Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overdid it on the oil

• 21-05-2011 9:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭

Hello,
    While filling my car (98 Fiesta) with oil, I overdid it and now its over the mark on the dipstick. Do I now need to take it to a mechanic to drain it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

How much over the max mark is it?

If it's less than 10mm, it'll be fine.

If it's more, take off the bung and drain some, or alternatively drain all into a clean can and refill to the correct level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭hats199

It's overfilled by about the same length as the entire part of the dipstick that's graduated. So quite overfilled I'd say. Is the bung located underneath the engine?

Yeah, the bung is underneath.

Were you changing the oil or just topping up?

Get a pair of plastic gloves if you're going to try and put the bung back on after letting out about a litre. (Going by the level on the dipstick!)

I was topping it up. It gets through it a great rate so I thought I'd throw in loads. To be honest I've never looked under a car before so wouldn't know where to start. Do you think taking it to a mechanic is an ugent matter?

If it's overfilled to the extent you mentioned above, you shouldn't attempt to start it until you get it down to the right level. If you do, you might need much more than lots of oil!!!!!

Feck,driven it a few kms already. Plus I'm going to have to drive it another few kms to get to a garage. What could have happend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

Worst case scenario you could destroy the whole engine. Do you have a friend thats handy with cars? They could sort it in less than half an hour with a spanner

hi_im_fil wrote: »
    Worst case scenario you could destroy the whole engine. Do you have a friend thats handy with cars? They could sort it in less than half an hour with a spanner

Exactly. Happened to my dad's friend about a year ago.

No spanner wielders in the vicinity unfortunatley. Thanks for all the advice, it's given me the impetus to take it to someone to sort it anyway. Damn cars should come with a manual...

Try not to drive it!

They do come with a manual and a dipstick too!!!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

hey OP get a suction tool to get the oil out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

You should get away with getting it to a garage or a mate with spanners, just tip along.

Karsini wrote: »
    Exactly. Happened to my dad's friend about a year ago.

Diesel I assume.

bryaner wrote: »
    Diesel I assume.

I think it was actually, a Xantia.

Diesel.

Yeah I have 5ml pipettes at work, so was thinking of pulling it out that way. Obviously it'd take ages though. Is it possible to buy a higher vol pipette/suction tool in a car shop?

hats199 wrote: »
    Yeah I have 5ml pipettes at work, so was thinking of pulling it out that way. Obviously it'd take ages though. Is it possible to buy a higher vol pipette/suction tool in a car shop?

Yes it will cost you around €70 snots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

A vice grip or proper spanner - and a container to colletc the excess oil .

remember lefty-loosy / righty-tighty as you look up at the nut from under the car.

Jaysus, would probably cost me less to take it into a garage. If I were to pipette it out myself, could I be confident everythings ok, or should I get a mechanic to look at it anyway.

Easiest is to drive it to a mate with spanners and let some oil out, its not a high compression diesel machine so no chance of it running on its own fumes, as I said before just tip along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

darokane wrote: »

Not sure if the pipe will fit down the dipstick tube.

The black one that is..:D

Cheers for that,
    Unfortunatley I have a long drive on Wednesday (thats why I was topping up the oil ) so I think I should get it sorted before then,don't think I'd that posted from the UK that fast.

Cheers for that,
    Unfortunatley I have a long drive on Wednesday (thats why I was topping up the oil ) so I think I should get it sorted before then,don't think I'd that posted from the UK that fast.

try a local motorfactors, they should have something similar

Grand, I'll see what I can get for it. Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

Ya might be able to syphon it out if you can get a little pipe down where the dip stick is. You can get small diameter clear piping in pet shops for aquariums.

wobbles wrote: »
    Ya might be able to syphon it out if you can get a little pipe down where the dip stick is. You can get small diameter clear piping in pet shops for aquariums.

b&q definitely sell it!

Easiest is to drive it to a mate with spanners and let some oil out, its not a high compression diesel machine so no chance of it running on its own fumes, as I said before just tip along.

No it won't run on its own fumes but it could do what is known as a pneumatic lock and break the rings on one or more pistons or it could blow the oil seals on the engine.

