Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Come on, Ireland

• 20-05-2011 1:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭

When are the Irish going to stand up as a people and refuse be enslaved by the ****-fúcking-bankers and bureaucrats?

Why are we not standing up to likes of Barroso, Merkel and Sarkozy?

The fact is that Ireland, Greece and Portugal will never be able to pay back the massive loans given to us.

The Irish people should have revolted against this ridiculous bailout and followed Iceland and defaulted.

There have been huge protests in Madrid the past few days about the dreadful rate of unemployment in Spain. They are fedup with the lies from their current government about the true situation of the Spanish economy.

Spain is heading towards a bailout, and when that happens, I hope the entire Euro farce will collapse so that we can get back to being independent states with trading and border agreements between us, like the way the EU was originally envisaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

You first. I'll follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Quite so, Ireland pre-2002 and pre-EMU was truly a paradise on earth.

I can't wait until the Euro farce collapses either, defaulting is so fun what with the immediate mass lay-offs total privatisations and economic stagnation for the next 50 years.

Gonna be effin sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Pat Condell speaks a lot of sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

you mean ole ole ole no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

'' put em under pressure ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

"Stand up as a people"

*stands up*
    refuse be enslaved by the ****-fúcking-bankers and bureaucrats

*turns to boss*

"Fùck you, you cùnt!!"

*Fired*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

BANG BANG!!

BANG BANG BANG!!

BANG BANG BANG BANG!!

IRELAND!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I agreed with everything that lad said. He's the kind of leader we need in Ireland. Him or Decland Ganley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

*knees OP in the ballls*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm free next tuesday

Kojak wrote: »
    Decland Ganley.

The man who wants an even more integrated E.U. than we already have? One of these days people will make their minds up.

No wait, I've that Obama thing on tuesday, Thursday after lunch maybe?

I agreed with everything that lad said. He's the kind of leader we need in Ireland. Him or Decland Ganley.

Declan Ganley sounds suspiciously like Vincent Hanley. Coincidence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Pat Condell speaks a lot of sense

I am surprised he is still alive considering his outspoken view on Islam.
    There too he talks a lot of sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ire-LAND, fùck yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

prinz wrote: »
    You first. I'll follow.

I know you are only making a joke but you just said the real feelings of the average irish person :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I will always be a sheep :(

LighterGuy wrote: »
    I know you are only making a joke but you just said the real feelings of the average irish person :pac:

I know, that's why I said it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Check back with me sunday, if judgement day doesn't happen tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

:P

But personally I think there is no unity in Ireland. Yeah, sure its every man for himself and all that. But there is no joinging together for a common goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

LighterGuy wrote: »
    :P

But personally I think there is no unity in Ireland. Yeah, sure its every man for himself and all that. But there is no joinging together for a common goal.

I agree with this. All some people care about are themselves and themselves only.

tribunal report coming out in june into the shenigans of bertie ahern. No doubt people will roll in it without a single nudge/boo/protest to get him punished to what he has done to this country.

People probably wont protest until their pockets are severely hit which goes to show what kind of a greedy society we live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Wackawacka

When are the Irish going to stand up as a people and refuse be enslaved by the ****-fúcking-bankers and bureaucrats?

The fact is that Ireland, Greece and Portugal will never be able to pay back the massive loans given to us.

The Irish people should have revolted against this ridiculous bailout and followed Iceland and defaulted.

There have been huge protests in Madrid the past few days about the dreadful rate of unemployment in Spain. They are fedup with the lies from their current government about the true situation of the Spanish economy.

Spain is heading towards a bailout, and when that happens, I hope the entire Euro farce will collapse so that we can get back to being independent states with trading and border agreements between us, like the way the EU was originally envisaged.

Forget standing up to Merkel and Sarkozy. Quite frankly I'd hate to be in their shoes. They'd much rather not have to deal with all these bailouts as they're quite unpopular on their home fronts. When you work hard for your money you don't want to see it getting squandered on someone who doesn't deserve it and that's how we look like to them: we had a boom, we squandered it, and now we want again more money.

But what I don't understand is why don't we go after our leaders who got us here in the first place. Seriously, why isn't Bertie in prison? Fitzpatrick? The term "angry mob" has an unforntunate negative connotation, as this is exactly what we need. Why don't we hold them COMPLETELY accountable for where we are and instead focus on the only people that are actually dealing with the problem i.e. the European Union?

Why is the Irish public not hungry for blood? That's what I don't get.

Wackawacka wrote: »
    Why don't we hold them COMPLETELY accountable for where we are and instead focus on the only people that are actually dealing with the problem i.e. the European Union?

That'd be too much like common sense for the usual mouthpieces. We've never been good at looking inside, it's always been a traditional approach of blaming outsiders.

Well, why don't we try a new approach?

For starters, let's start acting like we own this country... 'cause we kinda do. So let's start telling leaders what to do, instead of being told what's going to be done. Like what? Well, that water tax thing, bring it on, but we also demand that pensions for TDs be revoked. They don't need it. Revoke Bertie's pension as well. We are well within our power to do it, as the shareholder of Ireland Inc. Many in fact make more than enough money in the post-politics career anyway, it's not like they need it anyway.

Like, do you realise how much money we're spending on really non-essential things? Ireland is about to go bankrupt, and if not, damn close to being bankrupt. GM was allowed to restructure to get out of bankruptcy and reneg on numerous bad deals it signed. Well... why don't we? Politicians will not do it out of the goodness of their hearts, they have to be MADE to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

@whackawhacka

completely agree to what you wrote. I believe we'd be able for whatever bitter pills we'll be forced to swallow but only if we see the people who got us here held accountable and punished accordingly. Right now, we see people directly responsible rewarded.

No doubt someone will be along now to tell us that we voted FF and that we got we wanted. as if we are supposed to be economists when voting. As if we all voted FF. As if people knew they would lead us down this broken path. As if we were outside the dail every budget day protesting and shouting - GIVE US MORE. As if it was our responsibility to know what was going on inside of the banks.
    At the end of the day FF were put in government to do a job and they exploited their position of power for their own benefit.

ilovesleep wrote: »
    @whackawhacka

completely agree to what you wrote. I believe we'd be able for whatever bitter pills we'll be forced to swallow but only if we see the people who got us here held accountable and punished accordingly.

No doubt someone will be along now to tell us that we voted FF and that we got we wanted. as if we are supposed to be economists when voting. As if we were outside the dail every budget day protesting and shouting - GIVE US MORE. As if it was our responsibility to know what was going on inside of the banks.
    At the end of the day FF were put in government to do a job and they exploited their position of power for their own benefit.

So why did we vote same old same old Fine Gael into power? Do we have any reason to believe that it will be any different? Dame Enda just said anything he thought we wanted to hear, in order to get elected, and is now doing more of the same as FF did. The problem in Ireland, compared to, say, Sarkozy, is that Sarkozy is AFRAID of the voting public. He can only act as long as he believes the people are behind him. In Ireland, we don't seem to be reacting to the fact that we now owe €40,000 extra per person, and virtually nobody protested. Were the same to happen in France I believe that guillotine would be getting a fresh layer of paint.

Why aren't we cutting politicians' pensions as retribution? Why are we not DEMANDING, loudly on the streets, that civil service unions take the same kind of pay cuts the rest of the population has taken? You know, exercising our democratic rights to demand where exactly is our money going?

We are being taken for a ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Internet threads/videos about these things in our country make me more sad than angry. When you see how middle eastern countries have used this medium to organise revolutions we, a technoligically advanced country, still don't get the power we have to do something about this at our fingertips.

We can organise a good knees up for the quake victims in Japan yet we can't save ourselves through the same initiative and organisation.

Beers for independance anyone? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Declan Ganley, the self-professed "British businessman", is the last person who would defend Ireland's interests. The dubious origins of his supposed wealth, his reincarnation as an "Irishman" before the Lisbon vote and his alliances with, and adumbral connections in, the arms industry make him a uniquely shady character in Irish politics in the past ten years. And, yes, that is some feat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭conscious

Irish people were given a chance to stand up a few months but sadly they ruined this chance by voting for fine gael and labour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

Just about to post this, saves double thread by using search engine lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

conscious wrote: »
    Irish people were given a chance to stand up a few months but sadly they ruined this chance by voting for fine gael and labour

So, who else were the Irish people supposed to vote for?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Why I do I keep clicking on these threads... seriously. Go **** yourself, Retrovertigo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

If we default the debt doesnt simply go away and everything is grand then.

I dont know what the alternative is. I am not an economist and I am hearing polar opposite opinions from so called experts on the economy, so i dont know who to trust.

Default seems like a far too risky for my liking. its seems like it would cause us either to be slightly less fúcked or more fúcked than we could possibly imagine overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭s20101938

If we default noone will ever lend to us again then we run out of money. Then we become like Mad Max/The Road.

s20101938 wrote: »
    If we default noone will ever lend to us again then we run out of money. Then we become like Mad Max/The Road.

well i dont think thats true either. Isnt Argentina back borrowing?

ejmaztec wrote: »
    So, who else were the Irish people supposed to vote for?:confused:

That other crowd with the years of experience in running the country, ehm, you know the ones I mean, the other lads.

the illuminati? the british monarchy? god?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

We should have joined the coalition of the willing then we would have been set