Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How is dope for you ?

• 29-05-2011 8:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭

I've never smoked much dope, and none since I started working

When I was a student, I used to have the odd smoke in social company, or occasionally on my own when I was bored.

At first I quite liked the feeling it gave, but for sure it caused me motivational problems, I just couldnt be bothered much with lectures or studying when I was smoking.

On saying that, I knew people who could genuinely function normally after periods of being stoned, I think it depends on the person.

Right now,I couldn't comtemplate smoking dope, I couldnt go to an office and do my work if I had cannibis in my system, I just wouldnt be productive enough.

How do you find dope ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

MungoMan wrote: »
    ...How do you find dope ?
    Honestly, it does nothing for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Used to smoke it all the time. Just makes me paranoid and introspective now. Beer ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I know a lad who can study when he is stoned... Does well in tests too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

slow,stupid and hungry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Only done it once, but it didn't do anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

phasers wrote: »

You did it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Depends on the environment you're in while smoking it. If it was just with a few mates while playing the PS3 you might be pretty monged and wouldn't be able to concentrate properly for a while. If it was while walking along the beach or otherwise keeping active then the effects aren't so apparent.

I'd never go into work/college while stoned though.. that's just a bad idea all round

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Used to smoke it all the time. Just makes me paranoid and introspective now. Beer ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

All behind me now and after so many years of absence dont think it would agree with me but I wasn't a heavy user anyway ,was more of a weekend toker because it would make me to laid back and there is no way I would have being able to function every day on the stuff as some people did .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

Never done it... Never appealed to me to be honest. But if ya are looking for some, you could try Kildare street in Dublin! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Smoked hash once and it made me feel dizzy and completly shattered. No thanks, life's tough enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Shi.te. Done nothing. Maybe I smoked the wrong stuff. I prefer Alcohol but don't agree with banning cannabis - a natural plant. Alcohol is worse than cannabis imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

beano345 wrote: »
    slow,stupid and hungry

It always made me hungry and horny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

what is AH's fascination with mundane weed threads? tis almost as silly as the tabloids fascination with ming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Shryke wrote: »
    You did it wrong.
    Possible, but I did it exactly the same way as my friends and they were all pretty baked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Possible, but I did it exactly the same way as my friends and they were all pretty baked.

Dito for me. Tried it but just didn't do nothing.
    Must be a medical thing that its didn't react the way it does with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

I don't enjoy the high anymore myself. You get used used to it and grow to really like it if you smoke on a regular basis though. In secondary school, there was a time that I'd get through an eighth a week. Not a huge amount by stoner standards but still.
    Naikon wrote: »
    don't agree with banning cannabis - a natural plant.

Opium's a natural plant too. So's hemlock.

Seems like quite a lot of people have trouble getting stoned the first time. Not really sure why that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Fremen wrote: »

Opium's a natural plant too.

Poppies?

I smoke fairly regularly to be honest, most days. for the past 3 years.

It doesnt seem to cause me any motivational problems, but i dont smoke before/during work or college, i treat it like alcohol and don't drive or do anything else you wouldnt when drunk. Even though at this stage the effects are lessened on me but still havent noticed any negative effects on me, im no more paranoid than the next man, and i do fairly well at work and in college.

It clearly effects everyone differently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Fremen wrote: »
    Opium's a natural plant too. So's hemlock.

Manufactured drugs are bad, mkay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

When I was prone to being without an agenda and getting nothing done I sorted myself out with one simple rule for dope : Just smoke it at the end of the day when you have absoloutely nothing left to do and you'll be grand. It's a remarkably boring drug anyway if your stoned all the time. You just ... don't really get high anymore. Just exist in this permanent haze. I don't know how people do it.

Like a nice indica myself. Not a fan of the unnaturally lighted and watered sativa strains with all that THC and no CBD.

CBD is your friend. The unsung hero that gives weed it's chill.

The only annoying thing about weed is the giggles eventually go away no matter what. The giggles are the best part.

Poppies?

