Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man United v Juventus | KO 19:30 | 24/05/11

• 24-05-2011 11:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭

104821.jpg VJuventus-Oval-crest-Pinbadge.gif

Gary Neville Testimonial
    KO: 19:30
    Venue: Old Trafford
    Live on Sky Sports 2

Team News

Former Manchester United midfielder David Beckham will feature for the United XI, which will be made up of players past and present, including Nicky Butt and Phil Neville along with current midfielders Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs.

Sir Alex Ferguson could give midfielder Darren Fletcher the chance to get some more minutes under his belt ahead of Saturday's Champions League final against Barcelona at Wembley.

Juventus have confirmed they will field a strong side tonight at Old Trafford, with Gianluigi Buffon, Alessandro Del Piero and Luca Toni all set to feature.

Felipe Melo, Alberto Aquilani and Milos Krasic have travelled to Manchester, along with the likes of Marco Motta, Giorgio Chiellini and Hasan Salihamidzic.

Update;

Peter Schmeichel, Eric Cantona, Dwight Yorke, Ronny Johnsen, Henning Berg are rumored to play a part in the game.

Juventus Squad: Buffon, Motta, Chiellini, Melo, Salihamidzic, Marchisio, Del Piero, Manninger, Aquilani, Barzagli, Traore, Bonucci, Toni, Pepe, Martinez, Krasic, De Ceglie, Storari, Matri, Giandonato, Boniperti, Sorensen.

Team Line Ups
    Man United: Kuszczak, G Neville, O Shea, Brown, P Neville, Beckham, Butt, Scholes, Giggs, Rooney & Owen
    Subs: Lindegaard, Anderson, Evans, Smalling, Rafael, Fabio, Obertan, Gibson, Fletcher, Bebe, Gill, Wootton

RESULT: Manchester United 1(Rooney'18) Juventus 2(Pepe 40, Giandonato 78)
    GaryNeville.png

k5kjl.jpg
    n3fM6.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

Is this on television?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

plonk wrote: »
    Is this on television?

On Sky.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Really looking forward to this! :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Juventus haven't fielded a strong side all season. They're hardly going to start now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭SK1979

There's a certain irony that this testimonial game has its own thread with a few posts already while there is an Ireland match tonight with full caps awarded and barely a peep about it! :rolleyes:

Anyway, I know what one I'll be watching. Come on Giggsy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Has there been an answer as to why he picked Juventus? Just wondering why them, over say, Bayern?

Fair play to them for bringing along a decent side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Rooney10 wrote: »
    Has there been an answer as to why he picked Juventus? Just wondering why them, over say, Bayern?

Fair play to them for bringing along a decent side.

He said it was because they had so many great games against Juventus over the years, including in the semi finals of the CL in 1999 for the treble. I don't know if there's anymore to it than that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

Will Roy Keane be playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Neville & Becks on the right again, class! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I love people that use '|' to divide words or phrases in a title.

Is fúcking class.

Will Roy Keane be playing?

Nope!

In a related post, Gary Neville picked his best United XI over the years;

Peter Schmeichel;
    Denis Irwin, Rio Ferdinand, Nemanja Vidic, Patrice Evra;
    David Beckham, Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs;
    Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo

Trilla wrote: »
    I love people that use '|' to divide words or phrases in a title.

Is fúcking class.

I love people that put a fada over the 'u' in fúcking

Peter Schmeichel, Eric Cantona, Dwight Yorke, Ronny Johnsen, Henning Berg are rumored to play a part in the game.

Juventus Squad: Buffon, Motta, Chiellini, Melo, Salihamidzic, Marchisio, Del Piero, Manninger, Aquilani, Barzagli, Traore, Bonucci, Toni, Pepe, Martinez, Krasic, De Ceglie, Storari, Matri, Giandonato, Boniperti, Sorensen.

Is there a listing of where the money is going?
    NUTZZ wrote: »
    I love people that put a fada over the 'u' in fúcking

Pity I couldn't spell "It's" :). I do love the bar symbol though

Peter Schmeichel, Eric Cantona, Dwight Yorke, Ronny Johnsen, Henning Berg are rumored to play a part in the game..

southpark.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

Will Eric Djemba Djemba be playing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

He' going donating some to build a pub for Utd supporters near OT

http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Features/Club-News/2011/May/Nevilles-supporters-club-vision.aspx :)

I thought you were being sarcastic!

lol no not at all! Use it in work all the time, hoping it will catch on :)

TheBunk1 wrote: »
    He' going donating some to build a pub for Utd supporters near OT

http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Features/Club-News/2011/May/Nevilles-supporters-club-vision.aspx :)

Heard about that at weekend alright, thought the testimonial was going to charity though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,017 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Source

Gary Neville's testimonial at Old Trafford on Tuesday night will be the greenest match in football history after the eco-conscious star insisted on the entire game being powered by wind.
    The 36-year-old, who hung up his boots halfway through the season, is famous for his sensitivity to the plight of the environment, and recently won a court order allowing him to build a futuristic £8m Teletubbies-style home specially designed to have a zero carbon footprint.
    And he will showcase his dedication to the environment in the clash against Juventus, which will feature Neville's former team-mate David Beckham and recently-shamed Ryan Giggs. All energy used at the 76,000-seater stadium - from the power for the floodlights to the heating elements in the pie machines - will be provided by 52 windmills across the UK that are operated by a firm called Ecotricity.
    "I have recognised in the last two to three years the need to make personal changes in my life and reducing my environmental impact is going to be a five-year transition for me and my family," explained Neville.
    "Sport crosses all boundaries and plays a significant role in many people's lives. From my perspective we have to look at the effect sport has had on other issues over the last 20 years to see that when sport comes together with society, positive actions can happen."
    Neville is expected to make as much as £2 million from the match - but he has already said that he will plough all of it into building a supporters' club and hotel for Manchester United fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

I know a lot of people outside of United fans despise him, but that's a pretty cool way to plow your testimonial money back into the fans/club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭bigred100

I know a lot of people outside of United fans despise him, but that's a pretty cool way to plow your testimonial money back into the fans/club.

I'm a United fan and even I can admit he was a bit of a twat on the pitch, but he strikes me as one of those players that has a different personality off of it completely.

I recommend anyone on twitter to follow him, seems like a genuinely decent guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Will Eric Djemba Djemba be playing:D

Neither of the three will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

any news on the Juventus team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Haha! Phil Neville was talking about Gary on Sky and said "What a knob!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

A whole match thread for a testimonial? Pish off.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

KO 19.30?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

KevIRL wrote: »
    KO 19.30?
    Yup....

Wayne Rooney starting..... what. the. fúck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Giggs was smiling and joking earlier in the pre match warmup.

Its a wonder considering the media storm surrounding him over the past couple of days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Some team out by united

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Ian Brown absolute legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

How does berba look cool all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Neville has piled on the pounds

Beckham, Scholes and Giggs in midfield, the way it's meant to be. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Actually excited about this game.

Good fun, just a bit of craic and unbelievable players on show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Headshot wrote: »
    How does berba look cool all the time

Mancrush at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Streams anyone? PLEASE???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Actually excited about this game.

Good fun, just a bit of craic and unbelievable players on show.

Pretty cool seeing Becks in a United shirt again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Beckham, Scholes and Giggs in midfield, the way it's meant to be. :cool:
    Don't forget Na-Na-Na-Na-Na-Na-Na-Na-Na-Na Nicky Nicky Butt Nicky Butt Nicky Nicky Butt.

Love Ian Brown, legend!

Mancrush at all?
    Man he's the epitome of coolness, just look at the dude.

Dave! wrote: »
    liveonlinefooty.com

Just pay for it ya cheap bastard!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Have to love SAF laughing at Scholes hacking yer man outta it!!!

Dave! wrote: »
    http://myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=118035&part=sports

Take your pick from there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Owen and Beckham both number 7 :pac:

Guessing Cantona will too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

great quality http://www.magictv.co/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

beckham scholes and giggs in midfield i think i need some new pants :pac: