Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving to dublin on a provitional licence?

• 21-05-2011 12:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30 dohertydean

I have to drive to maynooth today, and im going to going on the m6 motorway.
    What are my chances for getting stoped by the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

11/4

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

about 1 in a hundred tbh.

See lots of cars everyday with L plates up and nothing done. Afaik if a guard were to stop you, he could give you points and / or a fine but you would still be allowed to drive off and complete your journey. Maybe a summons if he's cranky :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Dunno, probably very low, biggest risk would be off the motorway where you might meet a checkpoint, at that's a a big might.

How long have you had your Learner Permit? At least if you've been driving for a couple of years you're less likely to make fundamental mistakes that attract (unwanted) attention.

I presume you'll have an empty passenger seat so no point in asking the qualified driver accompanying you what they think of your chances ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

Id say most guards busy at the moment, Queens and Obama visits security checks and all tha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

no l drivers on motorway well signposted why not use old route not getting caught should not be the reason to consider breaking the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Wyldwood

If you have an accident (which may not even be your fault) you'll be in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

so what is fine if driving without experienced driver compare driving without "L" stickers ?

Id say, if any accident happens on highway, youll hear, you shouldn't be here at all.

dharn wrote: »
    no l drivers on motorway well signposted why not use old route not getting caught should not be the reason to consider breaking the law

well he'd be breaking the law either way if he's not accompanied.

OP a girl I know was stopped during the week. She saw a checkpoint up ahead and she was unaccompanied apart from her baby in backseat. So she did a u turn. This was on a regular road. The guards caught up to her thinking she might have no insurance etc.

When they realized why she'd made the u-turn they let told her to continue on but in future make sure she has a full licensed driver with her. This is the story she related to the rest of us anyhow. I have no reason to doubt her either.

If she had have gone thru the checkpoint they prob would never have even mentioned it tbh.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,224 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

We don't have provisional licences. We have learner permits.
    Driving on your own may affect your insurance status and in the event of an incident it can come back to haunt you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Are learner drivers permitted to drive on motorways, irrespective of whether they are accompanied by a full licenced driver or not?

bazz26 wrote: »
    Are learner drivers permitted to drive on motorways, irrespective of whether they are accompanied by a full licenced driver or not?
    Not at all.

bazz26 wrote: »

No.
    OP do not drive on the motorway and do not drive unaccompanied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Thought as much.

Nope L drivers are not allowed on motorways end of. However I was just answering the OP's question as to how likely he will get caught. Impossible to answer of course as today there could be lots of garda actively stopping L drivers on motorways.

I'm assuming the OP knows he shouldn't be driving unaccompanied or on motorways at all but hardly think that the users of this forum should state the dos and don'ts every time someone asks a question.

EG:

It's a sunday day, I'm on a permit I think I'll drive to the shops via this route that leads from my house only to the shop.

Boardsies:

OMG you bastard you're the reason our insurance is going thru the roof.
    Illegal this, illegal that.
    Ya I was right you're not allowed to it rabble rabble rabble.
    Omg get off your high-horse
    rabble rabble

And then at the end of 40 pages the Op gets an answer to the actual question :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Yawns wrote: »
    EG:

It's a sunday day, I'm on a permit I think I'll drive to the shops via this route that leads from my house only to the shop.

Boardsies:

OMG you bastard you're the reason our insurance is going thru the roof.
    Illegal this, illegal that.
    Ya I was right you're not allowed to it rabble rabble rabble.
    Omg get off your high-horse
    rabble rabble

And then at the end of 40 pages the Op gets an answer to the actual question :D

Cop on lad, the Op is taking a chance on driving on the motorway, sure if he wants to do this then why stop there, run red lights, exceed the speed limit.

OP, do not use the motorway, keep on the N4 via Kilcock and onto Maynooth, it is quicker than using the M4 to get into Maynooth. Traffice tends to be heavy heading from the M4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

Better chance winning few hundred on the lotto in fairness, just don't attract attention to yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Cop on lad, the Op is taking a chance on driving on the motorway, sure if he wants to do this then why stop there, run red lights, exceed the speed limit.

OP, do not use the motorway, keep on the N4 via Kilcock and onto Maynooth, it is quicker than using the M4 to get into Maynooth. Traffice tends to be heavy heading from the M4.

So to avoid breaking the no L drivers on the motorway law they should break the driving unaccompanied law.

In fairness if the OP is going to drive on their own with only a learners permit it doesn't mater if they take the motorway or not.

They are driving illegally. If they are stopped the fines will be the same, if they even get fined, and insurance companies still pay out if sh!t happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I'd like to point out that Maynooth is Kildare OP.

OP, do not use the motorway, keep on the N4 via Kilcock and onto Maynooth, it is quicker than using the M4 to get into Maynooth. Traffic tends to be heavy heading from the M4.

Well let's assume the OP is from Galway or some such. I don't think he said where he was traveling from. How will he get to Kilcock. Should he drive unacomapnied across miles of road way where there is pedestrians or should he drive the motorway where people can safely overtake him?

Running red lights and breaking the speed limits is a tad bit different than driving between an N route and an M route. Reds light or Speeding he can crash into someone or lose control. Less likely to happen on the M6 - M4 where it's nice n straight and there's an overtaking lane.

My rabble rant was the about the usual answer anybody recieves in these forums. Noone can ask a simple question without some reference to the law being answered. Telling the OP what he was intending to do is illegal isn't ging to change the fact that he's going to do it. He knows he should be accompanied and he knows he's supposed to keep off motorways, so I'm pretty sure he'll take the consequences of his actions should he get stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Telling the OP what he was intending to do is illegal isn't ging to change the fact that he's going to do it.

I would disagree. People may know it's illegal, but may be unaware of the penalties that he/she might have to deal with. They may also be unaware that their insurance may have terms and conditions which prevent them from driving unaccompanied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

kbannon wrote: »
    We don't have provisional licences. We have learner permits.
    Driving on your own may affect your insurance status and in the event of an incident it can come back to haunt you.
    No, no it wont.

This topic has been discussed at length in both the "learning to drive" subforum and this forum.

Max Power1 wrote: »
    No, no it wont.

This topic has been discussed at length in both the "learning to drive" subforum and this forum.

Thank you!

People always drag this out. Insurance companies have to pay out 3rd party claims. They may not cover your own but they will cover the 3rd party. If people don't know the risks then it'll be a rude awakening for them. Safe bet to say most people do know the risks, especially if they post on here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Del2005 wrote: »
    So to avoid breaking the no L drivers on the motorway law they should break the driving unaccompanied law.

In fairness if the OP is going to drive on their own with only a learners permit it doesn't mater if they take the motorway or not.

They are driving illegally. If they are stopped the fines will be the same, if they even get fined, and insurance companies still pay out if sh!t happens.

If he stays off the motorway he faces one less offence, so one less fine and avoids a potential penalty point (for not obeying a prohibitory sign). Though I'd guess the risk of getting stopped at all is less on a motorway.

Afaik they can't add on all penalty points can they? Just the fines. So he faces the prospect of a bigger fine. Unless he was summoned to court I think he'll only get the points for the worst offence. Also the odds of getting stopped on the motorway is slim to none. Which is really all he was asking in the first place.

So seeing as the question was answered maybe the thread should be locked before it gets further derailed. (of which I did a huge part myself and apologize for )

Afaik they can't add on all penalty points can they? Just the fines. So he faces the prospect of a bigger fine. Unless he was summoned to court I think he'll only get the points for the worst offence. Also the odds of getting stopped on the motorway is slim to none. Which is really all he was asking in the first place.

So seeing as the question was answered maybe the thread should be locked before it gets further derailed. (of which I did a huge part myself and apologize for )
    Its only the biggest points that get added, so if i get 4 points, 2 points, and one point for the same incident (eg dangerous driving, no insurance, speeding, all at the same time), only the 4 points will be added and not the total amount, if that makes sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Del2005 wrote: »

I think it does. While motorways are generally safer than other roads, accidents, when they do happen, are more serious. A motorway isn't a safe place either for a driver who hasn't passed their test or for the other drivers who have to contend with them.

Its only the biggest points that get added, so if i get 4 points, 2 points, and one point for the same incident (eg dangerous driving, no insurance, speeding, all at the same time), only the 4 points will be added and not the total amount, if that makes sense?

That's what I was thinking all right. Just glad I wasn't imagining it :D

Anan1 wrote: »
    I think it does. While motorways are generally safer than other roads, accidents, when they do happen, are more serious. A motorway isn't a safe place either for a driver who hasn't passed their test or for the other drivers who have to contend with them.

Ok so if the OP goes and passes his test tomorrow he is fully able to cope with motorway driving having legally never driven on one before? It makes a lot of sense that one tbh....

Here you go here's your licence. Now you can go onto that road and drive 120 having never done so before in any way shape or form and you can do it without anyone sitting beside you.

Ok so if the OP goes and passes his test tomorrow he is fully able to cope with motorway driving having legally never driven on one before? It makes a lot of sense that one tbh....

Here you go here's your licence. Now you can go onto that road and drive 120 having never done so before in any way shape or form and you can do it without anyone sitting beside you.
    As mad as it is, that's the current situation, yes.

Yep I know it is. Kinda defeats the whole argument that motorways are unsafe for people until they pass their test because it's just as unsafe for all drivers due to no experience of motorway driving when you first gain your full licence.

Anyhow I think this thread has long served it's purpose. Just glad we made it thru without a high horse comment... oh wait :D

No, no it wont.

erm, it can in the sense that they may not honour the fully comp element and can seek reimboursrment from the driver over any claim. Had the driver been following the law then that would not occur.
    If you are suggesting that I'm saying the policy would have been invalidated, I didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 dohertydean

Hole hell, didnt realise I started a big debate here.

Just in case anyone was wondering, Yes I did decide to drive to Maynooth via the M6. Yes it was my first time on a motorway and i have only had my provitional for 1 year.
    But I am 25, some may think this makes no differance but in my oppinion it dose. (not that im trying to justify braking the law).
    I wasnt driving slow on the motorway, but i also wasnt speeding, 120 nearly the whole way with straight roads with no obsticles. 10times safer than driving from galway to donegal at 100.
    The only problem there was was it rained the whole way there so the road was one big puddle, so only went 100 incase of aquaplanning and on the way back it rained so hard at a stage there was just about no visability, so had to slowly reduce speed to about 70-80.

And i have been stoped by the guards on cheac points several times wile driving on my own, Iv never tryed to avoid them and would not compalin if i was fined and got pelanty points. They have never shown any problem with me being unacompanied.
    My car is only small (a toyota starlet) and very well kept and maintained. It has no modification s**t on it. It is taxed, inshured and has 2 years nct.
    In my oppinion the guards look for these things as they are much more important. As long as you have a provitional with all of the above and not driving like an idiot, they are happy.
    Coz at the end of the day, the only thing a full licence holder can do, is point what you did wrong after you made a misstake.

I only wanted to know what my chances where, coz driving on the moterway was just pushing it a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

And i have been stoped by the guards on cheac points several times wile driving on my own, Iv never tryed to avoid them and would not compalin if i was fined and got pelanty points. They have never shown any problem with me being unacompanied.

Good to see they're doing their job... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭matt70iu

Yep I know it is. Kinda defeats the whole argument that motorways are unsafe for people until they pass their test because it's just as unsafe for all drivers due to no experience of motorway driving when you first gain your full licence.

Anyhow I think this thread has long served it's purpose. Just glad we made it thru without a high horse comment... oh wait :D

Reckon that's why they're bringing out R plates here like up north. Ya know what will happen though. Unless the guards enforce this, no newly qualifiied driver will put them up:)

More enforcement is what's needed above all else. I have only been asked for my licence once at a checkpoint in 8 years of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

It makes no sense. And you said it, not me.
    A license proves that the holder has demonstrated a basic level of competence behind the wheel.
    Just glad we made it thru without a high horse comment...
    *yawns@Yawns*

Just in case anyone was wondering, Yes I did decide to drive to Maynooth via the M6. Yes it was my first time on a motorway and i have only had my provitional for 1 year.
    With respect, (and I formed this view earlier) but I don't hold much hope for your understanding of the various legalities in terms of driving if you don't even know what form of "licence" you hold.
    But I am 25, some may think this makes no differance but in my oppinion it dose. (not that im trying to justify braking the law).
    I wasnt driving slow on the motorway, but i also wasnt speeding, 120 nearly the whole way with straight roads with no obsticles. 10times safer than driving from galway to donegal at 100.
    The only problem there was was it rained the whole way there so the road was one big puddle, so only went 100 incase of aquaplanning and on the way back it rained so hard at a stage there was just about no visability, so had to slowly reduce speed to about 70-80.
    This is partly why it is recommended that you don't drive unaccompanied. When driving accompanied, the licenced driver is meant to coach you rather than you learn from experience on your own (which is partly why our roads are full of crap drivers)
    My car is only small (a toyota starlet) and very well kept and maintained. It has no modification s**t on it. It is taxed, inshured and has 2 years nct.
    Do these cars not crash?

Anan1 wrote: »
    A license proves that the holder has demonstrated a basic level of competence behind the wheel.

Forgive me but the mother in law hasn't a clue about cars or how to drive one apart from turn the key and go. She's been involved in a few accidents at this stage. She can't put petrol in as she doesn't know where it goes.

She can't open a bonnet never mind point out what's underneath. She wasn't asked a single question about the engine bay prior to her test. She ran a stop sign and a red light. She passed her test and is now fully licenced to be on our roads. She's 54 and they just assumed she'd be a safe driver. She drove with 6 months of no tax and sailed thru checkpoints because the guards believed she only bought the car.

If anyone under the age of 30 would do the above they'd be creamed. I find the whole testing thing a complete and utter joke in Ireland. The guards and Irish people in general need to stop looking at age and treat every driver on the road the same. Age discrimination works both ways.

WHere is age discrimination being shown here apart from the example that you gave about your aunt?

kbannon wrote: »
    With respect, (and I formed this view earlier) but I don't hold much hope for your understanding of the various legalities in terms of driving if you don't even know what form of "licence" you hold.
    This is partly why it is recommended that you don't drive unaccompanied. When driving accompanied, the licenced driver is meant to coach you rather than you learn from experience on your own (which is partly why our roads are full of crap drivers)
    Do these cars not crash?

I dont need to know the exact legalities, just know what is right and what is wrong. I hold a learners permit or a provitional licence as most would call it.

The licenced holder may be ment to coach you, but if you make a misstake and that will lead to a crash, there is nothing they can do to stop it. This was the point i was trying to make.

And i was trying to say these cars dont crash, its a small car as in small engine 1.3, not a big powerful car that a provitional licence hold would not need,

It's a starlet - It's got as many safety features as a tin of beans, and would be about as safe as one in a crash

I dont need to know the exact legalities, just know what is right and what is wrong. I hold a learners permit or a provitional licence as most would call it.
    But you should already know what is right and wrong - unless you are not familiar with the ROTR?
    The licenced holder may be ment to coach you, but if you make a misstake and that will lead to a crash, there is nothing they can do to stop it. This was the point i was trying to make.
    I would imagine that you are much less likely to get into a risky situation with a competent person beside you rather than you sitting there on your todd listening to your radio.
    Are you for f*****g real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

am i the only one who wished the op got stopped and got a roasting from the cop and a day in court

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

This "learner with attitude" thing comes up from time to time.

Deliberate and premeditated wholesale breaches of motoring laws is selfish, irresponsible, and potentially dangerous. To come on here and ask advise in relation to that is more than slightly insulting to the compliant I'd suggest.

"but I need to use my car....." The point is you are not allowed drive alone, nor on a motorway.

What you do need is a test appointment, and to legitimise your driving.

all points taken.
    sorry to all if i caused offence, anoyance or irratation. I considered myself to be a safe and compatent driver. Obviosly i was wrong.
    No more motorways or unacompanied driving until my test on the this week.

Dont mean to cause any more arrguments, i am just interested in one point unaccumpanied drivers.
    when doing the actual test, why is it an instructer will still pass you if you turn up for your test unaccumpanied.
    I thought the law changed so you cannt do this anymore, please correct me if im wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

zero chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

Just dont use the Motorway or If you do take down the L plates your not going to get stopped on a Motorway once your not driving like a pleb

all points taken.
    sorry to all if i caused offence, anoyance or irratation. I considered myself to be a safe and compatent driver. Obviosly i was wrong.
    No more motorways or unacompanied driving until my test on the this week.

Dont mean to cause any more arrguments, i am just interested in one point unaccumpanied drivers.
    when doing the actual test, why is it an instructer will still pass you if you turn up for your test unaccumpanied.
    I thought the law changed so you cannt do this anymore, please correct me if im wrong

Because they can only judge you from when the test starts, how you got there is a different matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

After posting it on here they will be watching out for you now :D

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    zero chance.
    That would not be correct.
    It's unlikely that they will be stopped on the motorway but it is possible thaat they get stopped along the approach roads (especially given that terrorist cretins placed a bomb on a bus close by in recent days)

An instructor doesn't test but I presume that you are referring to the tester. It is a testers job to test you and not enforce the law with regard to unaccompanied drivers.