Yeah, I meant opium poppies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Some people say you do not get high the first time you smoke.
    I was trying to think back to my first j but i cant remember if i got high or not:pac:

I just felt a sort of warm, tingly anticlimax the first time I smoked it. And I smoked quite a bit of it.

The next night I had half the amount and was gone. Every cliche in the book. The lads that were with me were drinking and I couldn't stop laughing at the fact that they didn't know what I was feeling. They started flicking through the foreign language channels and all the oddball stuff at the very end of the Sky listings and I just lost it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

I used to smoke it for a few years during my teens until one day I realised that I got no enjoyment from it whatsoever. I'd feel a little less sharp, a little more tired, and not an ounce happier

Honestly I get a more pleasurable feeling from drinking a lot of coffee.

p.s. I'm in favour of legalisation but the "it's a natural product" argument is very stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

pragmatic1 wrote: »

Same thing happened to me. It's like you reach a point where it starts having a different effect on your brain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

this dope be whack, bro'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

first time,it made me puke,second time...it made me puke!

So obviously gave it a miss for many years. Tried it again a few times and either it was a different type of "dope" (not very knowledgeable with the varients!)or just the fact that i only had a couple of tokes and learned my limit but had a really nice giggly high.but never really took to it as i still associated it with making me sick or basically brain dead relaxed.Think it's just something personaly my body can't handle.I know I could never be able to go to work after smoking,but know people who can and fuction quite well.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

When I hear the word I think of skins and it gives you wings

love the tight sound you get from model aircraft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Generally I can function perfectly on it, I'm pretty tolerant now and being honest although I don't incredibly high from it, I prefer the relaxing buzz more enjoyable. I was going to a martial arts seminar before and I was at these French lads house beforehand and found it weird that they would all smoke before training, after reluctantly smoking and going to gym, that's when I realized that you can control the high, if you sit around in dark room smoking you will get tired but I actually have learned to be more productive when I smoke! When I'm smoking in my room I go on these weird cleaning binges where I clean the room from top to bottom, something I'd rarely do sober.

Lukker- wrote: »
    Generally I can function perfectly on it, I'm pretty tolerant now and being honest although I don't incredibly high from it, I prefer the relaxing buzz more enjoyable. I was going to a martial arts seminar before and I was at these French lads house beforehand and found it weird that they would all smoke before training, after reluctantly smoking and going to gym, that's when I realized that you can control the high, if you sit around in dark room smoking you will get tired but I actually have learned to be more productive when I smoke! When I'm smoking in my room I go on these weird cleaning binges where I clean the room from top to bottom, something I'd rarely do sober.
    I think it was the wrestler Rob Van Dam who said he knows so many athletes who will smoke before a stretching/more relaxed type workout. It's very good for visualizing getting the muscle to do something and then doing it or something like that apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I think the things that always appealed to me about it was a) the taste and the ritual of skinning up and b) it really enhanced the listening to and playing of music.

Used to love smoking a big joint, stick in the earphones, sit down at the drumkit or with a guitar and rock out for hours.
    Bliss.

No more though, the paranoia and zero motivation became too much in the end so packed it in.

Wouldn't say no if someone passed me a j while drinking in a mates house though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

find a lot of irish people confuse smoking soapbar with actual dope. and thats where their bad experiences come from. i would way rather a few joints than a few beers, it leaves me feeling better and not tired and struggling to stay awake or if i have a good few joints i am just giggling and laughing, where as with a good few pints im drunk and looking at a hangover the next day which is not nice, think it kind of shows you, if you have 10 joints in a night or 10 pints in a night, which will leave you feeling better and its the 10 joints hands down, no after affects and no stupid texts on your phone!

i would be far more productive after smoking aswell, used to fly through assisgnments in college while smoking, would get really engrossed in the work i was doing! but then again thats just me, everyone is different, just wish that people had the right to make a choice leaglly between drugs as opposed to just having the legal choice of alcohol! and no, i dont fund drugs gangs as i dont buy from people who are supplied by or have any link to drugs gangs, thats where all the crap stuff comes from! grow your own or find someone who does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Stoned everyday activities ftw, and the pre-workout thing defiantly works. that and de-stress in evening after work.

