Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prison for Dublin woman who stole an ambulance while drunk

• 27-05-2011 5:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

A WOMAN WHO stole an ambulance while she was drunk and drove it through Dublin city streets has been sentenced to four months in prison and banned from driving for four years.
    Paramedics were attending to an emergency call out at Hardwicke Street in the early hours of 8 January when 27-year-old Jessica Kavanagh climbed into the driver’s seat and drove away, reports The Irish Times.
    She drove in the direction of her home on Sean O’Casey Avenue and was chased by a garda and arrested as she alighted from the vehicle.
    Kavanagh pleaded guilty to theft of the ambulance, drunken driving and not having motor insurance at Dublin District Court. Her solicitor said that it was out of character for her to be so intoxicated and that she was devoted to her two children. The defendent had 22 previous convictions.

A devoted mother to her two children, correct me if I'm wrong but a devoted mother isn't someone who goes out an gets so legless that she steals an Ambulance that is on an emergency call, Obviously it had blue lights flashing as they always do, when on an emergency, drives it while so legless, leaving the patient of that ambulance left to wait for another ambulance to come to pick him/her up while in all that time the patient could have died. A devoted mother wouldn't get themselves into such a state that they end up going to a garda cell for the night, an then eventually 4 months away from her children. An the be all an end all for me, is 22 previous convictions. A devoted mother would be showing her two children the rights an wrongs in the world, not going out an getting 22 previous convictions an then getting so drunk as to rob an ambulance an go to prison.

Maybe I'm being a bit too harsh on the woman, I don't know the circumstances, but sweet mother of baby Jesus, that is unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It seems that she was devoted to her convictions, thanks to the drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Being a devoted mother isn't mutually exclusive to being an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

At least the upside is the children will have 4 months without her influence while under the influence. Maybe they have a chance now of not growing up like her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

In fairness just because she went out one night and did something stupid doesn't mean she's a bad mother. For all we know she has never drank before, went out to celebrate something with a friend and drank too much because she doesn't know her limit.

One very, very stupid mistake doesn't make her a bad mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Twenty two previous convictions. I wish they'd tell us what, it's hard to really get into the spirit of sharpening the pitchforks and readying the bonfire without knowing all the puerile details.

Seachmall wrote: »
    In fairness just because she went out one night and did something stupid doesn't mean she's a bad mother. For all we know she has never drank before, went out to celebrate something with a friend and drank too much because she doesn't know her limit.

They aren't referring to the one stupid mistake, they're referring to all 23 of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Stupid bint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Her solicitor said that it was out of character for her to be so intoxicated and that she was devoted to her two children. The defendent had 22 previous convictions.

Of course her solicitor said that. It's a sympathy ploy. He's hardly going to say she's a hoebag who deserves to do time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

That devoted mother might not have realised it, but her kids might have needed that ambulance if anything were to happen to them while she was getting legless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Nevore wrote: »
    Twenty two previous convictions. I wish they'd tell us what

Probably all for hugging her kids too hard.

FYI , it's about 1/2 a mile from where she nicked the van to where she lives, so even within the realms of stupidity I don't know why she bothered.

bluewolf wrote: »
    They aren't referring to the one stupid mistake, they're referring to all 23 of them

Just because she makes 23 mistakes doesn't mea... a **** it; she's a bad mother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Actually it does. Anyone can get drunk once the kids are looked after.

Stealing an ambulance and getting jailed makes you a bad parent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭dublincelt

Have you read the OP??!!!!

22 previous convictions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah a great mother alright.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

You were doing ok until the very next post :D
    Nevore wrote: »
    Twenty two previous convictions. I wish they'd tell us what, it's hard to really get into the spirit of sharpening the pitchforks and readying the bonfire without knowing all the puerile details.

Seachmall what do you call 23 stupid mistakes ?

BTW one of those ambulances can be worth a couple of hundred grand or more when they are fully kitted.
    This piece of crud not alone took something with high monetary value, it has huge value as a life saving implement and even worse it was on a call.
    And you defend that sh**.

4 months sentence will mean she probably spends a month inside and she probably doesn't drive anyways so what use is the 4 years driving ban.

