Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish rugby star to become hero in flotilla.

• 19-05-2011 9:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭

Irish rugby player Trevor Hogan who has played100 games for leinster and munster is set to take part in next months attempt to end the illegal blockade of gaza by Israeli forces. What does AH think? A risky journey given last years murders and abductions. A hero to me though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

It's worth a try, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭The Brigadier

Hmm, regardless of whether the blockade is right or not I am not sure how it can be described as illegal.

Could the OP illustrate how he has come to describe it as illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

fair play to him. I hope it all goes well..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭mprgst78

I hope he doesn't expect assistance from us when he gets himself into trouble over there. That flotilla crowd is a bunch of lefty ideologues mixed in with muslim extremists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

fair play to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

mprgst78 wrote: »
    I hope he doesn't expect assistance from us when he gets himself into trouble over there. That flotilla crowd is a bunch of lefty ideologues mixed in with muslim extremists.

A bit far there. There's an element of that but you have to admit that there's a lot of kids growing up in hardship because of what Israel is at. But, Israel can't exactly open the doors either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

oh now you say lefty idealogues like its a bad thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Rugby is stupid

oh now you say lefty idealogues like its a bad thing

Isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Why will he be a hero? Because he's a rugby player and will be on a boat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

orourkeda wrote: »
    Rugby is stupid
    I think he got hit on the head once too many times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"Hey everyone - look at me, I back Israel in order to show how non leftie I am (because it's not as if anyone on the right objects to how the Palestinians are treated)!"

Zzzzzzzz...

A bit far there. There's an element of that but you have to admit that there's a lot of kids growing up in hardship because of what Israel is at. But, Israel can't exactly open the doors either.

agreed, i would put the onus not on a democratic country that respects the rights of its citizens but on a theocratic regime that has repeatedly demonstrated its intention to harm as many civilians as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Hmm, regardless of whether the blockade is right or not I am not sure how it can be described as illegal.

I think at the basic level it comes down to whether or not Palestine is a state. To blockade the port and deny access to the Palestinian port, Israel needs to be at war with them, and that would require them recognising Palestine as a state. If they don't consider them a state, they have to give them equal recognition as citizens of Israel, which they don't do either.

Dudess wrote: »
    "Hey everyone - look at me, I back Israel in order to show how non leftie I am (because it's not as if anyone on the right objects to how the Palestinians are treated)!"

Zzzzzzzz...

I admire your intelligent wittiness!

I never expressed my support for Israel. I simply believe the actions of both entities should be judged by the same standards.

That wasn't directed at you - it was directed at the OP, his thanker (who weirdly thanked me - maybe it was a sarcasm think) and the rugby guy. And it was out of genuine jadedness at these "Israel is great - can't actually explain why, but they're great" proclamations...

If someone can actually give a good reason as to why they think Israel's policies are so brilliant, I'm all eyes.

They are a beacon of democracy in the Middle-East etc.

That wasn't directed at you - it was directed at the OP, his thanker (who weirdly thanked me - maybe it was a sarcasm think) and the rugby guy. And it was out of genuine jadedness at these "Israel is great - can't actually explain why, but they're great" proclamations...

That's one way of looking at it but I've never heard the same question being asked about the Palestinian policies.

Which are?

Buceph wrote: »
    I think at the basic level it comes down to whether or not Palestine is a state. To blockade the port and deny access to the Palestinian port, Israel needs to be at war with them, and that would require them recognising Palestine as a state. If they don't consider them a state, they have to give them equal recognition as citizens of Israel, which they don't do either.

I am actually against the blockade. I don't take sides on this. I think that both sides are guilty of horrific atrocities. Israel are in a very difficult situation. While I understand their actions I don't excuse them. By the same token the Palestinians are being persecuted but that doesn't for me excuse the blood on their hands.

Regardless of all that I still fail to see how the blockade is illegal. If someone can point out which law has been broken I would be very interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I think it a great idea and the best of luck to him!

Hookah wrote: »
    Which are?

