Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Neil Diamond Ad Watch

• 30-05-2011 1:49pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

Stick em in here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

14.45 - Radio 1 :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Whats the issue with Big Neil?

No issue with Neil himself.

But there seems to be an advert for everyone in the audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Well they might not hear it the first time... or forget they've heard it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Is that the bloke who is supporting Mary Byrne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Desiree
    Oh, Desiree

Never heard so much advertising for one concert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Oh please not a thread! :pac:

The fecking show isn't until June 25th by which time the ad will have been played about another 150 times on Radio One alone.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

Surely it's on every ad break on Radio 1? They play it every morning after the 8.30 news on Morning Ireland.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I'd rather have you here with me,
    I'd much rather be.... EVERYBODY..

1937006596_4a5d0cce43.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Imagine if the gig is postponed for a few months!

*shudders*

I had a feeling a thread would start on this. It would appear MCD have misjudged how popular Neil is in Ireland - can he REALLY sell out the Aviva? Hence, the heavy radio ad blitz.

MCD must be paying RTE a hell of a lot of money to put the ads out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭real rocker

They say that Diamond(s) are a girl's best friend. Surely he will BYRNE them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

They say that Diamond(s) are a girl's best friend. Surely he will BYRNE them up.

Some stupid gimps will go to hear a washed up punter who has milked the public several times before.

Same auld crap, same old singer, washed out and gone.

Last throw of the dice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Some stupid gimps will go to hear a washed up punter who has milked the public several times before.

Same auld crap, same old singer, washed out and gone.

Last throw of the dice.

I hope you're referring to Mary there, Diamond is a legend, even if the ticket prices are up to MCD usual fleecing levels.

Today FM 18:29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 marcusgunn

4FM 19.25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

21.46 Newstalk or it could been an ad for this fella:

http://www.madpromotions.net/neildiamondtribute.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Someone on with Matt Cooper said the tickets aren't selling, which probably explains the saturation advertising approach.

The promoters must think its still about 1990 or something when Diamond could sell out Crocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

mike65 wrote: »
    The promoters must think its still about 1990 or something when Diamond could sell out Crocker.

http://www.bilerico.com/2010/01/chris%20crocker.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Today FM 18:29

Are Today FM promoting his concert??

I know they had something to do with the Def Leppard/Alice Cooper/Thin Lizzy concert later in the year.

8:45 Newstalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,986 ✭✭✭squonk

Neil is a legend. I was very much considering going except for two things...

1. Mary Byrne as co-featured act. Why? Really, why? I'd have asked Glen hansard to do the job. I'm no fan of Glen but at least he's written a song or two in his time, like Neil. Heck, even Deccie O'Rourke would be worthy. They could have even gone for the default position of Sharon Shannon & Mundy. Why are they not getting that some of us appreciate music and songwriting craft and are therefore not at all interested in Mary Byrne or any of Louis Walsh's other gimps? Poor, poor, very poor MCD.

2. In an effort to sell tickets they foisted Neil on Tubs on Friday night which was cringeworthy and did a great job of convincing anyone who was still on the fence to not go. Tubs, as usual, did a poor interview and it looked like Neil was landed in it. It also emphasised the point that Neil was getting on a bit and wasn't quite the man he once was.

Thanks to all of that, much as I'd love to go, I think it might be wiser to give this one a miss. BBC4 showed a fantastic gig from their electric Proms with Neil a few months ago. MCD would have been better off showing clips from that on Tubs. Ah well :(

4FM 12.40

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

squonk wrote: »

1. Mary Byrne as co-featured act. Why? Really, why? I'd have asked Glen hansard to do the job. I'm no fan of Glen but at least he's written a song or two in his time, like Neil. Heck, even Deccie O'Rourke would be worthy. They could have even gone for the default position of Sharon Shannon & Mundy. Why are they not getting that some of us appreciate music and songwriting craft and are therefore not at all interested in Mary Byrne or any of Louis Walsh's other gimps? Poor, poor, very poor MCD.

