Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

War Stories

• 01-06-2011 7:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭

I dunno is this like the off topic thread but I thought it would be a good idea to have a thread to tell all our skirmishing war stories horrors and the funny ones included even post pics.

To get the ball rolling:

We recently played a game in an indoor site and we had a marshall as our VIP and as the lads were closing in and there was 2 of them left one turned to the other fella and said f*ck it shot the VIP, his buddy and himself for the laugh!!
    Another time I was also in another indoor site and came across an enemy and offered him a bang bang kill and he got odd calling it a bullsh*t rule so next time I got the oppurtunity I shot him point blank with my pistol and he got odd too!!!! :D:D:D:D:D

(I like the funny ones)
    so come on lads try to keep this on the front page:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

I ate a spider once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭sharpy2010

what kind of spider tell me more?? or would that be considered trolling?:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

I use a fabric drop-leg holster, and to stop my mag from getting lost, I put a strip of electrical tape over the mag, and around the pistol grip - this keeps it secure, but it is still very easy to tear through to reload.

Anyway, one day I was doing this, and a friend was asking why...he decided not to bother...he lost his mag

lesson learned:D:D

It had 8 legs, it must have been from Cork... (joke)

Jokes aside... hmm, ultimate moments... Its hard to really think of a specific one...
    I play too often, and for too long, perhaps the time with the car and the apc... or riding a jeep sideboards for an assauit... abseil entry into a building... hmm... shooting at terrorists in primark? (sureal as hell) or maybe defending a vietnam firebase in the rain during a namsim... hm. hard to say.

What makes airsoft for me, is the players, and the atmosphere.... these things would just be fun activities without them... its the individuals that make it amazing.

Oh go on, I'll bite...

Best one, was probably when I was the terrorist side commander at a milsim. i was captured during a weapons deal, and taken prisoner. I shot my guard and escaped the enemy CO, and his SF section, and making it all the way back to my own lines safely... that pissed off a LOT of people when I escaped :D

good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭richieffff

At my usual site theres a low branch thats fairly notorious for clocking people in head as its 10 seconds outside a respwan point, I've seem some fairly comedic falls from that branch from people in a hurry. Imagine banana slip mixed with a tree branch theres your usual scene :D And yes I've had my turn with the branch....twice :o

very true and its the stories that we tell bring everyone together around the imaginary fire that is boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭ronan keane

I was in RedBarn we were attacking the base and getting slaughtered me being the eejit started crawling to the base straight through nettles....I could barely play the next match...and I got shot before I could do anything :rolleyes:
    Also me and a lad were talking and I asked could I see his gun so he moved back a bit handed me his LMG he got shot straight away and we lost :p
    I'm bad luck to be honest :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

One weekend recently at HRTA I spent ten minutes getting myself into a sneaky position between the end ditch and the back row of cabins in the village. I spotted a marshal sitting in the door of an building a row or two over. He had a big grin on his face. I thought this was a 'fair dues' grin to give props to my sneaky sneaky crawly bullshít.
    Instead it turned out to be because I hadn't cleared the ditch properly and there as an opfor player who was crawling up behind me, who promptly knife killed me.
    Lesson learned - if a marshal is grinning, it's not at you...

*facepalm* :D

Best time to ask to see your mates gun that, right in the middle of an assault... :D smooth.

Firekitten wrote: »
    *facepalm* :D

Best time to ask to see your mates gun that, right in the middle of an assault... :D smooth.

What can I say I'm a pro at failing :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

@Despot - ^^,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

You fecker! You helped Rob by distracting me by grinning! Fecking swine...

its when the marshal is trying to keep a straight face you need to be worried.

or even when hes not looking be worried as "well I didnt see it happen"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭Arkslippy

My second time out, at the maz site, we were playing capture the hill. I had borrowed this enormously long g3 with a telescopic sight from my brother. I was on front of the hill and the opposing team captain was briefing his team at their start point which would normally be well out of range. I'd never fired the rifle out in the open. I was watching their briefing through the scope and switched from safe to semi to test the gun was ok.

Fired 1 shot and from 80+ yards away, slightly down hill and very down wind. Hit him right in the back of the head.

Briefing over as he walked back to the spawn.

