YOU ARE

it's either that or prolong the recession and make things worse so i think he's right.

in terms of saying he's unpatriotic,grow up.

WHAT A PATRIOT YOU ARE

What's your better solution then? It's very easy to sit around and say "No, no we don't do it!!!@!!!!!!", that's grand sure it's easy to talk. What's your better solution though? It's piss easy to sit around and complain about the problems in life, it's completely fúcking useless though unless you offer a viable solution.

Problem is, as a citizen of the in-debt country it is part of your burden. It's just the way things are, if the government fúcks up, it's the citizens who pay the price.

and if nobody protests then we may put up with it

fair play to the OP

Protest, emigrate or bend over - take your pick those are the choices

pmcmahon wrote: »
    it's either that or prolong the recession and make things worse so i think he's right.

Bull****, we need to follow the proven economic formula of an expansionary fiscal consolidation and implement it 100% now.

Have you fookin looked at the figures at all? We arent getting out of this recession for a very long time. Paying water charges isnt going to save us

refusing to pay back the bank guarantee will speed it up but will still take a long time

and if nobody protests then we may put up with it

fair play to the OP

Protest, emigrate or bend over - take your pick those are the choices

protest-idiotic in this situation
    emigrate-best solution
    Bend over-stupidly bought an overpriced house during the boom years and can't emigrate.

to be honest id imagine things are gonna get a lot worse anyway. the debt is just too much and the tax intake isnt enough. i seen an economist lately cant remember his name (constantin gurdgiev) - he basically said no matter what the government does the country will default. so in other words my hard earned is going into a giant black hole. what a waste

Bull****, we need to follow the proven economic formula of an expansionary fiscal consolidation and implement it 100% now.
    what is this magic formula?

Have you fookin looked at the figures at all? We arent getting out of this recession for a very long time. Paying water charges isnt going to save us
    the irrigation system in Ireland needs a major improvement,basically all it is is us paying for the upgrade rather than using our bail out money.

refusing to pay back the bank guarantee will speed it up but will still take a long time
    are you stupid?,defaulting is going to speed up recovery? i've heard it all good luck with the protest.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I think something drastic will have to happen soon. The sort of weakness we are displaying in the face of this crisis is embarrassing. The EU and our own government are treating this country and its people with contempt... the sort contempt that is usually shown to people who roll over so easily. And we are doing this on a national scale.

There hasn't been any significant protest yet and we are an international laughing stock because of that.

not contempt, just idiots, the way our government and tbh the people as a whole have behaved over the last decade, reap what one sows etc etc, hopefully france and germany will do a better job of running this place, we clearly cant

What's your better solution then? It's very easy to sit around and say "No, no we don't do it!!!@!!!!!!", that's grand sure it's easy to talk. What's your better solution though? It's piss easy to sit around and complain about the problems in life, it's completely fúcking useless though unless you offer a viable solution.

all over the economics forum and on other websites, though there are no "solutions" at this point in time only least worse options.

Step 1 - Cut the deficit immediately and following the formula of an "expansionary fiscal consolidation".

Now we dont need to borrow anymore

Step 2 - Seperate Bank and Sovereign debt, no longer pay banking debt.

Iceland have a lower unemployment rate than us. Watch this space we will be stuck with very high unemployment in the long run unless we do something harsh like this.

You might think this is crazy with how sudden it would be but the reason its important to do it like this is because the current crop of 30 - 50 yr olds will not be able to retire. Pensions are going to be worthless if unemployment is hovering between 10 and 15 % for the next 10 years.

Dont ever forget they spent the pension reserve fund. This has implications far wider reaching than those whose pensions this was for - the state will have to pick up the slack

not contempt, just idiots, the way our government and tbh the people as a whole have behaved over the last decade, reap what one sows etc etc, hopefully france and germany will do a better job of running this place, we clearly cant

They dont give a damn either they just want us to keep paying the debts
    hence the punitive interest rates. Secondly they want our multinational jobs
    The bailout is turning Ireland into a worse basketcase

This is about gathering money to pay debts, dept run up by private bankers etc. Its not a water conservation measure.
    When was it ever about water conservation? That's a side effect, and barely relevant to the Irish water resources. It's more about Cost Conservation, the expenses the system already incurs/should be occurring to supply and maintain drinkable water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

So slowly, over the years, one by one services that the tax payer paid for are disappearing.

- it wasnt too long ago that your bins were taken away without charge. Taxes paid for it.
    - for years the tax payer paid for the water usage. That too is going to go.

Sure lets be honest. The government is trying to tax its way out of problems. Water chargers were always on the agenda but with the situation now its full steam ahead.

What next?

I said it before and i'll say it again the day where "broadband tax" will come. Akin to TV license.

the irrigation system in Ireland needs a major improvement,basically all it is is us paying for the upgrade rather than using our bail out money.

nobody knows where the money from this scheme will go. my guess is the current system will remain the same and the money brought in from the meters will disappear never to be seen again.

the taxes were forking out at the minute should be paying for the upgrade of the system otherwise why are we paying them?