Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

West ham end of season party trouble

• 16-05-2011 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,484 ✭✭✭✭

Breaking news on Sky

Fighting between players and fans at the end of season dinner

Police have been called

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

How...Cliche :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,941 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Fans will have plenty of fighting when they play Millwall next season

I feel sorry for the the police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Breaking news on sky sports, west ham fans losing the plot at end of season party. Police called. No link on any sites yet but sounds like it got "pawper nawty", as danny dyer might say.

Fans with bad attitudes + players with even worse attitude...not much of a loss to the premiership imo.

Up on twitter now
    http://twitter.com/#!/SkySportsNews

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Only in the world of soccer would a load of players throw a party when

(a) the season isn't over

(b) they've been relegated and have f*ck all to celebrate

(c) their fans are likely to be quite p*ssed off to see them enjoying themselves after how sh* they've been.

Unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Somebody stole a chip from James Corden's plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

I'd imagine because of where its on that it was some kind of money making racket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

First of all, what moron thinks this up ?
    A gala diner after going down ?
    And then inviting pissed off fans ?

Apparently Ba kicked it off when he refused an autograph 'because he was too tired'.

I for one hope that the relegation at least rids the club of these *****, think they're so good because they earn a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Honestly what world do these players live in? The likes of Kieron Dyer, Wayne Bridge, Luis Boa Morte, being paid £80,000 a week, not giving a ****e about the club and then having a party when they get relegated.

Apparently Karren Brady got a train home with the West Ham fans yesterday (stupid thing to do in the 1st place), and it ended with security being called down to their carriage after her husband offered a couple of the fans outside at the next stop.

The game against Sunderland next week could get nasty.

LowOdour wrote: »

Fans with bad attitudes + players with even worse attitude...not much of a loss to the premiership imo.

In fairness, I've never met with a better group of Premier League fans than West Ham supporters. I was at the 2006 FA Cup Final where Liverpool beat them on penalties and they were class personified. Great craic before the game with everyone mingling outside and in the pubs, staying until the Cup was presented despite losing on penalties and then lining the streets on the way out to clap the Liverpool fans as they left the stadium. I've honestly never seen anything like it before or since.

If the fans were pissed off, they have every right to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I can't believe it's not Mike Ashley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Can't really blame the fans for this one truth be told, I know i'd be super pissed to see the team out celebrating only a couple days after getting relegated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭SickBoy

In fairness, I've never met with a better group of Premier League fans than West Ham supporters. I was at the 2007 FA Cup Final where Liverpool beat them on penalties and they were class personified. Great craic before the game with everyone mingling outside and in the pubs, staying until the Cup was presented despite losing on penalties and then lining the streets on the way out to clap the Liverpool fans as they left the stadium. I've honestly never seen anything like it before or since.

Did that really happen? Fair play to them if it did!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Honestly what world do these players live in? The likes of Kieron Dyer, Wayne Bridge, Luis Boa Morte, being paid £80,000 a week, not giving a ****e about the club and then having a party when they get relegated.

Well if there were fans at it then I would presume it was some sort of Supporters clubs do? Hardly just a bunch of players out on the piss.

West Ham United's end of season Gala ended in chaos as Police were called after a fight erupted.

The disturbance was said to have started after one first team member - believed to be Senegalese striker Demba Ba - refused to sign an autograph, claiming he was 'too tired'.

Police were called to deal with the ensuing outbreak of violence which saw, according to reports, tables and chairs being used as weapons in a scene more suited to an old-school Western movie than an end-of-season dinner.

Fans had paid up to £250 each to attend the evening - ironically described by the club in promotional material as 'a simply unmissable evening' - which was hosted by TV personality Ben Shepherd.

SickBoy wrote: »
    Did that really happen? Fair play to them if it did!

Yep I was stunned. Never seen anything like it before or since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Have been looking at Sky, nothing on this, any link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Have been looking at Sky, nothing on this, any link?

Is on SSN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

This gala dinner certainly left a bad taste

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

This gala dinner certainly left a bad taste

get your coat

Jazzy wrote: »
    get your coat

:o:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Apparently Ba kicked it off when he refused an autograph 'because he was too tired'.

That Demba Ba was always a messer! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,592 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

This is a Dyer way to end the season, i am sure that they were not too Keane to party and will probably Green with envy of the teams that stayed up. Someone must have stoked the Cole, and i am sure that when they Reid about this in the papers they will agree that there was nothing Noble in their actions. A few were probably to be shown the door already, the rest will be in a Collison course with the board as this is a Bridge too Demba Ba.

Paully D wrote: »
    Apparently Karren Brady got a train home with the West Ham fans yesterday (stupid thing to do in the 1st place), and it ended with security being called down to their carriage after her husband offered a couple of the fans outside at the next stop.

The game against Sunderland next week could get nasty.

From what I heard was that some fans asked her if there were already plans for a new manager, she said 'In a few weeks'.

Then, as a joke, one of the fans wrote down his name on a paper, gave it to her and said that he was Champions with West Ham in Football Manager for 9 years running, to which her husband said 'faggo t'.

Smart thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

This is a Dyer way to end the season, i am sure that they were not too Keane to party and will probably Green with envy of the teams that stayed up. Someone must have stoked the Cole, and i am sure that when they Reid about this in the papers they will agree that there was nothing Noble in their actions. A few were probably to be shown the door already, the rest will be in a Collison course with the board as this is a Bridge too Demba Ba.

Get your coat...

...fill the pockets with rocks and batteries, and beat yourself over the head with it. I cringed so much my arse cheeks could polish a diamond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Paully D wrote: »
    her husband offered a couple of the fans outside at the next stop..

she still married to peschisolido (sp)? he's 5 foot nothing! he didn't last long in inchicore ;)

Tom_Brady wrote: »
    Get your coat...

...fill the pockets with rocks and batteries, and beat yourself over the head with it. I cringed so much my arse cheeks could polish a diamond.

Did what you asked and i have managed to burst Ilunga, when i went to the doctor he told me to **** off, the Ruud Boffin.

Give me a ticket for the Champions League or i will not stop.*

* Kinda bored and tired now, so will probably stop now anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

No doubt the players dished out good beatings early in the fight until Grant gave a team talk then they got the crap beaten out of them.

Ba refusing coz he is too tired? It is 2 feckin letters!

Pissed off whu fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

To be fair, most clubs have these sort of things for their fans in the last week or two of the season. Normally have the player of the year awards and all that jazz. Would've been organised a long time ago, I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Pity West Ham didn't sign Loadabollocks in the January window.

Aye, would have went well with Upson and Brown.

They did, got him on loan from Tottenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

At least they're going down fighting.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

In fairness, I've never met with a better group of Premier League fans than West Ham supporters. I was at the 2007 FA Cup Final where Liverpool beat them on penalties and they were class personified.

Chelsea 1 Manchester 0. :)

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Chelsea 1 Manchester 0. :)

City and United have merged?! God help us all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Ludo wrote: »
    No doubt the players dished out good beatings early in the fight until Grant gave a team talk then they got the crap beaten out of them.

Ba refusing coz he is too tired? It is 2 feckin letters!

Pissed off whu fan.

LOL.. Brilliant.

Apparently I was wrong, Ba did sign the autograph and the fan then proceeded to ask him some questions, then asked why Ba kept sitting down and he said he was still tired.
    Then he said something to Da Costa in French, to which the fan started shouting stuff about speaking English and trying to take on both Ba and Da Costa (what a retard, those guys would break him in two) :rolleyes:

Just heard it, so no idea if it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Apparently I was wrong, Ba did sign the autograph and the fan then proceeded to ask him some questions, then asked why Ba kept sitting down and he said he was still tired.
    Then he said something to Da Costa in French, to which the fan started shouting stuff about speaking English and trying to take on both Ba and Da Costa (what a retard, those guys would break him in two) :rolleyes:

Just heard it, so no idea if it's true.

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Pffft, screw the fans in this regard imo. The players had their end of season work party. Do you think that any company shouldn't have a Christmas party because the company did bad? It's more about the players getting together and bonding over a few drinks after the season than it is about how the season went. Footballers are people with jobs too, I'd say they'd like to socialize with their colleagues when they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

And not a single Joey Barton in sight :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

PHB wrote: »
    Pffft, screw the fans in this regard imo. The players had their end of season work party. Do you think that any company shouldn't have a Christmas party because the company did bad? It's more about the players getting together and bonding over a few drinks after the season than it is about how the season went. Footballers are people with jobs too, I'd say they'd like to socialize with their colleagues when they can.
    Why invite fans then? And get them to shell out for tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

In fairness, I've never met with a better group of Premier League fans than West Ham supporters. I was at the 2007 FA Cup Final where Liverpool beat them on penalties and they were class personified. Great craic before the game with everyone mingling outside and in the pubs, staying until the Cup was presented despite losing on penalties and then lining the streets on the way out to clap the Liverpool fans as they left the stadium. I've honestly never seen anything like it before or since.

To be fair, pretty much every club in the world has great fans. It's just a small proportion of them that make the headlines, regardless of the club.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Source?

KUMB, West Ham message board.

edit: Someone there said it's massively over-rated, basically one d*ck started mouthing off, got kicked out and that was that.
    Tried to take on Ba, what a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Why invite fans then? And get them to shell out for tickets.
    Look at their board and the state of their finances they will try absolutely anything to try and squeeze a few extra pounds out of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Look at their board and the state of their fiances they will try absolutely anything to try and squeeze a few extra pounds out of the season.

pics or gtfo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Yep I was stunned. Never seen anything like it before or since.

I've been to quite a few Liverpool away games and things like this happen more often then you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

275 pound a ticket and Demba Ba couldnt be bothered to sign an autograph.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I could maybe understand if his name was Pavlyuchenko, but Ba?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

I could maybe understand if his name was Pavlyuchenko, but Ba?
    Or Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

evil_seed wrote: »
    And not a single Joey Barton in sight :pac:

Himself and Kevin Nolan were too busy doing coke in his house. :pac: