Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Letterkenny Businessman drops 25k on Manchester United

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

THERE’S just no counting for blind loyalty, but it cost one Letterkenny business €25,000 at the weekend….in a bet on Manchester United
    The well-known Letterkenny businessman couldn’t resist odds of 7/4
    ...standing to pocket almost €19,000 if United had won.

:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

It's Manchester United or Man Utd.

Fúck off with yer ''manu''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Its Manyoo and they play in the EPL:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Ppff, can't getta job and idiots like that can :rolleyes: Coulda used that money for a year or so :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ahh are you still upset that your team were shown up by the brilliance of Barcelona ?

As regards eejit in Donegal it just goes to show how easily some are parted from their cash.

Did Donegal man not notice that it was old lover boy giggs, carrick, valencia and park that were facing Iniesta, Xavi and Messi ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

I happened to be in Covent Garden on Saturday and these so called lager louts/Manchester United Fans were gathered outside a lot of the local pubs chanting their usual songs LOUDLY and an "in your face" attitude to some Barcelona fans in the area!

They were so aggressive it was quite frightening for ordinary folk out shopping, There were a lot of cops around which gave some re-assurance!

I have no interest in soccer but I was SO delighted to find out later that Barcelona won. They were SO SURE of themselves and I am just talking about the fans!

Give me rugby any day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I thought you misspelled menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I thought you misspelled menu.

So did I!!!!!!!!! I thought he brought the whole county to McDs or something!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

His money, let him waste as he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Wait what?

someone up here has 25 grand?! first i heard of it. wonder can i sell him some magic beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

A fool and his money are soon parted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

RachaelVO wrote: »
    So did I!!!!!!!!! I thought he brought the whole county to McDs or something!!

McDowell's?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭ShaunC

Paddy power said they were going to refund losing bets if Man Utd were beaten in 90mins. I wonder who he placed his bet with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Who cares? At least he's not hoarding his cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

ShaunC wrote: »
    Paddy power said they were going to refund losing bets if Man Utd were beaten in 90mins. I wonder who he placed his bet with?

I hope he went to Ladbrokes and lost the lot

only on certain bets, first and last goalscorer and things like that. otherwise they wouldn't have made a cent really. lots of people on the site complaining about the wording of the offer though (plus only able to refund up to a max of 100 quid)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I bet if you walked into any bookies today and tried to place €25k on a 7/4 or 2/1 shot in any race you wouldn't have a hope of getting on :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

suitseir wrote: »
    I happened to be in Covent Garden on Saturday and these so called lager louts/Manchester United Fans were gathered outside a lot of the local pubs chanting their usual songs LOUDLY and an "in your face" attitude to some Barcelona fans in the area!
    :rolleyes:Bloody cockneys.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    McDowell's?:confused:

Now you're making me type McDonalds... sheesh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Now you're making me type McDonalds... sheesh :rolleyes:

You have to be specific on important issues.:P

ejmaztec wrote: »
    You have to be specific on important issues.:P

Yes, you're quiet right... my apologies for any confusion caused :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

So a bloke lost a bet.

Big deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Who cares? At least he's not hoarding his cash

I'd say if you have 25K to go out and blow on a team of langers, you probably have twice that again under the matress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

And if they hate, let 'em hate, watch the trophies pile up :).

It's his money, and he must be fairly comfortable if he can blow €25 thousand of it so he isn't harming anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

My faraway team from a place I've never been to would beat up your faraway team from a place you've never been to.

Rii?

http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/50313_9886223300_6057_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

they always have limits on that if you read the small print. It usually only max bet refunded of 100 or 200.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Worst article i have ever seen written, first of all he bet on Man Utd to win outright not in 90 minutes so it was not that bad of a bet and i myself thought it was good value.
    Secondly if he put on 25,000 Eur at 7to4 he would of won 43,750 not 19,000:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Secondly if he put on 25,000 Eur at 7to4 he would of won 43,750 not 19,000:rolleyes:

Think the poster probably meant 19k extra on top of his original bet back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Clearly knew nothing of football.. Even the most loyal utd fans knew they hadn't got a hope.. Ever.. Barcelona would beat any international team, never mind a club team..

2/3rd of the Spanish international + the best player in the world (Messi) kinda makes it unfair on everyone else.

Anyway, what an idiot.. May as well have dropped it down a drain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

A fool and his money soon part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

"Adult has decent punt on sporting event and loses"... Possibly the least thread worthy story in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Good enough for yer man. If he want's to piss away €25,000 then he shouldn't have had it in the first place. If he has still got money to waste, the I will gladly lighten his burden by taking some money off him.

If he likes betting, at least he should have hedged his bets and put on a lot less. At least that way, he wouldn't have been too much out of pocket if Man Utd. had lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

"Adult has decent punt on sporting event and loses"... Possibly the least thread worthy story in a long time.

Yeah. It's not even that significant of a sum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Sykk wrote: »
    Clearly knew nothing of football.. Even the most loyal utd fans knew they hadn't got a hope.. Ever.. Barcelona would beat any international team, never mind a club team..

2/3rd of the Spanish international + the best player in the world (Messi) kinda makes it unfair on everyone else.

Aftertiming is a silly game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

without reading the link I can bet that this is nothing to do with "why this country is in such a mess"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭thisguy

without reading the link I can bet that this is nothing to do with "why this country is in such a mess"

Unless it says he got the 25k from the bank and is paying his unemployed son to much allowance i'd imagine you're right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

cosanostra wrote: »
    More money than sense no wonder the countries in such a mess what a D1ck!

I don't see what your problem is with this. Its his cash, he can spend it how he wants. Others may consider buying a car or something for 25k a waste, but so what. Its up to the individual what they want to do with their money, providing its legal

Also, did people reading this thread really think that a 25k bet at 7/4, if won would leave you at a loss? (as suggested in the 2nd post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Also, did people reading this thread really think that a 25k bet at 7/4, if won would leave you at a loss? (as suggested in the 2nd post)

I think the second post was just pointing out that the maths quoted in the article was wrong.
    25K at 7/4 gives you a return of €68,750 (or a profit of €43,750). So the 19000 quoted in the article was nonsense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Yes, you're quiet right... my apologies for any confusion caused :o

Hmmm...so fcking betting odds and team derivations are specific issues and basic grammar is not.

Fook me, I am quite upset by that shooite.

That's why the country is fooked folks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Any reasonably high-level club team would beat most international teams because they train and play together week in week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

tommyhaas wrote: »
    I don't see what your problem is with this. Its his cash, he can spend it how he wants. Others may consider buying a car or something for 25k a waste, but so what. Its up to the individual what they want to do with their money, providing its legal

I don't think the money will be coming from his pockets more likely from his business account which could put his business in jeopardy along with the jobs it creates and money that may be owed to suppliers!

Its just a bit sickening when you hear this and at the same time Letterkenny chamber of commerce urging people to shop in the town to save these very businesses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Any top level club team would hop off most international teams.

Fair feks to him.. Why are people forgetting capitalism and free will?
    If he's rich, it's not a big deal for him.. And he can do what he likes with his money. Really unnecessary posts in here with people glad he lost it.

People seem to think that anyone who is rich now is stealing taxpayers money... It's fuking odd to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

cosanostra wrote: »
    I don't think the money will be coming from his pockets more likely from his business account which could put his business in jeopardy along with the jobs it creates and money that may be owed to suppliers!!

Have you any evidence that loosing this money will put his business in jeopardy, or that it is infact money from the business as oppose to his own cash?

Its just a bit sickening when you hear this and at the same time Letterkenny chamber of commerce urging people to shop in the town to save these very businesses

If he placed the bet in a local bookies, he has kept the money in the town. Would you be as annoyed if he had bought a car in Dublin with the cash, therefore not spending money in the town?

tommyhaas, I wouldn't bother wasting my time asking him questions if I were you.. The best possible response you could get is still gonna be a pile of horse shlt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

baz2009 wrote: »
    Any top level club team would hop off most international teams.
    Except Spain, because that's practically Barca anyway.

no messi though

thats the difference... imagine having Torres on instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I bet on utd to win too, got odds of 3.5 /1 to win in 90 mins, could not turn that down.

Realised 15 minutes into the game that bookies know best

yous are all fools to bet anyway,

at least i have a system