Avns1s wrote: »
    No it won't run on its own fumes but it could do what is known as a pneumatic lock and break the rings on one or more pistons or it could blow the oil seals on the engine.

Thats why I said tip along, very unlikely of any oil getting up the breather, and bent conrods is more of a symptom of pneumatic lock..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056269036
    johnos1984 wrote: »
    My Dad went one better when servicing an old van.

He overfilled it so decided to turn it on and drain it by not replacing the oil cap. Cue one oil covered car :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Also
    Not me, but a mate overfilled his car with oil. What did he do to get the excess out? He dipped the dipstick in and out hundreds of times, wiping it each time to reduce the oil level. I sh1t you not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

LOL!!!

There's about 4 or 5 drops every time you clean the dipstick or something like that? There's about 20 drops or so in one ml, so to get rid of 3l of oil this way you'd have to clean the dipstick 4 * 1000 * 3 = 12,000 times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

unkel wrote: »
    LOL!!!

There's about 4 or 5 drops every time you clean the dipstick or something like that? There's about 20 drops or so in one ml, so to get rid of 3l of oil this way you'd have to clean the dipstick 4 * 1000 * 3 = 12,000 times :D

that post reminds me of the alan partridge scene "
    have you got a girlfriend"?
    "back of the net"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Always have on of these in the garage:

9547.jpg

Fits down the dipstick pipe and sucks out all your oil (or as much as needed) in under a minute.
    It's one of those things you mightn't use a lot, but when you have it, it's worth it's weight in gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

For Gods sake have you any friends at all OP?;) Any one who is into cars at all and have half a brain could drain some out for ya.I know it may be hard to put the bung back up in the sump while the oil is flowing, but it should be possible.I would not use them new fangled suction thingys, but thats just me.:p You might be even able to do it yourself.

jimmyw wrote: »
    For Gods sake have you any friends at all OP?;) Any one who is into cars at all and have half a brain could drain some out for ya.I know it may be hard to put the bung back up in the sump while the oil is flowing, but it should be possible.I would not use them new fangled suction thingys, but thats just me.:p You might be even able to do it yourself.

My neighbour borrows mine every now and then do service his car, his sump nut is completely destroyed, we're talking having to weld another not onto it to get it off at this stage or drill it out.
    Goes in via dipstick opening, apply vacuum, it's the easiest way to drain anything from anything.
    Also useful for gearboxes, diffs, lawnmowers, and anything that doesn't have a drain plug.
    I'm not sure yet about my fuel filter, but the casing has a bleed nipple, next time i'll try that, it beats noodeling the engine over for 10 minutes.
    It's one of those things you might only need once, but then it's the best thing since sliced anything.
    Wonder will it bleed my brakes...?

yeah but I would be worried about getting all the crud in the bottom of the sump though.It may be easier, but I am sceptical.I know some cars dont have a sump plug but nothing can be done about that.

My neighbour borrows mine every now and then do service his car, his sump nut is completely destroyed, we're talking having to weld another not onto it to get it off at this stage or drill it out.
    Goes in via dipstick opening, apply vacuum, it's the easiest way to drain anything from anything.
    Also useful for gearboxes, diffs, lawnmowers, and anything that doesn't have a drain plug.
    I'm not sure yet about my fuel filter, but the casing has a bleed nipple, next time i'll try that, it beats noodeling the engine over for 10 minutes.
    It's one of those things you might only need once, but then it's the best thing since sliced anything.
    Wonder will it bleed my brakes...?

A stilson will get it out, but it will be well and throughly bolloxed when you do get it out..

yeah but I would be worried about getting all the crud in the bottom of the sump though.It may be easier, but I am sceptical.I know some cars dont have a sump plug but nothing can be done about that.

