Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

near empty stadiums

• 24-05-2011 7:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭

so, the aviva is half empty at the moment. that's all well and good and what not but surely they could do better with what they have?

look at the gary neville testimonial on ss2. you'll notice it's half empty too but they've closed the upper tiers and packed everyone into the lower tiers to try and build up a bit of atmosphere.

is there any reason this isn't an option for the fai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

FAI = Clowns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Obviously most of the FAI have never done economics in college, their prices' are too high, high supply at high price but with lower demand. They should find a market equilibrium for the supply capacity and the demand price to try and assess the maximum amount of price on each seat which will push the demand to max. supply. In other words if the find the highest price that will fill the stadium that with maximise profit, that's the ME. ****ing stupid business on their part, \/ Price /\ Demand, it's not ****ing rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

the FAI will never do the smart/sensible thing.looks terrible,whats the attendance, 10,000?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

At least close the upper tier. Another one which is a cheap trick but for TV is worth doing is pack the side of the stadium the cameras are pointing at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

The upper tier should definitely be closed for these games, it would take the empty look off the stadium and lend to a better atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Its was 30 quid for tonights game but they did offer the 2 games later this week on the ticket for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Pauleta wrote: »
    Its was 30 quid for tonights game but they did offer the 2 games later this week on the ticket for free.

Exactly, hardly a bank account buster of a price in all fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I imagine people having season tickets, vantage club tickets etc mean moves like that are impractical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

30 LOL

a tenner would be a fair price, 30 smakers for a nothing game on tuesday nite is more than enough.

the FAI are gas with their prices.

Imagine if the CL Final was on in the AVIVA..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭woysworld

imagine if Bertie has got his way and built the "bertie bowl"??:eek::mad:

I imagine people having season tickets, vantage club tickets etc mean moves like that are impractical.

I doubt it would be much trouble to move the people who have
    season tickets and the like.if there seats is affected in the upper tier they will most likely get a better seat in the lower tier.FAI are useless *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

woysworld wrote: »
    imagine if Bertie has got his way and built the "bertie bowl"??:eek::mad:

It mightn't have been the worst thing to happen.

Lansdowne and its surrounding land would have been sold for hundreds of millions to some Celtic Tiger developer which would have part funded the new stadium.

No need to have such ridicilous ticket prices, a stadium thats too small for the big games and no need to name it after an insurance company :mad:

But then again they would have found some way to mess it up.

yabadabado wrote: »
    I doubt it would be much trouble to move the people who have
    season tickets and the like.if there seats is affected in the upper tier they will most likely get a better seat in the lower tier.FAI are useless *****.

That's not my point. There will be people in the lower tiers with tickets. They won't know until the night if those people are turning up or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Yes the FAI are complete dopes and generally can't organise anything. However you also have to factor in the fact that the Irish soccer team simply isn't popular anymore. The team hasn't qualified for anything in 9 years. The fairweather fan has moved on and it will be hard to get them back.

The smartest thing to do for this tournament would've been to have 2 games on the one night and have it as a weekend thing, maybe play 2 games on friday and finish it on sunday. I dread to think how many will be at the Wales Scotland game.

Yes the FAI are complete dopes and generally can't organise anything. However you also have to factor in the fact that the Irish soccer team simply isn't popular anymore. The team hasn't qualified for anything in 9 years. The fairweather fan has moved on and it will be hard to get them back.

I think there are elements of truth in that, but it overlooks other issues. The rugby internationals in Autumn had decreased attendances, as have other events around the country. Attendances are down in all events that are not "must-see" for entertainment events or competitive games in sports.

The difference with now and 10-20 years ago is that we now play practically every friendly is played in a 50,000 all seater stadium, so it is more obvious that there are less people there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

The smartest thing to do for this tournament would've been to have 2 games on the one night and have it as a weekend thing, maybe play 2 games on friday and finish it on sunday. I dread to think how many will be at the Wales Scotland game.

Agree with this. Have two semi-finals on the Saturday, with the final and 3/4 play-off on the Sunday. That would give good value on both days and you would be more likely to get some Welsh and Scottish support over for the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭LimeTime

30 LOL

a tenner would be a fair price, 30 smakers for a nothing game on tuesday nite is more than enough.

the FAI are gas with their prices.

