Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What age did you start drinking?

• 17-05-2011 3:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I think I was about 14 when I started having regular sessions with my mates. It used to be so easy to get back then, so I imagine its the same for kids today.
    What age did people start drinking fairly regularly, I'm not talking about getting pissed at Christmas when you were 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

What age did people start drinking fairly regularly, I'm not talking about getting pissed at Christmas when you were 8.

Glad you said that, thought I was the only one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

amacachi wrote: »
    Glad you said that, thought I was the only one...
    Nothing better than when you were a really young kid and you take a drink of your parents booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Only got drunk for first time at 17 after I had finished school. Wet my whistle for the first time at 15ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Nothing better than when you were a really young kid and you take a drink of your parents booze.

I got caught, my dad went mental, well mental-ish :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Got nice and tipsy after my third glass of wine.

The day I made my first holy communion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Started going out drinking when I was 17

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭lalee17

First got drunk at age 14.. Went off it for about a year (it was a bad experience) and then started properly drinking at around age 15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

First drink at 14...But got proper pissed at 16 and around then it became a bit regular!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Proper pissed at about 12 or 13. The good old days of a 3 litre devils bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Started drinking those awful 2 litre goons of cider at about 16. Didn't know I was not a cider man and most of my mates were in the same boat. Threw up 70% of the time every time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Breastmilk, around 11 hours.
    Red Lemonade around 2.
    Lilt around 4.
    Iron Bru around 7.
    Cavan Cola around 10.
    Club Shandy around 12.
    Bottles of Guinness around 13
    Tennents around 15.
    Furstenberg around 16.
    Grolsch around 17.
    Jack Daniels around 18.
    Methylated Spirits not long after ..

That's right kids, you wanna lead a healthy life of sobriety, lay of the titty milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I was about 18ish, couldn't of been arsed! I was allowed to have a drink so cos I was allowed to, I didn't want to! Didn't see the point in sitting in a field freezing my arse off!

You can rest assured I have MORE than made up for not teenage drinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

i had a few beers when i was 17, but very rarely drank till i was 18, and then not very often.
    I usally have a fair few beers once a week now on the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

16 in the fields, 17 in the over 23's Lucan pub (being tall ftw).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Had my first drink at my mams friends daughters debs when I was about 14. Didn't drink for a fair while after, I'd say I started getting drunk around 16 or 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I didnt do much of it under age TBH. I just went for the craic with all the buddies. One of the locals was very easy to get served in so by the time we we're 17, nearly 18 we spent friday or saturday nights in there and when we turned 18 we're legally allowed to drink we went to clubs and other bars.

So thew tl:dr answer is 17, nearly 18. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Knacker drinking in the bush when I was 14, only recently upgraded to a thing called a "pub" the other week after 12 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

About 19 or so, for sessions with friends etc. Long before that for the odd bottle/glass of beer and wine at home with the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

This thread should have a poll:

11 - 12
    13 - 14
    15 - 16
    16 - 17
    17 - 8
    18 - 19
    19 -20
    20 - 21
    I'm too cool to drink

Or along those lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Donny Bonaduce

I grew up in coolock so naturally I started drinking at age 6. But technically speaking seeing as my un married junkie mother was also an alcoholic I was pretty much swimming in alcohol infused ambriotic fluid since the night I was accidentally concieved in what is now the stardust memorial park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I grew up in coolock so naturally I started drinking at age 6. But technically speaking seeing as my unmarried junkie mother was also an alcoholic I was pretty much swimming in alcohol infused amniotic fluid since the night I was accidentally conceived in what is now the stardust memorial park.

Its nice to see it hasn't effected your sense of humanity to your own mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

First drink was under severe peer pressure..... from my Mam. It was christmas when I was about 15 or 16 I think. Wasn't that pushed on it really. Had great times with my friends without drink. Then around 16 or 17 I started hanging out with another set of friends and they were more into drinking so I would have started around late 16's or 17 really. Still wouldn't have drank much when with the original group of friends though.

Now I'm a very responsible adult, in so far as if I don't remember, it didn't happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Started 13/14 years of age, finished 47 years of age,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

First got tipsy at 8 funnily enough but the real drinking started at 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

Guill wrote: »

This thread should have a poll:

11 - 12
    13 - 14
    15 - 16
    16 - 17
    17 - 8
    18 - 19
    19 -20
    20 - 21
    I'm too cool to drink

Or along those lines.

Don't forget the Bacardi Jaguar option

We had a good few pints in the pub after getting the junior cert results so about 16. Got proper pissed in the local around 17. Never did a massive amount of bushing as we could always get served, but we were partial to a niggain here and there too. Was regularly drinking from 17 onwards, going to nightclubs etc.

Obviously I was having sips here and there when I was 7 or 8 like most others too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

was always allowed a tiny bit of wine at xmas dinner from a very young age.

first time pissed was 13 at a mates 21st birthday. I had 3 pints of bulmers snuck down to me in the corner of the room. I left with a bunch of baloons tied to me......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Probably around 14, don't really remember. Have a mate who's 4 years older than me, so he had no problem getting booze. His family also run a haulage company, so from time to time he'd come home with a case of something alcohol-ish from a batch that they were being paid to dump.

Wasn't all that regular at the time, really just whenever something happened to drop into his hands, we'd sit in his room playing playstation and getting pissed.

It was only after the junior cert that it became more a regular thing every other weekend. We'd get a bag of cans down the local off licence, down 2 or 3 each in about 20 minutes and then walk home via the chipper to play playstation half-pissed. By the end of fourth year we were wandering into town and going to the International.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

started on my 13th Birthday
    stonehouse cider ,
    lcl pils
    linden village
    Old english
    Kings Acher (absoulte rocket fuel)
    ice cold pints of Bulmer's
    naggins of grants vodka (like paintstripper)

and to this day I regret starting way back then , have stuff hellish stomach problems , 3 major operation's in the space of 5 months in 2008

current side effects..............cannot drink anything carbonated ever, and cannot burp , all air goes out the dinner dumper
    nowasday I drink feck all , when I do its wine or Vodka and OJ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

careca11 wrote: »
    linden village

The old flagons of linden village :D i forgot about them.

15, celebrating LC results, 2 best friends and I got a litre bottle and went back to one of their houses. Mostly gave up drinking at 16

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

12. Sparkling cider was my tipple of choice back in those days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

18, as per the legal age.

My dad had said that he didn't care when I started drinking as long as he'd be the one that bought me the first.

I guess that makes me seem different to most Irish people who view drinking as some macho crap and that drinking before your voice breaks is somehow cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Had a few 'field' sessions when I was 15, started drinking up the local at 16!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

prinz wrote: »
    About 19 or so, for sessions with friends etc. Long before that for the odd bottle/glass of beer and wine at home with the family.

You're in the wrong forum, it's the ladies lounge that belongs in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 burt_bondy

17, a pint of murphy's i think it was. i had tasted beer before and loathed the taste, but found stout palatable.

my beer aversion lasted for 3 years til i did the J1 - hard to find stout in california...

look at me now, ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

You're in the wrong forum, it's the ladies lounge that belongs in.

Some beers belong in glasses other than pint glasses. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Seloth wrote: »
    First drink at 14...But got proper pissed at 16 and around then it became a bit regular!
    Yep, I'm the same as this I think ^^^.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

17 or 19 when I started drinking but technically it was 10 or 15 when I had my first drink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I was 18 when I had my first drink, the day of the LC results.

Fun fact, there is 0% chance of becoming an alcoholic if you don't drink before you turn 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭MiniSquish

14 with my friends outside (bushing). We'd get a nagon of vodka and drink it straight, I couldn't do that now if you paid me. We'd say we were going to the late show in the cinema to explain u coming in so late (and also to give us time to sober up before coming home). I never got caught :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

13, My ma had gone out so me and a friend went into mine made up a 2 litre dolly mixture of all the drink that was in ym house then 4 of us drank it in a field at 12 in the day got pissed i was on my bike some the lads were on rollerblades, remember falling over a lot then going home hungover later that day covered in bruises, and somehow I loved that still love my owl pints the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

I was 18 when I had my first drink, the day of the LC results.

Fun fact, there is 0% chance of becoming an alcoholic if you don't drink before you turn 18.[
    /QUOTE]
    You're not serious:confused::confused:
    I wish I never drank until I was 18, or 21, or never at all:P
    I love to be able to go on a night out and not drink like some people on a regular basis. I've done it but find it boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

12 or 13 I think. Started going to pubs and that at 16. At 17, I'm still going to pubs, can't be arsed with clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

You're not serious:confused::confused:
    I wish I never drank until I was 18, or 21, or never at all:P
    I love to be able to go on a night out and not drink like some people on a regular basis. I've done it but find it boring.

There are academic studies on it, I haven't got them to hand but it has been proven to a recent degree.

That's actually amazing. I never knew that.
    A reason to strictly enforce the drinking laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That's actually amazing. I never knew that.
    That's because it's nonsense.