Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Morality of internet gore

• 30-05-2011 5:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Why is there more tolerance for this than other taboo stuff,more common for beheadings/executions to be found its way on to the internet,some are staged and questionable,but some are supposedly real,surely any relations of those must feel upset their loved ones final agonising moments are there on the net to see?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

none of my relatives have been beheaded yet so I don't give a ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

its just easier for people to upload now and it kinda goes hand in hand if say 1 outta a million is a psycho who is into this stuff with growing population there are gonna be more and more

if you don't wanna watch it its easy enough to avoid

/b/ is a nice alternative

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Blaming the internet for gore is like blaming the postal service for a chain letter.

At least with the internet you have a choice of whether to look at upsetting footage or not.

I would hate to see the day the web stops being neutral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Why is there more tolerance for this than other taboo stuff.

Cause the devil tempts us with sexual desires, lustful flesh fantasies are the flith that yields him the most souls, souls that he hurls down into a firey pit in the depths of hell where they burn for eternity.

Bit of beheading though, sure never hurt anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

accessibility + anonymity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

morality and internet...hmmmm where to start...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Faces of death was mostly fake. Dont know why people like watching beheadings and stuff like that. Dont think its right.

I remember seeing some guy on top of a train getting electrocuted and drop like a sack of spuds, shocking it was :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HerrScheisse

Or that guy eating the live monkey brain with a spoon in a restaurant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

My brother showed me one man one jar for the first time today.

I mean two girls one cup - at least there was some sort of purpose behind that. Porn etc... (****ed up fetishes but courses for horses. )

But jesus. When that jar shattered I felt my baloon knot tighten up!

And when the glass started to fall out / be pulled out... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Cummybaby

Posting death videos is vile and horrific but lets face it the internet is an absolute free for all. It's like the wild west but no one knows how to govern it. Last week we saw the once feared super-injunction absolutely shredded to pieces by Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭maiden

I have watched a lot of bad stuff on the net and it never bothered me til i saw those russian guys murdering that man.

I couldnt eat or sleep for days after it, i wish i could erase it from my brain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Saila wrote: »
    I remember seeing some guy on top of a train getting electrocuted and drop like a sack of spuds, shocking it was :(

I thought it was proof of natural selection personally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Probably because its not illegal,so it has easier access online i assume.

maiden wrote: »
    I have watched a lot of bad stuff on the net and it never bothered me til i saw those russian guys murdering that man.

Never watched that video but I think your curiosity is behind why these videos are watched so much. People are fascinated by mortality.

I also think (a lot of guys, maybe?) like to see if they could handle seeing people die. When I was like 13 I remember every bloke in my class wanting to prove he could watch Saddam be hanged.

I've seen a few videos in my time. I'm fairly interested in ex-Soviet Block wars and came across a video of a boy (13) being executed by the soldiers of the one and only Mladic. Was fairly gruesome and I won't go into detail.

But yeah, I think most of the viewer-ship is down to curiosity and macho-ism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Saviola

Usually I don't find any of that stuff too disgusting, usually just look it up if people are discussing it and i wanna see what its all about.

I must say the dnepropetrovsk killers is absolutely horrific though, seriously messed up lads.

and man getting hit by train :eek:...vile.. VILE :mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Human nature!

Watching people die and animals fighting was once a past time of so many centuries, its human nature to find these sick things as entertainment.

Worst thing I've seen was Ken Bigley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

It's true that there is greater availability of gore/shocking images on the internet...but gory/gruesome content has been widely available before the popularity of the internet.

Noticeable examples being the pictures of Vietnamese children who suffered an Agent Orange attack, and the numerous video clips/photos of disfigured bodies that usually emerge after a conflict. These are made widely available by the press at the the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

and man getting hit by train :eek:...vile.. VILE :mad::(

Aw why did you bring that up :(

Saviola wrote: »
    Usually I don't find any of that stuff too disgusting, usually just look it up if people are discussing it and i wanna see what its all about.

