Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean O'Brien wins ERC Player of the Year

• 25-05-2011 7:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

I thought this deserved its own thread. His family, fellow Tullowians etc. can be very proud of him. Seriously-how good can this guy become?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

More importantly, how do we get him and (a fully fit) Stephen Ferris into the Irish team together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Well SOB's comments after the game on saturday were telling. He said himself he was way more effective at 6. Therefore we need to start Ferris in the second row. Sorry Stephen but your country needs you. (oh and sorry Donnacha too..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

More importantly, how do we get him and (a fully fit) Stephen Ferris into the Irish team together.

We need to get one of the more average players to donate their knee cartilage to Ferris. Take one for the team, lads!

From the first time he came on the Leinster scene, it was obvious that O'Brien was a special talent. What a player, seems like a pretty genuine guy and (according to the PR anyway) seems to give a lot of his time to coaching in Tullow. And still only 24, if he stays injury free he could be one of the all-time greats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TheHighRoad

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Well SOB's comments after the game on saturday were telling. He said himself he was way more effective at 6. Therefore we need to start Ferris in the second row. Sorry Stephen but your country needs you. (oh and sorry Donnacha too..)

Ferris has played 7 a lot for Ulster and is just as good there. 6.O'Brien 7.Ferris 8.Heaslip would be one of the best backrows Ireland has ever had. Three genuinely world class players. Hopefully Ferris can get fit before the world cup and plays well in the warm up games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Ferris has played 7 a lot for Ulster and is just as good there. 6.O'Brien 7.Ferris 8.Heaslip .

Completely disagree. I have a huge man-crush on Ferris as a rugby player but an international class 7 he is not.

The idea of Ferris to second row makes a lot of sense in theory and has been talked about for a few years but it may too late to convert him to a lock before the world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Ferris has played 7 a lot for Ulster and is just as good there. 6.O'Brien 7.Ferris 8.Heaslip would be one of the best backrows Ireland has ever had. Three genuinely world class players. Hopefully Ferris can get fit before the world cup and plays well in the warm up games.

Personally, I would be playing Jennings at 7. I know Wallace has done nothing wrong and would have no problem playing him there. Either way, SOB has to be 6.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Quint2010 wrote: »
    I thought this deserved its own thread. His family, fellow Tullowians etc. can be very proud of him. Seriously-how good can this guy become?

I thought he was from Rathoe?

What a magnificent player, can play anywhere in the backrow but Saturday confirms that 6 is best suited to him. Absolutely first name on the Irish backrow list now. Future Lions player and hopefully many more successful years for Leinster.

Unleash the beast.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Untackle-able

Broke one of my mates ribs as a young lad too.

Himself and ferris are built differently to most other backrowers.

The only player I think that's similar is juan smith.

Nz or aus don't really have anyone like them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭irishmanmick

Fair play to the lad. Has been brilliant this year. Great news for Ireland as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Rocky Elsom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭jam_on_toast

Congrats to O'Brien. Great season.

On the O'Brien / Ferris debate, I'd like to see O'Brien at 6 and Ferris at 7 in a warm-up game. Wallace doesn't play a classic 7 role so there is no reason why Ferris cannot play there or at least be given a chance.

Since we havent seen Ferris for a while, I think people are forgetting just how good he is. He is a proven world class player and a better player (at the moment) than O'Brien in my opinion.

Personnally, I'd like to see Jennings at 7 in a full strength team to see how it works but I cannot see it happening. If we continue down the non-traditional 7 route, Ferris must be given a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Congrats to O'Brien. Great season.

On the O'Brien / Ferris debate, I'd like to see O'Brien at 6 and Ferris at 7 in a warm-up game. Wallace doesn't play a classic 7 role so there is no reason why Ferris cannot play there or at least be given a chance.

I agree with this.
    Mostly because I don't really think that the "Traditional 7" role really sits anymore with the new tackle interpretumpt-teedoos. Doesn't take a huge amount of nous to hold a player up and drive over. I'm not sure the requirements of 6 & 7 are as different as they once were in this light.

I also think its more important than ever to have ball carriers in the pack.
    Heaslip, O'Brien and Ferris = more gains & more continuity.

That said Deccie will probably just pick Wallace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

evil_seed wrote: »
    Rocky Elsom

Jesus I forgot about him with him being injured. Good shout

Although I think ferris and o brien are marginally harder to tackle. They are so awkward . Their running style reminds me of a young Joe van niekirk. Subtle as a brick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

Imagine a pack of :

Healy
    Strauss
    Ross
    Ferris
    McLaughlin
    SOB
    Ruddock
    Heaslip

That would be one hell of a mobile, carrying pack! Tacklers would be knackered

No idea how it would work in defense though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

almighty1 wrote: »
    I thought he was from Rathoe?

Could be as close to Ballon or Kilbride either, feck that though, we're claiming him! :)

Awesome player though, fully deserving of the award, he's been incredible, long may it last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

Essien wrote: »
    Could be as close to Ballon or Kilbride either, feck that though, we're claiming him! :)

Awesome player though, fully deserving of the award, he's been incredible, long may it last.
    hi the bog lane is were sean is from went to school in rathoe played football for the fighting cocks went tullow school then and the rest is history good honest lad i know him for a few years even then he had something special about him i live 3 miles from him still find it hard to watch him play for leinster and is country enjoy it sean well done for all in ballyeen ballon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Fair play to him. He's been unreal this season.

Seems like a real genuine fella from what interviews I've heard of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,973 ✭✭✭✭phog

Fully deserved. Hardly put a foot wrong all season. Hope he has many more years of sucess but not against Munster of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭rockman15

Untackle-able

Broke one of my mates ribs as a young lad too.

Himself and ferris are built differently to most other backrowers.

The only player I think that's similar is juan smith.

One Word: Pocock. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Dr.Evil

I'd like to see the Leinster back row start at the World Cup. Or be given the chance to. It's harsh on Wallace, but it's even more harsh on Jennings who is playing class and getting no recognition. O'Brien needs to play 6 realistically I think as he is better there. Jennings is a natural 7 and I think he adds a certain amount of balance to the back row, bringing out the best in Heaslip and O'Brien.
    I've pretty much ruled out Ferris at this stage..I love him, but I don't have much confidence over his fitness. The idea of him at second row is awesome, but it's probably not going to suit him with a bad knee. I can see Ferris being sent home with an injury, but I hope I'm wrong. That would leave us with Wallace, and maybe one from Leamy, McLoughlin or Ruddock even. I'd have Wallace on the bench who can make a great impact in the last 20 minutes, and bring McLoughlin too for what he can offer. Although it will probably be Leamy..

So happy for Sean O'Brien though! I felt sorry for him when he broke his leg just when he was getting in good form last season, and he's come back stronger than ever. He's a class player, seems like a good guy and hopefully he just keeps going! I got such enjoyment from watching him run through Lee Dickson on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

rockman15 wrote: »
    One Word: Pocock. :D
    Does Pocock posses his pace,offloading game or running lines?
    One word: No.

• Leinster's hardest working player.

Someone who has earned everything he's ever gotten in Rugby.

What a Man. Needs a better chant though! (Rocky!Rocky!.... Isa!Isa!...... Seanie!) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

Class player who fully deserves the recognition he is now getting. His second half performance in Cardiff was so good they should have made up a second man of the match award just for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

Undoubtedly deserved it, if not for his performances against Northampton and England in the 6N. Boshed through Tom Wood all day long in both games. A good showing in the world cup and he'll definitely be in with a shot of the IRB Player of the Year crown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Iron Hide wrote: »
    Undoubtedly deserved it, if not for his performances against Northampton and England in the 6N. Boshed through Tom Wood all day long in both games.

Impressive considering he wasn't on the field.

• Impressive considering he wasn't on the field.

You just can't hide from the Tullow Tank!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

the human wrecking ball great player/season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Immense. Delighted !

This guy is one of only a few forwards that I can clearly imagine at the heart of an All Black team. He is astonishingly destructive and a fabulous footballer.

Did they have a ceremony dinner ? Surely he deserved a big event...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

Delighted for him, his form has been immense.

He is also very young for a forward.

Let's hope he can avoid the injuries that have blighted others and push on from here.

Well done young man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Last year he was playing for Leinster, helping Jackman with Clontarf, running a Sean O' Brien Boot-camp (doing many of the sessions himself) and occasionally coaching Tullow. What feckin stamina he has and not just braun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Leinster's hardest working player.

Someone who has earned everything he's ever gotten in Rugby.

What a Man. Needs a better chant though! (Rocky!Rocky!.... Isa!Isa!...... Seanie!) ?

I can see it now

"Make them SOB Make them SOB"

Ill get my coat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Dub.

Amazing news for Sean when you consider the competition around Europe.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Savage player, great season, well deserved, he has a fantastic future in front of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Dr.Evil wrote: »
    That would leave us with Wallace, and maybe one from Leamy, McLoughlin or Ruddock even. I'd have Wallace on the bench who can make a great impact in the last 20 minutes, and bring McLoughlin too for what he can offer. Although it will probably be Leamy..

I think the ship has sailed for Leamy from an International perspective. He just doesn't have the nous and skill that modern backrows need. He was fantastic in 2008 before his injury problems but I think the game has passed him by.

What to say about Sean O'Brien. Magic season and hope he has many more to come.

great for SOB but Isa should have been ERC player of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

glasso wrote: »
    it could have been any 1 of the 3 leinster lads nominated you cant complain about any of them winning the prize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Video of the presentation/interview not added yet?

http://www.ercrugby.com/eng/matchdaytv/play/media/id/8529

glasso wrote: »

Thornley in the interview mentioned that it was tightish between 1st & 2nd place, Isa was obviously 2nd. However I think O'Brien performance in the 2nd half just pipped it for him I reckon.

almighty1 wrote: »
    Thornley in the interview mentioned that it was tightish between 1st & 2nd place, Isa was obviously 2nd. However I think O'Brien performance in the 2nd half just pipped it for him I reckon.

yes you are probably right on that - O'Brien was more prominent in the final and that did it for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

d'Oracle wrote: »
    I agree with this.
    Mostly because I don't really think that the "Traditional 7" role really sits anymore with the new tackle interpretumpt-teedoos. Doesn't take a huge amount of nous to hold a player up and drive over. I'm not sure the requirements of 6 & 7 are as different as they once were in this light.

I also think its more important than ever to have ball carriers in the pack.
    Heaslip, O'Brien and Ferris = more gains & more continuity.

That said Deccie will probably just pick Wallace.

Can't agree with that at all, there is a reason McCaw is seen as the best player in the world and Pocock is seen as maybe the brightest young talent in world rugby.
    There might be less traditional 7's out there but if they do it right then they are devestating.
    It's the reason Jennings coming on for Loughie at half time was so important.
    I would start Jennings at 7 in the WC and let Ferris and SOB battle it out for the 6 jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

pajunior wrote: »
    I would start Jennings at 7 in the WC and let Ferris and SOB battle it out for the 6 jersey.

I think SOB is much better at 6 than Ferris. Jennings is also right for that 7 jersey.

SOB has had a brilliant season for Leinster, and still has great ambition (win the Magners next week and then WC medal).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Think it's very easy to forget just how good Ferris is. I think it's beyond doubt that SOB, Ferris and Heaslip are the three best backrowers we have, the real question is whether they'd work together. SOB vs. a fit Ferris would be a very close call.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Think it's very easy to forget just how good Ferris is. I think it's beyond doubt that SOB, Ferris and Heaslip are the three best backrowers we have, the real question is whether they'd work together. SOB vs. a fit Ferris would be a very close call.

Not sure whether it's that black and white any more, I wouldn't rule out Wallace just yet. Ferris hasn't played at that level for a while now imo.

The backrow of SOB Ferris and Heaslip doesn't really work on paper, but then again, neither does SOB, Wallace and Heaslip particularly.

My choice for the warm ups would be SOB, Jennings and Heaslip, but it looks as if Wallace would have to ride Kidney's missus to be dropped behind Jennings!

In fairness Wallace picked up the slack in the 6N when we all thought he was redundant. Would like Jennings on the bench since it offers something different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

The big asset that Ferris has over O'Brien is his destructive tackling. I can't see Kidney leaving him out because Ireland's big weakness is a vulnerability to big powerful teams who play a very conservative style of one-out passes to big forwards who make a few metres and recycle again (SA being the prime suspects but almost everybody tries it against us nowadays - it's how France beat us in the Aviva this year). A monster tackler is the best way of discouraging this tactic and forcing a kick. Sure, SOB is a good defender, but Ferris is probably one of the top two in world rugby at putting big hits in (I still remember with fondness the sight of the Hask going into reverse gear at serious pace at Ravenhill last year).

Although Jennings is a class act, he has never really done the business at international level, so it would be a serious risk to depend on him at the WC - I'd say it is touch and go as to whether he makes onto the squad at all. I'd say that there is no chance that he will be preffered to Wallace simply because Wally has done the business at the highest level again and again and World cups are not places where you want to be depending on people who haven't proven themselves at that level.

I'd guess that the management team will use the August international to test out whether Fez-SOB-Heaslip can gel, or whether they rely upon the proven combination of Fez-Wallace-Heaslip. Having said that, the way Fez plays the game, it seems quite likely that he will be injured anyways.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Stev_o wrote: »
    In fairness Wallace picked up the slack in the 6N when we all thought he was redundant. Would like Jennings on the bench since it offers something different.

Oh I agree, and I was surprised, but he was awful for the first part of the season, and Jennings has got not shot at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

wixfjord wrote: »
    Oh I agree, and I was surprised, but he was awful for the first part of the season, and Jennings has got not shot at all.

Are you saying that he shouldn't have a shot or that Kidney won't give him a shot?

Because if we only discussed what Kidney is going to do then this will be a very short thread :p

wixfjord wrote: »

It's sorta all up in the air though. A part of me thinks Jennings won't tour at all. That we ll settle of backrow of

6:Ferris,McLoughlin,Leamy
    7.SOB, Wallace
    8.Heaslip

Chances are SOB will be at 8 for the minor games and be on the bench if he goes for

Ferris, Wallace, Heaslip.

Would say that he's probably the best player we could bring off the bench if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Dr.Evil

As ERC Player of the year, O'Brien surely deserves to start over Ferris who hasn't played consecutive top level rugby for nearly two years.
    It's sorta all up in the air though. A part of me thinks Jennings won't tour at all. That we ll settle of backrow of

6:Ferris,McLoughlin,Leamy
    7.SOB, Wallace
    8.Heaslip

Chances are SOB will be at 8 for the minor games and be on the bench if he goes for

Would say that he's probably the best player we could bring off the bench if that's the case.

I think you could be right about Jennings. I'd love to see him tour, I don't think he gets the praise that he should, and he offers something different to Wallace. He could be used in a horses for courses type plan. But I have a feeling he won't go. :(

....... if he goes for

There is no way Kidney can afford to drop SOB from the back row. He has made some questionable calls already over the last year. Kidney has to be thinking of fitting in SOB and Heaslip and then filling in the empty spot from one of Jennings, Wallace and Ferris.