Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny Speech

• 24-05-2011 10:42am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 197 ✭✭

Has anyone noticed that Enda Kennys speech yesterday was almost word for word copied from a speech Obama gave in Chicago.

Check out the first 30 seconds of both videos below??

If this was intentional, then surely it should have been flagged to the media, alot of the paper analysed the speech, did they know some of it was Obamas own words?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qTGZHmiHlRc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jll5baCAaQU

It's actually 50 seconds in on the Enda Kenny speech

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Didn't no, but he sounded like he really needed to take a dump.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Did Obama make up those words?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Enda was deadly yesterday, he should do cocaine more often imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Has anyone noticed that Enda Kennys speech yesterday was almost word for word copied from a speech Obama gave in Chicago.

If this was intentional, then surely it should have been flagged to the media, alot of the paper analysed the speech, did they know some of it was Obamas own words?

They're just playing this on Ray D'Arcy now.

Can Kenny not think up anything for himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭louise5754

Maybe Obama copied him???:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I thought the delivery and the speech was quite out of character for him (being quite animated). This did cross my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭Gingersnaps

Great minds think alike??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

35 minutes lads, wear that jersey with pride, the whole parish is watching ye

Enda has a career as a GAA coach when he is finished in politics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

This'll make us look good internationally :rolleyes:

Kenny in poor form shocker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Enda kenny is a sack. Regardless of who wrote the speech it should be blatantly obvious that he didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

Clare Bear wrote: »

These guys all have speechwriters. Most speeches are the same rehashed guff anyway. Does anyone actually think Bertie Ahern ever wrote a single word of his speeches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Can't be true

He promised to emigrate, he wouldn't break a promise would he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

louise5754 wrote: »
    Maybe Obama copied him???:D

Obama does have a time machine.

haters gunna hate, D'arcy can piss right off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

D'Arcy views on Kenny are well known....Why are certain people in this country always looking for a reason to drag the country back down. If people feel good about the our country has projected itself to the world in the past week why try to find faults...we have enough problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Inda Kenny doing what he does best, cogging.

Sure didn't he copy FF's Four Year Plan too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Barlett

Kenny and O'Bama have speechwriters, sure they have the final say on what is said but for the most part they have a team working on what sounds best. The West Wing gives a pretty good insight into this.

bonzos wrote: »
    D'Arcy views on Kenny are well known....Why are certain people in this country always looking for a reason to drag the country back down. If people feel good about the our country has projected itself to the world in the past week why try to find faults...we have enough problems

Yesterday was a great day and yes I'm sure D'Arcy is loving this now but it is worth pointing out to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Given that it was an incoherent, overly-emotional spot of craw-thumping delivered to a guilible nationalistic crowd in an economically ruined country, he should have put on a Hitler 'tache for the extra Nuremburg touch.

Ray D'Arcy is a funny little man isn't he?

Remember people he has a child therefore what he says is more important.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 197 ✭✭Eastcoastryan

Ray D'arcy picked up the audio from East Coast FM who spotted the similarities and put together the audio.

well....at least it wasn't Cowen :o

Ray D'arcy picked up the audio from East Coast FM who spotted the similarities and put together the audio.

He gave you credit Eastcoastryan don't worry ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ha ha, community radio!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

Someone should tell Raymond that Enda didn't make a speech, he made a "figure of speech", and it shouldn't be taken seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

He gave you credit Eastcoastryan don't worry ;)

More credit than Inda gave Barack for the speech!

In fairness to Inda, he was merely using some of Obamas words as the man was standing behind him. As if he thought he'd just take it and nobody would notice. It was very purposely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Remember people he has a child therefore what he says is more important.

AKA The Amanda Brunker Complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Opelfruit wrote: »
    These guys all have speechwriters. Most speeches are the same rehashed guff anyway. Does anyone actually think Bertie Ahern ever wrote a single word of his speeches?

the c**t could barely read a single word of his speeches

Cool_CM wrote: »
    AKA The Amanda Brunker Complex.

She knows all about beds though apparently.

"Buy some beds, I'm Amanda Brunker!"

Really Amanda?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Bambi wrote: »
    the c**t could barely read a single word of his speeches

Na, his writer was a terrible typist and kept putting in mistakes. After a while they decided to use the "impedment" as a gimmick.

Bertie doesn't actually have a stutter at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Is Ray D'Arcy broadcasting from abroad or has he emigrated yet?

