Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Pats

• 15-05-2011 6:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

Hi, Im thinking of heading to St. Pats in September, and since im from Kerry, im clueless about the place. Can anyone tell me what the social life is like?, what the on-campus accomadation is like?, and the loction?(i.e is it close to other universities?):)
    Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Hi, Im thinking of heading to St. Pats in September, and since im from Kerry, im clueless about the place. Can anyone tell me what the social life is like?, what the on-campus accomadation is like?, and the loction?(i.e is it close to other universities?):)
    Cheers!
    Hello,

You'll love Pats. Social life is great craic, great nights out organized by the Students Union, great Clubs and Societies etc. People are really friendly and you'll find it harder not to make friends then you will to make them.

On-Campus accom is grand. Nothing spectacular, Bed, Desk, Wardrobe... thats pretty much it. You'll love it by the end of the year though. Location makes it worthwhile. Its literally 60 seconds walk to college reception. Roll out of bed 5mins before a lecture. Handy out. Great place to meet people as well. All the craic in 1st year is had on campus.

Location? Drumcondra has everything you need. Tesco across the Road. Bus stops right outside the college with plenty busses in and out of the place. Domino's, Chineese, Spar, Roma's (Chipper) all within walking distance. Its 5mins Bus to DCU, 15 min walk maybe. 10min bus to Town. 15mins to Trinity, bout 40mins with traffic to UCD. Pretty good all round.

And the course isn't half bad either. Picked Pats over Mary I myself. Delighted I did now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Omega28

I don't go to Pats but I live in the area and i know a few ppl that go to Pats and they speak highly of it, thats all I can really say about the college itself.

Regarding the area, Drumcondra is a great area, not far from the city center, you can walk or take the bus, normally I'd walk, take you about 20mins. As the previous poster said, there's restaurants, tesco's, pubs etc in the area. DCU isn't far, probably about 25 mins or so walk, depends how fast of a walker u are:D there's plenty of bedsits etc in the area going for around 500pm.

anymore questions on the area pls feel free to ask, I can't offer any input to the college though.

good luck:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 ConnieBarry

thanks a million for the help, Im definately leaning towards St Pats over Mary I,
    Really looking foward to going, and im glad to hear everyones mad for the banter, and is really friendly, makes it easier since im the only one going from around here,
    Is transport, and going out expensive up there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Going out really depends on where ya go. Big Tree and Quinns are generally Free (If ya get on the guestlist through Facebook). Town is usually €5 in with your Pats Student card.

Transport is alright. Bus into town is €1.65 which is alright. Coming home from town, you usually get with a group of people so it only ends up costing €2 or whatever. More expensive if you get lucky and have just the pair of ye in a taxi :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭DeadMoney

Pats location is so much nice than DCU even though it is only down the road. Makes huge difference to be situated right there in Drumcondra and the campus seems really nice. DCU on the other hand is located in the most depressing **** hole of a spot ever, not good for the old mental health in the winter. Enjoy college!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 ConnieBarry

thanks so much for all the help, really looking foward to the whole experience now!
    are they strict on ID up there since i wont be 18 until January, and i have no intentions of staying in until then!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 40047002

Hi Connie, I am hoping to be going to St Pat's next year too!! I was wondering if anyone has or knows anyone who has pictures of St Pat's accommodation. Just curious to know what it looks like!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭patmustard2

40047002 wrote: »
    Hi Connie, I am hoping to be going to St Pat's next year too!! I was wondering if anyone has or knows anyone who has pictures of St Pat's accommodation. Just curious to know what it looks like!! :D

Campus is very basic now but its grand. Its just a bed, desk, sink and wardrobe! Its the best option for first years by far so try and get it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭siobhanosaur

Most places will ID you on the door but they generally aren't too strict on what ID you have, find someone to borrow an ID off and you'll (usually) be grand :)

Campus is very basic now but its grand. Its just a bed, desk, sink and wardrobe! Its the best option for first years by far so try and get it!!

Yeah Im gonna try but my only concern is that there are no pictures on their website!! Does that mean it is very bad looking and they're ashamed to put any up?? That is probably/hopefully not the reason but I can't help but wonder :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

It's similar to dcu's campus accommodation apparently! Serious craic on campus aswell!! You'll not regret it! :)

Flip I can't wait to get back, the end of September can't come quick enough!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭fearbainne

New spot for us to discuss how great Pat's is - Primary Teacher Training

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 delaraghlassie

is there internet free in st pats campus??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

is there internet free in st pats campus??

Yep..you'd be stupid not to apply for it! =]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 delaraghlassie

how many people do you share the kitchen/bathroom with? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭leavingcert.

how many people do you share the kitchen/bathroom with? :)

Hey, i didnt go there but know someone who did, theres 8 rooms on a floor and theres two showers and two toilets on each floor, there's two kitchens in the whole house, so there is a lot sharing the kitchens.

Does anybody still want pictures, cause i happen to have a few?

Hey, i didnt go there but know someone who did, theres 8 rooms on a floor and theres two showers and two toilets on each floor, there's two kitchens in the whole house, so there is a lot sharing the kitchens.

Does anybody still want pictures, cause i happen to have a few?

I'd love to see some pictures :) but only if it's not too much hassle for you!!

ok ill try anyways :cool:

321.JPGAttachment not found.Attachment not found.Attachment not found.331.JPG

Cheers!! :) if I knew you I'd hug/kiss you :p I've been looking for pics for AGES because I couldn't make the open day. It's bigger than I expected!!

haha no problem :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 shanelad95

Is it true they are very strict on bringing tvs and stuff into your room?