Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever stumbled into the wrong neighbourhood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 MrChavcore

iv been in many weird and scarey places around the world

ill make sure to stay away from the world so..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

i lived near summerhill at one time and i never had a problem going through it the wrong stories are spun about certin areas and everyone gets the wrong idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

On one of my early trips to Old Trafford( to watch Arsenal).

After the match I decided to walk back into Manchester city centre as the station near the ground was absolutely packed.

Anyway I roughly knew the direction I was heading, so I headed back into town with my Arsenal top on, I took a wrong turn off, which I believe was the West side of Moss Side :eek: that was a time when the area always seemed to be in the news for the wrong reasons ,didn't have any problems though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

The worst place I have ever been is Camden, New Jersey (across the river from Philadelphia). And I say that having grown up in Chicago (and I have family in Englewood - still would never take the Green line though! :eek:) and worked in Southeast DC and in the Pork & Beans area of Miami.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Nearly everyone i speak to has told me scary stories about New Jersey and its cities/towns. It cant be that bad can it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Near Boston lived in an apartment block next door to a crack addict who kept knocking looking for money. Literally _everyone_ in the complex was an alcoholic. Bout 10 apartments and literally all of them were off their tits all day every day just hanging around the stairs of the block. Place was infested with bed bugs.

Going to UL open day the bus driver took a wrong turn and we ended up in some state with a pony running around free and the houses were in tatters. Few caravans around too and the look of fear on my teachers face as we were headed to a cul de sac in the estate was priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

grenache wrote: »
    Nearly everyone i speak to has told me scary stories about New Jersey and its cities/towns. It cant be that bad can it?

Yes.

But to be fair, there are nice - and indeed incredibly wealthy - parts of NJ. But an awful lot of the state is a post-industrial wasteland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I'm surprised that some of the posters in this thread even manage to leave their houses as they seem afraid of their own shadows and every person who doesn't look Irish is a sinister character only out to do them harm. Reminds me of the friends from Dublin who I invited to a Caribbean restaurant in Richmond Hill, NY but who refused to leave their hotel in Manhattan as they were too afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,217 ✭✭✭✭biko

First time in Dublin and turned onto Marlboro Street? Was told by some older odd-looking locals that it wasn't safe there so turned around and left.
    Drove through Moyross after having went to Limerick to buy a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

AntiRip wrote: »
    Myself and the OH were going up to the Bronx zoo one day and got off at the wrong stop. I knew straight away by the look of the subway station that we weren't in a good place at all.

As the station was empty (another bad sign) we decided to head down to the street to see exactly where we were.

When we went down an elderly black couple crossed the street and told us to get back up to the station quickly as we were in the wrong place. We did without question and went back to Manhattan. We never did visit the zoo :D

There are many scary places in New York
    Something similar happened to me in the same area the first time I visited NYC.

I was taking photos of everything in NYC, and had a feeling I was probably off the beaten track.. Then a white lad pulled over and said "Buddy, get in the car your lost"..

He dropped me down to central park and told me that a big white Irish tourist with a big camera had a life expectancy of about 15 minutes up there!.

Similar thing happened to myself and the missus on our last trip to New York. She wanted to see the Bronx Zoo - so we hopped on the subway and headed out to the Bronx. The walk from the subway station to the zoo brings you through a dodgey enough looking neighbourhood. We were the only 2 white people there so we stood out. There was one lad openly dealing drugs to others as we walked past. There also seemed to be a single fella standing on every street corner....

We got a few funny looks, got shouted at by a group of people in one house - we just kept walking. Nothing actually happened, but you could just sense that we weren't welcome there! - Still stories like that are the ones you remember, not the ones where nothing happens and everything is as you'd expect it to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Last year I was working somewhere in Dublin 15 for a day, finishing at 9pm and don't know why but I decided not to come home by the n3, decided to go the back roads but I took a wrong turn and ended up on dunsink lane. I didn't like the look of it so turned into the next entrance to turn around and go back. It was a halting site with big statues of Mary, all the streetlights were broken and scrawny vicious looking dogs roaming around the place but the worst was the group of about 20 men with their hoods up who started to appear from all directions. Of course I stalled the car and it felt like about a year before it started up again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Had to do some work in Moyross a few years back,found out that no local companies would go into the place.We left after a couple of hours hardship.Kids hanging off the digger and collecting rocks to throw at the buses.
    Ended up with a drunk guy putting a whiskey bottle through the windscreen of our truck,after trying to hit me with it.
    An absolute dump of a place,we should have turned around that morning when we saw some locals setting fire to a house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Cathaoirleach

Ye wouldn't want to get lost in this estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Ye wouldn't want to get lost in this estate

There's a ring fort just down the road from it which someone has destroyed so they could build a scrapyard-classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

biko wrote: »
    First time in Dublin and turned onto Marlboro Street? Was told by some older odd-looking locals that it wasn't safe there so turned around and left.
    Drove through Moyross after having went to Limerick to buy a car.

Moyross is a walk in the park compared to all the other places mentioned here also you wouldn't drive through it as there is only one way in and the same way back out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭cheesehead

maglite wrote: »
    West Philadelphia,

at this point I feel like I should include lyrics, but it is quite an intimidating place.