Cynical as I am about The X Factor and all that goes with it, you have to admit it is a fairytale success to see a woman go from a supermarket to playing a 50,000 seater in her hometown. Don't know her music - if she has any, I believe she can sing and fair play to her. In terms of programming, her style will fit well with the main act. She'll sing a load of covers and Neill Diamond is so familiar to everybody it will seem like he is singing covers. The audience who will attend this gig are looking for bang for their buck, to get the songs they know and I doubt are interested in any musical education or broadening of horizons.
    2. In an effort to sell tickets they foisted Neil on Tubs on Friday night which was cringeworthy and did a great job of convincing anyone who was still on the fence to not go. Tubs, as usual, did a poor interview and it looked like Neil was landed in it. It also emphasised the point that Neil was getting on a bit and wasn't quite the man he once was.

It's all part of the promo that an artist has to do if he wants to sell tickets. He's the guy who benefits. He's in the music business - promo is part of the work. Tubs might be cringey but he's got the audience numbers.
    Thanks to all of that, much as I'd love to go, I think it might be wiser to give this one a miss. BBC4 showed a fantastic gig from their electric Proms with Neil a few months ago. MCD would have been better off showing clips from that on Tubs. Ah well :(

Diamond has been on the live circuit for years playing stadiums like this. I'm sure his shows are like clockwork and satisfy the fans.

BrianD wrote: »
    Cynical as I am about The X Factor and all that goes with it, you have to admit it is a fairytale success to see a woman go from a supermarket to playing a 50,000 seater in her hometown. Don't know her music - if she has any, I believe she can sing and fair play to her.

Gotta agree with that.

Not my cup of tea either but fair play to her.

They have a new advert! (cunning ploy to fool this thread!)

13.35 RTE radio 1

14.03 RTE 1

Today FM 5.15 (old ad)

just heard the fcuker on RTE1 now 1825.

This fcuker went out of fashion about ten years ago.(maybe 15)

Rode the Irish public ragged , fcuking ragged, on various tours.

Guy is gone ,What is the RTE connection to a washed out has been?

Total stonker.

Get real .

4FM 18.50:eek:

So, eh - ^^^

Have you got your tickets for the gig yet Flutt, me oul flower ?

. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

This fcuker went out of fashion about ten years ago.(maybe 15)

Rode the Irish public ragged , fcuking ragged, on various tours.

Guy is gone ,What is the RTE connection to a washed out has been?

the same could be said for The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Eric Clapton etc etc but still people are willing to pay a premium to see these has beens.

Not 50,000 by the sound of it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

well thats because of the recession otherwise i reckon it would be sold out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Besides the constant radio advertising they also have a lovely big sign by Citywest on the Naas Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Imagine if the gig is postponed for a few months!

*shudders*

I had a feeling a thread would start on this. It would appear MCD have misjudged how popular Neil is in Ireland - can he REALLY sell out the Aviva? Hence, the heavy radio ad blitz.

MCD must be paying RTE a hell of a lot of money to put the ads out.

He sold out Croke Pk a few years ago, but I'd say these tickets are a bit pricier. I work at the Aviva and the amount of middle-aged women who got completely smashed at the Michael Buble concerts was quite big - will expect the same at Neil Diamond...

You have a chance then! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Not 50,000 by the sound of it though

Any info on how many tickets have been sold for it so far?

fryup wrote: »
    the same could be said for The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Eric Clapton etc etc but still people are willing to pay a premium to see these has beens.

Bigger idiots them, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

2:10pm - RTE Radio 1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

How much does all this massive advertising campaign cost?

snubbleste wrote: »
    How much does all this massive advertising campaign cost?