Enda's job was to sell Ireland. He did it very well. Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Ray Darcy, what a pathetic little man.

Has he not left yet.

In fairness to Enda, whatever his speech was sculpted from it was good for a change.

Don't hate something just for the sake of it.

Give credit where credit is due.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭PrinceMax

Pauleta wrote: »
    Enda's job was to sell Ireland. He did it very well. Job done.

He did a good job of selling Ireland alright. Remember he sold it down the river when he voted for the bank guarantee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Rantan

Has he not left yet.

In fairness to Enda, whatever his speech was sculpted from it was good for a change.

poor ray - he's not that bad....
    Agree with you on enda though, never a fan but growing to like him more. Part of me is a little embarassed by him, weirdly in a good kind of way, like an uncle who tries too hard to be "cool" at the weddings but is sound beneath it all.. he comes across kind of naieve and harmless, imagine how either of the last pair of blitherin' idiots would have sounded delivering an important speech like that?? I thinnk he did a great job and I dont think it helps to nit pick on the minor details. Does anyone really think he didn't expect Obama would recognise his own speech? Imitation being the greatest form of flattery imo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Onion11

Fair Play to Enda Kenny, I thought it was great. Yes, sometimes it may have been slightly cringey, but overall it was refreshing to hear the leader of the country address the people in an emotional and encouraging manner at this current time of doom and gloom. Go Inda... words I thought I'd never say!

I'm glad we have a slim taoiseach again.

Yup - I'm that shallow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 183 ✭✭Paracore

Has he not left yet.

I suggest you take you're own advice then so...

<sighs>

Another Ray bashing thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Is the man so stupid that he did not think he, or whoever wrote/presented him with the speech would not be found out. Brian Cowan may not have been very media friendly, now it appears that Enda cant write an orgional speech or he does not know someone that can do it for him.

What was all the shouting for yesterday as well. Did he think we could not hear him. Well YES WE COULD. And was there a need to talk up President Obama. Did he think we did not know who he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Guill wrote: »
    <sighs>

Another Ray bashing thread.

Sighs?

Ray, it has to be you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

35 minutes lads, wear that jersey with pride, the whole parish is watching ye

Enda has a career as a GAA coach when he is finished in politics

Is Enda any relation to Jon Kenny. - Remember his talk to the under 12 or 13 team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Was it just me or did Enda Kenny's speech remind anyone else of Hitler at Reichstag?

Sighs?

Ray, it has to be you?

Hi buddy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Blueshirts just found a new leader. Lets March !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I reckon he done it on purpose as an homage to Obama. Either that or his speech writer was having a laugh.

Regardless.. it's easy to get psyched up in front of a crowd of tens of thousands and come across as energetic and passionate. Lets wait and see if he carries that energy and enthusiasm with him the next time he meets with Sarkozy and Merkel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

It was a perfectly adequete speech, delivered with passion and enthusiasm. Kenny has impressed me so far; I'd even go so far as to say I'm beginning to warm to the chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I reckon he done it on purpose as an homage to Obama. Either that or his speech writer was having a laugh.

Regardless.. it's easy to get psyched up in front of a crowd of tens of thousands and come across as energetic and passionate. Lets wait and see if he carries that energy and enthusiasm with him the next time he meets with Sarkozy and Merkel

Send Gerry "apprentice grim reaper" Kelly in first to see if he can sh**t them up a bit: "Did I ever tell youse about the time I shot a man in the face?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Conor_1978

RTE news, Fine Gael are denying any of it was copied, it was pure coincidence apparently that whole paragraphs were word for word from Obama inauguration speech.. absolute disgrace, at least have the good grace to admit you screwed up, looks even more of a tool now denying it.. and thats hard..

I thought biffo was the worst taoiseach ever and we couldn't sink any lower.... Guess I was wrong..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Sure Enda did the same on Paddy's Day in the States.

Besides, neither speech was written by the person who delivered it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Conor_1978 wrote: »
    RTE news, Fine Gael are denying any of it was copied, it was pure coincidence apparently that whole paragraphs were word for word from Obama inauguration speech.. absolute disgrace, at least have the good grace to admit you screwed up, looks even more of a tool now denying it.. and thats hard..

I thought biffo was the worst taoiseach ever and we couldn't sink any lower.... Guess I was wrong..

Hah, you're totally wrong.

They are not denying it, they have said they modelled it on his speech and are not hiding it.