Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thanks.

• 31-05-2011 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭

Ok let's get this over with.
    In three separate threads over the last few weeks I've been accused of "handing out thanks' like ____ hands out BJs" (I forget who ____ was) and similar remarks.

People who crave thanks are routinely referred to as thank whores here, from which the only logical conclusion I can draw is that I, by giving the mout too much, am a thank "slut".

So I'm just curious: What do YE regard as a thankworthy post? If I'm in a thread with a raging debate, I tend to thank all the posts which agree with my stance on the debate, as in mI am not however the only person who does this.
    In ye'r eyes, am I too "easy"? Do I need to keep my mouse in my... um.... cupboard? (I'm running out of sexual puns here, someone help me out pronto... And I'll thank you for said help) :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Free Thanks?????

Me First!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Mass-debate over thanks whores? seXcellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Thank what you want and damn the begrudgers. I thank a fair bit but only when I agree or get a chuckle out of a post and I'm sure it's a lot more appreciated than filling a thread with a load of "=+1's and lols.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Thanks really is like sex - people who don't get much or any are angry towards those who do, and people who get a lot of it/do it a lot are referred to as whores.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Generally I'll thank a post if I either agree with it, or it just makes me seriously laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

I'll thank if the poster makes a good point or raises a good question, if he/she expresses something better than I have done/could do, and if something's funny (rare :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

It's only AH where this is seen as a problem. Thanks actually means something on the other forums on this site where topics are actually discussed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

If I'm reading your profile correct, you've bestowed a total of 185 thanks.

You're not a slut at all. Indeed, you are rather chaste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I live for Thanks, in fact, in real life I get angry when someone doesn't say their name to me after I've said something they agree with / that's funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I condone/endorse/support/sponsor this event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It is right to give thanks and praise.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Maybe if you could thank yourself, then there wouldn't be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

In three separate threads over the last few weeks I've been accused of "handing out thanks' like ____ hands out BJs" (I forget who ____ was) and similar remarks.

Is no one else interested in who ____ is :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

same as the OP, i'll thank a post if i agree with their stance on the issue, or if their post is helpful, or if their post acknowledges or agrees with my post! i dont buy into all this thanks whoring nonsense at all, there are numerous posts in the you laugh you lose thread that go unthanked, and as has been previously described before, many ways to avoid acknowledging a YLYL post as POTD.

an interesting point was made in the feedback thread recently though about the option to turn off the viewing of thanks in posts, same way as you can turn off viewing sigs, i'd certainly second this proposal anyway!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

So I'm just curious: What do YE regard as a thankworthy post?

This...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Dudess wrote: »
    Thanks really is like sex - people who don't get much or any are angry towards those who do, and people who get a lot of it/do it a lot are referred to as whores.

Im not getting as much as I used to:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Legends.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Thank all you want. If you like the post, thank it. Like others have said here, I thank a post if it makes a good point or if it makes me laugh.

People complaining about thanks whores, either for giving or getting too many, usually just wish they got more thanks.
    I don't see what's wrong with thanking lots of posts, if you actually like the posts you thank.
    I can understand that some people might not like a post which seems to have been designed to be funny, and thus get lots of thanks (and I don't think people really do that anyway: they probably just think of something funny then type it). Sure, there's a whiff of desperation about looking for thanks (again, don't think anyone really does it), but how is that different from a stand-up comedian who not only expects people to laugh at their carefully-constructed jokes, but to pay them for the privilege too!!
    If the post is good, then let the thanks flow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

Thank whatever post you want, thats what I d, if i agree with the poster or i think its a funny post, or even a good argument I'll thank it, i dont give a s**t wheather or not people say I thank too much or too little, I thank what I want and let them thank what they want....... It's that simple I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

OP, in giving thanks-whores what they want you are hardly a slut. You are a customer or a 'Thanks-John'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭tjones64

i cant thank posts :(

i can now. so thanks for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I generally thank stuff that i agree with, makes me laugh or educates me (Very rare thanks).

