Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newest RSA ad

• 16-05-2011 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭

I hate using the word lol but it seems to be the only word that sums up the newest RSA ive just seen. 3 girls in a Ka crash into a mondeo becasue the driver was texting some fella saying her friend fancies him....end message from the RSA : switch off before you set off.

why dont they give some kind of applicable and sensible message at the end. who realistically is going to turn on and off their mobiles when they drive their cars. its laughable. these ads are simply moronic

Rant over /

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

What should they have said?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

kbannon wrote: »
    What should they have said?
    dnt uz ur fonz @ da weel lol ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

The idiot texting while driving down Washington Street this afternoon tells me these ads are probably needed now as much as anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Lads...have these ads not been around for years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

The idiot texting while driving down Washington Street this afternoon tells me these ads are probably needed now as much as anytime.

Or that the previous campaign had no effect or that people will simply never learn . . . .

Ken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Lads...have these ads not been around for years?

Yep, this one is a badly dubbed one they bought from the Welsh Police

Here is some bedtime viewing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0LCmStIw9E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

something applicable and sensible :) i cant think of a punchline right now, though im sure one will come to me. but then again, if i got enough money to do so, one would definitely come to me after some thought, something which is not apparent from their ad. im not harping on about the RSA but it just seems that this whole message is completely invalid. you cant believe that the message is worthy of being viewed or heard on tv, can you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭swizzle123

I havent seen the full version on Irish tv yet... but it was sent to us in college and the full thing is like 5-6 mins and it really does have an impact!

i see this thread being closed reeeaaaallll soon. i apologise for my rant, it just seems they put these ads on tv for the sake of having an ad :o

ZENER wrote: »
    Or that the previous campaign had no effect or that people will simply never learn . . . .
    Like the speeding adverts biggrin.gif
    something applicable and sensible :) i cant think of a punchline right now, though im sure one will come to me. but then again, if i got enough money to do so, one would definitely come to me after some thought, something which is not apparent from their ad. im not harping on about the RSA but it just seems that this whole message is completely invalid. you cant believe that the message is worthy of being viewed or heard on tv, can you?
    I don't think its a bad slogan really.
    The point they want to make is that you don't need your phone whilst driving so turn it off.

swizzle123 wrote: »
    I havent seen the full version on Irish tv yet... but it was sent to us in college and the full thing is like 5-6 mins and it really does have an impact!
    see here
    http://rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Campaigns/Current-road-safety-campaigns/Mobile-Phone/

As a reminder to highlight not to use a phone while driving I thought it not too bad really.

yes but we know not to use it, but you dont have to have you phone off not to use it. the liklihood is, if your gonna answer or use a phone if it rings when driving, then your certainly not gonna turn it off.

IMO, the RSA are trying to create a cultural change by getting people to turn off the phone when you are putting on your seat belt.
    If its off, then you aren't texting or chatting on it.

yeah but asking them to turn it off everytime they drive a car is too extreme, wouldnt it be more effective to meet halfway in their message so to speak.

Why? Legally, they don't need it when they are driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Is anyone getting sick of these stereotyping RSA adds ?

1. Young male drivers are hideously ugly and dangerous.
    2. Young female drivers are giddy in a car and don't pay enough attention to the road.
    3. Victims in road accident are always good looking or innocent looking.

legally, do you ever need your phone unless in an emergency? dont see people with their phones turned off unless they have an accident though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

they must be wasting their money showing those ads, i see people everyday on the phone, yesterday was a woman on the n7 in a volvo, didnt see anyone today though, but i only drove a few miles,
    if someone is beside you on the phone just press car horn, and keep it on till they put the phone down, now theres an idea:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

People would probably complain that they are encouraging phone use while driving if they hadn't given such a blunt message. And they have a point, I know my life would be easier if I just turned my phone off while travelling. In fact, now that I think of it I might just start doing that. It can be distracting when you get a text and you're wondering what it says or if it's urgent while trying to sneak a peak at it when stopped at traffic lights and at the same time watching out for Guards and the lights and thinking 'I better not forget to reply'. When the phone is off, no such troubles.

And the ad also points out how easily an accident can occur with such a lapse in concentration, especially for young drivers who've not yet learnt from experiences of close misses on the road. Everyone nows the dangers of not paying attention to the road, but, especially with young drivers, until they see such graphic ads they might not fully appreciate those dangers. I for one changed my driving habits somewhat after seeing the pictures of "Porsche Girl".

