Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flora (and other margarine variants) V's Real Butter

• 25-05-2011 9:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

Was over in a friends house the other day for dinner. The only option laid out on the table for a little something to lash over the potatoes was Flora. However, like in our own household, the breadwinner buys this for his ''colestoral'' and ''healthy heart benefits''. I'm a cynical man by nature and suspect all this plant lowering complex stuff ya find in Flora and Benecol and the like could be a marketing scam?! :eek:

But more importantly, Flora and all the other variants of margarine don't have a utterly butterly on the REAL thing. Give me a slab of dairygold anyday, sure ya can't have a chip sambo without it! :D

Do you love Flora/Margarine type spreads, or are you a Butter lad/lass at heart?

What do you use on your toast? 67 votes

Flora/Benecol/Other 'margarine' type spread
    0% 0 votes
    Utterly Butterly/Dairygold/ Other 'real butter'
    14% 10 votes
    A bit of both, depending on whats in the fridge/my mood and tastes
    65% 44 votes
    Butter? Whats that now? Neither!
    19% 13 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I use Pure dairy free exclusively!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Since when does Dairy gold and Utterly scutterly count as real butter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

This. (Yeh bleedin' pansy :pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I love having a stick of butter wrapped in a rasher for breakfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

chin_grin wrote: »
    This. (Yeh bleedin' fairy :pac:)

Also equally as nice, ta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Butter.

Dairygold et al are NOT BUTTER. They are homogenised slime in comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

Kerry Gold for the win!

Dairy gold and utterly butterly have nothing on the salty buttery goodness of the real deal :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Kerrygold. When you absolutely positively have to tear that slice of bread a new one. Accept no substitutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

The national dairy council is abusing this forum by posting the same thread every few days. We should never have let it become self aware......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Despite the fact Kerry Gold costs me 54 CZK, which is over 2 euros(a lot of money), and I could get butter for as little as 9 CZK(Not a lot of money), I get Kerry Gold every time. None of your lurpak, flora ambidexterous regi-digitalis for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

chin_grin wrote: »
    This. (Yeh bleedin' pansy :pac:)

Ah you like ziz in Eyaland too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

BUTTER ALL THE FECKING WAY!!!

None of that oil plant based ****e. I'd rather eat dry bread.

I must see if I can find it back, but I did read independent research on margarine v butter and butter won.

If I remember it correctly, we have been genetically predisposed to eating butter, and our livers don't like margarine, and some can actually give us cholesterol. The ingredient that is supposedly active in these spreads to make them good for your heart are in such small quantities that it renders the ineffective.

Why does the poll say "Utterly Butterly/Dairygold/ Other 'real butter'"

I mean Utterly Butterly is about as much real butter as my hole is. I cant believe its not butter, is about as believable as a butter as my aforementioned backside is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Butter is butter, anything else not is not butter and should never be compared even though it so often is.

Nothing wrong with cheap spread in your sarnies but would you cook with flora instead of butter? NO!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Butter all the way, though I sometimes drizzle quality olive oil on my bread.

Margarine is plastic tasting muck to me. Unhealthy muck while it's at it. In fact I avoid all veggie oils like the bloody plague except for extra virgin olive oil(and hemp oil if I could get it). Read up on the history of the "new" veggie oils sunflower, corn, rapeseed and peanut oil. Used to be used mostly in the chemical industry in paints and the like. The petrochemical industry screwed that line of biz and they went around looking for other avenues. The "health" benefits are seriously over rated if not downright lies. Animal fats = baaaad and Veg fats = gooood is in serious need of review.

The focus on cholesterol itself is another dubious area. Not as dubious as some health hippie nuts would believe, but dubious nonetheless.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Butter all the way, though I sometimes drizzle quality olive oil on my bread.

Yeah, that's sooooo nice too! For me it has to be good bakery bread, a bit of onion and tomato with the olive oil... YUM! It's the only way I eat tomatoes.

Now I'm getting hungry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

real butter is your only man, cant stand those manufactured butter "spreads"

moderation is the key to a healthy life

*edit* olive oil is a nice alternative on toast hhmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Yeah, that's sooooo nice too! For me it has to be good bakery bread, a bit of onion and tomato with the olive oil... YUM! It's the only way I eat tomatoes.

Now I'm getting hungry...

Sounds quite like bruschetta which are delish!! nyom nyom.

For me, it's generally only LowLow, tastes like butter (made by kerry gold) but with less fat.

