Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you know anyone that lived beyond their means during the good times?.

• 16-05-2011 5:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Buying suvs,cars,holidays abroad in belief the boom woundnt end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Everyone except me:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Yeah - pretty much everyone I know myself included!

Banks were throwing money at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Here we go again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I paid €30 for a wasabi burger :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

People didn't know we were in a bubble, so most didn't know it would/could end.

I was never a big believer in taking out loans or credit cards, but i did spend every penny i made like my life depended on it.
    Most people did the same, it was the purchase of property that fecked everyone up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

The holidays were worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

hondasam wrote: »

Did you enjoy Courtown? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Yes. Mammy bought herself a dishwasher back in 2007. Totally unnecessary purchase for a woman with two fully functional hands.

Pighead and his Daddy are always shouting into the kitchen telling her how lazy she is as she cooks our dinner for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Babalons

Ohh my god, the holidays. So True. Craziness of epic proportions in far flung regions of this beautiful planet. For that alone... thank you Boom. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Wheelie King

The boom has ended?

kfallon wrote: »
    Did you enjoy Courtown? :pac:

yes and my trip to Dublin was exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Pighead wrote: »
    Yes.Pigheads Mammy bought herself a dishwasher back in 2007. Totally unnecessary purchase for a woman with two fully functional hands.

Pighead and his Daddy are always shouting into the kitchen telling her how lazy she is as she cooks our dinner for us.
    I've fixed it for ya.

If I had some spare change right now I'd go on holiday for 2 weeks. I need to a break from real life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

I do. One mate in particular went mad spending cash. Lost his job, can barely make his mortgage repayments now.

yes and my trip to Dublin was exciting.

Visit The Zoo and then go to McDonalds??? :pac:

Pighead wrote: »
    Yes. Mammy bought herself a dishwasher back in 2007. Totally unnecessary purchase for a woman with two fully functional hands.

The food must taste funny if she cooked it in the Dishwasher.

No just booked into the Merrion hotel for a week and ordered room service.

Might still have been an improvement tho :D

No just booked into the Merrion hotel for a week and ordered room service.

Order the ould Tug TV??? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Nope, my friends and I lived well within our means during the boom. Though to be honest that probably has more to do with being a poor college student at the time than anything else.

Knasher wrote: »
    Nope, my friends and I lived well within our means during the boom. Though to be honest that probably has more to do with being a poor college student at the time than anything else.

Are students who live above their means those that buy Heinz Beans or Spaghetti Hoops over Spar own brand beans :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Babalons wrote: »
    For that alone... thank you Boom. :)
    The boom has ended?

they've changed the spelling. . .it's b. . .u. . .b. . .b. . .l. . .e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Where they ever worth it. I'll die without a pot to p1ss in, but I had a good time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

People actually do that with fish and stuff. I'm not sure I'd have the nerve, knowing what goes into the dishwasher :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Yeah I know of more than a few although they weren't friends then and they still aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Not really,but the fella nextdoor sold his construction equipment rental business for way more then it was actually worth cos he saw the bubble was about to burst,though in fairness to him he threw a deadly retirement party for himself and invited everyone on our road to it,very rare thing in these parts of Clondalkin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

C'mon peeps - don't you know "we" "all" lost the run of ourselves!

Apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

liah wrote: »
    People actually do that with fish and stuff. I'm not sure I'd have the nerve, knowing what goes into the dishwasher :eek:

I'm not sure you're supposed to wash a load at the same time.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

I got a job which paid stupid money, availed myself of loads of cheap credit and blew it all on expensive restaurants, drugs and travel. Now Im living debt free and saving to go off on another round-the-world. Those who didnt fall into the property trap did quite well out of the whole thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Myself and my wife work in lowly paid but fairly secure jobs and built a tiny 3 bedroomed, 1 bathroomed bungalow on the lowest mortgage we possibly could. We didnt get extra for furniture, decorated it ourselves, did our own garden etc etc and we are planning a family (1 kid and one on the way)
    My work mate who is older than me, makes slightly less, who's 1 child has moved to college built a massive 6 bedroomed, 3 en suite two story mansion with landscaped gardens, the works. There is just her and her husband living in it. Did i mention 6 bddrooms???:eek:
    We are comfy and getting by.
    She is strapped and in arrears.
    I genuinely have no sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

theteal wrote: »
    they've changed the spelling. . .it's b. . .u. . .b. . .b. . .l. . .e
    Senna wrote: »
    We were in a boom time bubble only applies to house prices. If you are going to be pedantic about the use of a term get it right :rolleyes:

I didn't go crazy even though I earned over 100K a year for a few years and reduced my mortgage. Still don't own a car as I had/have no need. I lived below my means and still do and live very comfortably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Myself and my wife work in lowly paid but fairly secure jobs and built a tiny 3 bedroomed, 1 bathroomed bungalow on the lowest mortgage we possibly could. We didnt get extra for furniture, decorated it ourselves, did our own garden etc etc and we are planning a family (1 kid and one on the way)
    My work mate who is older than me, makes slightly less, who's 1 child has moved to college built a massive 6 bedroomed, 3 en suite two story mansion with landscaped gardens, the works. There is just her and her husband living in it. Did i mention 6 bddrooms???:eek:

These kind of scenarios is why I would object to a blanket Government pardon for people in arrears .Some took no holidays, were careful and frugal and paid the mortgage as a priority .Some didnt and are in trouble , so should we all help them out now ? I woudnt be happy to actually .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

No, I didn't live beyond my means, and I even saved some money as well. Now having said that, I did spend money on holidays and other stuff, but it was always stuff I could afford, because I saved up for it, instead of borrowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Senna wrote: »

Many knew we were in a bubble, my Dad included.