I must say the dnepropetrovsk killers is absolutely horrific though, seriously messed up lads.

and you want to be similar to watch that one having known what it was about before, the russian serial killers one?
    you really do..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 kilkennym

sure theres nothing ya can do.. we already live in a nanny state, would you like internet police too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Saviola

and you want to be similar to watch that one having known what it was about before, the russian serial killers one?
    you really do..

I actually didnt know what it was about before i watched it, people were discussing it in cool vids and pics and I watched a bit before turning it off. No way I could make it to the end of it.

Would you say i was sick for watching the saw movies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I've seen alot of that stuff over the years on the net, and these days I've become mostly de-sensitised to it. For some reason I have more of a reaction to someone experiencing short term pain, rather than death.

Alot of the reason for the similar views people would have to mine would be as mentioned above, the sheer availability and access mediums that are available today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

The question is, do you want to live in ignorance ?

A lot of the lesser civilised countries would rather you know what was going on.
    Some of the most shocking things I've seen are people setting themselves on fire in protest over being thrown out of their homes or the like.

I suppose the distinction to make is when the principal subject of the film gives consent to publish it on the net, as opposed to those who don't.

kilkennym wrote: »
    sure theres nothing ya can do.. we already live in a nanny state, would you like internet police too?

this is it, it's easy to avoid this stuff if you don't want to see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

Was sitting innocently in college having lunch when a "mate" passed me his phone to have a look at that very same video......It changed me on some not to be messed with level, horrific stuff altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭EmatoelDiablo

Was this the beheading one? If so that was an awful thing for a ten year old to see. I had nightmares that I was the man. Rough times.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I also think (a lot of guys, maybe?) like to see if they could handle seeing people die. When I was like 13 I remember every bloke in my class wanting to prove he could watch Saddam be hanged.

In fairness he stood up to his end well, the oul bollocks. Them lads roaring abuse at him probably gave him something to focus on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

It always starts off as curiousty, seeing how far you can push the envelope for yourself. The Ukranian hammer video really brought the subject of internet gore to a lot of people's attention. People who wouldn't care at all at what type of gore is released out there. Even to the gore community that video was horrific given the nature of the murder and the whole story behind it. It's pratically the 1st snuff film that really spread throughout the web where someone is killed just for pleasure and, like 2Girls1Cup, has become a "Have you seen this video?"

The police involved in that case were upset that it was released but acknowledged that there was nothing they could do once it got onto the web.

There's forums and all sorts of communities dedicated to the subject. Not so much watching people die but seeing what people are capable of doing to each other and brutal results of different societies, especially in ones where crime is out of control. Mexico & Brazil are full of the craziest gangs, extremely fùcked up animals.

I've seen an incredible amount of stuff throughout the years, have become quite desensitsed to the majority of it. The rares ones specificaly with horrible stories behind them can get a reaction.

One forum in particular is full of medical students and it's quite interesting reading their discussions on certain topics. It's also quite odd seeing them joke so non-chalantly about the gorier stuff.

Gore is out there if people want to look for it, whatever their motives may be but it's not likely you will stumble across the stuff accidently. Other things like Child Porn (even the stuff that just about legally get away with it) and the rampant, incredibly hate-filled racism is what I think are the really major problems with the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

A lot of the lesser civilised countries would rather you know what was going on.
    Some of the most shocking things I've seen are people setting themselves on fire in protest over being thrown out of their homes or the like.

I suppose the distinction to make is when the principal subject of the film gives consent to publish it on the net, as opposed to those who don't.
    If i was put up there to shock, I'd rather live in ignorance.
    If it was to inform people of a horrible wrong being perpetrated, I'd want to know.
    I guess there will always be people who will use stuff published in either category for kicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

its not just human on human that has gore..

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0358456/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Rds1989

God i remember when my friend showed me that ukrainian hammer video without telling me what it was, i had tears in my eyes after and i actually found it hard to sleep for a couple of days. People who actively watch this stuff i can only assume they have some mental disorder.

This just instantly reminds me of the monk burning himself alive. It's probably one of the worst out there, yet i don't feel as affected. Sure it shows pain and agony like the rest, but it was for a cause. The 'Russians' were there just to cause pain and the video was to spread this pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

barone wrote: »
    its not just human on human that has gore..