That and wake n bakes

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

doesn't really affect me too much, the act of smoking it and having a laugh can calm you down good though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

I really think that how dope effects people depends on their personality.

I dont think its good for introspective people who maybe are not so confident in themselves, that's where the paranoia might come in

I was at a friend and his wife's house (both very sociable confident people) the other day, I had a cup of green tea while they had a joint, and for sure, I'd have had no idea they were smoking (apart from the smell), i.e. they were chatting normally, laughing, making sense, and it didnt affect their day.

On the other hand, I know someone a few years ago who developed mild depression (was prescribed anti depressants for a while). He was smoking a lot prior to the depression.
    A few months later he was off the anti depressants, and totally fine again.

Eventually he stopped smoking.
    I wouldn't have said the smoking was totally to blame for his depression, but it definitely didnt help.

I think with dope,its horses for courses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Couldn't really tell you, the most I ever smoke was when I was in Amsterdam for a couple of days, and I was absolutely pissed drunk at the same time so I couldn't completely separate the two. All I know is my legs were like jelly and having a room on the top floor was a bad move.

I only tried it once when sober and broke out in fits of laughter and then I experienced vertigo.

Haven't tried it in about 5 years, doubt I will again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Same here, done it a few times, can't be fecking arsed with it! I'd much rather have a few beers get a bit piddled and home I go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Been a few years since I smoked it. Always found it very overrated and I was smoking good quality stuff when I used to dabble. Black Sabbath sounded even better though, I'll give you that.
    What I don't like about it is the detestating effect it has had on two guys I went to university with. Smoke it everyday and they are two shambolic creatures, lacking in any life or initiative. Both of them 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

It would be a good number of years now since i smoked anything stronger then a John Player Blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Elevelyn

Well I used to smoke it for years, realised I had to stop as I was spending too much money on it and prefered it to going out.

Haven't bought any for about 2 years until last week.... what a waste of money, thought it would be great fun but I was fecked after it, couldn't do anything and really didn't enjoy myself at all. Just wanted to sleep it off.

Think it would be fun with a group so i'm saving the rest for that.

P.S.

@ flas - are you forgetting about the weed poo's??:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Like a few other posts previous just made me paranoid more than anything... took me 3 years to realise it tho...

Beer is the way forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Dope is boring. Nothing worse than arriving at a late night party to a room full of baked people half asleep mumbling about their own shoes. I'd rather some wine and dancing!

My friend's brother smokes dope every day and never does anything. He rarely goes out, just smokes and plays guitar half the day until he goes back to bed. It's fairly pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I tried weed a few times but sometimes it has no effect on me at all. I stick to alcohol more often than not because of that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Susie_Q wrote: »
    My friend's brother smokes dope every day and never does anything. He rarely goes out, just smokes and plays guitar half the day until he goes back to bed. It's fairly pathetic.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭demixed

This thread is very anti weed...all the smokers must still be cabbaged in bed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

usually numbs me, makes me relaxed, horny heh. A lot of people saying it did nothing for them, used it with my sis recently and she said the same but it had strong effect on me, I think it's just people not using it right.

Too much too quickly is not good though and the shock to your system can make you a bit paranoid. After food it can make me feel sick/get sick.

It's not a substitute for alcohol, I wouldnt want to be being too much when high, alcohol can be used as a relaxant if just staying in/alone but weed better serves that purpose imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

It always made me hungry and horny
    Yes forgot about that. Makes me really horny too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

If you're smoking anything other than complete garbage, and not getting a kick out of it, they aren't inhaling it right. U aint smoking if ur not choking, especially at the beginning:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Biggins wrote: »
    Honestly, it does nothing for me.
    Naikon wrote: »
    Shi.te. Done nothing. Maybe I smoked the wrong stuff. I prefer Alcohol but don't agree with banning cannabis - a natural plant. Alcohol is worse than cannabis imo.

Go to a coffee shop in Amsterdam, ask for a joint of their strongest stuff and inhale it properly.

Then come back to me at tell me you got nothing off it