Forgot to mention we were clearing a building I went into one in the courtyard 5 lads in there I think oh shiiiii pull the trigger *BAM BAM BAM BAM BAM* no one shouts *HIT* I look Gun got jammed -_- didn't end well.........
    and
    and someone threw a grenade I like the eejit try throw it back...........lets just say it had a short fuse....... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

30 metre one-shot-kill with an 8in revolver. 'nuff said.

Actually... I found a perfect war story...

Chernarus conflict part two... Sennybridge.

Chedaki forces are holed up in our CP, building 18. Our commander Ian get shot as we're attacked on four sides by the US marine corps, and the CDF forces.

We fight for a HOUR, under the command of 2ic Lemming. It gets so intense, that i steal ians mags when hes shot, and we have people who's sole job is filling mags in one room, while others fire. Medics are crawling around trying to keep people in the game. Firing is less 'aimed' more pop up spray a mag and get your head down just to keep the enemy away.
    A hour of full on intense contact, and you know what? We survived... the corps and cdf got extracted :D

Chedaki veterans <3

• This content has been removed.

AGB_Ghost wrote: »
    There was one time I was playing with my team, I had no belt on so while running down hill my trousers fell down and I tripped up...... thats when I got mad :pac:

Oh I've been there, not the first time caught with my trousers down :rolleyes:

Playing in an indoor game a while back during the night, there was no lights inside turned on so it was pitch black. I was hiding in a very awkward position behind a small plastic bin.
    I had gotten a loan of a radio from one of the lads without an ear piece (you can see where this is going).
    So anyway a couple of lads come into the room (which was a bar) and are standing in front of me, but due to being in an awkard position I couldn't raise my rifle cos it would hit the bin.
    When someone calls the radio. :(
    Got lit up literally! All of them had tracers, the madbull ones that give muzzle flash, it was amazing, turned night into daytime so they,even did on semi.
    I'd say everyone of their shots hit my forehead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭TerrenceAnth

falling backwards down the hill at fingal running away from the chainsaw zombie (woof) good times :P

I have a loadout that resembles a Call of Duty character, watching kids point in awe at a video game character makes me full of joy xD

Is it ghost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Playing at redbarn one day, was out in the open field with one of my mates and it was only us 2 and we were using it for flanking, we were having a firefight with sci-ops and fair play to him he was gaining on us fast, i move to the other side of the small building and look around the corner of the cover and see a large squad of people moving towards us and i thought "oh ****" i kept my mate busy by telling him to keep marcus' head down ( didnt work :( ) i took out a few of them but then marcus finally got my mate bacause he became occupied by the large squad aswell, followed by me :(
    Great fun tho, heart was racing knowing everyone was coming for us :P

I have a loadout that resembles a Call of Duty character, watching kids point in awe at a video game character makes me full of joy xD

My loadout is rios from army of two and i get alot of looks i guess i scare the younger airsofters when im running full speed at them lol mask plate carrier pimped out m4 and gold colt 45 i got of you ghost really finishs off the look :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Mr. Tezza

my best moment in airsofting was probably my first ever game, i only had a handgun (USP) so i borrowed an M4 off a mate of mine and went playing, its was a straight advance to contact type thing in a field with a few bits of cover, but mostly just concealment (light brush bb's cud pass through).

Anyway i remember we all went down the centre and i said **** it and went to the right, making a long story short was bounding from cover to cover when i heard a few shots go off close by... i jumped up and started spraying the brush in front of me wit the M4 but never wound on the mag, (it being a hi-cap and me being a newbie i never thought of it) so anyway dropped the M4 (it was on a sling) and went to my pistol in what seemed like a movie scene and let fly into the brush!

In the end it went well and i got yer man wit the pistol! but like mag ran out and i had to dive for cover and wind up the hi-cap on the M4 cos some1 had seen my heroics and started shooting at me!!!

Yep

I have a pic somewhere........

I knew it :p

I've had two young lads come up to me when I was holding a scar, one of them exclaimed "I know what that is!, It's an MP5k from Modern Warfare" to which his friend tells him to shut up, thats its "a light machine gun, the L86"

call of duty is the bain of airsoft... *sigh* I've noticed so many Codkiddies aim for the head, and refuse to take hits... they're too 'gamer' for airsoft >< it just seems a COD thing...