And I had a close call in a taxi in Belgium when the driver was reading a text while doing 90 mph on a motorway and failed to notice a bend as well as a small slow car that was merging until I and the other passengers started shouting at him. Then came the screeching of brakes and swerving like mad and us demanding to be let out of the taxi (which he, quite worringly, refused).

bladebrew wrote: »
    if someone is beside you on the phone just press car horn, and keep it on till they put the phone down, now theres an idea:)

They most likely won't even notice, won't understand why you're beeping or will stare at you with a pissed off look as if you're the one breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

They most likely won't even notice, won't understand why you're beeping or will stare at you with a pissed off look as if you're the one breaking the law.

good point,
    a guy pulled out in front of me trying to do a 180 turn before, i braked and held the horn on, he was holding the phone with his right hand so he was trying to turn around and see who was beeping at him at the same time:)

bladebrew wrote: »
    good point,
    a guy pulled out in front of me trying to do a 180 turn before, i braked and held the horn on, he was holding the phone with his right hand so he was trying to turn around and see who was beeping at him at the same time:)

Probably telling whoever he was on the phone to about the inconsiderate arsehole beeping him while all he was trying to do was suit himself, fu*k everyone else and break the law all at the same time, as is his God-given right.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

A car phone kit including fitting costs less than a (trendy new high end) phone. That said, phone driving (handsfree) is more dangerous than drink driving (at our 80mg limit - higher than most other EU countries already)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Is anyone getting sick of these stereotyping RSA adds ?

1. Young male drivers are hideously ugly and dangerous.
    2. Young female drivers are giddy in a car and don't pay enough attention to the road.
    3. Victims in road accident are always good looking or innocent looking.

i must admit the adverts are stereotypical.

anyone been to the cinema recently and seen the RSA advert with the people riding in the blue saxo at the seafront on a rainy night? and some slogan at the end, i forget what exactly but it was to the tune of 'young men always finish quickly' or something.

WHAT - THE - FUCK.

bring back the blood and guts, visual impact, scare the hell out of people adverts! seeing your man getting crushed up against the wall and losing his legs by an escort, or the chap turning his insides into outsides after drink driving in the almera, now those adverts were hard hitting and made a point.

andyseadog wrote: »
    i must admit the adverts are stereotypical.

anyone been to the cinema recently and seen the RSA advert with the people riding in the blue saxo at the seafront on a rainy night? and some slogan at the end, i forget what exactly but it was to the tune of 'young men always finish quickly' or something.

WHAT - THE - FUCK.

So now the RSA are encouraging premarital sex and dogging. Tut tut tut.

Most people just laughed at that ad and seemed to forget that it had anything to do with driving.

The one thing I find surprising about the new texting ad though, is that I was under the impression that only young speeding males cause accidents, hence all the insurance bullshit. But let's not go there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

unkel wrote: »
    A car phone kit including fitting costs less than a (trendy new high end) phone. That said, phone driving (handsfree) is more dangerous than drink driving (at our 80mg limit - higher than most other EU countries already)
    Link to how handsfree is worse than driving at 80'mg/l
    Which is 4/5 pints for me btw
    Seems a very skewed idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

i will admit though, i'm still a young enough male driver (20) and when i was first driving nothing would slow me down, certainly not a fecking TV advert :rolleyes:.

then one night about 6 months into my driving career (dec 07 i think) i was hooning around like a mad lad, took a corner too fast, the back of the car slipped out and i tried to correct it. i pulled hard left to try to correct it, in turn steering myself up a kerb, through some concrete posts that i still remember vividly smashing up the bonnet and over the windscreen then the car thumping to a stop hitting a tree. which prevented me potentially stopping in the water beside it.

i had my girlfriend and two other friends in the car at the time. they all ran off, i stayed with the car for a minute to compose myself before following them. the thing that struck me most is how alone i was, no help from my friends, i remember so many cars driving past staring, not offering to help or checking was everybody ok, just rubbernecking and fecking off.

when i came back shortly after, the gardai were lifting the car onto a tow truck. lifting is a rough term, dragging would be more accurate seeing as the wheels weren't where they used to be.

fortunately, the gardai told me off but didn't take me to court/ take my license and dropped me home in a fit of tears. the man who's fence i ruined only charged me for the broken posts and the man who collected my car on behalf of the gardai didn't charge me for removing it provided i let him keep the mangled shell (of a 98 106)

Things i learnt though. all speed gets you is trouble. its a great way to get rid of friends and make people turn against you, i'l never forget how disappointed my mam was and how angry my dad was. it costs a fortune to me at the time, around two grand for the car alone. it risks yours and others lives for what is a cheap 'thrill' and it is literally sh1t your pants scary, your arse is welded to the driver seat and your hands are tied to the steering wheel and for what feels like an eternity you can do nothing but wait and see what the Gods have in store for you because you are helpless to save yourself and when you crash because you were speeding nobody will even stop to help.

i'm glad it happened though, i learnt my lesson the hardest possible way without causing any human tragedies. it has 100% changed how i feel about driving/ motoring and speeding and was certaily the best driving lesson i've ever had, despite it lasting less than 10-15 seconds i'd imagine. i lost my nerve for driving after the accident and i've only recently began to be 'relaxed' at the wheel again. i've also learned its much more fun to appreciate your car, keep it clean and pretty and running well and people appreciate it much more than when they see it pegging around at twatish speeds.

sorry for the spiel but it felt like the right time, hopefully someone takes note and i think that if anyone bothered to read this far that this might have made a better impact than the RSA advert with the two people riding in the saxo :P.

andyseadog wrote: »
    ...i learnt my lesson the hardest possible way without causing any human tragedies. it has 100% changed how i feel about driving/ motoring and speeding and was certaily the best driving lesson i've ever had, despite it lasting less than 10-15 seconds i'd imagine. i lost my nerve for driving after the accident and i've only recently began to be 'relaxed' at the wheel again. i've also learned its much more fun to appreciate your car, keep it clean and pretty and running well and people appreciate it much more than when they see it pegging around at twatish speeds.

sorry for the spiel but it felt like the right time, hopefully someone takes note and i think that if anyone bothered to read this far that this might have made a better impact than the RSA advert with the two people riding in the saxo :P.

Glad to see you learnt your lesson. When I started off driving it was the fear of embarrassment from crashing while showing off the way others did that stopped me from being reckless. I prided myself on being a safe driver initially but then became more cocky as the years went by, but not too much. A couple of penalty points (gone now) and a telling off from a Garda and I settled down again. And I've come to understand that the safety of other road users, pedestrians and passengers is my responsibility, no excuses. Maybe the road safety ads over the years have contributed to this attitude.

I suppose with these new ads, if they can prevent even one fatality, then they're worthwhile, but who's to say whether or not they achieve this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

The only one rsa add I found was useful. I was even shocked by it, as I newer thought they will pull out there heads out of asses and do something about real life driving. It was an add about merging, fast and slow lanes. I think it was done on m50 too. You would be surprised with amount of people who don't have a clue about roads with more then one lane...

I know people who text and drive, it annoys me to feck, but I know that these adds wont do any good for them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

kbannon wrote: »
    Why? Legally, they don't need it when they are driving.

You might if you needed to call in an emergency, turning phone on, entering pin etc wouldnt be all that easy to do if a bunch of guys wearing balaclavas were racing after you in a Ford Transit van wielding baseball bats.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/driving_offences/driving_offences.html

It will be a defence for anyone charged with the offence of holding a mobile phone while driving to show that they were:

* Using it to call the Gardaí, an ambulance, fire brigade or other emergency service
    * Involved in or acting in response to a genuine emergency

You might if you needed to call in an emergency, turning phone on, entering pin etc wouldnt be all that easy to do if a bunch of guys wearing balaclavas were racing after you in a Ford Transit van wielding baseball bats.

I hate when that happens but luckily I'm usually a bit faster than the transit and the baseball bats are useless from more than three feet away.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

they should use real footage like on ROAD WARS last night with one girl lying in a crumpled bloody heap in the road and the other half out of the tailgate screaming and the asshole driving getting 5 years prison which is just as well as the girls Dad was after his blood big time.

I'd love to know the likleihood of that happening. Maybe we should forget about changing attitudes in case someone encounters a dickhead in a van, sure would there even be that many lives saved (considering the societal change towards drink driving)?
    And even Peig could easily outrun a Ford Transit.