Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Ever Happened to Carrie Crowley?

• 26-05-2011 12:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭

So... ya what happened to her?

She presented everything except the news on RTE in the 90's and then disappeared.

I heard she was injured in a shark jumping incident and couldn't present anymore, is this true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

She was eaten by a Morbeg in 2008. Apparently her hair was really made of pot noodle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

never heard of her

whatever happened to kerrie ann?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,794 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

She presents a show on RTE Radio 1 every sunday night

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/snapshots/

according to her wiki page she has appeared in a lot of irish language stuff on TG4 and has also appeared on the clinic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

later10 wrote: »
    She was eaten by a Morbeg in 2008. Apparently her hair was really made of pot noodle.

I believe this.

I don't believe this.
    She presents a show on RTE Radio 1 every sunday night

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/snapshots/

according to her wiki page she has appeared in a lot of irish language stuff on TG4 and has also appeared on the clinic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

never heard of her

I've been trying to ask that question for ages, but couldn't remember her name!! I remember that really annoying cowboy song she had. Actually, I think the utter crapness of that song probably had a lot to do with disappearance from public view!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

And Mary Kingston she seems to have dissapeared of the face of the earth, not that I care or anything!

Just saying is all

Einhard wrote: »
    I've been trying to ask that question for ages, but couldn't remember her name!! I remember that really annoying cowboy song she had. Actually, I think the utter crapness of that song probably had a lot to do with disappearance from public view!

she was easy on the eye though, i remember her cause i was working in the printers that did all her POS at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

She presented some cooking show at one stage, fancied herself as an Ainsley Harriot type!

What about Ciana Campbell?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

And Mary Kingston she seems to have dissapeared of the face of the earth, not that I care or anything!

Just saying is all

I did.

Here we are, very apt and your man from Bachelor's Walk on the left:

Irish Theatre Magazine | Reviews | Current | Faithful

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »

What about Ciana Campbell?

That is just not fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Shark jumping?Thats a bit mad like.

I went out with a Catholic once and that was Steve Irwin extreme for me at the time.

Wont be jumping sharks,mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Here we are, very apt and your man from Bachelor's Walk on the left:

Irish Theatre Magazine | Reviews | Current | Faithful

God, she hasn't aged well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I was fishing in Cheekpoint last year and herself and a friend strolled past. They were looking well in that casual sort of way. Gave them the nod, as you do
    'Have you caught much?' they asked.
    'A couple of nice bites, nothing worthwhile, but I'm only here half an hour' I lied...I was there two hours..
    'Fo shizzle dawg' was Carries reply 'try switching yo bait, local homies be using peeler crab, frozen fo sho'
    I tried the frozen bait and it was a bite a cast after that. Knows her fishing does Carrie.

DWCommuter wrote: »
    That is just not fair.

Below the belt I must say.

Still, Bibi Baskin, whatever happened there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

never heard of her

Thanks!!!

Now I have "do do do you love me boy. Kiss me when they look away. Be my playground Romeo. They won't know and I won't say.." in my head.

Damn it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Did she present the eurovision one year with Ronan Keating?

Also, while we are on the topic of mid-1990's tv presenters, what the hell happened Bibi Baskin?

Kojak wrote: »

Also, while we are on the topic of mid-1990's tv presenters, what the hell happened Bibi Baskin?

Was Bibi not on that hotel reality show in Castlebellingham a few years back and left..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

..., what the hell happened Bibi Baskin?

Didn't someone off the Ryan show get buried to the balls in her? Prob been trying to get him removed since

It's the $6 Million dollar question Kojak. Last I heard she was lined up in the US as a host. Then Dana had some gig over there on a God channel. I think she amporphisised into Dana and ran for the presidential election here, seems plausible to me anyway.

What was the name of the girl band with the no. 1's in the mid 90's?

Bejewelled?

Larianne wrote: »
    Thanks!!!

Now I have "do do do you love me boy. Kiss me when they look away. Be my playground Romeo. They won't know and I won't say.." in my head.

Damn it!

glad i could be of service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i thought bibi has some big feckin hotel in india and she's rolling it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭BESman

Living in India apparently. I sh1t you not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Hope its not the one that got shot up a few years ago.

She gave a really awkward interview in the Sindo magazine at the time of that hotel reality show..

Think she may be a bit of a biddy that Bibi.

BESman wrote: »
    Living in India apparently. I sh1t you not.

I'd say into the Karma sutra and all that stuff.

Bedazzled wasn't it, not bejewelled!

I'd say into the Karma sutra and all that stuff.

Bedazzled wasn't it, not bejewelled!

B*witched? :pac:

"nah nah nah HAY nah nah nah HO.."

i fight like me da as well!

them wans are releasing more torture on us now!

i fight like me da as well!

them wans are releasing more torture on us now!

I'm pretty sure we won't be seeing them again..

Jaysus they were annoying.

Still, Samantha Mumba, apparently people have to google who she was. She was a Hollywood star and everything!

I'm pretty sure we won't be seeing them again..

i feel dirty for having gone to the trouble of looking it up, so i'm making the rest of ye suffer too.

Anyway Murphy's Micro Quizm and Where in the World?

Theresa Lowe. Sunday's were never the same again.

Anyway Murphy's Micro Quizm and Where in the World?

Theresa Lowe. Sunday's were never the same again.

africa 4 please!

Velcro Girl? Where she at?

She didnt stick around long.

That goal was Dalglish against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge, first and only player manager to win the title.

Knew it was Hendry too.

RTE nepotism:

Fine bit of stuff though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I've had a glass or two of wine, so here's the deal...

Uncle Gazebo had a thing for her... even practically said so to her on the Late Late but didn't actually act on it... so after a while, RTE got fed up waiting for him to fall on his 'sword', so to speak, & sent her down the ****ter.

Where, as was earlier pointed out, she now rightfully... hic.... can best use her remaining talents.

Ouch.

I am such a bitch.

Hic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

What ever happened to Theresa Lowe. Many a Sunday night whenever everyone went off to mass myself and Theresa would have the craic.

Bunny Carr was a fine looking man too mind.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    What ever happened to Theresa Lowe. Many a Sunday night whenever one went off to mass myself and Theresa would have the craic.

Herself and her husband Frank were in the papers recently.. she's a barrister, I think.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/ireland/article7134034.ece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

So... ya what happened to her?

She presented everything except the news on RTE in the 90's and then disappeared.

I heard she was injured in a shark jumping incident and couldn't present anymore, is this true?

I never heard about the shark jumping incident, but I did hear somebody on the radio a few years ago claiming that she didn't fit the RTE image 'hence the long term promotions' never came her way! I don't know if that is true? but I get the impression that if she had gone across the water she would have excelled in TV & Radio - She could have been huge. > Catherine Thomas is heading the same way, she too hit the 'local ceiling' a few years ago and now she seems to be on the downward spiral (along with Marty) :) > Catherine should have headed across the water, where she too would have excelled in TV and/or Radio!

LordSutch wrote: »
    I never heard about the shark jumping incident, but I did hear somebody on the radio a few years ago claiming that she didn't fit the RTE image 'hence the long term promotions' never came her way!
    Actually I read the opposite, I heard that she was getting far too much work with RTE, which wasn't helping her family life... RTE were very happy for her to be Queen but she didn't see herself as the first lady of Montrose. So she promptly placed the tiara on Ryan Tubridy's head, made like a donkey's dick and hit the road.

Whatever happened to Caroline Morohan? Remember that slightly disturbing reality show where kooky stalkers would prove their stalking factor and RTE would basically pay them to pursue their victims to the psychotic end... I'm sure the whole thing ended in a grizzly, bloodstained 911 call somewhere in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

She gave a really awkward interview in the Sindo magazine at the time of that hotel reality show..

Think she may be a bit of a biddy that Bibi.

Arf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

whatever happened to Buffalo G?

Why did the Irish, or indeed the world, not take to such amazing talent?

later10 wrote: »
    Actually I read the opposite, I heard that she was getting far too much work with RTE, which wasn't helping her family life... RTE were very happy for her to be Queen but she didn't see herself as the first lady of Montrose. So she promptly placed the tiara on Ryan Tubridy's head, made like a donkey's dick and hit the road.

Whatever happened to Caroline Morohan? Remember that slightly disturbing reality show where kooky stalkers would prove their stalking factor and RTE would basically pay them to pursue their victims to the psychotic end... I'm sure the whole thing ended in a grizzly, bloodstained 911 call somewhere in the US.

I would agree with the first paragraph. Consensus seems to be that she was over exposed by RTE and that they had been grooming her to be essentially what Tubridy is now. She wasn't a huge fan of the limelight (excuse the pun*) and decided to call it a day when it all became a bit much for her and affected her family life. The Eurovision made her an overnight sensation with TV producers both here and in the UK showing an interest in her. RTE decided to put her in every show possible, at one time the list included Echo Island, The Morbegs, Potluck (5 days a week!), Pulse, and *Limelight. There also seems to be rumours that Gaybo was REALLY fond of her and was pushing her as a possible Late Late successor and Limelight was a test run on her chat show abilities.

I hear shes being considered as a judge for the new series of the X Factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

MOD EDIT: Idle speculation removed.

There also seems to be rumours that Gaybo was REALLY fond of her and was pushing her as a possible Late Late successor and Limelight was a test run on her chat show abilities.
    That's a pity because in all seriousness she would be a far better host than Tubridy. Sure, she's got the same annoying Irish middle class worldview, probably has a Jacques Cousteau CD in her Hyundai Santa Fe with which she drives Sorcha and Cormac to Irish Dancing classes, but moreso in that bearable way that your older, married sister might carry on.

Carrie Crowley on the Late Late, I could certainly live with. For all her uninspired banality she is an essentially Irish character, quietly intrigued in her guests, polite, even charming in a lovely dull way. Tubridy, who is always too fidgety and busy onscreen actually makes me edgy, and his more irritating demeanour has destroyed the Late Late for me, and the Tralee Lovely Girls Competition, and morning radio. He also seems to have a rather extraordinary ability to say the wrong thing. I really don't understand Tubridy's popularity at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

no she was injured jumping a pile of dictionaries with gullible taken out of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nolanger wrote: »
    ?

You Sir are a begrudger* of the worst kind! I'd also suggest that you be careful about who you accuse of sleeping (or not) with whom.

* yes it's that word again