Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PL Relegation Battle, who are going down?

• 20-05-2011 4:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭

Well it's going to be a very nervous day for 5 clubs this Sunday....

Wigan, Blackpool, Birmingham, Wolves and Blackburn are all in with a chance of playing Championship football next season.

I think Birmingham and Blackpool will be the teams to go down. I think Wigan will get result which will be enough.

what do ye think??

Here a good summary of what teams require this weekend

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13455492.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I would love to see 2 of Wolves, Brum and Blackburn go down but I reckon it'll be Blackpool and Wigan sadly.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Id hope to see Wigan and Blackburn go down, Wigan probably will and Blackburn probably wont though! Hate to say/see it but Id say Wolves will drop too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Birmingham and Blackpool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I'll be happy enough if Wolves don't get relegated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

I reckon Birmingham and the loser of Wolves-Blackburn. Wigan and Blackpool both win their games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭James_LWAU

West Ham :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Birmingham and Blackpool will both most likely lose while I can see Wigan getting at least a draw. So therefore Birmingham and Blackpool to go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Nothing will change down there in order for me,

Wolves and Blackburn to Draw,

Birmingham, Blackpool and Wigan to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

hope Blackburn and Birmingham go down, can't see it though.

I hope Wolves stay up. Not bothered after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Brum and Bburn!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

Bye bye SHA, another mediocre spell in the PL and now going back to where you belong:P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I'd love to see Wolves and Blackburn go down but unfortunately I think it will be Blackpool and Wigan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'd love to see Wolves and Blackburn go down but unfortunately I think it will be Blackpool and Wigan.
    Why Wolves, why Blackburn?

For me Wigan deserve it more than anybody. Martinez was clearly not up to the job last season but they stuck with him and there they are again in trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

eagle eye wrote: »
    Why Wolves, why Blackburn?

For me Wigan deserve it more than anybody. Martinez was clearly not up to the job last season but they stuck with him and there they are again in trouble.

'Cause they always seem to raise their game when playing the top 4 and I hate that(mostly when they're at home). We always struggle to get results against them when we play them at their ground. Wigan are more or less always a comfortable victory for us.

Personally I'd love to see Wigan go down for the reason explained above. I think Birmingham is the other team I'd like to see go down.

I'd love to see Blackpool stay up for the simple reason that Ian Holloway deserves huge plaudits for what he has done with the Tangerines. That squad of players has no business being still alive with one game to go but if they go down he will never get the credit he deserves for getting so much from those players.

So I think Birmingham is the other side I'd like to see go down. They won the Carling Cup and fair play for that but they really have been awful in the league after finishing 9th last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I would like Blackpool, wolves and Wigan to stay up

Blackpool for the way they play and their manager

Wolves for McCarthy and the Irish players

Wigan for the style they play and i feel it will be very hard for them to come back to the PL because they just dont have the fan base for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

I'd like to see the back of Blackburn and Birmingham. Think I'll be happy with Birmingham but unfortunately Blackpool will join them.

Just as fascinating for me is to see whether Jeff Stelling will have a coronary as events unfold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I reckon the brum are gone

Hopefully wolves can pull out a result

Flip a coin between wigan/blackpool - the coin says blackpool to go down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I'd like to see Blackburn go down for settling for a draw against Utd even though as a Utd fan it meant an easy end to the game. It just smacks of cute whoorism and I hope it catches up with them. I would have no problem if they decided to go defensive but they gave up on the match ignoring the ball totally.

Want to see Wigan stay up for the 6 points they manage to give Utd. Also want to see Blackpool stay up. If Brum went down I wouldn't cry over it.

If I was guessing Blackpool and Wigan will go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Wigan are more or less always a comfortable victory for us.

This is why i want Wigan to go down.