I'd Also like to thank my Family and Friends for their support, my wife for her love and baby Jeasus just for being himself.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Why to people get so worked up about thanks? I don't get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I kinda see what you did there OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

squod wrote: »
    Mass-debate over thanks whores? seXcellent.

Yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I suspect the folks with the most thanks will be those who are closest to the middle of the road and least confrontational.

Like lightly sweetned, tepid tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

If something is funny or makes a good point then I'll thank it.

Don't think of yourself as a thanks whore, think of yourself as a thanks playa, it's cooler that way :cool:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Long ago we had rep whoring, It didn't end well. Today it is thanks whoring, it won't end well either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Im pressing the WÁNKS button on these threads from now on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

People who crave thanks are routinely referred to as thank whores here, from which the only logical conclusion I can draw is that I, by giving the mout too much, am a thank "slut".

:confused: Why do you give a flying fuk what other people think ?

Long ago we had rep whoring, It didn't end well. Today it is thanks whoring, it won't end well either.

Rep was more a rating thing though, wasn't it?

They tried something similar on Politics.ie and it was a disaster, more arguing about rep than politics!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I thank a post that makes me laugh.
    I thank a post to let the poster know I read the post.
    I thank a good post that is worth reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

In that case, there should be a kinky thanks button... or maybe stud... or...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I tend to thank all funny posts in After Hours. I just come in here for the giggles really, don't even bother going near the threads that have serious looking titles usually.

I'm a simple kind of folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Should be a thumbs down button too, then we'll see who whores for claps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

999 posts, 926 odd thanks, tried to get 1k for 1k but no such luck.

(Self confessed thanks lover)

Reply to Peaches below:

Where's the challenge in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Guill wrote: »

You could enter into a thank pact with someone. You thank one of theirs for every one of yours they thank.

But you have an average of 3.4 thanks per thanked post, a much more important statistic, like my own 3.8, achieved on a total of 842.

We could play Top Trumps with thanks - most thanked, most thanked outside AH etc.

Not that I've put much thought into this or over-invested or anything. Please thank this post or a kitten dies.

But you have an average of 3.4 thanks per thanked post, a much more important statistic, like my own 3.8, achieved on a total of 842.

We could play Top Trumps with thanks - most thanked, most thanked outside AH etc.

Not that I've put much thought into this or over-invested or anything. Please thank this post or a kitten dies.

I don't like kittens, kill it now:pac:

hondasam wrote: »
    I don't like kittens, kill it now:pac:

Ok, I'll kill it if you thank me. Everyone else, I'll kill it if you don't.

put it on you tube and I will thank you.:pac:

hondasam wrote: »
    put it on you tube and I will thank you.:pac:

Am I enough of a thanks-whore to do it? Why yes, I think there will be one less kitty around here tonight...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Ah, the day your thanks outnumbers your posts made is a good day :P (yes I'm a thanks slut too).

I thank anything and everything to be honest. If I agree with a post, if I think it's funny or if I found it interesting/useful. Which is a great deal of thanks really. Thanks for all! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭chickenbutt

Why does it all matter? Who actually sits there to read who thanks what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Young, you are... & understand much yet, you do not.

In time, see, you will, the power of thanks...

Enthrall you, it will.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

We do, we do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Maybe just turn them off as in you can thanks posts - and users see it in their profile - but they are not displayed on thread.

Not that I care but in lieu of banning endless threads from the thankless moaning about thanks, it may be an idea.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

stovelid wrote: »
    Maybe just turn them off as in you can thanks posts - and users see it in their profile - but they are not displayed on thread.

Not that I care but in lieu of banning endless threads from the thankless moaning about thanks, it may be an idea.

That's basically just a rep system though, which isn't nearly as good as the thanks system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

That's basically just a rep system though, which isn't nearly as good as the thanks system.

Well. I don't mind the Thanks system but anything to stop the ceaseless whining about it.

stovelid wrote: »
    Well. I don't mind the Thanks system but anything to stop the ceaseless whining about it.

They'll just whine about the rep system then.