The only place that makes West Philly look nice is North Philly. Even Will Smith is afraid to go to North Philly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭blackbird98

two places spring to mind. back in the late 80's, I was staying in the Harewood Hotel in Marleybone for a week. decided to do a pubcrawl on my own one night and ended up in a pub in what seemed like a corpo housing estate. Rough as fcuk, but had great craic with the barmaid and some locals. Got a taxi back to the hotel, taxi driver said i was mad to go there, and couldn't believe that I actually walked there.

The other time was in the mid 90's, went to Manchester city centre for a weekend. Hotel was fantastic, but outside on the streets, has to have been the dirtiest, scruffiest, roughest hole of a place I have ever been!! Haven't been there since, although I believe that it has changed for the better now with urban renewal etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Vudgie

As many have posted the Tenderloin in San Fran is way too easy to stumble into. The locals lovingly refer to the people in that area as 'screamers' as after dark it's pretty much all they do.

Generally the homeless guys are fine in San Fran but they are just everywhere. Most of the seem to realise that politeness is their best policy in getting a few dollars.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,236 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

jesus a bit of an over-reaction no? my mate lives in summerhill and ive walked through it at all hours of the day and night for the last 10 years and never saw any hassle
    I think he means the one in town, not that nice village in Co. Meath
    https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/wiki/Summerhill,_County_Meath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

Kess73 wrote: »
    Don't know about Weston being the worst tbh. It has some really really "special" parts, but there are parts of Southill that top it imho.

My opinion might be swayed by the fact that there are more roads to get out of Weston, that there are out of Southill.:)

Then again Weston probably wins in terms of the amount of dangerous nutjobs that live there. Must be crappy for the decent folk in those areas to have to put up with having the various gangs and scumbags living near them 24/7.

As for Liverpool, I would be biased as I grew up there :D

But between growing up in Liverpool, and living in Limerick I can safely say that I am used to seeing rough areas.

Limerick is quite funny though, as it is probably the only city where I have gotten verbal abuse for a scouse accent from guys in Liverpool and Everton tops.:D

I grew up living near both southill and weston and id stroll through southill before the backends of weston!
    when i mean weston i mean up by the handball alleys. i wouldnt go up there in an armoured car.

there wouldnt be many decent people up there!

you get abuse for the scouse accent? everyone i know loves it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

why are so many people putting up links to southill and moyross? d'island and weston are waaayyyyy worse!

moyross just has retarded nacker kids that throw stones and southill has just a bunch of wasters that would be knocked out with 1 punch.

I've walked through both with no hassle but any time (i actually mean ANY time) ive ever walked through weston ive been hassled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Everytime I step outside my front door:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

YFlyer wrote: »
    Watergate flats?

Possibly so, I went in past the jail and went right just before the top of William St. then down that road and in one of the side streets. Just got lost in the back streets for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Not been in any real dodgy places, but have done some dumb **** like at age 22 in 2002 wandering around New Orleans at 3am drunk off my ass wondering where the **** my hotel is.
    Not that it was dodgy but i got a bit of a menacing vibe at time in Munich last year, myself and amate got talking to 2 canadian lads in a beer hall and ended up going on the piss with them a few times. Everywhere we went people would be giving us stick cause they heard the canadian accents and thought all 4 of us were americans.

Other than that the only dodgy palces ive been was in Dublin surprise surprise. got the 70something bus out towards talalght for a job interview once, got lost, the bus was still going and the area getting rougher and rougher as it went. **** this says i, got off the bus, paranoid as hell cause im wearing a suit in the middle of this kip and grabbed a bus going in the opposite direction soon as i could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭nobby grande

rossie1977 wrote: »
    some of the places mentioned here like liverpool city centre, ostbahnhof in berlin, budapest are not dodgy at all

its also nearly impossible to stumble into the wrong neighbourhood in new york, london or paris as those cities are so huge, there is a couple of cities like miami where tourists can easily stumble into the wrong neighbourhood (overtown) someone mentioned tenderloin in san francisco, now THERE is an area tourists can easily stumble into, its only around the corner from union square which is a tourist haven but wow what a difference, you could be walking down market street and passing all the high end stores and a few steps later still on market street you have street hookers, junkies, dealers, gang members, homeless, boarded up buildings, trash strewn everywhere, pawn shops, tattoo parlours, graffiti, not a nice area

Have to disagree with you there, Budapest is an awful kip. Saw multiple robberies, assaults and strongarm tactics from bouncers while there.

Liverpool is a fantastic city, the people are brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Makes Ballymun sound like a treat. I've been living there for two years and now I'm moving to Germany...

oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

The first time I ended up in Blackrock, I knew I didn't belong there. I didn't see one junkie or robbed car and I doubt you could get some weed very easily if you weren't from around there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Was driving up to San Francisco from San Diego, and had to drive through west LA. Anyway, a few wrong turns later, myself and my family found ourselves in Inglewood, at a red light, with a load of gang-bangers drinking on some steps about 10 feet from the car. The lads came over and started rocking the car, just as the light turned green - the ol lad just floored it, and told us to keep our heads down.

Yeah, that experience was quite a laxative.....:eek: