Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do blind people know when their food is off?

• 20-05-2011 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭

Ok, so I've just opened a natural yogurt I bought the other day only to realise that it's past it's use by date - now looks more like cottage cheese than yogurt, needless to say it's gone straight in the bin.

But anyway, it lead me to wonder.. how do blind people know when their food is out of date? Aside from the obvious smell of rotting food or whatever, but surely they'd have to taste it to know whether it was off or not?

Anyone?

And yes, I do have a weird thought process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,516 ✭✭✭✭briany

They listen for fungus:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭jme2010

How do blind people know when their lights are off?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Eh... the smell would be an indicator...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You just answered your own question there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Heightened sense of smell, those lucky blind people with their superpowers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Obviously, blind people see the world like the matrix.

Nothing but green lines of code and red lines for.....eh.......gone off stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

They can't. That's why they wear dark glasses, to hide the tears that result from never having eaten a fresh yoghurt. They also bring a dog around with them to eat the stale food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

More importantly....how do blind people know when they're finished wiping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

They can smell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Juicyfruit

Like I said, aside from the smell.

For instance, there was no smell from the yogurt, I knew it was off by looking at it.

So I suppose it I were blind I would have had to taste it and from the looks of things, I doubt it would have been a pleasant experience.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Seachmall wrote: »
    When they can't smell it.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

How do blind people know if their hand is actually their hand :rolleyes: blind people have other senses to detect rotting food, I doubt a blind person will finish an entire gone off meal and then say to himself "God Damn you Satan!! If only you hadn't stolen my eyes I would of been able to adequately and effiecently identify whether my food is out of date... God Damn you!"

How do deaf people get out of bed on time in the morning?

How do quadriplegics know if the bath is too hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

xLouLoux wrote: »
    Ok, so I've just opened a natural yogurt I bought the other day only to realise that it's past it's use by date - now looks more like cottage cheese than yogurt, needless to say it's gone straight in the bin.

But anyway, it lead me to wonder.. how do blind people know when their food is out of date? Aside from the obvious smell of rotting food or whatever, but surely they'd have to taste it to know whether it was off or not?

Anyone?

And yes, I do have a weird thought process.

OMG, you thought of something a little different, aren't you just precious.
    shrewdness wrote: »
    Heightened sense of smell, those lucky blind people with their superpowers..

Normal sense of smell should tell if food is off as well.

xLouLoux wrote: »
    I suppose if I were blind I would have had to taste it. I doubt it would have been a pleasant experience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

How can blind people tell which threads are a load of arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

jme2010 wrote: »
    How do blind people know when their lights are off?

jeez, think of the saving on your ESB bill, lucky b@stards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Juicyfruit

OMG, you thought of something a little different, aren't you just precious.

:rolleyes: Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

but what if they leave the lights on??

Saving? What if the blind b@stards left them on 24/7

*fakearms beat me to the punch....wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

But, maybe they leave them on!

How would they see the ESB bill to see how much it is?

How would they know how much money they are giving away?

What if a blind person was in here right now? Would they know we were talking about them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I just asked my blind friend here and he'd like to reply personally:

adfh asljdfhls djfhsad bfhlasdhflsa
    fkasjfhlashfjl asf
    sdfasdf asdfashd jklfhaskldfhksjhflaskdf hlsjkadfhlsjkadhfjlskdf dfhkl sjfhslh
    fhasl bjasn lhdflasdh h asdfhl;hf hh;asdfh; l;jh f

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

but what if they leave the lights on??

Why would they turn them on in the first place, testing the old blind vs too dark to see theory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

They're blind not fookin stupid!

Well, usually you agree on a safety word before hand. So instead of 'no, no, no more' (which might be part of your play), you say some out of context word like 'butterfly' and that means no more, stop immediately. But I'm guessing if you are going to a blind person for that sort of thing, then you should start of with some spanking first and then work you way up.

Definition of cruelty:

Breaking into a blind persons house and rearranging their furniture and all the food in the kitchen!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I slept with a blind girl once & do you know what? She was so normal - I didn't have cut her toast into soldiers for her, or attend to her in the toilet. Fancy that. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Smell is a better indicator.

How do blind people know if their hand is actually their hand :rolleyes: blind people have other senses to detect rotting food, I doubt a blind person will finish an entire gone off meal and then say to himself "God Damn you Satan!! If only you hadn't stolen my eyes I would of been able to adequately and effiecently identify whether my food is out of date... God Damn you!"

But how do blind people know they are blind. They can't smell or hear their blindness. Answer me that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Marineinsitute

A blind man walks into a restaurant and sits down.

The waiter, who is also the owner, walks up to the blind man and hands him a menu.

"I'm sorry, Sir, but I am blind and can't read the menu. Just bring me a dirty fork from a previous customer, I'll smell it and order from there."

A little confused, the owner walks over to the dirty pile and picks up a greasy fork. He returns to the blind man's table and hands it to him.

The blind man puts the fork to his nose and takes in a deep breath.

"Ah, yes, that's what I'll have, meatloaf and mashed potatoes."

Unbelievable, the owner says to himself as he walks towards the kitchen.

The cook happens to be the owner's wife and he tells her what had just happened. The blind man eats his meal and leaves.

Several days later the blind man returns and the owner mistakenly brings him a menu again.

"Sir, remember me? I'm the blind man."

"I'm sorry, I didn't recognize you. I'll go get you a dirty fork."

The owner again retrieves a dirty fork and brings it to the blind man.

After another deep breath, the blind man says, "That smells great; I'll take the macaroni and cheese with broccoli."

Once again walking away in disbelief, the owner thinks the blind man is screwing around with him and tells his wife that the next time the blind man comes in he's going to test him.

The blind man eats and leaves.

He returns the following week, but this time the owner sees him coming and runs to the kitchen.

He tells his wife, "Mary, rub this fork on your panties before I take it to the blind man."

Mary complies and hands her husband the fork back.

As the blind man walks in and sits down, the owner is ready and waiting.

"Good afternoon sir, this time I remembered you and I already have the fork ready for you."

The blind man puts the fork to his nose, takes a deep whiff and says, "Hey, I didn't know that Mary worked here?"

old hippy wrote: »
    I slept with a blind girl once & do you know what? She was so normal - I didn't have cut her toast into soldiers for her, or attend to her in the toilet. Fancy that. :rolleyes:

Did you at least help her into the shower so she could scrub herself vigorously? I'd say she got quite a shock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Alarms that vibrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Definition of cruelty:

Breaking into a blind persons house and rearranging their furniture and all the food in the kitchen! glueing doorknobs to their walls
    FYP

Alarms that vibrate.

Kinky.

Kinky.
    Very! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Any blind people on here that could answer our questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Is a blind person who's been blind since birth able to dream?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Why do television stations think that deaf people only watch TV in the middle of the night?

Apart from me one with the eyebrows doing sign language on news for the deaf, the only time you'll see programmes with the little person doing sign language in the bottom right hand corner of the television is at 4/5am.

Why like? Do they think deaf = insomniac?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

I dont feel bad for liking this thread because they'll never see it :D:D:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It's one of the perks of being a guide dog. If you growl the human will let you have the food ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Horgan wrote: »
    I dont feel bad for liking this thread because they'll never see it :D:D:D

Have a go at this: Internet for the Blind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Is a blind person who's been blind since birth able to dream?
    yes but not in colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Youll all feel bad when they see this!!

oh wait....

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It's probably worth pointing out that blind people are blind.

Blind does not equal stupid and does not prevent them from reading threads on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭bowsie010

old hippy wrote: »

So what you're saying is... you're hideous?

yes but not in colour

Isn't that dogs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

FFS, I'm still waiting for the punchline!! :mad: