Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lady GaGa - Love her or loathe her?

• 28-05-2011 7:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭

I used to like her at the beginning, some songs of hers are catchy, but of late I think shes become more about the commercial image then her ''monster fans''. The image and PR conveying she's trying to keep up of ''Fantasy Meets Reality'' with the meat outfit and the mad hat outfits has turned into an awful mismuchmash.

First concert in the O2, which I went to with friend was 40 odd quid sitting, last one it hiked to 80 odd, refused to pay such outrageous tokens of mula . And as for ''Judas'', She's trying to hard. Sure dont we all worship Satan in our own way. Recently read a quote from someone comparing her to the new Maddona the way she's reinventing her image all the time :pac:

What do you think?

Lada GaGarrr 251 votes

I like her
    0% 0 votes
    I loather her
    35% 89 votes
    I couldn't care less
    25% 64 votes
    Bruce Springsteen 4eva!
    39% 98 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

SparkyTech wrote: »
    I used to like her at the beginning, some songs of hers are catchy, but of late I think shes become more about the commercial image then her ''monster fans''. The image and PR conveying she's trying to keep up of ''Fantasy Meets Reality'' with the meat outfit and the mad hat outfits has turned into an awful mismuchmash.

First concert in the O2, which I went to was 40 odd quid sitting, last one it hiked to 80 odd. And as for ''Judas'', She's trying to hard. Sure dont we all worship Satan in our own way. Recently read a quote from someone comparing her to the new Maddona the way she's reinventing her image all the time :pac:

What do you think?

Not if I had a bag of cock's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

a few catchy singles but cant stand her or her persona

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I couldn't care less. Talented for sure but not my cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

She tries too hard to shock IMO and I really couldn't be bothered with her.......anyway she stole the whole image from her dead friend :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

As an old punk I like the shock stuff she does such as the meat dress and after seeing her on Graham Nortons show she is quite witty and a good interview but her music is fairly pedestrian 80 gay club disco bland blah!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I'm not 10 to 14, so i don't have an opinion on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Completely indifferent to her, but I hate the fact that she's so popular.. and that music is so generic these days.. and that I'm going grey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭nitromaster

New album is crap.

Some of the older stuff is okay-ish as pop music.

Madonna rip off. Even her dance chereographer admitted to completely ripping madonna off in the videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I absolutely can't stand him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Terrible stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Couldn't care less, but fair play to her.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

She's hardly marmite...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i dont know what it is but i would have to be dug out of her.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,595 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I'd give her one but in fairness did anyone see that goal by David Villa just now?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Is being the new Madonna a good thing? Madge has been patchy at best since the 80's rush of great singles and has tried too hard to be an actress, which she really isn't.

GaGa, few decent singles, albums of inconsisent quality, concert prices becoming exploitative, image outstripping the music. Her success says more about the poverty of the current state of pop with X-Factor winners and runners-up soaking up the market, making it harder for decent artists to be heard.

Mainstream music these days is a circus. The difference in quality now from say - 20 years ago is huge. I literally can't listen to the radio anymore. At least there is internet radio and underground stuff : \
    It all went downhill FAST when people began to believe the Xfactor is quality stuff. Complete joke imo. I blame the average man in the street for ****ing up real musical talent over the last few years:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,091 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Saw some of the concert video they were showing on Sky 1. She seems to spend an awful lot of time delivering these little motivational speeches. Made a point of saying she doesn't lip sync - which I can believe. because half the time the backing singers (and samplers) are singing instead.

Stephen Fry seems to think she's OK, after they had tea together. The photos are funny. :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

Funny how she claims to hate money and yet charges such exuberant prices for her concerts :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

hung like a donkey I heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

I have to say, I like her. She's got great talent and her songs are catchy.

Maybe I should admit that I bought her new album 'Born This Way' today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

TBH I find the whole package hilarious - she must stay awake at night planning her next shock & awe delivery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Daisy!

The fact that she's everywhere annoys me more than her...I'd like her to go away for a while, I'm getting sick of her. Meh she's alright and seemed like good craic on Graham Norton's show but meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I absolutely can't stand him.

There's a thread here which may be a thinly veiled story about hi....he....Lady Gaga. Maybe.

What's with the pointy bones in her face? the ones that only come out when she's inspired :rolleyes: ?

http://beautelicious.com/2011/04/lady-gaga-explains-face-bones/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

Tayla wrote: »
    What's with the pointy bones in her face? the ones that only come out when she's inspired :rolleyes: ?

http://beautelicious.com/2011/04/lady-gaga-explains-face-bones/

Oh my god they can't be real?! Why would she do that to herself? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭cml387

Lovely catchy pop songs she writes,

Two years ago I was at a Christmas party in Midleton with Gina,Dale Hayes and the Champions playing,and she did an ace version of Poker Face.

You've definitely arrived when Gina covers one of your hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Not a fan at all but I tell ya one thing - she's no madonna

Lyra Fangs wrote: »
    Oh my god they can't be real?! Why would she do that to herself? :eek:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1r4hqs1RQTs&feature=related

She's so freaky.....ew

Her producer Redone is often described as the key to her musical sound....basically most of the genius and manufacturing music for the masses which will sell is done by him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Tayla wrote: »
    anyway she stole the whole image from her dead friend :eek:

What? :eek:

For the past 3 years I feel like she's been constantly on the radio, on the TV and touring. It gets a bit much. She should have taken a break. And her need to shock smacks of desperation. Not half as bad as Madonna. Hate that bint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Emoi

The only way she could shock us now is if she showed up in a pair of aul jeans and a t-shirt from penneys.

Lady Gaga- GET OVER YOURSELF.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

SparkyTech wrote: »
    Recently read a quote from someone comparing her to the new Maddona the way she's reinventing her image all the time :pac:

What do you think?
    When Madonna learns to play a musical instrunemt, or write songs, or choreograph, or dance or even sing then they might have a point.

She mightn't be everyone's cup of tea but at least she puts the work in.

or choreograph.

but lady gaga doesn't choreograph? :confused: and her choreographer openly admitted to totally ripping madonna off basically all the time....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

but lady gaga doesn't choreograph? :confused:
    des madonna ?

does she ?

does she ?

:p

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,595 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Gaga writes a lot of her own songs and can actually play an intrument or two don't Madonna do either of those things??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

des madonna ?

Dessie Madonna? Played for Wolves last season and switched to La Liga?

Good to see hes finally being weaned

Yerra, t'was about time. He's a quality player...as Dunphy often says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,454 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Daisy! wrote: »
    The fact that she's everywhere annoys me more than her...I'd like her to go away for a while, I'm getting sick of her. Meh she's alright and seemed like good craic on crack on Graham Norton's show but meh.

FYP ;)

Oh btw like her very catchy tunes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

I like her. She tries to be as kooky as can be but that's the act like, isin't it. I'm sure plenty of people don't even notice that they fap off to countless Rock and Hip Hop personalities who do the exact same thing but get away with it because they aren't a woman doing pop music.

She puts on a good live show and is a fresh antidote to the hoard of generic urban and Reality TV chart identikit music. The music is pop done good too. The albums aren't the best but Paparazzi and Bad Romance are absoloutely fantastic pop tunes, IMO.

Every generation has had icons kids and teens go nuts for and that's something most of us look back on with nostalgia now just like the folks who are into GaGa will do in years to come. Good on them and good on her.

Yerra, t'was about time. He's a quality player...as Dunphy often says.
    What would Dunphy know about that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭flyaway.

I quite enjoy a good few of her songs. I don't really pay too much attention to her as a person, though.

What would Dunphy know about that ?

oOOOOOOH! Meow!!!! Hisssss!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,187 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Don't really mind her, of all the sh1te music that gets played to death on radio, her's is the most bearable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I find a lot of her songs catchy - totally generic and similar stuff done by Britney, Nelly Furtado, Gwen Stefani, but I quite like a lot of that. Produced to death, but as I said, catchy. Her "outrageous" style though and the sexual content etc has been done: by Madonna, Grace Jones and Prince. And far better. She's just Britney in weird clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

i like her.
    and you know why?

this
    this
    &
    this

If you are a guy and in any way straight you'll like her. ;)

LighterGuy wrote: »
    i like her.
    and you know why?

this
    this
    &
    this

If you are a guy and in any way straight you'll like her. ;)

Nice ass alright. Suddenly - she isn't so bad:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

She does have a great little arse on her. Bit of a jew nose though - not the kind of face I like, but that's not to say that she is universally unnattractive.

Never really knew who the hell she was until I saw her on Graham Norton a few weeks ago. She came across quite well - good sense of humour & a bit mad. Not a bad combination.

Her songs are well written, catchy pop tunes. Again, not my cuppa, but fair play to her - she's doing well out of it & entertaining a lot of people in the process. And that's not a bad combination either.

Ra ra gaga gah