Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kun Aguero is leaving, where to though ?

• 23-05-2011 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭

Translated text from his own website below. Where will he go ? Would he go to City maybe? Would be a good signing for them. Chelsea maybe ? Only saw him live once but played out of his skin.

http://www.sergioaguero.com/notas.php?ID=298
    The time to go
    "I said long ago that when he wanted to go, I would say publicly. And the time has come. So I do my word and here I am. I find it hard to leave Atletico. It hurts and saddens me. But I find it hard to explain what I do. "

"I've thought long and I am convinced that I must be true to myself. I do not think I put a ceiling on the ability to keep learning, to keep growing. After five years of intense personal stage is over and I have to give way to a new one. I'm about to turn 23 and I have everything before. Suffice it to say that this is not an economic issue but strictly sports. So I want to clearly express my appreciation to the club for the efforts he has made for keeping up with a salary according to the largest institutions in the world.
    I want to say also that this decision have been maturing for some time. Even the issue was discussed and agreed with Atletico last year on the occasion of renewing my contract. I wanted to sign, renew, as a way to return the club and all the mattress all you have given me. Have not done so, had stayed in freedom of action and the institution had not received any money for my transfer. I then had the promise of the Club would not impediments to my eventual departure in June 2011. So attentive to that commitment and unwavering view of my decision, I asked him to listen without any conditions that may get offers from different clubs.
    And for the fans, my eternal gratitude. Not trying to be original or say the politically correct. I'd rather say what I feel, beyond all other considerations. Because I know that the only way they will understand is if I do from my heart. That was the way I felt I talked all these years, with sincere love and affection. You are already part of my identity and a way of understanding football. We share joys and disappointments. The 101 goals and obtaining two titles after so many years of drought. I will never forget the celebration in Neptune and that night in Barcelona when we could not win the Copa del Rey. Well worth it, right? All those experiences ended up reaffirming something in me that I have from childhood: the desire to compete, win and be among the best with the only weapons I have: my game and my love for football.
    I do not want to fall into the commonplace to say that this is not a goodbye but a see you later. But if you say something once told me that said a very famous Argentinean tango, Anibal Troilo and that is very appropriate for this time: "Who said I left? If I'm ever going ... "
    A hug for everyone. I love you. "
    Kun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Real Madrid or Chelsea.

I'm going to say Real Madrid who'll announce it on Saturday to get press attention when it should be all on Barcelona ahead of their Champions League final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

*crossed fingers* please be Galway united, please be Galway united, please be Galway united *crossed fingers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Are ye sure that's not Emelio speaking there??:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

papagormo wrote: »
    *crossed fingers* please be Galway united, please be Galway united, please be Galway united *crossed fingers*

He's already publicly stated Galway United was his first choice but he's not keen on the weather so he's not as sure now! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Ye should have kept Nick Lesson on board, a bit of creative accounting might have done the trick. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Tevez out and Aguero in. TBH I would take that, even though he may not be as good as Carlos I reckon he's still quality (and possibly less trouble).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I feel sorry for the supporters, after Torres he is their next god, they love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

niallo24 wrote: »
    Tevez out and Aguero in. TBH I would take that, even though he may not be as good as Carlos I reckon he's still quality (and possibly less trouble).

Coming to Spurs, deal done in January COYS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

To Chelsea (as manager).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Don't be letting all the twitter rumours get your hopes up
    I asked him to listen without any conditions that may get offers from different clubs.

To me, this suggests Real. Sort of blowing apart the rumour that there is an agreement that he can't go there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Joe10000 wrote: »
    I feel sorry for the supporters, after Torres he is their next god, they love him.

He's not nearly as much loved as Torres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

tommyhaas wrote: »

To me, this suggests Real. Sort of blowing apart the rumour that there is an agreement that he can't go there

Which would scupper the talk of Tevez to Real stories as they would hardly sign both. It is Madrid though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

For now im going to make believe hes joining Arsenal that Wenger got a sugar rush and actually decided to spend some money.

Why is it everytime I type a players name into google one of the first suggestions will be player x to Liverpool!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Let me be the first to say that he will be Liverpools new #10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

looks like its def Real Madrid, id kill for it to be Chelsea but its just not gonna happen, Real doing all their business very early, wish we were doing the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Ah now, Wes Charles is after tweeting*:
    "Yo Kun, if you be making it to Terrysland, be careful with those tribewimminz yo!"
    The Charles don't lie.

*its a very very very difficult tweet to find sware to gawd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I'm going with City. Champions league football, won silverware this year. Can't see him going to Real due to him being at Atletico currently, although they do need a striker so it wouldn't be a huge shock. If Tevez is staying at City it'd be even more likely that Aguero would go there.. My money is on City though regardless of the fact that they have 40 odd strikers at this stage. Dzeko must be crying himself to sleep at night at the thought :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

AFAIK, his buy-out clause is supposedly €30m or €40m and I imagine this is one of the "conditions" of his transfer.

He's well worth it, imo. He's only 23 and he's been carrying the team at times this year. He scored 17 out of our 62 league goals, we wouldn't be in Europe without him.

I hope it's not Real, I'd imagine it's Chelsea or Man City or one of the Milan teams. I can't see Barca signing him.

Ah now, Wes Charles is after tweeting*:

The Charles don't lie.

*its a very very very difficult tweet to find sware to gawd

In all honesty if it is Madrid he's going to it should open the door for Benzemas move to Galway :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Cocks out muppets.

He'll replace Tevez at City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭djfitzerjnr

AFAIK, his buy-out clause is supposedly €30m or €40m and I imagine this is one of the "conditions" of his transfer.

It's actually a lot more. And more on top of that again if you are buying from outside of Spain.
    To activate Aguero's clause it would be €45M if Atletico were to agree to the sale.

If they do not agree to the transfer and the clause has to be activated legally then taxation comes into play at %18 so Aguero's price rises from €45M to €53.1M.
    Then Atletico can simply refuse to sell until it is forced to, Aguero can buy out his own contract (which would be paid by the buying club in this case ourselves) and the Spanish league would subsequently break his contract. The problem with this is if we pay the money to Aguero to buy out his contract it counts as income and is subject to taxation at %44 so to buy Aguero will suddenly increase to €80.2M.

Very complicated yes, but it seems that some of these costs could come into play seeing as it is the player that wants to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Showed more potential at Atletico that Torres ever did imo, he'll go on to do great things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He'll join Liverpool have a great 18 months, get banjaxed and eventually sold on to Chelsea for 80 million in January 2014 (agent Maxi is working on it as I type).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Pretty sure we will bid for him.

It's actually a lot more. And more on top of that again if you are buying from outside of Spain.

Very complicated yes, but it seems that some of these costs could come into play seeing as it is the player that wants to leave.

Ya I remember that from January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

I heard someone say earlier that him to Real was a cert, Real have been quite busy already with Sahin, Altintop and Callejon though, do they intend on creating a 100 man squad or something?

Is it that last part (44% tax bit) that only applies to clubs outside of Spain? Because if so, I would imagine Atletico would happily accept the 53m that he would cost Real, from anyone else

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

G Ballague is saying there's a big move from a big player from La Liga moving to a top EPL club, says he'll break it tomorrow. Doing the rounds on twitter all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Exactly the kind of big money superstar signing that is synonymous with Arsené Wenger and Arsenal. Can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Didn't he say, a few years back, that he was a big Liverpool fan?

He fits the spec Comolli, Dalglish and FSG have - young, talented and would doubtless sell a ton of merchandise.

Ah... I can dream.

Most likely going to Chelsea or Cty......

Frisbee wrote: »
    Exactly the kind of big money superstar signing that is synonymous with Arsené Wenger and Arsenal. Can't wait.

I detect an air of frustration in your posts today Frisbee.

Frisbee wrote: »

I was just about to post the post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

flahavaj wrote: »
    I detect an air of frustration in your posts today Frisbee.

I'll be ok in a week or two flah once I've transitioned from the post season depression of:

'Arsenal r so sh1t, Wenger out!' to the pre-season expectation of:

'ZOMFG we r 1337, we r gna win d league nxt yr lolololololol!!!!!!11!!!!!1one!!! wb bbz xxxx'

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Much as I'd love to see it, he won't be signing for Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭djfitzerjnr

Is it that last part (44% tax bit) that only applies to clubs outside of Spain? Because if so, I would imagine Atletico would happily accept the 53m that he would cost Real, from anyone else

Yep, only outside of Spain I do think.

Well I'd imagine so that if Real were to offer 53, Atletico would happily accept that from anyone else. Also, the bit in the statement about ''without any conditions'' would seem to suggest it has been agreed the club wont stand in his way once the 53 mill is met

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,933 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Where would he fit in the Real Madrid team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Headshot wrote: »
    Where would he fit in the Real Madrid team?

Where does anyone fit in the Real Madrid team?

It's like a 10 year old playing Football Manager tbh.

cson wrote: »
    It's like a 10 year old playing Football Manager tbh.

Just wait till Arry gets the Chelsea job :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

5starpool wrote: »
    Much as I'd love to see it, he won't be signing for Liverpool.

He will, you heard it on boards.ie first. Mere dotting the i's and crossing the t's at this stage and I've just done that.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Regardless of which club spends a fortune on him in the next few weeks, £6m Chicharito will probably outscore him next season.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

flahavaj wrote: »
    Regardless of which club spends a fortune on him in the next few weeks, £6m Chicharito will probably outscore him next season.:D

Meh.

That's all I can say there. Barring the King's resurrection and Blackpool, the third revelation in the Premiership this season.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

K-9 wrote: »
    Meh.

That's all I can say there. Barring the King's resurrection and Blackpool, the third revelation in the Premiership this season.

Odemwingie over all of them IMO. £2.5m and he ends up scoring 15 league goals in his first Premier League season, in a side that were tipped to go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

I remember reading that we (Spurs) had bid 35m for him, along with bids for 3 or 4 other strikers based in Spain in January. Interest will obviously still be there, but I'm positive he'd pick a team in the Champions League ahead of us. Would be awesome to have him, though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

going to United in a swap with Berba, sources very high up in the Atletico boardroom have told me this information, the source couldn't be higher. He has bought a house in Manchester so this means he will be joining United shortly.
    I wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Liam O wrote: »
    going to United in a swap with Berba, sources very high up in the Atletico boardroom have told me this information, the source couldn't be higher. He has bought a house in Manchester so this means he will be joining United shortly.
    I wish

He'd fit in well at United. Good move for him.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Liam O wrote: »
    going to United in a swap with Berba, sources very high up in the Atletico boardroom have told me this information, the source couldn't be higher.
    What... like in an airplane? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Real Madrid, I would put the house on it. Can't see him leaving Spain and Barca are after Rossi. He has been linked with them frequently for the past couple seasons so it wouldn't be a shock. He will be a hate figure in the city without doubt. Can bet your arse Atleti will milk this transfer. There will be a big clear out at the bernabeu this summer but will be mostly limited to the also rans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

would not be at all surprised to see aguero switch places with torres at chelsea,straight swap..