Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I need a new life.

• 24-05-2011 6:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭

Anyone got any suggestions for one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Ill swap ya mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

IMF Chief?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Post $1 to Happy Dude, 743 Evergreen Terrace, Springfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Absurdum wrote: »
    IMF Chief?

I reckon I can keep it in my pants, so I'll put that in the "Maybe" pile. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Reincarnation, get reborn dude.

Chuck yourself under a train/lory, its like playing lucky dip, only bloodier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Hmm....

Okay. Buy a factory. Convert it into an industrial styled living quarters. Do 6,000 push-ups everyday.

Buy a black, 1970s sports cars.

Drive around Dublin and kick the **** out of any junkie you see. You will be known as a hero and will get all the wimmenz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Try masturbation. Ive never looked back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Why do you need a new life by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

Get a job washing dishes for scientists in a research centre at the south pole.

Seriously, those jobs exist!

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Why do you need a new life by the way?

My old one's getting me down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Have you done anything to try and change certain aspects of your life that are getting you down? Maybe try different/new things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

What is it about your current life that gets you down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

you could try being an outdoorsie type of person, always going out on hikes with the lads from the hiking club walking tours of europe GB and places like tibet during the summer months skiing or ice climbing in the winter.

Are you near somewhere you could surf boarding lessons tried it once and felt great after it.

you could end up being supremely fit and its a good way to meet new people

can you sing at all (i mean in tune with other people not well) you could join a choir most choirs will practice once a week some would have a couple of concerts a year so not a huge commitment also try amature dramatics.

you could try doing a course in something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Ghandee wrote: »
    Reincarnation, get reborn dude.

Chuck yourself under a train/lory, its like playing lucky dip, only bloodier!

Too late, he should've done that on Rapture day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

climb everest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Anyone got any suggestions for one?

what is wrong with the life you have now?

Links234 wrote: »
    Have you done anything to try and change certain aspects of your life that are getting you down? Maybe try different/new things?

I've tried and failed. Right now my job is making it hard for me to do anything other than my job!

sheesh wrote: »
    you could try being an outdoorsie type of person, always going out on hikes with the lads from the hiking club walking tours of europe GB and places like tibet during the summer months skiing or ice climbing in the winter.

I should try something like this all right. I love going for walks but got no one to go for them with. I find if I'm walking with someone I can go for miles whereas if I'm on my own I get bored very quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Get drunk.

you are luck to have a job !

Get drunk.

That didn't work the first 1000 times, not sure why it would work this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Are you a serial-killer?

Whats the body count so far,horse?

get a sex change, play with new vagina 24/7, eternal joy & happiness ensues

cesc77 wrote: »
    Are you a serial-killer?

Whats the body count so far,horse?

If you include Daddy Longlegseses I'd say about a dozen, excluding them I'd go with 0.

join the priesthood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Good old mary jane helped me through some tough times ^.^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I've tried and failed. Right now my job is making it hard for me to do anything other than my job!

Ok, more serious answer as it at least looks like your serious.
    If your job sucks, do what ji did in the late 90s/early 00's (presuming you have no commitments) do voluntary work for missionaries etc.

In my late teens/early twenties I got to see Honduras, Haiti, Kenya, and Bangladesh. The work ranged from teaching, building houses, some light labour was also involved.

No, it doesn't pay (you'll get a modest living allowance and accom)

But the satisfaction you will get when you see the look of joy on that genuinely in need person will be worth more than any cash, also you'll gain priceless experience about the world, and enjoy pleasant climates, and make life long friends!

This is one of my most serious replies on AH, (EVER!)

I should try something like this all right. I love going for walks but got no one to go for them with. I find if I'm walking with someone I can go for miles whereas if I'm on my own I get bored very quickly.

*sniffle*

Quite poignant this wee post.

Bear with me as Im marrying together some of the suggestions.Why not have a few sherbets,not too many,but to the point where you are a bit squiffy.Then go for a dander down the road.(preferably in daylight)

Believe me,the craics mighty,you wont be bored and youll have the best ideas.

asl op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I feel you OP. My lifes drab and boring too and im looking for a change, its one of the reasons i joined boards :cool: The overses voluntary work sounds good or maybe something closer to home.
    Maybe a new hobby like martial arts or something could be the key.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

You're doing it wrong.

You're letting yourself sober up.

*sniffle*

Quite poignant this wee post.

Yeah I just realised I sounded a bit..

http://www.thebuzzmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/4char-forever-alone-guy-high-resolution.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

I'm fairly new to AH myself but I'd like to tell you a story about how my life got transformed.

I was born in the States,Philadelphia to be exact and spent most of my childhood playing with the other kids,normal stuff.A few of us got quite good at basketball and that could have went places.

Anyways,I got in to a fued with a couple of other the guys in neighbourhood and my Mom thought it would be a good idea for me to 'visit' my relatives in Ireland.Lol,I'll never forget the taxi driver that drove me from the airport.He had two of the biggest furry dice hanging from the mirror I'd ever seen.

We pulled up to the house about 7 or 8 and I took one look at my Kingdom,felt like the Prince of Bel-air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Pfft...,,,some people need to get a life .

Icarus152 wrote: »
    I'm fairly new to AH myself but I'd like to tell you a story about how my life got transformed.

I was born in the States,Philadelphia to be exact and spent most of my childhood playing with the other kids,normal stuff.A few of us got quite good at basketball and that could have went places.

Anyways,I got in to a fued with a couple of other the guys in neighbourhood and my Mom thought it would be a good idea for me to 'visit' my relatives in Ireland.Lol,I'll never forget the taxi driver that drove me from the airport.He had two of the biggest furry dice hanging from the mirror I'd ever seen.

We pulled up to the house about 7 or 8 and I took one look at my Kingdom,felt like the Prince of Bel-air.

Then what happened,what happened next,come on.......gwan what did you do,what did they do......Im on tenterhooks here,like.......

Jaysus my refresh button is wearing out.....Quick,quick,what happened?

Youre a tease,you are.All that talk of furry dice and then you leave us hanging.Has your internet connection gone down?Its like a real-life episode of 24 here!

*takes valium due to excitement levels.......just relax and let the story unfold....*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I love going for walks but got no one to go for them with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Here ye go, fill yer (walking) boots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

fjsanchez wrote: »
    Try masturbation. Ive never looked back

you should never look back when running away from a pensioner shouting
    " hey you - yea you in the bushes "

I prefer horizontal mountains. :)

So asking for help, saying you like walking but have nobody to walk with and then knocking back a bit of help to get people to wallk with. Good plan, best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,642 ✭✭✭cml387

Then what happened,what happened next,come on.......gwan what did you do,what did they do......Im on tenterhooks here,like.......

Jaysus my refresh button is wearing out.....Quick,quick,what happened?

Youre a tease,you are.All that talk of furry dice and then you leave us hanging.Has your internet connection gone down?Its like a real-life episode of 24 here!

*takes valium due to excitement levels.......just relax and let the story unfold....*
    SKRRK! SKRRK SKRRK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

If you can afford it, travel the world for a couple of years and experience a myriad of possibilities
    through other people's cultures.

So asking for help, saying you like walking but have nobody to walk with and then knocking back a bit of help to get people to wallk with. Good plan, best of luck.

Sorry, I didn't mean it like that. I just don't think I'm at the level where I could go mountaineering. It would definitely be a more medium term prospect. Apologies for my snarkiness.

cml387 wrote: »
    SKRRK! SKRRK SKRRK!

Care for a valium?

Im as excited as you are but Im not psych(o)tic.

I know its a pain but please break it down what that means.I hate having to write here when I know I may be missing out on episode 2 as a consequence so please excuse my abrubtness.

pant pant

Sorry, I didn't mean it like that. I just don't think I'm at the level where I could go mountaineering. It would definitely be a more medium term prospect. Apologies for my snarkiness.

In fairness to you, it is AH, the rarity of genuine help being sought and offered makes for misunderstandings.

Thos are walking clubs at the link, very few have any mountaineering going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

If you can afford it, travel the world for a couple of years and experience a myriad of possibilities
    through other people's cultures.

but make sure to watch every episode of Banged up Abroad before you go - it will ensure you dont make any incredible mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Jenroche

Run away and join the circus. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭madison2011

Foster a couple of troubled teenagers with serious attitude and behavioural issues. You'd love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Get a mini-call?

I believe they used to come with a life back in the day. There might be one knocking round ebay.