Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much have you saved since the recession started?

• 18-05-2011 11:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

I've saved about 15k, thought I was doing really well until I see that the average Irish person has saved 22k:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0518/central-business.html

I can't wait until this recession/depression is over so I have the confidence to start spending again. I think I'm gonna buy a boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

To some people, the recession is: 'Oh, I have no confidence to spend my money'.

To the rest of us sods it's more like: 'I have no fcuking money!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

about €200 literally.. keep taking it out to go drinking :D and :( starting properly now to try get a house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

- €1234 Euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I can't wait until this recession/depression is over so I have the confidence to start spending again. I think I'm gonna buy a boat.

Why not buy now while the prices are down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Messi2

Cue a load of "I havent saved anything" "No recession in your house" posts from our economic and political experts on Boards.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

SeaFields wrote: »
    Why not buy now while the prices are down?

Because it would be crazy to spend money during these uncertain economic times. Sure who knows if I'll still have a job in 6 months time. Gotta have a safety net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Considering that we now have to contend with less wages, the grossly unfair universal social charge and water charges coming down the track, not to mention increases in inflation and utility bills, that would be a big fat ZERO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

About 3 fiddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

About 400 quid, only drank twice in the past 3 weeks. Need to save around a grand next month though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

THE WHALES!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I've saved myself a few blushes, that's probably about it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

Myself and my my OH have saved about 5000 in the last year roughly - but thats for our wedding next year. We are constantly struggling to pay bills and have some sort of a life while we are saving....both in full time employment:( SICK OF THE RECESSION

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Im really bringing down the average...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Damn recession, came over here and took my job. I wish it would go back to wherever it came from.............eh..............like............Luxembourg.........or something :(

I don't go out feck all since I'm on the dole so I save bits here and there, for what I have no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

All that article means is we are not borrowing as much as we used to. Using the term 'household wealth' is misleading. Our liabilities may have decreased by 22k on average, but we're certainly not 22k better off. The 190bn in household liabilities which has supposedly dropped does not include 2 important things:

1) Increase in Gov debt (which is essentially our debt too)
    2) Reduction in capital value of the items for which our loans are for. Property prices have halved etc..

Factor them in, and you find out the real bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I've got about 70 quid in my savings account because I kept withdrawing from it which is a pity as my savings plan is really good but I'm serious about it now so I won't touch it for 5 years hopefully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I am earning more than when this recession started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I had savings before the recession, but I find I'm eating into them regularly. I have not saved anything in 2 years, because our wages have plunged and saving money is just not possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

'Saved'? What is this 'saved' you talk about!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

hardly ever shave these days tbh, price of the fuppin blades :(

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0518/central-business.html
    The Central Bank says that net financial wealth has been increasing since the first quarter of 2009, and has risen by 70% since then.

What jokers - they way they word it sounds like the recession has made us all richer!!

and
    household net wealth increased by 6% during the last three months of 2010 to reach €99 billion. This works out at €22,125 per head.

once upon a time household "wealth" included house prices and we were the richest people on earth - remember that craic? Now they ignore property dropping by 50% LOL jokers

This is preparing the way for the govt to levy savings, no joke, check out the bonfire they had with the pension reserve fund and now private sector pension savings. Label savings as peoples "wealth" and such when the economy is crashing makes it politically acceptable to levy bank savings/seize/confiscate. Happened in Argentina and if you believe Morgan Kelly then the worst is yet to come and what will they do then?? Levy more off the pensions and maybe our bank savings

bad ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Minstrel27 wrote: »

Me too. Although that is to do with the fact of my having been a student when it started :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

over 9000

a good lot, bought a car though which wiped a good chunk of it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭James.

Minstrel27 wrote: »

in the public service ?

they are still getting pay increases every year ( increments ).

disgraceful.

oh, and before anyone says that not all get increments, the ones who dont get increments are already at the top of the pay scale

Blown all my savings in the last 8/9 months... Now I've to save up another 10k hopefully and fuk off somewhere else again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 dshamrock2000

I havent saved a penny, im using the recession to buy things i wouldnt normally afford by using my previous savings seeing as alot of prices on things like cars etc have dropped. So i upgraded my own car and the wifes, got work done in the house while the rates are low etc etc

I'd say I owe approx 2k at the moment but if i bought what i have in the last 2 yrs during the boom i would be a hell of a lot more in debt.

In saying that my wife isnt working anymore and im being made redundant end of this year, 27 yrs left on my mortgage for the house whose value has dropped about 160K in the last 3yrs. But whats the point in worrying about money or the lack of it. Everything works out in the end, I hope :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Im about -€1000

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Saved a lot before the recession, due to massive wage decrease haven't really saved much but hold onto my savings.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Saved nothing spent about 14k which I'm hoping inflation will make little of over the next few years... :D I'm sick of being broke so I spend when I want...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭snugglebear

Im saving about €200-€300 per month, but i recently bought a car and my savings took a bit of a hit, so i'm trying to save more to build them back up.
    i don't know how someone could save €22k, must have a really good wage packet. i earn roughly €27k per year (less this year) and have very little left after the mortgage and other bills are paid :) so i think i'm doing ok by saving what i do

Nothing, I was in college during the boom and earning now but when my account is a healthy state after paying bills etc I just end up going out more or buying new stuff.

I always plan on setting up a saving account but never do, I will probably get a car loan for my next car too so I doubt I will be able to save when I'm paying that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

Saved :confused: hhummm, not familar with saved :confused::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I've got my bucket :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Saved?? Ive SPENT a tonne of my savings just to keep going. if my parents hadnt left me a few bob I wouldnt be meeting bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

7000 ish...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

MIRMIR82 wrote: »
    Myself and my my OH have saved about 5000 in the last year roughly - but thats for our wedding next year. We are constantly struggling to pay bills and have some sort of a life while we are saving....both in full time employment:( SICK OF THE RECESSION

Not having a go at you but I don't understand why people in general scrimp and save for a wedding so a bunch of people who don't really care all that much can have a day out. Why put that financial pressure on yourselves when you could actually spend the money on yourself to make life a bit easier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

I've a fair bit saved pre-recession, got myself a small mortgage by comparison to some of the madness that went on, so my savings haven't gone up anymore, I seem to be threading water, which is fine because I've a bit saved. So holding steady with a safety net.

Hope everyone is doing ok out there anyway. xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

WTF - saved??? I quit smoking and got my rent reduced and still am constantly broke. Didn't even get a pay cut, apart from reductions due to tax increases.

I do have a good few new pairs of shoes. They're kind of like savings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Saved about €11,000 in the last 6 months :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

mconigol wrote: »
    Not having a go at you but I don't understand why people in general scrimp and save for a wedding so a bunch of people who don't really care all that much can have a day out. Why put that financial pressure on yourselves when you could actually spend the money on yourself to make life a bit easier?

Ah, but you only live once, and, hopefully, will only get married once. I'd spend whatever necessary to have my dream wedding (within reason). It's a very important day and lovely to have all your friends and family together and treat them to a great time that will end up being a fantastic memory.

Don't see anything at all wrong with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

10K but spent it on a new car recently.... I'm now broke again :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Helium

kingtut wrote: »
    Saved about €11,000 in the last 6 months :)

Wow!
    Were you that guy on prime time investigates the other night.Double jobbing and not sleeping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

mconigol wrote: »

Well im living with my partner for the last 10 years - and we're together 12- we've been engaged 8-we could never have afforded to get married before now - i think it's about time we saved for it!! :o Our wedding wont be in anyway extravigant and at least we're not borrowing for it - a lot do and wont admit they do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Helium wrote: »
    Wow!
    Were you that guy on prime time investigates the other night.Double jobbing and not sleeping

Nope I have 1 job and only work around 60 hours a week (70 on a bad week) but getting a few pay increases and getting a substantial 'out of the blue' bonus helped. Good times :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Wheelie King

Owe about 225,000. Savings 5 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Nowhere near 22K, but I also don't just horde my money. I save for a while and then spend it. Got a new car and a nice cinema system (7.1 surround sound and HD projector)... ooooh yea :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

MIRMIR82 wrote: »
    Were you actually earning more prior to the recession?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

For those who live at home with mammy, unless you are a complete moron, it is easy to save if you have a job or for that matter even if you receive the dole. However for people who exited that particular bubble years ago and found themselves trapped in a rather more sinister bubble, saving is nigh on impossible