Premier Package – PR1 €8,100
    16 spots
    2 spots pre 07.00 Risin’ Time
    2 spots 07.00-09.00 Morning Ireland
    2 spots 09.00-12.55 Murray, Kenny, Collins
    1 spot 12.55-15.00 News at One, Liveline
    1 spot 15.00-16.30 Mooney
    1 spot 16.30-19.00 Drivetime
    3 spots 19.30-00.30 Arena, John Creedon, The Late Debate etc
    4 spots 08.00-19.00 Sat/Sun Weekend Prime
    Rate Card Cost Before Saving = €12,105
    Saving = 33%

RTÉ RADIO 1 WEEKDAY SPOTS
    pre 07.00 A Risin’ Time €380
    07.00-09.00 B Morning Ireland €2,050
    09.00-12.55 C John Murray, Pat Kenny, Ronan Collins €1,125
    12.55-13.45 H News at One €1,125
    13.45-15.00 J Liveline €1,125
    15.00-16.30 M Mooney €620
    16.30-19.00 P Drivetime €770
    19.00-19.30 Q Sport @ 7 €200
    Post 19.30 R/S Arena, John Creedon, Late Debate etc €160

Full rate card pdf
    http://www.rte.ie/radio/advertising/content/pdf/RTE%20Radio%20Rate%20Card%20and%20Ready%20Reckoner%202011.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Brace yourself for Funny Friday on Liveline. The theme? Neil Diamond!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,986 ✭✭✭squonk

fryup wrote: »
    well thats because of the recession otherwise i reckon it would be sold out

What are the ticket prices? You've a great point though. €80-€100 is pricey enough but when you also throw in a bit of food maybe beforehand and a few drinks, it all adds up. It gets even worse if you're from outside Dublin and have to get up there and maybe pay for a hotel for the night as well. MCD need to realise that the good times are over and stop screwing the public or accept the consequences.

I recently moved to Galway. Nowadays I get into gigs for €10-€15 and €30 is a pricey gig. I lived in Dublin for years and never thought about it but lately I've noticed how pricey gigs are there. It's €20+ to go to most things. There's a bigger population, surely gigs should actually be cheaper then!

Anyway, I'm delighted to see MCD get a burning over this. They are primarilly interested in the spondoolicks and very little else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

This is very true, put me and my mates off going, the thoughts of listening to some x-factor reject and contributing to her bank balance was too much to take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

What are the ticket prices?

65 euro.

His last album was number 1 in the US and UK, so he is not quite a has-been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Premier Package – PR1 €8,100
    16 spots
    2 spots pre 07.00 Risin’ Time
    2 spots 07.00-09.00 Morning Ireland
    2 spots 09.00-12.55 Murray, Kenny, Collins
    1 spot 12.55-15.00 News at One, Liveline
    1 spot 15.00-16.30 Mooney
    1 spot 16.30-19.00 Drivetime
    3 spots 19.30-00.30 Arena, John Creedon, The Late Debate etc
    4 spots 08.00-19.00 Sat/Sun Weekend Prime
    Rate Card Cost Before Saving = €12,105
    Saving = 33%

RTÉ RADIO 1 WEEKDAY SPOTS
    pre 07.00 A Risin’ Time €380
    07.00-09.00 B Morning Ireland €2,050
    09.00-12.55 C John Murray, Pat Kenny, Ronan Collins €1,125
    12.55-13.45 H News at One €1,125
    13.45-15.00 J Liveline €1,125
    15.00-16.30 M Mooney €620
    16.30-19.00 P Drivetime €770
    19.00-19.30 Q Sport @ 7 €200
    Post 19.30 R/S Arena, John Creedon, Late Debate etc €160

Full rate card pdf
    http://www.rte.ie/radio/advertising/content/pdf/RTE%20Radio%20Rate%20Card%20and%20Ready%20Reckoner%202011.pdf

All the promoters do deals with radio, print and online partners. They wouldn't even be paying a fraction of these rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

4.59 newstalk:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

19.27 Newstalk