If someone ever asks me "Do you play COD?"
    My answer is "No I do not play with fish you silly child"
    :cool:

agreed 110%

next they will be bitching trying to call in uav's when they get 3 kills lol

There was like a super cod kid in redbarn one day and we where sitting waiting on the game to start and i **** you guys not i dunno if he was joking or not but he said "is team kill on???"

My face= O_O
    my reaction= Let me double check *shoots him in leg and watchs him dance* yup its on...

Infact some of the best times in airsoft is stuped stuff like that lol

This is all I can think of when I hear Cod anymore....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Sure I just enable god mode when people don't take hits...
    Funny times...
    *Lefty walks through group of enemy, draws pistol and double taps a guy in the back, he turns around shoots me with full auto and doesn't take the hit*
    "Not gonna take that buddy, no? *gesturing at the obvious hi-vis"
    "No! Cos you're cheating too! I shot you!!!!!"
    "Errr... Hi-vis?"
    "You still have to take your hit"
    "..."

Jaysus Lefty if I was yer man I would have run away in shame :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

one of my favourites was at a charity game before christmas, i spot 5 of the enemy discussing what to do next, so i walk over to them, ask them is that santa behind them? they all look behind them and i knife killed them all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Harveey

I run and by freak chance I slip at the same time a lad opens up on me. A wall of bb's misses me by inches, goin matrix style on his ass i accidently pull the trigger and single shot him right under his helmet square on in the forehead :p Was a real nervy moment as the bb's go past I notice the gap under my glasses when I'm on my back is actually pretty big :eek:

One the lads taking pictures is in fits as the poor lad walks away in shame :p He had it out for me the whole day :p

I was running once and my foot caught on a root, i actually sumersaulted and landed flat on my back (Osprey took the impact) and I lay dazed for a second, staring up at the tree canopy above me... firefight going on all around me... wondering why the world wasnt yellow anymore... Then I realied my glasses had fallen off mid flight... panic to recover them blind lol

Must remember to attach elactic band to mine as they LOVE to jump off my face at the most awkward times, just there playing an hour ago, flanked around the enemy, moving up to a nice sweet spot to pick them off. I stumble forward, glasses go flying. Frantic scramble back on and my position is given away from the shuffling in the bushes :p

thank god i got a mask and dont need to worry about classes flying.... just bbs shattering on the mesh =(

Classes :p Whats classes Terry Bear :p

Tbh i find it hard to lose the glasses normally... just a rare few occasions. Never had an injury though... I use a mask in cqb, and i did once somehow get a bb inside the lens lol

Harveey wrote: »
    Classes :p Whats classes Terry Bear :p

dyslexia fail....
    or did i invent a new word for glasses?? who knows. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭MonkeyGuy

One day up in Oakridge, there was only six of us including Kev. Playing a VIP game, with Kev as the VIP. Two of my team-mates moved to the back of the valley, I was a little bit up in a well hidden position. The plan being once the VIP was in range of the two other guys, I'd open up from beside/behind.

I saw a glimpse of Kev, then he disappeared. Next thing some shots were fired and my two team-mates were dead. I shot one of the bodyguards, then the other, they had no idea where I was. I then reloaded a 100 round magazine, just as Kev was coming into view. He spotted my famous "Tactical Pumas" (bright white runners) and began looking for cover, shooting at me. I fired at him frantically, realising I could win the game by myself. Suddenly I heard hit. Game won, took at the magazine.... empty.

Another game, same day, I got a loan of my friends sniper rifle, just to give it a go. Stood in the sniper tower and the other team was moving down. Kev, cocky as you like walked down in the open with his gun in one hand, looking at the ground. Just for a laugh I aimed high and left and pulled the trigger. As soon as I did one of the attackers let rip at me so I ducked. Next thing I hear "hit". I looked to see Kev walking away with his hands high and his tail between his legs :P

That's how I make friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

At a milsim I had a guy covered with my skorpion while we discussed some terms or some aul sh1t, of course, the battery fell out the bottom of it, cue lols at me. I slaughtered them about 5mins later with my rpk and had the captured executed. Sure twas all in good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Last Saturday I attempted to follow Harveeys knee slide down the hill at Fingal airsoft, but I ran, tripped over my own lace and "tactically rolled" the rest of the way down before ending up flat on my back, disorientated and with three enemy barrels in my face.

254087_1787824017384_1293065146_31595881_7851313_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

Last time I played a milsim at Rebel Airsoft, I got lost in the woods. :D