Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unemployed

• 26-05-2011 8:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭

Was made redundant a week ago. I always told myself if it ever happened I'd set up a little club with others on the dole as a chance to get some training in, meet and have a chat with people and just generally keep the mind and body at work. Even had a name for it.

Now, in this position a week, I've realised it might actually be a legitimate endeavour, if for nothing else, at least to keep the boredom at bay.

Does anyone think it might be a worthwhile idea or have any other feedback? It doesn't have to be a club (I'd insist my titl for it be used if it were to be lol), but even just some meet ups once a week to get something done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

Been in the same boat since Xmas, you will be surprised at how hard it can be to actually make time to get out, even though you don't have a "job" getting in the way. I normally get out on a Tuesday morning with some club mates, but it's not always easy, given that I am the source of the school run and domestics now ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Was made redundant a week ago. I always told myself if it ever happened I'd set up a little club with others on the dole as a chance to get some training in, meet and have a chat with people and just generally keep the mind and body at work. Even had a name for it.

Now, in this position a week, I've realised it might actually be a legitimate endeavour, if for nothing else, at least to keep the boredom at bay.

Does anyone think it might be a worthwhile idea or have any other feedback? It doesn't have to be a club (I'd insist my titl for it be used if it were to be lol), but even just some meet ups once a week to get something done?
    sorry to hear you've joined the rest of us:mad:
    the best thing is to get something going in your area.
    we done that here on boards for Drogheda wheelers great success now instead of 6 riders we sometimes have over 20 and a great bunch of lads as well, but be careful when lads get fit they go faster so stress what kind of a group you want to get going.;)
    i'm also trying to get a touring group going but not much luck on that one but i'll keep at it regardless of hassle i get,one can but try ;)
    anyway best of luck hope it works out for you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

I'm in the same boat myself at the moment and am using it as an opportunity to get back into the cycling. I'd be on for meeting up for a spin or two although I don't have a proper road bike so that might rule me out.:o

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Sorry to hear that, I was in the same position two years ago and got into joining the cycling club then. I definitely think it's something you should pursue, cycling definitely kept me focussed when I was on the rock & roll and any of the guys that have been on here since then know how much it meant to me.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭barbs84

you should go for it, starting up a club with something that interests you is a great idea they could be loads of people waiting for that club to come along

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

xz wrote: »
    Been in the same boat since Xmas, you will be surprised at how hard it can be to actually make time to get out, even though you don't have a "job" getting in the way. I normally get out on a Tuesday morning with some club mates, but it's not always easy, given that I am the source of the school run and domestics now ;)

Had to laugh. When I told my son we'd be spending more time together he had to force a smile. I'm amicably seperated a few years now and have him most of the week so am used to all those responsibilities already. Mind you the house is a tip.

As you say though, I thought I'd have a lot more time, it's not working that way, but should get one or two three hour spins a week in. I have time for the 8-9 hour spins when his mum has him.
    sorry to hear you've joined the rest of us:mad:
    the best thing is to get something going in your area.
    we done that here on boards for Drogheda wheelers great success now instead of 6 riders we sometimes have over 20 and a great bunch of lads as well, but be careful when lads get fit they go faster so stress what kind of a group you want to get going.;)
    i'm also trying to get a touring group going but not much luck on that one but i'll keep at it regardless of hassle i get,one can but try ;)
    anyway best of luck hope it works out for you.

I think the touring will pick up, it might just fake some time. People have forgotten about it as a way to take holidays. They just need to be reminded.
    Hermy wrote: »
    I'm in the same boat myself at the moment and am using it as an opportunity to get back into the cycling. I'd be on for meeting up for a spin or two although I don't have a proper road bike so that might rule me out.:o
    Sorry to hear that, I was in the same position two years ago and got into joining the cycling club then. I definitely think it's something you should pursue, cycling definitely kept me focussed when I was on the rock & roll and any of the guys that have been on here since then know how much it meant to me.

I'd like it to be as inclusive as possible. At first at least, then if different groups develop, it can be adapted. So far I'm only thinking hill repeats around Howth and killiney or slow runs around the Phoenix park. In those situations we'd be looping around the same bits so opting out for a coffee just means some might be sitting for a few mins while the rest finished up. Does that make sense?
    barbs84 wrote: »
    you should go for it, starting up a club with something that interests you is a great idea they could be loads of people waiting for that club to come along

I'll wait to see the feedback here. If I can get a small group together and we have one or two decent spins, I'll set up a group page on the evil that is Facebook.

Thanks for the feedback guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Hi
    Where is this group going to be based because it is a flipping great idea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭torturedsoul

I am in the same position myself. Unemployed and going crazy. At least I have my bike. Heading out for my first 100Km this morning. Where is this club going to be based? I'd love to be involved but I am guessing your in Dublin maybe?

If thats the case I can't see why now and again a good ould road trip can't be organised! Im sure ye would love some of the cycles I go on through the cork and kerry mountains and visa versa

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭Get Cracking

Smashing idea.:)
    Go for it.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sorry to hear that mate. Great idea. I've thankfully never been properly unemployed except for a brief period after college, but I remember how easy it was to become demotivated. Even getting out on the bike for a quick 40km spin every other day will do wonders for your state of mind.

Carpenter wrote: »
    Hi
    Where is this group going to be based because it is a flipping great idea :D
    I am in the same position myself. Unemployed and going crazy. At least I have my bike. Heading out for my first 100Km this morning. Where is this club going to be based? I'd love to be involved but I am guessing your in Dublin maybe?

If thats the case I can't see why now and again a good ould road trip can't be organised! Im sure ye would love some of the cycles I go on through the cork and kerry mountains and visa versa

I'm in Dublin so it'll be the default setting. But if it starts to work out ok there's no reason not to go "national" :)

Can I maybe get a list of names started of people who are interested in doing this?

Smashing idea.:)
    Go for it.!
    seamus wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that mate. Great idea. I've thankfully never been properly unemployed except for a brief period after college, but I remember how easy it was to become demotivated. Even getting out on the bike for a quick 40km spin every other day will do wonders for your state of mind.

Thanks. I was same, two weeks, after college about 12 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

im semi unemployed so i'd be game ball. Im no experienced cyclist though. longest spin ive ever had was 60km and average about 22kmph so if ya can deal with that then happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

Great idea Harrybelafonte

I started this thread a few weeks back. If you send around a couple of PMs you might find others in your situation and be able to get something going. Though I'm fortunate enough to be employed, most of my cycling buddies have had to leave this country. I'll be using this list soon I expect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭airscotty

Might be free for a few mid week spins in the south dublin/wicklow area. Looking for about 80-100ish k at a decent pace.

20-25kph average?

Ok, figure I may as well go ahead with this now to see what happens.

I'm picking this Wednesday, 1st of June, 10:30am, Merrion Sq, the side of the National Gallery, on the road across from the entrance there. Head out to Killiney via Blackrock-Dun Laoghaire. From there we can take an approach everyone agrees on i.e. up Vico, up Dalkey Hill etc.

Can anyone interested or knows anyone interested post here please, hopefully this'll be a good start.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Think I'm off, might pop along for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Notch000

The First Rule of bike club is you do not talk about bike club

Can anyone interested or knows anyone interested post here please, hopefully this'll be a good start.
    Thanks Harry, all going well I'll see you Wednesday.:)
    Notch000 wrote: »
    The First Rule of bike club is you do not talk about bike club

Bike Club? What Bike Club?;)

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

Been on the 'rock n roll' now for nine months and no sign of anything prosperous on the horizon! I try and get out as much as poss now (its the only thing that keeps me sane), that is wife and three saucepans permitting.

So if anyone ever in the west cork area and fancy a wee spin..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Pity for you all about the circumstances but great idea and the best of luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭fat bloke

It's a great idea.

The ideal club cyclist nowadays is unemployed, divorced, and ideally still has his Celtic Tiger road bike.

25 hours a week training and no grief from nobody!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Love this idea, I'm living in Nenagh. Don't know if anyone else is on here from my area and is also unemployed but I figured I would reply to this thread just encase. Only took up cycling 2 months ago so 50km spins at 25 kmh would be my level.

Been on the 'rock n roll' now for nine months and no sign of anything prosperous on the horizon! I try and get out as much as poss now (its the only thing that keeps me sane), that is wife and three saucepans permitting.

So if anyone ever in the west cork area and fancy a wee spin..............
    tuxy wrote: »
    Love this idea, I'm living in Nenagh. Don't know if anyone else is on here from my area and is also unemployed but I figured I would reply to this thread just encase. Only took up cycling 2 months ago so 50km spins at 25 kmh would be my level.

I've working on an idea for people outside DC at the moment, just need to quiz a more internet savvy friend about options.

So far, this Wednesday, it's:

Harrybelafonte
    Captain Havoc
    Hermy
    1 or 2 others I know myself.

As said before, everyone is welcome, it's more about getting out and meeting people than about training and speed.

I'm going for Gruppo di Sussidio as club name btw, the Benefits Club (though was tempted by The Cutters).

i was just about to ask the name ,although i would not be able to pronounce that it's feckin brilliant.:D:D
    so do you see this idea going nationwide.this is the kind of thing i was thinking for the touring community on boards.
    i reckon it could take off hopefully it will .
    i was impressed how the bushcraft thing took off .someone had an good idea and now a lot of light minded people are enjoying the great outdoors.;)

There's two of us meeting tomorrow in Bagenalstown, if anyone is interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

Maybe someone (who is better than me on computers) could knock up a spreadsheet of some description with geographical areas on, so that people could ad their names and see who is near etc. and try and hook up? Only a thought mind.........

good thinking 99 ;)

There's already one in the FAQ.

Just realised I picked one of the sign-on days for the meet up, my own anyway. I'll still be fine to meet up, but I'll change the next one to a more "neutral" if it helps.

Story horsies, where and when?

Tomorrow, around 10:30am, Merrion Square, across from National Gallery. Pm me phone numbers and I'll keep all posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Update from Hermy - coffee break!
    161286.jpg

Great spin - 51.5km for me - first half century in a long time.
    Big thanks to HB for arranging things.
    Hope to do it all again next week.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

:( There at 10.30 but didn't see anyone. Went out to Howth all on my lonesome. Hopefully I can find you's next week. ;)

happytramp wrote: »
    :( There at 10.30 but didn't see anyone. Went out to Howth all on my lonesome. Hopefully I can find you's next week. ;)

Nooooooo! We were there for awhile. One of the guys was wearing a bright pink top. I'm really sorry if there was some mix up. If you're ever coming again PM me your number and we can sort something like that out.

It was a good spin today. Just the right length for a bit of a decent spin and a perfect cup of coffee in Dalkey. There were six of us this time, it'd be great if we could achieve the same number if not more next time. I hope everyone enjoyed themselves.

I've put the Facebook page up now. I've never used Facebook, so hopefully this'll work: Gruppo di Sussidio Facebook.

Please spread the wrd to anyone you think might be interested. I'll try and set it up so that people in other areas can add spins too. I just need to work that part out.

No worries, I'll certainly go again (not next week though, taking my granny to lunch) Glad it went well, added the group on facebook.

Actually, now that I think about it, I think I saw someone headed that way on a nice Vitus as I was leaving, should have guessed it was one of you guys!!

happytramp wrote: »
    No worries, I'll certainly go again (not next week though, taking my granny to lunch) Glad it went well, added the group on facebook.

Actually, now that I think about it, I think I saw someone headed that way on a nice Vitus as I was leaving, should have guessed it was one of you guys!!

That was me man. You looked very lost, but you were down near Townsend St when I saw you. I was staring at your bike too, one of the lads out on the spin would have been very interested in it.

The days may change for these spins so keep an eye out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭G2ECE

tuxy wrote: »

Hey Tuxy, I'm with a relatively new cycling club based in Limerick we dont travel at the speed of light either!!! check us out http://www.cycle4sickchildren.com/
    We get out whenever we can, good bunch of lads, only one or two egos!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭littleredspot

Sounds like a great idea. I've signed up.
    One of the other posters on here suggested this group
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dublin-Social-Cycling-Group/102949973112650
    to me too. Anyone puts up a ride and anyone can join in. Varying speeds and distances.

Hope to see ye next week.

We're suggesting two spins next week.

MONDAY: A long "intermediate" ride over 130km from Merrion Sq again, out N11 to Kilmacanogue and up into Laragh, and then home via Sally Gap, Glencree. (We can decide on whether to extend the route on the day, e.g. Wicklow Gap or Shay Elliot etc.) We would be meeting outside the National Gallery on Merrion Square at 9am. Hoping to keep at least a 22km/h average pace.

WEDNESDAY: Meet at Merrion Square by the National Gallery as usual, around 10:30am. Leisurely spin out to Howth, up the hill and then down for coffee in Howth village. Anyone not up for the hill can loop around to Howth from Sutton Cross.

So who's interested?

Intermediate might be a bit too much for me at the moment, but if im not working might well join in the howth trip

thehamo wrote: »
    Intermediate might be a bit too much for me at the moment, but if im not working might well join in the howth trip

That's the whole point ;)

Will try for Wednesday too.

LOL I know man, but tecnically im unemployed. I work on a get a phone call in the morning basis if im needed. I can go weeks without working but get a phone call one morning asking me to go in. So Murphy's law being Murphy's law il get a call on Wednesday morning asking me to go in!:rolleyes:

I'll tag along for some of the Monday spin - don't think I'm up to that sort of distance yet.

Definitely on for Howth though.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Great, good to see people are interested. Can anyone on Facebook "like" those suggestions, just to show the page isn't dead and so I have a better idea of numbers. Danke.

Re Howth, we can try the route around the hill I was mentioning yesterday if anyone wants.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Hermy wrote: »
    Re Howth, we can try the route around the hill I was mentioning yesterday if anyone wants.

Good point. Can be discussed on the day, if you're ok with that.