People gave him advice during the boom which is he had taken would have left him bankrupt come the recession. He knew the bubble would burst so didn't take it. He's now in a better position than a lot of people in his business.
    CiaranC wrote: »
    I got a job which paid stupid money, availed myself of loads of cheap credit and blew it all on expensive restaurants, drugs and travel. Now Im living debt free and saving to go off on another round-the-world. Those who didnt fall into the property trap did quite well out of the whole thing.

If you had a job that paid stupid money, why did you bother availing of cheap credit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Are you my brother that was our trip to Dublin every odd sunday.. Or to the airport to see the planes take off...

As a 8 year old it was awesome..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Vudgie

No sympathy? You actually appear to be almost taking pleasure in their circumstances.

People were idiots and spent way beyond their means but I still have sympathy for people under incredible strain trying to pay for their mistakes. The difference is the likes of your work mate will find it very difficult to walk away from their mistake.

You are in a better place than your work mate and you should be proud of that but having empathy for someone in arrears doesn't spoil what you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I once ate in Eddie Rockets.

I was out of control in those days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

I know plenty who did and who still maintain the same lifestyle. I can tell you one thing, there was no recession in Dublin airport on Sunday morning. The place was packed with football fans, mostly Liverpool, going over to watch games and the shops, bars etc were packed. The bar on the Ryanair flight took some hammering on the 7.45 LPL flight.

Dudess wrote: »
    C'mon peeps - don't you know "we" "all" lost the run of ourselves!

Apparently.

Is that the 'Royal we' you are referring to!
    I lived a very sensible life during the boom! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

afatbollix wrote: »
    .. Or to the airport to see the planes take off... As a 8 year old it was awesome..

They were the good old days. Used to be an outing for me as a kid too. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

I know 1 guy who took out a 30K loan to go to las vagas with his mates, for 1 long weekend of coke and hookers. he said he had a great time but still complains about not being able to pay the mounting interest it back despite still going out every other night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Vudgie wrote: »
    No sympathy? You actually appear to be almost taking pleasure in their circumstances.
    QUOTE]

Dont think thats fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

To my great disappointment, I can't think of any.

I would have liked nothing better than to have spent the morning anonymously laughing at my friends behind their backs on the net though.

I can throw in a few smug, self-aggrandizing platitudes about not being in debt or not having a mortage if it helps the thread along though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

there was no spending like idiots the gobment made it up to hatch and cover their plan to take over europe and the world we are in a no lose sitation we sink the world comes with us :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

During the recession? Yep. Dad had to get rid of his BMW and get like an alfa-Romeo or something which is apparently a good car though I haven't a clue. We were able to go on a three week tour of the east coast of America last summer though, but due to the recession. We really wanted to go to Australia but €2000 per person cop yourself on. Our house price decreased to like €700,000 and we had to fire the woman who cleans the house on Saturdays and nearly fired the gardener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Fbjm wrote: »
    During the recession? Yep. Dad had to get rid of his BMW and get like an alfa-Romeo or something which is apparently a good car though I haven't a clue. We were able to go on a three week tour of the east coast of America last summer though, but due to the recession. We really wanted to go to Australia but €2000 per person cop yourself on. Our house price decreased to like €700,000 and we had to fire the woman who cleans the house on Saturdays and nearly fired the gardener.

Jaysus, and do you have to clean the house yourselves now? That's pretty rough alright. You hear about the recession really affecting people, but your situation just brings the message home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

bigneacy wrote: »
    Jaysus, and do you have to clean the house yourselves now? That's pretty rough alright. You hear about the recession really affecting people, but your situation just brings the message home.

No I just do the hoovering it takes like five minutes mom does everything else. We still have Olympia over every now and again when things pile up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Are students who live above their means those that buy Heinz Beans or Spaghetti Hoops over Spar own brand beans :confused:

Not if they buy the Heinz beans in multipacks from Lidl

Spar you say ? No recession in your house :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Worked on contract in an online advertising company and the sales staff all went bonkers. The basic salary for a member of the team was €30K per annum but with bonuses most were taking home €90K+. I was told that you had to have a take home pay of €65K+ to meet the bare minimum sales targets and avoid getting sacked. I don't work in Sales, so I don't really understand how it worked.

The team was made up of young girls and guys under 25 who really lost the plot. Most had sports cars, convertible Mercs and the like and bought a house in Dublin 4 or thereabouts. The guys went to a private casino and/or strip club every Friday night. I remember speaking to one girl who would only shop for clothes in London, Paris and New York with the odd exception.

One payday she was down in the city centre for her lunch, popped into BT and ended up coming back with new pair of designer boots costing a cool €800. Nice place to work but it really typified the madness of the Celtic tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Anyone I know who worked as a tradesman seemed to be earning silly money and spending it hand to fist. 1000 euro per kid at xmas seemed normal to them.