Want to see the back of Birmingham as well. Blackpool probably go though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

So much depends on the teams a few of these are playing - Brum at WHL should leave empty handed and yet despite a good win against Liverpool Spurs could quite easily draw/lose, probably draw. Blackpool won't lack intent but will Utd do enough? I'd think so at home with the trophy waiting to be lifted on a high. Wigan will give Stoke a game no question, the potters appear to have hit the beach.

Which leaves Wolves and Blackburn who could be able to conspire a draw and both stay up, not that either will start the game with that in mind. You can be sure there will some messages flying off the benches at Molineaux if Blackpool/Brum/Stoke are loosing badly with 15-20 mins to go.

Spurs 1 - 1 Brum
    Utd 2 - 1 Blackpool
    Stoke 1 - 2 Wigan
    Wolves 1 - 1 Blackburn

Would see Blackpool and Brum follow West Ham down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

hopefully blackbool and birmingham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Headshot wrote: »
    I would like Blackpool, wolves and Wigan to stay up

Blackpool for the way they play and their manager

Wolves for McCarthy and the Irish players

Wigan for the style they play and i feel it will be very hard for them to come back to the PL because they just dont have the fan base for it

They don't deserve to be a Premier League if they don't have a good fan base.
    It doesn't suit the club, the Premier League, and mostly - the FA.

Hope Wigan are relegated alongside Birmingham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Surprised so many saying Birmingham and Blackburn, although I'm the exact same.

Didn't someone on here, maybe Eagleeye, say Blackburn would finish above 1 if not 2 Mersey teams when Liverpool were in their slump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Hopefully Birmingham and Blackpool. Holloway has overstayed his welcome...but as many have pointed out I will be happy as long as Wolves stay up.

If Wigan go down they won't drop one division they'll be in League One for 2012/13, the wages and debt that club are "sustaining" are frightening. If they went all the way back to the 4th tier I would not be surprised at all, unlike others they won't make it back as Wigan is not a football town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Sasquatch76

Not a huge Holloway fan, but generally not that bothered who goes down this year. Like others, would be very worried if I was a Wigan fan!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Personally I'd like to see Birmingham go down, but I suspect it will be Blackpool, Wigan and obviously West Ham that go down.
    mike65 wrote: »
    If Wigan go down they won't drop one division they'll be in League One for 2012/13, the wages and debt that club are "sustaining" are frightening. If they went all the way back to the 4th tier I would not be surprised at all, unlike others they won't make it back as Wigan is not a football town.

Wigan will be fine, Whelan will see to that. They'll also receive decent fees for a number of their better players and they'll obviously be off the wage bill then too.

Whelan is 74 and wants to sell up, good luck to him with that if they go down, he'll take a massive hit (at least 75 million) maybe he's not worried about that as Wigan is his baby and his personal fortune, but I can't imagine an outsider who'll buy the club and invest in it to the level required to get back up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Hope it's Wigan anyway. Want Blackpool to stay up though, love seeing "small" clubs in the PL. Don't really care after that, have no particular grá for Wolves, Blackburn or Birmingham.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Hope it's Wigan anyway. Want Blackpool to stay up though, love seeing "small" clubs in the PL. Don't really care after that, have no particular grá for Wolves, Blackburn or Birmingham.

So you love 'small' clubs in the premier league, but hope Wigan get relegated?

I wonder do you quite realise the irony of what you posted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

If Wolves and Blackburn draw, which is a definite possibility, I think it's very likely both will stay up.

Even with a weakened (still won't be that weak) United team I don't see Blackpool getting anything at Old Trafford, so that'll be them gone. After that it's a toss of a coin between Wigan and Birmingham, and Birmingham's better goal difference might save them yet. So Blackpool and Wigan would be my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Mushy wrote: »

Didn't someone on here, maybe Eagleeye, say Blackburn would finish above 1 if not 2 Mersey teams when Liverpool were in their slump?

dont know about that but i do know me and eagle were debating back in january how many points would be needed to avoid relegation, he thought 38 would be enough http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=69966608&postcount=352

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Out of who's down there I'd like to see Birmingham and Blackburn go down. Seems fairly unlikely though. I think it'll be Blackpool and Birmingham. Blackpool will give it a right shot against United but they're too poor defensively to stop United scoring and Van Der Sar won't want to say goodbye on a sour note so I don't even see them getting a draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

I'd like to see Birmingham and Blackburn go down but the most likely scenario is that Birmingham and Blackpool go down. I can see Wigan getting a win at Stoke, and Wolves beating Blackburn. A Blackpool win at OT is hard to imagine.. especially with some United fringe players trying to impress for the CL final. Blackpool's best chance of staying up would appear to be Wigan losing and Spurs trouncing Birmingham while Blackpool lose 2-1 at OT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,741 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

On St. Stephen's day, on another relegation thread I said Blackpool would go down, and I was roundly abused and laughed at for it.

I still think they will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Blackpool and Blackburn please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

On St. Stephen's day, on another relegation thread I said Blackpool would go down, and I was roundly abused and laughed at for it.

I still think they will

Forgive them Father, for they have sinned

Frisbee wrote: »
    Blackpool and Blackburn please
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

would like to see Blackburn and Birmingham go down.

Blackburn due to there stupid ownership,sacking of big Sam and general way they play football.
    Birmingham due to the fact that they are just such a bad team. No creativity or goals in there team and deserve to go down.

Blackpool and Wigan deserve to stay up due to the way the football and the ideas of there respective managers. Hope Wolves stay up due to the Irish connection.
    In saying all this, Birmingham and Blackpool will get relegated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I don't understand the wigan hate or the Martinez hate. When he took over he lost their two best players but he still kept them up and may well do so again. I'm not sure what more can be expected of them with the squad they have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I hope Blackpool go down because Holloway has been getting on my nerves for months. I hope either Brum go down (cos they are boring as hell) or Blackburn (so pool can nab Phil Jones)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Really want Wigan to stay up, would like Wolves to stay up aswell.

I think Birmingham and Blackpool will go down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I really want Wigan to stay up, just to give Roberto Martinez another season in the premiership, i really believe he will be managing a top club withint 4-5 years. His style of football is a joy to watch and has been since he was Swansea manager.

Blackpool wont get anything at United so thats them gone.

Out of the other 3, i have a serious dislike of Blackburn since Sam Allardyce took over, i cant stand the man. So id love them and their horrible football to be relegated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Melion wrote: »
    I really want Wigan to stay up, just to give Roberto Martinez another season in the premiership, i really believe he will be managing a top club withint 4-5 years. His style of football is a joy to watch and has been since he was Swansea manager.

Blackpool wont get anything at United so thats them gone.

Out of the other 3, i have a serious dislike of Blackburn since Sam Allardyce took over, i cant stand the man. So id love them and their horrible football to be relegated.
    You do know he got the chop ages ago?

bobmalooka wrote: »
    You do know he got the chop ages ago?

I do. Still dont like the club or the majority of their players.

Melion wrote: »
    I do. Still dont like the club or the majority of their players.
    So you don't like Paul Robinson, Phil Jones, Chris Samba, Ryan Nelsen, Michel Salgado, Junior Hoilett, Junior Jones and Martin Olsson?

Thats 8 of the regular starters this season, I don't know why anybody would dislike any of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

I don't understand the wigan hate or the Martinez hate

He kept putting the mockers on James McCarthy playing for Ireland. He made up bullsh1t about McCarthy considering Scotland etc, when even McCarthy himself said he didn't know where Martinez had got that from

I quiet like Wigan, but I've no time for Martinez after that

eagle eye wrote: »
    So you don't like Paul Robinson, Phil Jones, Chris Samba, Ryan Nelsen, Michel Salgado, Junior Hoilett, Junior Jones and Martin Olsson?

Thats 8 of the regular starters this season, I don't know why anybody would dislike any of them.

Phil Jones is about the only one id have any interest in seeing play for Liverpool (not skill levels).