Make the bi*ch clean an A&E for a year and see if that makes her change her attitude.

I am not allowed discuss …

Don't ye people read threads before ye respond. I immediately get 3 responses after I correct my mistake :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

To be fair to her, she only thought she was stealing an Ecnalubma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

A MOTHER of two who stole an ambulance during an emergency call-out in Dublin in January has been jailed for four months.

Paramedics had left the ambulance at Hardwicke Street in the north inner city to attend to an elderly woman at about 3am on January 8th last when it was taken.

Jessica Kavanagh (27), of Sean O’Casey Avenue, Dublin, had earlier pleaded guilty at Dublin District Court to stealing the ambulance, drunken driving and not having motor insurance.

A drink-drive test produced a reading of 145mgs of alcohol per 100mls of blood.

Garda Joseph O’Connor had told the court a Dublin Fire Brigade ambulance was taken from outside Rory O’Connor House as two emergency crew were dealing with an elderly woman.

He saw the ambulance going towards Sean O’Casey Avenue. He then witnessed the defendant leaving the driver’s side of the ambulance, before chasing and arresting her.

At the sentence hearing yesterday, defence solicitor Yvonne Bambury told Judge David McHugh that Kavanagh did not go out often and was not “habituated to consuming that level of alcohol”. The defendant had a history of medical difficulties and suffered from panic attacks, stress and anxiety.

Ms Bambury said her client has two young children and “is very devoted to them”. She also asked the court to note that Kavanagh, who was employed in a community employment scheme, had also done voluntary work in her area.

The court heard that Kavanagh, who remained silent during the case, had 22 previous convictions which included motoring offences and one drugs charge.

Judge McHugh imposed two concurrent four-month sentences for the drink-driving and driving without insurance offences. The remaining charge of stealing the ambulance was taken into consideration. Kavanagh was also banned from driving for four years.

The judge set bail in the accused’s own bond of €300 in the event she intends to appeal the sentences

This is the story on The Times website..

145mgs of alcohol per 100mls of Blood, correct me if I'm wrong but the Drink Drive limit here is 35mgs of alcohol per 100mls of blood, 4 TIMES the legal limit, and already convictions for motoring offences..

Sweet Heart of Jaysus it gets worse the more I read about this woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

4 months :eek: give her 4 years ffs :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

brummytom wrote: »
    To be fair to her, she only thought she was stealing an Ecnalubma

tbf dont know why they need to write it like that if a person doesnt notice the blue flashing lights, and the ear piercing sirens too the ambulance should just have an RPG mounted on the front to use in these times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

She might not be a bad person. But the previous convictions look bad and as has been said someone could have died. Truly stupid but you never know what the real situation might have been (sheer idiocy aside).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

She will be out in 2 weeks time with a heroin addiction and an increased sense of entitlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Four months!?I think she should be shot.Poor kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ro_chez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Balfie wrote: »
    A devoted mother to her two children, correct me if I'm wrong but a devoted mother isn't someone who goes out an gets so legless that she steals an Ambulance that is on an emergency call, Obviously it had blue lights flashing as they always do, when on an emergency, drives it while so legless, leaving the patient of that ambulance left to wait for another ambulance to come to pick him/her up while in all that time the patient could have died. A devoted mother wouldn't get themselves into such a state that they end up going to a garda cell for the night, an then eventually 4 months away from her children. An the be all an end all for me, is 22 previous convictions. A devoted mother would be showing her two children the rights an wrongs in the world, not going out an getting 22 previous convictions an then getting so drunk as to rob an ambulance an go to prison.

Maybe I'm being a bit too harsh on the woman, I don't know the circumstances, but sweet mother of baby Jesus, that is unreal.

sounds like a south cider skanger...

like the ones you meet in bus shelters with prams slugging back a few cans sunday morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

She should have become a guard and battered someone on her day off.

No jail time for that. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

ro_chez wrote: »

If that "zoomy" yellow bird from angry birds was ever to be put into human form I think it would look a lot like her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Eleganza

http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1P2-24739662.html

dates match to bring the age up to 27. might be her, might not.