Here's a few that I can think of:
    Deliberate attacks on Israeli civilians.
    Use of children as human shields.
    Sabotage of their own infrastructure in order to blame Israel.
    Confiscation of food aid to allow their civilians to starve, again to make it look like Israel is the cause.
    Storing weapons in schools and hospitals
    Using schools and hospitals to launch rockets and mortars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TheHighRoad

They are a beacon of democracy in the Middle-East etc.

A democracy that doesn't give votes to certain people because of their religon. Really?

Here's a few that I can think of:
    Deliberate attacks on Israeli civilians.
    Use of children as human shields.
    Sabotage of their own infrastructure in order to blame Israel.
    Confiscation of food aid to allow their civilians to starve, again to make it look like Israel is the cause.
    Storing weapons in schools and hospitals
    Using schools and hospitals to launch rockets and mortars.

Those things are deplorable, if they're all true.

Would they be the policies of all Palestinians, or all Gazans since we're talking about the Gazan blockade?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Yes thats why the israelis blocking aid getting through to stop the palestian goverment from taking it :rolleyes:

Question do you have any proof of this at all

Those things are deplorable, if they're all true.

Would they be the policies of all Palestinians, or all Gazans since we're talking about the Gazan blockade?

I see what you're saying. However, the Palestinian Authority won a landslide election so it could be argued that they enjoy widespread support.

NTMK wrote: »
    Yes thats why the israelis blocking aid getting through to stop the palestian goverment from taking it :rolleyes:

Question do you have any proof of this at all

do you have any proof that what i'm saying is false? right back atcha. I think if you were asked to reference everything being said here, you would not have the same type of discussion.

check it out online (can't remember where i saw it) but i'm not making it up.

Despite all the pro Israel warriors? I sure have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

You, sir, are worse than Hitler.

I see what you're saying. However, the Palestinian Authority won a landslide election so it could be argued that they enjoy widespread support.

You mean Hamas winning the election in Gaza, the reason for Israel, the beacon of democracy, starting the blockade in the first place?

It would appear they enjoy widespread support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

You, sir, are worse than Hitler.

/satire

do you have any proof that what i'm saying is false? right back atcha. I think if you were asked to reference everything being said here, you would not have the same type of discussion.

check it out online (can't remember where i saw it) but i'm not making it up.

Israeli Targeting Civillans
    http://www.amnesty.org/en/news-and-updates/news/israeli-armys-use-white-phosphorus-gaza-clear-undeniable-20090119

Shelling of Un buildings
    http://www.amnesty.org/en/news-and-updates/news/israeli-army-shells-un-compound-20090115

Israeli Millatary Destoying infastructure and crushing ambulances for roadblocks
    http://www.amnesty.org/en/news-and-updates/news/israeli-army-shells-un-compound-20090115

Bombing of UN schools
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/jan/07/gaza-israel-obama

Heres my proof ill ask again do you have any proof that palestine are destroying there own infrastructure are any of the other Claims you make

You mean Hamas winning the election in Gaza, the reason for Israel, the beacon of democracy, starting the blockade in the first place.

It would appear they enjoy widespread support. If they are carrying out the actions you claim they are, they shouldn't be quite so popular at the next election.

They are blockading to prevent weapons being brought into Gaza and then used against Israeli civilians.

Having a vote is meaningless unless there is a free press, a law that respects the rights of individuals and an impartial police force to uphold that law. There is none of this in Gaza. The Palestinians are taught that Jews are the devil from day 1. They hate the Jews. They would continue to hate Israel even if Israel gave into every one of their demands.

Palestine is not a rational actor in this situation. It's a failed state run by theocratic terrorists.

It's a failed state run by theocratic terrorists.
    Israel is not a theocratic state? A state founded on what religion you are. :rolleyes:

They are blockading to prevent weapons being brought into Gaza and then used against Israeli civilians.
    Collective punishment?

You would agree with the UK having imposed a blockade on our country for the duration of the Troubles?
    Having a vote is meaningless unless there is a free press, a law that respects the rights of individuals and an impartial police force to uphold that law. There is none of this in Gaza.
    I don't know enough to comment on this.
    The Palestinians are taught that Jews are the devil from day 1. They hate the Jews. They would continue to hate Israel even if Israel gave into every one of their demands.

Palestine is not a rational actor in this situation. It's a failed state run by theocratic terrorists.

Most of this could apply to Israel and Israelis.

