Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carling Nations Cup?

• 18-05-2011 1:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭

Hi all, thinking of bringing the little fella along to one of these matches next week and would prefer the Irl Vs Scotland game on sunday. However, they appear to be sold out. I can get tickets for the Irl vs N Irl game no problem online, but I'm wondering if that's because there might be trouble at that match and not many are going? Any advice appreciated thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Im sure it will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I'd say it's more to do with the fact that Ireland and Scotland would be favourites to win the competition.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I'd say there'll be plenty of foul chanting at the match... how young is your lil fella?

There were complaints from locals in Ringsend about the Northern Irish fans when they played Scotland. There were a load of them drinking outside the pub on Bath Avenue (near Spar), shouting abuse at passers by, trying to start fights, pissing in people's gardens, chucking beer cans at windows etc, though I'd say most areas are grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

He's 9...I'll get him to wear ear-muffs!!! Thanks for info - I was concerned that there might be violence at the match...thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Don't rule the out the possibility of a few scuffles kicking off. In general though, besides in the actual ground I doubt the two sets of fans will even get near each other.

Will you be able to just walk up and buy a ticket on the day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭fionnsda

there might not be to many ni fans at the match
    there's talk of a boycott see here for details!

Shouldn't be a problem for the likes of us to get tickets so.

Where's the best place to go in Lansdowne for Internationals? I don't wanna end up buyin a ticket for a block where I'm the only one there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Paul4As

Fittle wrote: »
    Hi all, thinking of bringing the little fella along to one of these matches next week and would prefer the Irl Vs Scotland game on sunday. However, they appear to be sold out. I can get tickets for the Irl vs N Irl game no problem online, but I'm wondering if that's because there might be trouble at that match and not many are going? Any advice appreciated thanks.

Will probably only be 200 Northern Ireland fans at the game.
    I was never going to it...though I'm a block booker at Northern Ireland's home games.
    Issues over cost of buses, transport restrictions and the Republic poaching Northern Ireland's talent...as in Gibson, Ferguson, Devine etc.
    There are about 7 or 8 first team players missing from our squad (Camp, Hughes, Evans, Baird, Craigan, Brunt, Lafferty, McCourt) ...they have just been omitted..a few Irish League players have been called up as well as youngsters from teams in the Championship. I think Worthington is using the games to get a look at new talent.
    I don't think many supporters would relish being in the Aviva playing a almost full strength Republic team with a reserve team...I know I wouldn't!!!

Paul4As wrote: »
    I was never going to it...though I'm a block booker at Northern Ireland's home games.
    Issues over cost of buses, transport restrictions and the Republic poaching Northern Ireland's talent...as in Gibson, Ferguson, Devine etc.
    There are about 7 or 8 first team players missing from our squad (Camp, Hughes, Evans, Baird, Craigan, Brunt, Lafferty, McCourt) ...they have just been omitted..a few Irish League players have been called up as well as youngsters from teams in the Championship. I think Worthington is using the games to get a look at new talent.
    I don't think many supporters would relish being in the Aviva playing a almost full strength Republic team with a reserve team...I know I wouldn't!!!

Ok thanks. But my lad is 9 and loves football, no matter who's playing so just thought I'd bring him along to one of these matches for the 'event' more than the quality of soccer... and this forum gives great advice to mams like me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Paul4As

Ok thanks. But my lad is 9 and loves football, no matter who's playing so just thought I'd bring him along to one of these matches for the 'event' more than the quality of soccer... and this forum gives great advice to mams like me:D

I think the N.Ireland game would be the perfect game then...your son will probably see plenty of goals for his team!!! :) Why am I smiling at that statement I have just made! Me expecting a thrashing! :D
    Absolutely no chance of any trouble...all 200 odd Northern Ireland fans in the Aviva can be "traced" due to the fact only block bookers for home games in Belfast can attend and fans are assigned to specific buses to travel down to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

What do ye reckon the attendance for the northern ireland game will be roughly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭nordydan

Paul4As wrote: »
    Not aware of any poaching going on, just consenting adults exercising their rights to choose as per FIFA regulations, and verified by CAS.

Time to move on......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Fair play to the FAI

If ya buy a ticket for Tuesday's Ireland v Northern Ireland game that ticket will also give ya FREE admission to Wednesday's Wales v Scotland game and Firdays Wales v Northern Ireland game.

3 internationals for as little as 30Euro :D

http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/2011/0519/sport/free-tickets-offered-for-nations-cup-games-505702.html

scudzilla wrote: »
    Fair play to the FAI

If ya buy a ticket for Tuesday's Ireland v Northern Ireland game that ticket will also give ya FREE admission to Wednesday's Wales v Scotland game and Firdays Wales v Northern Ireland game.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/2011/0519/sport/free-tickets-offered-for-nations-cup-games-505702.html

This both surprises and intrigues me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Fair play to the FAI

Credit where its due, thats a good deal. Myself and few others will be getting tickets later today anyway. First time in Aviva....and second and maybe third.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭strawberryb0y

Mushy wrote: »
    Credit where its due, thats a good deal. Myself and few others will be getting tickets later today anyway. First time in Aviva....and second and maybe third.

Thats a great offer. Recently the FAI have been pretty good on the decision making regarding prices:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Thats a great offer. Recently the FAI have been pretty good on the decision making regarding prices:eek:

Poor ticket sales due to over inflated prices previously have led to this situation but 3 games for €30 sounds decent.

That's a great offer and well done to the FAI for opening their eyes at last!! I've been to the Aviva a few times now, and the atmosphere when it's a full house is electric...when there's a load of empty seats, it's abysmal:o

I got myself tickets for the Irl v Scotland game in the end - it's the most 'child-friendly' of the lot, Sunday evening 6.30pm kick-off. The young lad can't wait:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Mayo Exile

What section of the Aviva will the Northern Ireland fans be in on Tuesday night?

Just bought tickets now. Will make it to at least two matches so will be good laugh. Good work FAI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Fair play to the FAI

Wales v Northern Ireland should be riveting.

Wales v Scotland game and Firdays Wales v Northern Ireland

who wants to watch that ****e!

fionnsda wrote: »
    Wales v Scotland game and Firdays Wales v Northern Ireland

who wants to watch that ****e!

People with nothing better to do...see ya there Friday.

Mushy wrote: »
    People with nothing better to do...see ya there Friday.

that could put you off football for life!

ok hopefully see you there!

fionnsda wrote: »
    that could put you off football for life!

ok hopefully see you there!

Cant miss me, I'll be the only other person there.

I'm only going cos saw the offer, realised could go Ireland match, in town on Friday so may as well kill time. Think Bray-Shams will be a much more pleasant evening the night before tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

Booked tickets yesterday for NI game online. It was too late for them to be posted out to me, so I have to pick them up at the stadium itself. Has anyone done this before? Don't the gaurds and stewards usually ask for you to present your ticket before you even go near the stadium? confused

thudd wrote: »
    Booked tickets yesterday for NI game online. It was too late for them to be posted out to me, so I have to pick them up at the stadium itself. Has anyone done this before? Don't the gaurds and stewards usually ask for you to present your ticket before you even go near the stadium? confused

I've done this twice - there's a ticketmaster 'office' just at the dart station - there are also portacabins all around (fai & ticketmaster) ...just ask the stewards where you collect them...once you have your online print-out, it's not a problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

Great stuff, thanks for that. Now that you mention it, I do remember seeing those little stalls around the place - was never quite sure what they were for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The NI fans have been told not to travel by the IFA

Told..or advised?

Either way, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Rebel Boy

Interesting. That won't happen at this stage I'd say. Security will be very tight

Last I heard only 200 were travelling due to the fact the FAI have advised that the coaches they coming down on are now to stop outside dublin and will only be allowed up to ground just before game to avoid bother. Pity as a good crowd down would have created atmosphere though you would get the muppets from both sides causing bother.

Shyte. Why bother with it in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Shyte. Why bother with it in the first place.

Because it was incorrectly assumed your fans had left the stoneage and could be trusted to behave in Dublin.

They kicked it off against Scotland and for their own safety restrictions have been put on the NI fans. They would be eaten alive if they tried it tonight and then you will start with all the oppressed Ulstermen nonsense. Its one thing smashing up a Rovers pub when its empty. Its a whole different ball game when its full of Rovers fans.

Its a shame, but its as a direct result of what the OWC fans did on Bath Avenue and Ringsend.

Because it was incorrectly assumed your fans had left the stoneage and could be trusted to behave in Dublin.

They kicked it off against Scotland and for their own safety restrictions have been put on the NI fans. They would be eaten alive if they tried it tonight and then you will start with all the oppressed Ulstermen nonsense. Its one thing smashing up a Rovers pub when its empty. Its a whole different ball game when its full of Rovers fans.