Drug dealer with the same name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Admit it though: everybody has secretly wanted to joyride an ambulance, double decker bus, ice cream van or - especially - a fire engine when they're pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Shocking, truly shocking.

stovelid wrote: »
    Admit it though: everybody has secretly wanted to joyride an ambulance, double decker bus, ice cream van or - especially - a fire engine when they're pissed.

I always wanted to go on the hard shoulder of a motorway when pissed with a high vis, on a pedal toy tractor, an just have a line of squad cars following me as I tear along the motorway at 1kph pissed outta me brain...

Thats just me tho... haha

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Twenty-three convictions - those are just the times she got caught, charged and found guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

She does seem like a very nice pleasant individual, could you imagine

living beside her!! Probably a wonderful and pleasant neighbour too!!.

God help the children she has, hopefully she won't have any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Someone who has 22 convictions shouldn't have kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Possibly but 22 convictions does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Her solicitor used to words "out of character" despite her 22 previous convictions? Right, good try Mr. Solicitor :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

She's a devoted mother lads, ease up ffs.

The-Rigger wrote: »

:pac: yeah.....................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

The-Rigger wrote: »

Yeah, devoted to booze!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

A devoted mother ... Jessica... 22 previous convictions....

Notes typically knacker Dublin first name. What's the betting that the apple didn't fall too far from the tree here.

Surely there should be a limit of convictions a person can sustain before their children get taken away? Guaranteed it would make a person think twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Fremen wrote: »
    Of course her solicitor said that. It's a sympathy ploy. He's hardly going to say she's a hoebag who deserves to do time.
    Solicitors are the lowest of the low who are only interested in lining their own pockets either from human misery and suffering or getting dirt birds less prison time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭double GG

I heard of a group of men who were starting fights with Firemen who were at the scene of an emergency. I can't remember exactly where it was but it wasn't too long ago.

Those men, and this woman should be locked up for way longer than 4 months. What if there had of been a person in dire need of emergency care when she had took the ambulance? She would have been responsible.

I mean this crime is shocking, I hate how anyone could even think of doing this, it's a fu***ng disgrace is what it is. She should be sentenced for at least 2 years for Grand theft auto, Endangering the lives of others etc....

Yeah okay blame the drink, she had one too many? But for god sake she bought the drinks, she drank the drinks! I absolutely fu***ng hate people who do something stupid and downright terrible and always seem to blame it on the booze. "Yeah I rode 5 guys last night, I'm not a slut 'cos I was drunk" The people drink the booze, yet it always seemed to be blamed.

This was a mindless crime and she reaslly should have been given a longer punishment. Throw the book at her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Thanks, a new avatar!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Jesus, she's terrifying.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Eleganza wrote: »
    dates match to bring the age up to 27. might be her, might not.

Drug dealer with the same name.
    Are you sure about those dates ?

Being 20 in 2002 would make you 29 today or 28 if you had a birthday betwen Jan and April

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I always wanted to go on the hard shoulder of a motorway when pissed with a high vis, on a pedal toy tractor, an just have a line of squad cars following me as I tear along the motorway at 1kph pissed outta me brain...

Thats just me tho... haha

Like this dude?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Eleganza

Are you sure about those dates ?

Being 20 in 2002 would make you 29 today or 28 if you had a birthday betwen Jan and April

2004 +7 2011 aged 20 in april 2004 so must have been 18 at the time of arrest in 2002.

Not suggesting this is the case here but in some cases where defendant is awaiting trial they find it prudent to get themselves up the pole between incident and court case as chances of going to jail are much less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Show Time wrote: »
    Solicitors are the lowest of the low who are only interested in lining their own pockets either from human misery and suffering or getting dirt birds less prison time.

Dont know where your getting that from Solicitors are involved in a huge range of work, from banking deals and government work to defending and prosecuting people accused of crimes and helping people through family break-ups.Yes most get well paid just like a lot of other people who work & study hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Dionysus wrote: »
    Notes typically knacker Dublin first name. What's the betting that the apple didn't fall too far from the tree here.
    The fuck, how is Jessica a knacker name?