Sure it can!
    Remove sump, drill hole, fit bolt, hey presto!:D
    No drain plug is nothing new, old Fords (70's or older) where lethal for not having a drain plug on gearbox and diff, so everything had to sucked out through the fill hole, or taken out and taken apart.
    So in case you're planning to buy some old Cortina, etc... you will need one.;)
    (along with a MIG welder)

Sure it can!
    Remove sump, drill hole, fit bolt, hey presto!:D
    No drain plug is nothing new, old Fords (70's or older) where lethal for not having a drain plug on gearbox and diff, so everything had to sucked out through the fill hole, or taken out and taken apart.
    So in case you're planning to buy some old Cortina, etc... you will need one.;)
    (along with a MIG welder)

What kind of a gadget had they to suck it out in the 70s:).Drilling a sump is gettng into a bit of a danger/silly area:p

No idea what they did in the 70's:D, I had my old Fords mostly in the 90's.
    Ah no, a sump is a metal pan, drilling a hole into it isn't a problem at all.
    As long as you have it well planned what you'll do with the hole afterwards...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭couldntthink

Surely the first time he managed to mangle it he should have thought about purchasing a new sump nut. Maybe even the second time. That really puts bubbles in my sh1te, the amount of people who manage to fook up their sump nut. I include a lot of mechanics in that too. Everyday there seems to be a messed up sump nut. They don't need to be strangled and ffs use a hex socket. Sorry, rant over.

Agree about the usefulness though. I use mine for all sorts, would never be without it.

Surely the first time he managed to mangle it he should have thought about purchasing a new sump nut. Maybe even the second time. That really puts bubbles in my sh1te, the amount of people who manage to fook up their sump nut. I include a lot of mechanics in that too. Everyday there seems to be a messed up sump nut. They don't need to be strangled and ffs use a hex socket. Sorry, rant over.

Agree about the usefulness though. I use mine for all sorts, would never be without it.

Jaysus and there was me thinking the vice grips was the way to go..:D

two tips

a magernet to pick the nut/bolt when it falls in to the oil tray

new copper washer or whatever as the old one is probably squished

Jaysus and there was me thinking the vice grips was the way to go..:D

The good old Irish toolbox.
    A hammer, vicegrips, one bent screwdriver (flat, not one of those infernal new-fangled philips contraptions of course) and some nails.
    Many people managed to do just about everything with that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

The good old Irish toolbox.
    A hammer, vicegrips, one bent screwdriver (flat, not one of those infernal new-fangled philips contraptions of course) and some nails.
    Many people managed to do just about everything with that!
    Add baler twine and fence wire to that, and you have the traditional Irish Farmer's Toolbox :D

Oh, and a handful of mangled fencing staples!

juniour hacksaw with a rusty blade with a good few teeth missing

a philips OR posidrive screwdriver with the head rounded off

half a a roll of insulation tape

a few imperial allen keys (but missing the 1/4" one)

Farmers tool box would also include a stilson

Lite toolbos
    WD40 and Duct tape.

so handy
    Cable ties, Metal putty, termite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

This thread should be in the comedy section.

But seriously, another way would be if you can get a plastic syringe (the bigger the better) with a piece of tubing on the end.

Alternatively you could try the sump nut approach, but use a socket designed for the job and not a vicegrips - many cars have an allen shaped one so you should go to your motor factors and get the right one.

You might be able to loosen it just enough so that the oil trickles out which will allow you to tighten it back again - save hassle trying to push it back in. If you do this make sure to have a bucket underneath to catch the oil if it comes gushing out!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Yep, a suction device of some sort used through the dipstick tube is by far the cleanest and most convenient.

If you MUST go through the sump plug, prepare for the worst to happen and for all the oil to get drained.
    Scrupulously clean a suitable container so that you can reuse the correct quantity of oil out of it, and also scrupulously clean around the sump plug so that you don't have randon crud dropping into the container as you juggle with the plug.
    Wear vinyl or latex gloves, as used oil is pretty nasty stuff to have soaking into your skin, and if you're going to try re-inserting the plug 'mid-flow', it might be worth getting hold of some arm-length disposable gloves.
    These can be got in co-ops, farm shops, from vets, and most cow farmers will have them too.
    Be prepared for it to get messy, so try to ensure that your elbow is the lowest part of your body the oil can get to before it has to drop off you, as otherwise it WILL run down your arm, inside your vest, through your underpants and down your leg, to ultimately destroy your socks.
    Really, depending on your circumstances and how brave you're feeling, it might be better to be prepared to abandon trying to put the plug back in and just let it drain fully, and then refill with the correct amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

McGyver would put ye all to shame. He would open the sump plug and drain the oil with the swiss army knife and then blow up the car using the same tools...:)