Imagine if the CL Final was on in the AVIVA..

Yeah, I mean with UEFA setting the ticket prices...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

the ifa also messed up for this match. i read somewhere that they would only sell tickets in a package deal with coaches they organised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The FAI should do what London Irish rugby did once and allow free entry to a game but ask the punters to leave a 'donation' on the way out based on how much they thought the game was worth.

That might satisfy some of the crowd here that cannot stop complaining about the price of tickets.

I'm sure I could pull out an old thread that people agreed that e30 is a fair price for one game, not alone two.

But now e30 is way too much for 5 goals on a spring evening and possibly a few more tomorrow night.

The reason the place was only 20% full is cos it was two B teams playing a nothing fixture in a dumbass 'tournament'.

Had the tickets been e10 I doubt the crowd would have been much better, but had we been playing a more exocit team (Chile, Paraguay, South Korea) then it may have been better attended.

That's not my point. There will be people in the lower tiers with tickets. They won't know until the night if those people are turning up or not.

I get what you mean but it doesn't stop them from selling lower tier only.How many block booked tickets would there be?Even if none of them turned up and didnt pass on the ticket it would still look better than it does with the whole stadium open.
    imo the tickets were too expensive aswel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I dread to think how many will be at the Wales Scotland game.

Norn Iron v Wales should be interesting. Two teams with nothing to play for in a 3rd country.

Wouldn't be surprise if it drew less than 5000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭LimeTime

bonerm wrote: »
    Norn Iron v Wales should be interesting. Two teams with nothing to play for in a 3rd country.

Wouldn't be surprise if it drew less than 5000.

I'd be guessing a hell of alot less considering Norn Iron only brought 300 fans tonight.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

now e30 is way too much for 5 goals on a spring evening and possibly a few more tomorrow night.

The reason the place was only 20% full is cos it was two B teams playing a nothing fixture in a dumbass 'tournament'.

Too many people speak utter shíte on this forum. Ffs will you ever take into account the state of the economy before you go making fools of yourselves? I know for a fact that if I and most of my friends were not on €100 a week from the dole and instead working, that the majority of us would have been at tonights match. If I can think of at least 5 lads off the top of my head that would have been there if they were working.. and Im just one person, then Im sure there are many many more instances of this happening all over the country.

The country is in tatters, the young Football fan is out of pocket and the FAI are as thick as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

mossyc123 wrote: »
    It mightn't have been the worst thing to happen.

Lansdowne and its surrounding land would have been sold for hundreds of millions to some Celtic Tiger developer which would have part funded the new stadium.

No need to have such ridicilous ticket prices, a stadium thats too small for the big games and no need to name it after an insurance company :mad:

But then again they would have found some way to mess it up.

The IRFU should have done exactly that and they could have easily built themselves a quality stadium by themselves on the outskirts of the city. Instead they gave up half their land to the inept clowns at the FAI. I like my soccer and this isn't anit soccer, it's anti FAI, they are morons to a man and it annoys me that they got half a share in a stadium after years of ****ing about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

aye, even davy keogh says hellos days are numbered now ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Random wrote: »
    so, the aviva is half empty at the moment.

Is that you John? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

All the ticket holders from tonight were told to go through turnstiles Q and R tomorrow and Friday. Does anyone know are they lower tier? Dont think upper tiers will be open somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Exactly, hardly a bank account buster of a price in all fairness.

Grand if you live you in Dublin and fair play to FAI for that but no benefit for those having to travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

The lack of advertising for this match was shambolic. If it wasn't for boards I probably wouldn't have known there was a match tonight, didn't see 1 ad for it or anything. There's something to look at...

themont85 wrote: »
    The IRFU should have done exactly that and they could have easily built themselves a quality stadium by themselves on the outskirts of the city. Instead they gave up half their land to the inept clowns at the FAI. I like my soccer and this isn't anit soccer, it's anti FAI, they are morons to a man and it annoys me that they got half a share in a stadium after years of ****ing about.

Why build a stadium outside the city? Ya, that would really have increased the crowd tonight:rolleyes:. As for the IRFU giving half their land away?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Why build a stadium outside the city? Ya, that would really have increased the crowd tonight:rolleyes:. As for the IRFU giving half their land away?:confused:

I wasn't really referring to tonight, more on the ineptness of the FAI and how the IRFU are in bed with such a second rate organisation. The IRFU were sitting on major assets for years in Lansdowne Road and other lands but ended up co owning with their former leasers on their own land, splitting all the extra revenue derived from the stadium with them. Yes the IRFU revert to full ownership in a couple of decades but I think they got a bad deal personally.

Football is run on this island by two awful organisations in the FAI and IFA which is a real pity given the potential.

One thing I would say about attendences goes back to the IRFU. Even when the Irish rugby team was terrible in the late 80s and 90s the attendences were never as poor as some of the football teams recently and rugby has never been as well supported as football, the main reason is that the clubs were always in the loop. Is there no connection to the clubs? I know during the 90s there would have been a surge on an open Market sale rather than goin through local clubs, is that a part of the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Mayo Exile

yabadabado wrote: »
    the FAI will never do the smart/sensible thing.looks terrible,whats the attendance, 10,000?

160407.jpg

Grand if you live you in Dublin and fair play to FAI for that but no benefit for those having to travel

A quarter of the population lives in Dublin though, and a large portion live within an hour though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

LimeTime wrote: »
    I'd be guessing a hell of alot less considering Norn Iron only brought 300 fans tonight.:eek:

I heard on newstalk tonight that N.I sold 32 tickets for the Wales game :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Pauleta wrote: »
    I heard on newstalk tonight that N.I sold 32 tickets for the Wales game :pac:

What are you laughing at? The fact that they were going to boycott the rest of this tournament is a well known fact.

What are you laughing at?

I know what I was laughing at when I see the match on Sky News tonight, the empty stadium. Top work John Delaney, and top work the FAI.:D Oh and yet again they show their complete ignorance towards the LoI by having a match on a Friday thus getting LoI matches moved to the Thursday. Karmas a b*tch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Don't think the ticket prices has much to do with the attendence, the matches were doomed to be poor no matter what.

A quarter of the population lives in Dublin though, and a large portion live within an hour though.

Im not knocing the FAI for this ticket initiative but travelling for over an hour to see the rubbish other two games?? If i was living in Dublin city, it would be a good deal but im not.

Don't think the ticket prices has much to do with the attendence, the matches were doomed to be poor no matter what.

Im sure it wasnt possible with pre sold 'block bookings' etc but if the game tonight was ,say, a tenner in, surely it would have been full or were all the 'real' fans watching Neville's testimonial on sky and wouldnt have come anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Im sure it wasnt possible with pre sold 'block bookings' etc but if the game tonight was ,say, a tenner in, surely it would have been full or were all the 'real' fans watching Neville's testimonial on sky and wouldnt have come anyway?

No way it would have been full. Would have gotten a few extra people in but probably not any more money for FAI. It's a poor time to have it really. It was a very busy weekend with sport and Obama. Most people I know spent the saturday in the pub watching Leinster game, then all day Sunday watching the football it would have been quite an expensive weekend. Add in the fact it's a tuesday night and the contest was always looking very lobsided and this match was never going to be successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭blue-army

I know what I was laughing at when I see the match on Sky News tonight, the empty stadium. Top work John Delaney, and top work the FAI.:D Oh and yet again they show their complete ignorance towards the LoI by having a match on a Friday thus getting LoI matches moved to the Thursday. Karmas a b*tch!
    Don't know why LOI games were moved - it's only Northern Ireland playing Friday.
    Ireland don't play 'til Sunday evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,455 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The price of entry is not the issue at all. Its what you are being served up thats the problem. Trapps style isn't something people like to watch so unless its a really important then the majority of people just aren't interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

The worse thing for me is the timing of the games. If i lived close to Dublin i would go just to pass the evening but coming from Cork for a friendly against a team like N.Ireland would mean an overnight stay or a very late trip back down, and with work the next morning, not many people from down south will make the round trip.

I think the FAI are starting to cop on with the prices. The season ticket is 189 for 7 games 55 for kids and 30 euro for last night and 2 other games aint bad to be honest. They are finally copping on and i think the season tickets people have for the upper levels stopped them closing the upper levels. Just doesn't seem to be much demand to watch international football at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Part of the problem is not the FAI, it's expecting punters to be bothered about an increasing number of meaningless games starring players who have nothing to play for and have probably been out on the piss since the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

I don't think ticket pricing is the issue with this one. More Traps rubbish style of play and the two rubbish teams that were to play.
    I had a ticket for this game and couldn't be arsed going to be honest. It's only 30 minutes from my front door to the stadium using public transport but when I seen the starting ix felt like it wasn't worth the effort especially playing the jokeshop that is Northern Ireland.
    A mate of mine couldn't give a ticket away to this game and had been trying for a week. There was no interest in watching two C teams play in a meaningless friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

stovelid wrote: »
    Part of the problem is not the FAI, it's expecting punters to be bothered about an increasing number of meaningless games starring players who have nothing to play for and have probably been out on the piss since the weekend.
    That doesn't mean that the FAI can be a bit realistic with their prices, some people would be well prepared to pay €30 for a ticket to the game, I probably would if I cared what happened in international football, but the vast majority wouldn't pay that, and they probably don't have the money to. It's an utterly pointless game of Soccer that no one is bothered about, if they applied a price which the game requires to get the most people into the stadium they can whilst still making the highest profit they could forecast, then they'd be laughing - they just appear to be too ignorant (or stupid) to ponder upon that. Like, if they charged in €8 for adults and €5 for kids/students/OAP's at the turnstiles I bet they could've tripled the amount of people they had last night, at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Too many people speak utter shíte on this forum. Ffs will you ever take into account the state of the economy before you go making fools of yourselves? I know for a fact that if I and most of my friends were not on €100 a week from the dole and instead working, that the majority of us would have been at tonights match. If I can think of at least 5 lads off the top of my head that would have been there if they were working.. and Im just one person, then Im sure there are many many more instances of this happening all over the country.

The country is in tatters, the young Football fan is out of pocket and the FAI are as thick as you.

Ok so tell me what price they should be selling the tickets for ?

Not too long ago there way a rumour that these games would be priced at the original full competitive price, e70 for lower tier, e50 for upper tier, or at best friendlily prices, e60 lower, e40 upper.

Since then the FAI have seen the writing on the wall and now you can get three games for e30, Ireland v NI, Scot v Wales, NI v Wales.

They are also introducing a season ticket that will get you 6 game for approx e30 each.

Did you notice that these games are being played in a brand new stadium ?

How do you expect the FAI to pay for their part in building it ?

It was not so long ago that people here were saying that 50k was too small.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Ok so tell me what price they should be selling the tickets for ?

Not too long ago there way a rumour that these games would be priced at the original full competitive price, e70 for lower tier, e50 for upper tier, or at best friendlily prices, e60 lower, e40 upper.

Since then the FAI have seen the writing on the wall and now you can get three games for e30, Ireland v NI, Scot v Wales, NI v Wales.

They are also introducing a season ticket that will get you 6 game for approx e30 each.

Did you notice that these games are being played in a brand new stadium ?

How do you expect the FAI to pay for their part in building it ?

It was not so long ago that people here were saying that 50k was too small.

It is obvious that there is a problem there. How would propose they fix this problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

The ticket price isn't the only issue, especially if you’re coming from Cork or Limerick. Buses are a pain, and they take an age and are pricey, but the train is normally crazy expensive.

And if you’re lucky enough to have work, your more than likely working till 5, therefore unable to get to Dublin in time for the game.

The FAI should be looking at giving free tickets to the local schools in Dublin, if they can get them in when they are young it might lead to them buying tickets once there adults, and I’m sure the kids with free tickets would probably buy a bottle of coke or a burger so they will still contribute some revenue on match day...

Just my opinion