Israeli Targeting Civillans
    http://www.amnesty.org/en/news-and-updates/news/israeli-armys-use-white-phosphorus-gaza-clear-undeniable-20090119

Shelling of Un buildings

Israeli Millatary Destoying infastructure and crushing ambulances for roadblocks

Bombing of UN schools
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/jan/07/gaza-israel-obama

Heres my proof ill ask again do you have any proof that palestine are destroying there own infrastructure are any of the other Claims you make

Two examples:

Palestinians attacking their own infrastructure:
    http://markhumphrys.com/gaza.html#economy

Hamas using schools and hospitals:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRQa5-gmqys&feature=player_embedded

Collective punishment?

You would agree with the UK having imposed a blockade on our country for the duration of the Troubles?

I don't know enough to comment on this.

Most of this could apply to Israel and Israelis.

My point is not that the Israelis are a bunch of angelic do-gooders. They are not.

My point is: who should you give the benefit of the doubt to on the balance of things? a volatile terrorist entity or a democratic state that respects human rights?

Two examples:

Two well balanced sources there.

The Israeli Defence Forces youtube channel? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Because if you question any policy by Palestinian, you're labelled an Israeli sympathiser...
    I tend to question an election won by someone with more guns than his opposition.

=-=

R.I.P. Trevor Hogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Collective punishment of civilians is a war crime.

Two examples:

a blog which sources include other blogs and websites like jihadwatch.org is not proof

Link to the IDF offical youtube channel is not a reliable source

So do you have any independant reliable proof??

My point is: who should you give the benefit of the doubt to on the balance of things? a volatile terrorist entity or a democratic state that respects human rights?

Dude, I'm outta here.

Enjoy your day.

a blog which sources include other blogs and websites like jihadwatch.org is not proof

Link to the IDF offical youtube channel is not a reliable source

So do you have any independant reliable proof??

I knew this is how you would respond. You automatically assume that the Israelis are engaging in propaganda. You refuse to even let them tell their side. You refuse to even consider that there is another side to the story apart from your lefty news sources (that have demonstrated considerable bias in the past). You quote from the UN, on which up until recently Libya chaired the Human Rights Council. You are the niave person.

Dude, I'm outta here.

Enjoy your day.

Me too. There's no point in engaging in constructive argument here, it's too difficult. I'm not well prepared enough but would it matter if I was? Prob not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

Two examples:

Palestinians attacking their own synagogues???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/former-rugby-star-to-join-gaza-aid-flotilla-2651404.html
    While playing for Leinster, he studied Arab-Israeli conflicts in UCD with his former coach -- Michael Cheika. "What has happened to the Palestinian people is unjust and we are hoping to provide humanitarian aid as part of a peaceful mission next month."

"It is a completely humanitarian mission. I am not not trying to get involved in politics. It is about trying to reach out to people on a human level -- people who need our assistance," Trevor added.

There's a positive story that should be shown around the world. A few people trying to reach out and offer something to those less fortunate. A simple act of good will that should be an example of Irish attitudes more-so than the reactions from the royal visit.

I knew this is how you would respond. You automatically assume that the Israelis are engaging in propaganda. You refuse to even let them tell their side. You refuse to even consider that there is another side to the story apart from your lefty news sources (that have demonstrated considerable bias in the past). You quote from the UN, on which up until recently Libya chaired the Human Rights Council. You are the niave person.

I would if there any independant reliable sources proving your case. my "lefty" sources were a independant charity and the gaurdian newspaper and the UN which of these have a need to use pro-palestinian propaganda your sources include a blog which uses anti-muslim websites and blogs and the idfs youtube channel which no one in their right mind would think is an independent source

also i know the UN is corrupt and your right about libiya the human rights council considering they tend to protect israel no sanctions or anything for something the have publicly condemed doesnt exactly seem like a pro-palestinian organisation

So any proof?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ye, see the first bit isn't that inaccurate. Your second description is a bit misleading though. It needs a few caveats attached.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Now that Fionnula Kenny has stopped fawning over Lizzie. He might have the energy left to put the question of Americas support for Israel to Obama when he visits. If he oputs a good word in the Irish on the flotilla might not be treated as harshly as before.