Flora etc. taste like muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Kerrygold is the only way and the salted version... not the pussy unsalted Kerrygold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Butter Coloured Sandwich Dressing, from Didldidi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Didnt i do this a few weeks ago,real butter wins by the way :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056262301

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Why the 'V's' apostrophe?!! Who is V and why should I try his butter? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Dairygold et al are NOT BUTTER. They are homogenised slime in comparison.
    Guill wrote: »
    Since when does Dairy gold and Utterly scutterly count as real butter?

This.

Goddamn it OP, if I was at your house and you served me dairy spread when I asked for butter I would disembowel you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Why does the poll say "what tyoe of butter do you put on your toast?"

Surely some people don't like having butter on their toast - maybe they prefer vaseline or jeyes fluid.

There should be more options on the poll.

Didnt i do this a few weeks ago,real butter wins by the way :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056262301

You most certainly did!

Of course butter won. How could reconsituted oil and "poly what his names" win. They totally suck and have no use what so ever, except maybe if you run out of lube. Then and it's only a maybe do they have their uses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Butter only, but I use very, very little of it. Maybe use it on fresh bakery bread three times a week or so.

Not lashing it into sandwiches, onto potatoes or anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I normally use Flora Pro Activ, but am feeling a bit mad tonight, so going to have some toast with Dairygold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

there is nothing nicer than toast staright out of the toaster smothered with real butter from a block on the table
    ill have none of your shite low low or connaught gold please

Real butter is divine, though it's a pain to spread on the toast/bread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Butter snobs :rolleyes:

The 5th worst kind of snob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

mconigol wrote: »
    Butter snobs :rolleyes:

The 5th worst kind of snob.

gtfo...............................................................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If it's not real butter, Connacht Gold is the only alternative. Unsalted butter is up there with Dairygold in the shíte tasting league

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Been done to death in the nutrition and diet forum

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056040384

The answer is Butter is the healthiest, there is absolutely no doubts about it. Low fat spreads are highly processed ****e which are extremely unhealthy.

Most people only eat low fat spreads because they think it's healthier, IT'S NOT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

soya butter! Its even nicer than real butter imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I despise butter,was forced to eat disgusting butter and sliced cheese sambos by one of my childminders when I was a kid,can't stand the stuff now.

Disgusting yellow goop!

--LOS-- wrote: »

me bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Why the 'V's' apostrophe?!! Who is V and why should I try his butter? :mad:

http://www.philipcoppens.com/vendetta_07.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Butter but not on toast.

Boiled egg mashed up in a cup with some butter and salt.

FOOD OF THE GODS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

--LOS-- wrote: »

Burn them !!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Connacht Gold (especially the low fat version) is so much tastier than every other butter ive ever tried. I'm actually amazed that one brand can be so far ahead....it is butter afterall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

So what is the best brand/healthiest brand of butter to buy in supermarkets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I like Benecol Buttery Taste. It has a buttery taste. Most of the other spreads taste vile. I can't believe that anyone can't believe I Can't Believe It's Not Butter isn't butter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

I only eat real butter, those fake ones taste like absolute crap. When I see Flora or I Can't Believe it's not Butter (really? Has anyone ever confused that sh1te with butter?) in other people's fridges I have to fight the urge to sneak them into the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Preferably butter on toast.
    Dairygold is actually OK, its the nearest to the real thing of all the spreadables I've tried.
    Its inferior to butter tastewise but its in a different league to the UtterlyButterlys/TasteOfButter/ICantBelieve stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

syklops wrote: »
    Why does the poll say "Utterly Butterly/Dairygold/ Other 'real butter'"

I mean Utterly Butterly is about as much real butter as my hole is. I cant believe its not butter, is about as believable as a butter as my aforementioned backside is.

+1,000,000

The poll needs to be corrected to put butter on its own.

For spuds, sandwiches, toast or pretty much anything, the fakes can go f**k themselves.

Maybe spreadable butter like Connaught Gold, so that there's no hole in the sandwich, but butter all the way.

No point in living longer if you have to eat muck while doing so.

there is one on sale in the shops in an orange wrapper that says its real butter, has anyone tried it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Elisabeth Blanctorche

No I would rather not cover my dinner in cows breast milk. Dairy free sunflower spread all the way! http://www.theintolerantgourmet.com/storage/408545b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

<---- Flóra

And yes... I do spread easily.