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0358456/

Thats my everest and i have no intention of climbing
    The trailer was enough for me.

Funny how human gore doesn't affect some of us but animal cruelty is too much.

The 'Russians' were there just to cause pain and the video was to spread this pain.

Somebody within the police force invloved in that case uploaded the video from the Ukranians' mobile phone. There was another video on the phone which fortunately was never released, I think it would've gotten a far harder response than the one that's out there now.

The video can be technically called snuff since those Ukranians went out with intent to murder and document everything with their phones just for the sake of pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the internet does and should make everything visible, if were tollerant of everything it makes for a better society , if i said to you 20 years ago that seeing somebody being tortured with a screwdriver in a woods by 3 lads didnt upset me in any way , you would think i was mad or lying , now with the internet its become normal

Rds1989 wrote: »
    God i remember when my friend showed me that ukrainian hammer video without telling me what it was, i had tears in my eyes after and i actually found it hard to sleep for a couple of days. People who actively watch this stuff i can only assume they have some mental disorder.
    Nice friend you got there...

Krieg wrote: »
    Thats my everest and i have no intention of climbing
    The trailer was enough for me.

Funny how human gore doesn't affect some of us but animal cruelty is too much.

It's been said that if animals in pain affect you more than humans in pain, then you've never REALLY witnessed a fellow human suffering.

I agree, I would just love to know what went through the Ukrainians minds as they committed the murders and filmed them?
    I don't believe there is a drug strong enough to erase both conscience and morality?
    Sorry to bring up Godwin, but even Hitler put himself in a position to justify his murders. These just accepted what they had done.

Strangely enough, these Ukranians came from well-off families and were seen as normal. They wanted a token to end their teenage years and look back on it.........hell of a thing to remember.

Just recently, around the Russian region, 2 smart young medical students are being charged with serial killings. They did the same thing and went off killing people while videoing it.

.........and again, the footage of them doing their thing surfaced. This time though the story has been kept very low key considering the similarities to the Ukranian story.

This just instantly reminds me of the monk burning himself alive. It's probably one of the worst out there, yet i don't feel as affected. Sure it shows pain and agony like the rest, but it was for a cause. The 'Russians' were there just to cause pain and the video was to spread this pain.
    In the monk's case, it was his choice. Horrible, and powerful, but a statement, and made of his own free will.
    The 'Ukranian hammer' thing sounds like pure perverse sickening violence for the sake of violence, purely to shock some and to excite other sick individuals.
    I say 'sounds like' coz I didn't see it, nor do I want to. I wish people wouldn't keep putting up links to this kind of unimaginable hurt if it upset them so much.
    The monk thing I did see a short clip of, on the news.

Like, 'Oh Gawd yeah that was so fuckin HORRIBLE!!!'
    Here's another one...
    '
    Unbelievable.

Johro wrote: »
    I say 'sounds like' coz I didn't see it, nor do I want to.

Right as well... I hated my Primary School... This was how my class'mates' found fun. Oh and taking dumps on the bathroom floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Nothing new about this at all. I clearly remember looking at a site called rotten.com back around 1994. I haven't been back since. Why do I remember it that well? You would too, had you seen it. :eek:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

rotten.com is/was lame by todays standards :p

Tbh I'd rather not watch the kind of horrors yiz talk about, especially if I had an inkling of what to expect, and I definitely wouldn't want any part in spreading it.
    Some of you say you become 'desensitised' to that kind of violence.
    Now there's something to be afraid of.

Johro wrote: »
    Some of you say you become 'desensitised' to that kind of violence.
    Now there's something to be afraid of.

Eh, no...........not really. Don't worry, I'm not going to be setting animals on fire and posting videos up anytime soon.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Eh, no...........not really. Don't worry, I'm not going to be setting animals on fire and posting videos up anytime soon.
    Ha that's not what I mean. :p
    I mean I wouldn't like to have gotten to the stage where stuff like that doesn't affect me. Because it should. Very negatively.