Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is your boss an idiot?

• 18-05-2011 3:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

My boss is not an idiot. He's actually a really smart guy, well read, well travelled - cultured, personable and intelligent. However, my GF complained today about her boss, saying she's a retard (her boss is actually a bona fide creationist) and that her boss's stupidity is beyond frustrating.

So, is your boss an idiot and if so - how do you cope with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

90% of bosses are knobs....they are on power trips and most of them are pus*ies in real life

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

This is ****e and you know why ?
    BECAUSE HE OR ANYONE ELSE IS THE BOSS AND THEY WOULDNT BE IF THEY WERE IDIOTS.
    Only idiots around are the people who say 'oh my boss is an idiot'.
    yeah thats why youre scraping min wage and they are making a packet.
    Lose the attituse ,wake up to reality and see it like it is.

^^^ its ppl like you that give china,north korea,burma etc. a reason to stay the way they are

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

^^ its people like you who will never be a boss.

communism eh? Man you must be a popular man around Cork!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

People only hate their boss because their boss has to discipline them / keep them in check and people don't like to be told what to do. I'm sure there are some thick ones out there but the majority of them probably aren't that stupid. They are the boss after all, they must have done something smart.

jive wrote: »
    People only hate their boss because their boss has to discipline them / keep them in check and people don't like to be told what to do. I'm sure there are some thick ones out there but the majority of them probably aren't that stupid. They are the boss after all, they must have done something smart.

Or kissed a lot of ass!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

eternal wrote: »

Massive presumption, lots of people have been improperly promoted.

Not making minimum wage. Earning as much as many managers :pac:

What I see is someone who is probably a manager or future management material judging by this post :pac:

You seem to presume all managers are well paid, good luck with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

My boss is not an idiot. He's actually a really smart guy, well read, well travelled - cultured, personable and intelligent. However, my GF complained today about her boss, saying she's a retard (her boss is actually a bona fide creationist) and that her boss's stupidity is beyond frustrating.

You know man, I dont mean to knock your thread as you are just wondering who else hates their bosses.

But, at the risk of sounding older beyond my years (only mid 20s) ... there was a time not to long ago where a person would describe another as "a religious type" ... "or holy joe" when excessive ... Now its just "creationist" - that it is science fiction to believe in a god.

Whats this world coming to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

LighterGuy wrote: »
    You know man, I dont mean to knock your thread as you are just wondering who else hates their bosses.

But, at the risk of sounding older beyond my years (only mid 20s) ... there was a time not to long ago where a person would describe another as "a religious type" ... "or holy joe" when excessive ... Now its just "creationist" - that it is science fiction to believe in a god.

Whats this world coming to.

I think you better look up creationism. It's not just a belief in God. People who believe in it are beyond bonkers.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I think you better look up creationism. It's not just a belief in God. People who believe in it are beyond bonkers.

I used to think that aswell... But then I realised that people who pick and choose what parts of the big book are plausible to believe are even more bonkers.

As for bosses, they didn't get into that position by being stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭spdmrphy

LighterGuy wrote: »
    it is science fiction to believe in a god.

Not science fiction, just fiction*.

*Apart from scientology...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Ah in fairness if my boss was a creationist I would think it weas fair enough to say they were a bonafide idiot.

My boss is actually a lovely bloke, we have a nice team going here imo. Well travelled, great with people and knows his stuff.

My old boss however was an idiot in my opinion (different job to above). Anybody in the place would have done a better job, she had no clue how to interact with her staff or the public. The only reason that she got to be a boss was due to public service 'time served' mentality and she is on a deadly wage because of boom time increments and doesnt deserve a penny of it. /rant. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

As for bosses, they didn't get into that position by being stupid.

Yes they do. (I assume we are talking about line managers and not MDs)

You'd be surprised by how many don't have any management or leadership skills. Thankfully my last few bosses have been great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sure, aren't ye lucky to have jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

All my bosses are idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Is your boss an idiot?