Its a shame, but its as a direct result of what the OWC fans did on Bath Avenue and Ringsend.
    Meh who cares. Most people just wanted it to go ahead from up here in Ulster anyway so they could have a good shout in the stand. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭nordydan

Meh who cares. Most people just wanted it to go ahead from up here in Ulster anyway so they could have a good shout in the stand. :pac:

Most people in Ulster support the ROI and would not be minded to wreck Dublin or sing party tunes! :D

nordydan wrote: »
    Most people in Ulster support the ROI and would not be minded to wreck Dublin or sing party tunes! :D
    N.I then. But really, this tournament has been shyte anyway. The attendances haven't been that good. Perhaps if they keep it on and it gets years behind it, it might improve.

N.I then. But really, this tournament has been shyte anyway. The attendances haven't been that good. Perhaps if they keep it on (and England join in ) and it gets years behind it, it might improve.

fyp ;)

Papa Smut wrote: »
    fyp ;)
    Would help. Without a doubt. 7th Sep 2005. Still remember it. The roar of the Ulster crowd frightened them! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Would help. Without a doubt. 7th Sep 2005. Still remember it. The roar of the Ulster crowd frightened them! :D

:confused: I never remember an Ulster team playing soccer & I would definitely remember if there was one especially if they Played against England.

I've two tickets I can't even GIVE away for tonights match...despite the fact that you'd get free entry into the other two matches with them!!
    I honestly didn't realise that there was that little interest in this tournament:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Seems to be less important than a friendly game, in years to come this could be the equivalent of the rugby 6 nations, and we have a good chance if winning the 1st ever one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Horgan wrote: »
    Seems to be less important than a friendly game, in years to come this could be the equivalent of the rugby 6 nations, and we have a good chance if winning the 1st ever one!

Not a hope of that happening. For over a century the 5/6 nations was the only international torunament that the European powers could compete in. In the future i cans see it becoming less prestigious with the World Cup taking over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Horgan wrote: »

Ever since it was first mooted the idea of this event has always been questioned around here.

Friendlies are bad enough but friendlies dressed up as a competition with 4 very medocre teams was always going to have problems grabbing the public's attention.

I really do not hold out hope for it continuing as a tournament.

And no it will never be as big as the six nations, if you wanted that then you would have to have a tournament containing some of the top 10 teams in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Not a hope of that happening. For over a century the 5/6 nations was the only international torunament that the European powers could compete in. In the future i cans see it becoming less prestigious with the World Cup taking over
    Ever since it was first mooted the idea of this event has always been questioned around here.

Friendlies are bad enough but friendlies dressed up as a competition with 4 very medocre teams was always going to have problems grabbing the public's attention.

I really do not hold out hope for it continuing as a tournament.

And no it will never be as big as the six nations, if you wanted that then you would have to have a tournament containing some of the top 10 teams in the world.

Back in my box!!! :D:D

Just home from the match - have to say I thought Ireland played very well against an awful team.

Now can someone PLEASE tell me why loads of Irish fans took their shoes off and held them aloft, chanting something:confused:

There was the obvious boo-ing for the Uk national anthem - which disappointed me a bit, given the week we've just had - but it was a football match I suppose...There were a pretty loud group of Irish supporters ('fenians' I think they called themselves:rolleyes:) ) waving some odd looking flags who roared abuse at the NI fans for alot of the match, but the majority of Irish fans didn't get involved.... An abysmal turnout with just over 16000 there..didn't see or hear any trouble...

We're going back on Sunday...the little fella had a great time and probably didn't see or hear any of the stuff I heard, so he's pretty pleased with the result.

I've two tickets I can't even GIVE away for tonights match...despite the fact that you'd get free entry into the other two matches with them!!
    I honestly didn't realise that there was that little interest in this tournament:confused:

That's bollocks. You could have posted on here about it and they would have been taken. I for one would definitely have taken them off you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

. Its one thing smashing up a Rovers pub when its empty. Its a whole different ball game when its full of Rovers fans.

Let me get this right. A Rovers fan is giving out about somebody smashing up a pub?!! Ha ha ha :D

http://www.youtube.com/verify_age?next_url=http%3A//www.youtube.com/watch%3Fv%3DgHV5-Advmf0

That's bollocks. You could have posted on here about it and they would have been taken. I for one would definitely have taken them off you.

Ahem...I DID post on here about them at five past four and there were no takers! So I went along myself...