Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Europa League Final Dublin 2011

• 17-05-2011 1:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Im heading to the game tomorrow night.

Just wondering if anyone knows if there is going to be any fan areas set up around the city, with big screens etc for before, during and after the game like they do in other cities for major finals. Would be good craic with the portugese fans if there was.

Id be very surprised if we didnt have something organised.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Up to 60 chartered flights will take an estimated 16,000 football fans from Portugal to Dublin, and Dublin Bus and a fleet of private coaches will take fans from the airport to two 'fan zones' close to the stadium -- one at the Point Depot for SC Braga with the second at the RDS for FC Porto.

according to http://www.independent.ie/national-news/euro20m-boost-as-fans-pour-in-for-uefa-final-2648522.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Sappy404

AFAIK Braga's fanzone is at O2 Village (by The Point) and Porto's is at the RDS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Still didn't get my jersey :(, is it gonna cost into the place? Wouldn't mind going in for a drink or something before the game.

Oh and is the Dart running as normal tomorrow then? I don't know if their are any restrictions on that cause of your woman visiting :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Can't wait for it, think Porto will destroy Braga.

Should be a nice game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

DART services as normal ;) straight to temple bar after the game for a bit of wet Portugese!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭villains77

should be fun how much were the tickets have an uncle and cousin going to the game. be workign at it so should be fun. porto should in that hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

got mine for free but have heard of lads paying €120 a ticket for second class ones..:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Devil08 wrote: »
    got mine for free but have heard of lads paying €120 a ticket for second class ones..:eek:

i bought two on ticketmaster on friday. why would someone pay so much when they're not sold out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I hear Porto returned 2,000 tickets last night. I say there might be a few 50 quid tickets back on sale today and tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Oh and is the Dart running as normal tomorrow then? I don't know if their are any restrictions on that cause of your woman visiting :D.
    There will be some brief suspension of services between Connolly and Pearse at the request of Gardaí for security reasons, at the following times:

10.45hrs-11.15hrs; 14.30hrs-15.00hrs, 15.30hrs-16.00hrs

We will work with the Gardaí to ensure service impacts are shorter than these times and kept to an absolute minimum.

During these times, northside services will operate from Howth / Malahide and Drogheda to and from Connolly Station; and Southside services will operate from Bray and Greystones to and from Pearse Station, meaning customers will still be able to travel to and from the city. There will also be delays to Maynooth line services.

At the request of the Gardaí, for security reasons, Lansdowne Road Station will be closed from 17.00hrs to 20.00hrs on Wednesday 18th May, the evening of the UEFA Europa League Final.

Customers should travel to and from Grand Canal Dock Station or Sandymount Station during this time.

Otherwise, normal match arrangements will apply, including:

- Lansdowne Road Station will reopen at 20.00hrs

- Grand Canal Dock Station will be closed from 20.30hrs to 22.30hrs
    All info here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Sappy404 wrote: »
    AFAIK Braga's fanzone is at O2 Village (by The Point) and Porto's is at the RDS.

Can anyone go to the fanzone's or is it just for the fans who bought tickets thru their clubs.I wouldn't mind going to one of them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

i bought two on ticketmaster on friday. why would someone pay so much when they're not sold out?

I think people those prices when Liverpool,City and the likes were still in the competition and the first ballot was taking place back in Jan/Feb? I could nearly guarantee if Liverpool were in the final you wouldn't get 2 tickets on Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Typically Irish to have the Royal Visit on causing the whole city to be on lockdown when the Europa League final is on :pac:

Daemos wrote: »
    All info here :)

Thanks for that. Stupid idea though, I would say a lot of people were relying on the train to get to the Aviva. Not sure how I will get there now but sure wait and see. Silly though, how much trouble has their been on the Dart previously I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

Any one driving up from the south? What do ye reckon parking will be like, will the RDS be open for parking(simonscourt)? Anytime I have drove up to games it was'nt too bad getting parking but I'm not too sure what tonight will be like granted there won't be many Portugese fans driving. I could be cutting it tight tonight, I won't be able to leave till 5:30 from Laois. Normally i would get there in an hour but with the Queens visit I'm not too sure what traffic will be like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Probably best street parking around the canal and just walking the last couple of mins. Thankfully I work close enough to the ground so I'll be popping out for a couple of swift halves before heading into the ground.

Was talking to a bunch of Porto lads this morning on Baggott street. Sound lads so really looking forward to this game tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Just on the 13:15 bus from Galway, usually gets into the city at 15:45. Heard the driver saying that we mightn't get in until 17:00 or later! Would have got the train if i realised the delays would have been so bad! If I didn't before, I now officially hate the Queen!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭double GG

I just seen a guy and a girl (quite possibly Portuguese, Skin was a bit too tanned to be Irish I think.) kitted out in the whole Porto strip plus scarves and hats. What was even better, I had unknowingly wore my Porto Jersey (Forgot the final was tonight) and got a great cheer from them.

Really made my day. I felt Awesome!

Loads of Porto fans around town already. Seen a fair few Braga as well, didn't expect to see that many of them but they seem to be fairly well represented anyway. Looking forward to this anyway.

Tempted to get the Luas over to the RDS a bit earlier then walk over with a few of the fans and meet up with the people I am sitting with.. See what happens :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

porto fans out numbering braga fans by a lot in ballsbridge at the moment. really looking forward to the game now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Seen a lot of Porto in town... no braga though. Seem to be in good form too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Come on Porto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

Can' wait for this game now. Sitting up in the East Stand.

C'mon Porto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

porto fans out numbering braga fans by a lot in ballsbridge at the moment. really looking forward to the game now.

Braga fans are all down in the Point village. That's their "fan base", while Porto fans are based in the RDS.

Should be a good game. Really looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is the Queen going? :p

Word on football365 is that tickets are basically being given out free!
    Might be worth heading to the fan zone o2 or rds to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

If so that's a pretty big fail for the event.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭WhiteRussian

I wonder how good town will be tonight after the match since apparently 25,000 people that are flying over on chartered flights are flying home tonight too. Perhaps the pre-game atmosphere around town will be the only atmosphere for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Game has implications on Sligos invlovement in next season competition. If Porto win, Sligo move up to the 3rd round qualifying, if Braga win, Sligo start in the 2nd round as planned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jesus, TV3 start their coverage 15 minutes before kick-off? It's a major European final, being hosted in Dublin, they have exclusive coverage and they STILL have to show Emerdale farm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Jesus, TV3 start their coverage 15 minutes before kick-off? It's a major European final, being hosted in Dublin, they have exclusive coverage and they STILL have to show Emerdale farm?

Coverage starts on 3e at half 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

This is fresh from the Gards Press Office

Even if you can't speak Portugese it's worth a watch if only for the lulz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Jaysus the panel have been on the tanning bed. Kevin Moran is almost Mr.Hankey brown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Word on football365 is that tickets are basically being given out free!
    Might be worth heading to the fan zone o2 or rds to see.

Serious? I'm ten minutes walk from the ground....

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Serious? I'm ten minutes walk from the ground....
    Thats the impression I got,you may aswell head down.
    Apperantly stewards and fanzone staff have been given a **** load of free tickets,If its half empty they will probably just let people in for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Good coverage on Channel 5 now, some great scenes from Dublin and at the Aviva

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

Crazy. Station nearest stadium is closed before game and opened after game and then the station you arrive before the game is closed after the game. Don't make it easy for fans

At the request of the Gardaí, for security reasons, Lansdowne Road Station is closed from 17.00hrs to 20.00hrs this evening due to the UEFA Europa League Final.

Customers should travel to and from Grand Canal Dock Station or Sandymount Station during this time.

Otherwise, normal match arrangements will apply, including:

- Lansdowne Road Station will reopen at 20.00hrs

- Grand Canal Dock Station will be closed from 20.30hrs to 22.30hrs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

FC PORTO v BRAGA

FC Porto: Helton, Sapunaru, Rolando, Otamendi, Pereira, Guarin, Fernando, Joao Moutinho, Hulk, Falcao, Varela.
    Subs: Beto, Maicon, Belluschi, Walter, James Rodriguez, Souza, Ruben Micael.

Braga: Artur Moraes, Miguel Garcia, Paulao, Rodriguez, Silvio, Custodio, Hugo Viana, Vandinho, Alan, Lima, Paulo Cesar.
    Subs: Cristiano, Kaka, Mossoro, Helder Barbosa, Meyong, Echiejile, Leandro Salino.

Referee: Carlos Velasco Carballo (Spain)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I had to laugh at Tommy Martin; "Is the occassion not deminished by the fact that Liverpool aren't here?"

More to the point TV3's ratings will be deminished by Liverpool not being there, every second TV3 advert prior to Liverpools elimination was telling us to "follow the reds on the road to Dublin 2011, exclusively on TV3".

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

nullzero wrote: »
    I had to laugh at Tommy Martin; "Is the occassion not deminished by the fact that Liverpool aren't here?"

Porto are a big team too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Still plenty of empty seats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Strange sounds coming out of Aviva Stadium. Sounds like some sort of atmosphere? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Did a Porto player touch the trophy coming out there? Looked like one was going to but the camera cut away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I hope Braga aren't put off by all those rows of seats on the north stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Picture quality on TV3 is Shiite .?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

oh god was sure espn were showing this too, now im stuck Trevor 'of course i dont the players name' Welch!

Anyone hoping for a good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

need a link. no tv and not on rte website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

tv3 website is decent, I'm probably the only person in the world watching it.

http://www.tv3.ie/europalive.php?s=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

oh god was sure espn were showing this too, now im stuck Trevor 'of course i dont the players name' Welch!

Anyone hoping for a good game.

Channel 5 have the game too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

channel 5 for me