Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taking pets to bed?

• 23-05-2011 12:56am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭

Not in a durty way!....but like having the cat sleep on your bed. Nothing wrong with it right?....for years my black cat used to climb on the roof and meoow at my bedroom window, so i'd leave her in to have a kip.

My aunts daughter has this German shepard that ALWAYS follows her to bed and guards the room, he's weirdly hyper protective over her, do you bring your pets to bed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

In before pussy jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

But sure, if you let the pets into your bedroom would you not be sleeping amongst sh1t and p1ss?

I suppose it would be no worse than being in some of the hospitals around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Colilfc

I always used to bring my goldfish to bed,I took him out of the bowl and let him sleep beside me. Now he's dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

I think it's good to have pets in the bedroom, I always play with my wife's pussy at night helps me sleep better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Yes, I used to do this all the time. I couldnt sleep without my pet terrier. I would take him to bed, sniff his ears for a few minutes, and then settle happily into a long and wonderul sleep with him.

Dont really see why anyone would find sleeping with pets unusual, especially if one is single.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I once brought a dog to bed when I was very drunk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I once brought a dog to bed when I was very drunk.

haha!...maybe i should have a title "taking dogs to bed", but that would be major trolling ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Master Bates would not be pleased if there were pets watching him in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

My cat sleeps in my bed sometimes, she curls up between me and my boyfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Not in a durty way!....but like having the cat sleep on your bed. Nothing wrong with it right?....for years my black cat used to climb on the roof and meoow at my bedroom window, so i'd leave her in to have a kip.

My aunts daughter has this German shepard that ALWAYS follows her to bed and guards the room, he's weirdly hyper protective over her, do you bring your pets to bed?

Is there something you want to say here?

Your (My aunts daughter ??)cousins mutt is "weirdly"over protective of people coming into her room.

Methinks you are angling for means to circumvent said weird behaviour to propogate further weirdness.

Only surmising

^ in general, not bedroom specific....jeez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

^thats good.I dont feel awkward now.

Animals should not be allowed in the bedroom.They should know their place in the hierarchy of the household.

By animals, I mean 4 leggeds :v

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Dog sometimes sleeps at the end of my bed. Kept me alive last winter when the heating was on the fritz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

my dog sleeps with me all the time. she'll curl up near my feet under the covers :)

I have fond memories of that cat, she'd never interfere with you while sleeping....she'd take up "her side" of the bed, i miss her :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

If they were to be in the bedroom, I'd never let them sleep on the bed. They need to realise heirarchy, we are the masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

My dog is sleeping on my bed right now. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

cesc77 wrote: »
    Animals should not be allowed in the bedroom.They should know their place in the hierarchy of the household.
    If they were to be in the bedroom, I'd never let them sleep on the bed. They need to realise heirarchy, we are the masters.

lol I am never sure if people are being serious or not when they say things like this.

How insecure and lacking in self confidence do you have to be exactly that you worry about a kitten or Yorkshire Terrier displacing you in the hierarchy of your household? Jesus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

With people sleeping with their pets, surely its only a matter of time before one of them turns into Jeff Goldblum in the film "The Fly".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

I always bring my dog with me cos then im not the only one begging in the bedroom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

strobe wrote: »
    lol I am never sure if people are being serious or not when they say things like this.

How insecure and lacking in self confidence do you have to be exactly that you worry about a kitten or Yorkshire Terrier displacing you in the hierarchy of your household? Jesus...
    This might be how a rational human being thinks, but dogs are not people and dogs do obey a hierarchical system. I was told the exact same thing as what the poster has said by a professional trainer (a certain red haired animal behaviouralist that most people interested in this field will know of). If dogs must sleep on the bed, the rule of thumb is that they should be made sleep at the foot of the bed and not on the pillow; in a traditional pack this indicates dominance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Paddy_Smith

Jaysus, I wouldn't even bring a pet into the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭lalee17

Dogs make the best footwarmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Nothing wrong with it at all.

I always lets my pet jellyfish Kate up onto the bed for a snooze. Golly she snores though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Our cat sleeps in/on our bed every night. It's his bed too! He sleeps on the end and then comes in for cuddles if he's cold or when the alarm goes off in the morning. We all have a little snooze together before we get up. If we go to bed late sometimes he's in there waiting for us.

I wouldn't let a dog sleep in or on the bed though. My OH wants a dog really badly and I've said that's fine but it's not sleeping in the bed. He wants it to sleep in the bedroom which I'm not thrilled about but I've said our future dog can. I think it's just because dogs smell more than cats (well, usually)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

later10 wrote: »
    This might be how a rational human being thinks, but dogs are not people and dogs do obey a hierarchical system. I was told the exact same thing as what the poster has said by a professional trainer (a certain red haired animal behaviouralist that most people interested in this field will know of). If dogs must sleep on the bed, the rule of thumb is that they should be made sleep at the foot of the bed and not on the pillow; in a traditional pack this indicates dominance.

Yeah that's true enough. I was watching Animal Planet the other day and they had this thing about African Hunting Dogs on. Well they just got back from hunting an Impala or something and they ate as much as they could and then went for a little post meal lie down. Anyway, one of the lower ranked males climbed up on the alpha dogs bed and slept on the pillow.

Sh1t just totally kicked off. But then again that's what happens in traditional dog packs. Not like in those new age dog packs where the underdogs have to sleep at the bottom of the water bed with the dream catcher hanging over it. Bloody liberals! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

watna wrote: »
    I think it's just because dogs smell more than cats (well, usually)

I read some research once that cat people find dogs smell more and dog people find cats smell more.

Cats are cleaner then dogs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Buceph wrote: »
    I read some research once that cat people find dogs smell more and dog people find cats smell more.

Somehow I doubt this "research" was very credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

My dog has started sleeping on my bed recently. She stays in my room anyway. She's a Shepherd, about 13kg, ten months old. She's quite protective, and when I'm under the covers she usually sits on top of my legs growling at any noises she hears near my door, as I live in a studio apartment. Is sleeping on the bed going to make her more protective? Perhaps this is a bad thing which I should be doing something about, I'm not sure. She sleeps at my feet though, not alongside me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Cats are cleaner then dogs!

They will also eat your face off,should you be unfortunate to pass away in the night.A dog, on the other paw,would probably die on the spot of a broken heart or try to raise the alarm at least.

In summary,cat evil.Dog good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Had a persian cat that used to jump on top of me and fall asleep every morning. Loved that cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Icarus152 wrote: »
    They will also eat your face off,should you be unfortunate to pass away in the night.A dog, on the other paw,would probably die on the spot of a broken heart or try to raise the alarm at least.

Will it shyte. A dog will also eat you if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Colilfc wrote: »
    I always used to bring my goldfish to bed,I took him out of the bowl and let him sleep beside me. Now he's dead.

"I thought you said Troy Mclure was dead."

"No, what I said was, 'he sleeps with the fishes'."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Will it shyte.

It most certainly will,yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

later10 wrote: »
    If dogs must sleep on the bed, the rule of thumb is that they should be made sleep at the foot of the bed and not on the pillow; in a traditional pack this indicates dominance.

I keep my dog on edge. I move the pillows to alternate ends of the bed every night. He's begun to bite his nails and has taken up smoking. I think he'll take to the drink tonight though when I put the pillows in the middle of the bed and sleep across it. He won't know which end is up!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Not in a durty way!....?

LOL

I remember seeing a lady on Jeremy Kyle National Geographic, who slept with her German Shephard on her bed for years, a real old pet, harmless as anything etc.. anyway one night it apparently had a bad dream, woke up and bit her nose off.. She had to have years of reconstructive surgery.. Put me right off ever letting a pet sleep near me..

That and the other reasons (peeing, shedding etc in my room) :o yuk..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I sleep with my pet fleas each night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Icarus152 wrote: »

Why would you care either way, since you're dead anyway? Why would you prefer to feed the worms rather than a cat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

The odd night the dog will come up a crash out on my bed just before his normal bedtime so I will then be too lazy to go and put him downstairs so he just sleeps on my bed.

Its grand because he doesn't smell, doesn't piss/poo in house, doesn't shed hair and doesn't move around at night. So I basically use him as a hot water bottle.

He's a good dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

One of my dogs will mosey on up to my room and hop on the end of my bed for a sleep. I just say hi and leave him be. Then I wake up in the morning and he's curled up in a ball beside my head sleeping soundly. He so funny!

The other dogs afraid of the stairs so I dont have to worry about her....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

marty1985 wrote: »
    My dog has started sleeping on my bed recently. She stays in my room anyway. She's a Shepherd, about 13kg, ten months old. She's quite protective, and when I'm under the covers she usually sits on top of my legs growling at any noises she hears near my door, as I live in a studio apartment. Is sleeping on the bed going to make her more protective? Perhaps this is a bad thing which I should be doing something about, I'm not sure. She sleeps at my feet though, not alongside me.

you have a shepard dog and you live in a studio apartment? how that working out for ye??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

you have a shepard dog and you live in a studio apartment? how that working out for ye??

^^Appropriate username is appropriate :pac: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

My dog slept with me always when I was young. She's a tiny little yorkshire terrier. She sleeps in my mam's bed now that I've moved out, but whenever I go back to visit she sleeps in with me again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭blacktalons

if you cant stand the heat,take your hand out of the kitten :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

GS in a studio apartment, you must walk her a lot. growling at noises would drive me mad, be careful she does not get aggressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

hondasam wrote: »
    GS in a studio apartment, you must walk her a lot. growling at noises would drive me mad, be careful she does not get aggressive.

She's fine. I thought the space thing would be an issue, but she's very comfortable here. You're right about the walks. She'll get out about 3-4 times a day, and at least one walk will be a good 45-60 minute walk.

She will growl at strange noises, but I just ignore her. She seldom barks, and doesn't have a loud bark anyway.

Also she's a shepherd mix, so not as big as a typical German Shepherd would be or anything.

Please please please don't tell my landlord though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

A while back I was taking care of my friend’s new Yorkshire terrier pup. She was very good but would only settle when she was in bed with me. I put her own little bed on top of the covers but every morning I woke up with her curled up under the covers with me. I didn’t mind, she never woke me, but she did have fierce bad morning breath.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

She's fine. I thought the space thing would be an issue, but she's very comfortable here. You're right about the walks. She'll get out about 3-4 times a day, and at least one walk will be a good 45-60 minute walk.

She will growl at strange noises, but I just ignore her. She seldom barks, and doesn't have a loud bark anyway.

Also she's a shepherd mix, so not as big as a typical German Shepherd would be or anything.

Please please please don't tell my landlord though.

Not a pure bred gs, what is she mixed with? get a Frisbee good exercise for her trying to catch it. slap her when she growls, she will catch on pretty fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Aoifey! wrote: »
    My cat sleeps in my bed sometimes, she curls up between me and my boyfriend.

Last time I went out with a girl who had a cat, this happened loads:

catsaspets.png

Never got any sleep in that house....