Nice try boss! Ain't gonna fall for that one twice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

My boss is very intelligent but he's still a twat. I can see quite clearly he's very smart.but he treats people quite ****ly and is too cheap to pay anyone a decent salary.we have an excellent sales manager on our team and coder but pays them ****e all,and treats them like ****.moral is dont ever feel you owe your boss anything, they just don't care. But then I suppose that would reinforce the idea that they are very smart.

Erm, there is no money out there. There is a really really really good chance your boss is on shite money too considering what he does. which is more then you know.

Oh and I would hate to have someone with that attitude working for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 dshamrock2000

The majority of bosses ive worked for wouldnt have a clue how to do my job if I was out, which in theory is how they became a boss in the 1st place, they are "Yes" men, extremley good delegaters and total bull****ers.

For example my boss goes to all the meetings and says "I'll get that report over to you a.s.a.p, I'll look into that, I'll follow that up, I look into a new way of doing that" and comes out of the meetings and says "I need you to look into this, follow this up, do up a report showing XYZ, and can you find a better way of making XYZ efficient, Oh and mail me the results of all the above by Friday" My boss would then mail of my work as theirs!

Theres no point in moaning about it as its my job and i get paid for it, but it does give you the desire to go for a higher postion next time im looking for work

The majority of bosses ive worked for wouldnt have a clue how to do my job if I was out, which in theory is how they became a boss in the 1st place, they are "Yes" men, extremley good delegaters and total bull****ers.

For example my boss goes to all the meetings and says "I'll get that report over to you a.s.a.p, I'll look into that, I'll follow that up, I look into a new way of doing that" and comes out of the meetings and says "I need you to look into this, follow this up, do up a report showing XYZ, and can you find a better way of making XYZ efficient, Oh and mail me the results of all the above by Friday" My boss would then mail of my work as theirs!

Theres no point in moaning about it as its my job and i get paid for it, but it does give you the desire to go for a higher postion next time im looking for work

Can Michael O leary fly a plane? does he need to know how to fly a plane?

You are giving out because you are asked to do things at work. It's called a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 dshamrock2000

Can Michael O leary fly a plane? does he need to know how to fly a plane?

You are giving out because you are asked to do things at work. It's called a job.

Im not giving out at all, just saying I know alot more than my boss and i'd do a better job in their position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 higginsshane70

My boss is nice guy, i'm lucky :d

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Buscuits

My boss is enterprising, calm and approachable. He works hard and expects the same, and we do. He is also a family man and if ever needed to go take a few hours off unexpectedly for family issues there is no problem. One of the best things about him is he always makes chat if anyone go away on holidays, he is first to come to your desk and ask about it. He has made it his business to know each process in each department so if a problem arises or we are down a few people, he can step in and help out.
    Where the OH works there are several levels assistant team leads, team leads, assistant manager, managers. She finds that any issues arises it is pushed from one to the other and mostly it comes back to her desk unresolved. Each one is on their own little power trip and she thinks they are afraid to think outside the box or step back a level and help out. She has seen people less capable than her get promoted, and a few months later walk around the place as if they own it. They gradually remove themselves from the other staff, even sitting together in the canteen. She hasent put herself forward for promotion yet as her family comes first, something her bosses cannot grasp.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm the boss so yea.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'm the boss so yea.

Easy on the personal abuse. That's a paddlin around these parts :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

My boss is getting more and more like a real life 'David Brent', he is cringeworthy to be around. Throw in the fact he is a complete spoofer and I would say 100% he is an idiot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Nope - I'm very good and knowledgable when it comes to my job so they are lucky to have me!

I like my bosses, they're good managers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Erm, there is no money out there. There is a really really really good chance your boss is on shite money too considering what he does. which is more then you know.

Oh and I would hate to have someone with that attitude working for me.

I can see the same as every one else in our company exactly how much money we're making,and there's 2 of 5 staff that aren't getting paid.He's not on **** money, in the time I've been here (which is 3 months) he's been on 3 foreign holidays, two a week long each. We're contracting a web designer to do up our website, she did it according to what he spec'd and then changed his mind, and is refusing to pay her because he's not using it. He's cheap. but yeah, this doesn't make him an idiot, like I was saying, it makes him smart, because he's getting exactly what he wants and making his staff feel some sort of loyalty to him, when he treats us quite badly.

There's a lot you don't know about this place, so it's not fair to comment on what you think is an attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'm the boss so yea.

Me too Wibbsy, tenner says i could make you bark like a dog though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

All my bosses have been sound but I think it's because of the sectors I've worked in. One was the laziest man alive and was earning 120,000 a year as a civil servant and he was never in the office but he was still sound. He buttered us up I think so we never complained about his absentee landlord approach. Let us go home early from work when things were quiet, brought us out for fancy meals for special occasions, pressies when we left, chocolates every Friday and we had the laughs when he was around...all that has stopped now since the crisis. When I think about it, he shouldn't have done that really. It wasn't his money to spend but hey!

Practically speaking, I've no boss looking over my shoulder anymore. I do my own thing. I'm my own boss. Have to be in classes on time, hand in attendance sheets at the end of the month and that's it. A lot to be said for being your own boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

My boss is sound as they come, feels more like a guy I work with rather than someone I work for.

Bar the last boss I had too every other one of them were complete and utter plebs.

When I become boss I'll be all, like, hip and happening. I'll give a Gameboy and a Sony tape walkman to everyone in the place to make work cool and super fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

To be honest, I've never met the man.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

my boss is actually one of the soundest people ive ever met! he's just like another person working in the office! its great!

last year on a friday during the world cup, he let us leave at 2.30 (normally 9-5.30) and brought us drinking up in his place to watch a match!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Not my current one. The last few except one have been absolute morons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I wouldn't really hold against someone for being an idiot, lot's of people are idiots. I'd be more concerned about how they are as a human being, most of the bosses I've encountered have been contemptible excuses for humans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I just took over from my ex-boss after compiling a dossier on him and his faults over the last ten years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Show Time wrote: »
    I just took over from my ex-boss after compiling a dossier on him and his faults over the last ten years.

Et tu, Brute?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Yes...he's an intelligent guy, but common sense is not his forte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Chiggers

eternal wrote: »

Is that you Boss ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Et tu, Brute?
    yep it's a great time to be in the repo business a golden time even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭this is arse

I heard a great one in here the other day by one of the cripples, "i'll reach out to <company name> and kick this query off with them", the biggest lamer in here.. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I've had several bosses who were idiots. I've dealth with it by either riding out the situation until they quit or got promoted (!), or I have quit and moved on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

My boss is a legend, saved my ass a number of times from horrendous mistakes.

Having said that, he put in my appraisal that I make no effort to go on staff nights out or golf trips or barbecues or anything. That is true
    However I'm still bitter over that as
    1. Himself and everyone else are always coming in late and hungover, I don't drink so in on time but now I'm outside their drinking clique
    2. I must have been stupid, I thought my job ended at 5:30pm. Didn't know I was being judged on this after skool nonsense

And now I get a nasty comment on it! ****

I also think he's a baseball fan, always going on about "touching base" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Having said that, he put in my appraisal that I make no effort to go on staff nights out or golf trips or barbecues or anything.

Seriously ?!?!?
    I'd have words over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭the anser

The most important conversations always take place outside the workplace- in the boozer, on the golf course etc......unfortunate fact of life but you miss these at your peril.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Oh Gawd yes, I've not read this thread yet, but the nutjob I work for actually thought it was the year 2012 the other week, I think I win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I'm starting to like this phrase. I feel luck to have a job sometimes but then other times I wish I could stay at home.

would you do my job?