Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it illegal to drive the gards mad ?

• 15-05-2011 3:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭

I was driving by a few gards sealing up manholes and boxes along the sides of roads last night in anticipation of the queen coming along , and I just thought, I know it would be an asshole thing to do but hypothetically if you went along in the middle of the night and just opened all the bolts and the like , left them beside the sign/ box/ whatever and did nothing else , would it be a crime, and if so what could they do to you ? cant think of it being a crime and may be a new trick for vandals over the coming days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

An eye for an eye.

Interfere with their manhole, they interfere with your manhole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

you are driving us mad whatever about the guards. Are they not on duty all night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I was driving by a few gards sealing up manholes and boxes along the sides of roads last night in anticipation of the queen coming

Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 TheBucks

surely criminal damage?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

You might be charged with "public nuisance" or something of that vein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

As far as I know they've all been spot welded, there's now gardaí stationed on the streets as well as 24 hour CCTV. So grinding open the shores could be criminal damage.

So go for it OP! Enjoy the **** storm that'l surround you in five seconds flat - gardaí, armed detectives, ERU, sum aul one and possibly a dog from the K-9 unit. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

they have dogs trained for this, you **** with the manholes they fuck with you

Dean0088 wrote: »
    ...possibly a dog from the K-9 unit. :D
    That one dog is probably the whole K-9 unit! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

cant think of it being a crime
    and may be a new trick for vandals over the coming days

Vandalism is a crime, Cartman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Biggins wrote: »
    That one dog is probably the whole K-9 unit! :pac:

No, but 28 dogs IS the whole unit. Not a huge number for 4.x million people. :rolleyes:

sdonn wrote: »
    No, but 28 dogs IS the whole unit. Not a huge number for 4.x million people. :rolleyes:
    Not enough to be honest.
    I would have them around the clock at every airport, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Dean0088 wrote: »
    As far as I know they've all been spot welded, there's now gardaí stationed on the streets as well as 24 hour CCTV. So grinding open the shores could be criminal damage.

So go for it OP! Enjoy the **** storm that'l surround you in five seconds flat - gardaí, armed detectives, ERU, sum aul one and possibly a dog from the K-9 unit. :D

that would make sense, to me it just looked like they were tightening the bolts and spraying them with yellow paint, loosening them and leaving yellow paint marks wouldnt be seen as vandalism in my book but just wondered what theyd do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

While I can see the comedy merit. Its not worth the hassle you would get, you could find yourself in custody for the duration of the Queens visit.

I was driving by a few gards sealing up manholes and boxes along the sides of roads last night in anticipation of the queen coming along , and I just thought, I know it would be an asshole thing to do but hypothetically if you went along in the middle of the night and just opened all the bolts and the like , left them beside the sign/ box/ whatever and did nothing else , would it be a crime, and if so what could they do to you ? cant think of it being a crime and may be a new trick for vandals over the coming days

Contact your local garda station and offer to go round and open all the manholes and boxes after the queen has gone. You will be doing something for the community. we will be proud of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

that would make sense, to me it just looked like they were tightening the bolts and spraying them with yellow paint, loosening them and leaving yellow paint marks wouldnt be seen as vandalism in my book but just wondered what theyd do

Unfortunately, the law doesn't always run according to 'your book'.

Caoimhín wrote: »
    While I can see the comedy merit. Its not worth the hassle you would get, you could find yourself in custody for the duration of the Queens visit.
    I think they could have to charge a person otherwise there would be plain cries of just "Internment".
    (Could be wrong)

Caoimhín wrote: »

suppose, to some of the hang around outside tescos on bmx crew that may be a bit like a holiday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

people are already goin round scraping the blue paint off just to annoy them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I think they could have to charge a person otherwise there would be plain cries of just "Interment".
    (Could be wrong)

Capitol punishment without charge would be a bit harsh alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

I think they could have to charge a person otherwise there would be plain cries of just "Interment".
    (Could be wrong)

Take a look at what happened to certain individuals during the royal wedding in England. Anybody thought as likely to cause "trouble" was pulled to one side and held for "conspiracy to cause public nuisance" until after the event. There's always a way to intern people, without calling it that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

people are already goin round scraping the blue paint off just to annoy them

Wánkers.

people are already goin round scraping the blue paint off just to annoy them :D

These people will be a lot more annoyed when they see the overtime bill.

same people giving out about guards being overpaid.

JohnathanM wrote: »
    Take a look at what happened to certain individuals during the royal wedding in England. Anybody thought as likely to cause "trouble" was pulled to one side and held for "conspiracy to cause public nuisance" until after the event. There's always a way to intern people, without calling it that.
    True.
    As the quote goes, a rose by any other name, is still a rose.
    (If it was George Bush, he'd call it something like "Rendition")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Of course it's a crime. For what reason would it not be deemed to be???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Not enough to be honest.
    I would have them around the clock at every airport, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

So you think that the K-9 units should be stationed 'around the clock at every airport, 24 hours a day, seven days a week'? Really? Why? What would justify this huge expense?

Degag wrote: »
    Of course it's a crime. For what reason would it not be deemed to be???

if it wasnt for a special reason (the queen coming over) , loosening and re-tightening a bolt on something sitting outside, such as a manhole would at most have a gard telling you to move along, its not damage, nobodys lost anything and the item youve 'interfered' with still serves its purpose

just wondering how far it would go above that with the queen coming over and it being a security threat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 kudos73

you'd be done for

1.Interferring with an on-going garda Operation,

so just for having a cheap laugh you'd be & not in any particular order:
    2.Locked up in mountjoy
    3.become a drug addict,
    4.lose your loved ones,
    5.turn to further crime,

Is it worth it?

(disclaimer: any of 2 to 5 may be coincidental)

Have a nice day!

if it wasnt for a special reason (the queen coming over) , loosening and re-tightening a bolt on something sitting outside, such as a manhole would at most have a gard telling you to move along, its not damage, nobodys lost anything and the item youve 'interfered' with still serves its purpose

just wondering how far it would go above that with the queen coming over and it being a security threat

I would be fairly certain you would be arrested and interviewed.

So you think that the K-9 units should be stationed 'around the clock at every airport, 24 hours a day, seven days a week'? Really? Why? What would justify this huge expense?
    Drug crime fighting.

I'm realistic. I know it couldn't happen exactly for the reason you mention - I do feel however they should be used at other locations a lot more when possible.
    Thats all. :)

kudos73 wrote: »
    you'd be done for

1.Interferring with an on-going garda Operation,

so just for having a cheap laugh you'd be & not in any particular order:
    2.Locked up in mountjoy
    3.become a drug addict,
    4.lose your loved ones,
    5.turn to further crime,

Is it worth it?

(disclaimer: any of 2 to 5 may be coincidental)

Have a nice day!

You missed the bit about being pounded in the arse, and being Big Bob's bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They should all surround the OP's house and take chunks out of his arse if he tries to leave.

JohnathanM wrote: »
    You missed the bit about being pounded in the arse, and being Big Bob's bitch.
    ...And you know about Big Bob how? :pac:

He knew him when he was just Bob.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    They should all surround the OP's house and take chunks out of his arse if he tries to leave.

pfft , id rather garda dogs compared to some other things that have waited outside my house

im no danger to the queen , im to busy being lazy or drunk to even bother with this, tis just a hypothetical situation

pfft , id rather garda dogs compared to some other things that have waited outside my house

im no danger to the queen , im to busy being lazy or drunk to even bother with this, tis just a hypothetical situation

we could be aiding and abetting you here.

Hondasam leaves thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Whether it would be illegal or not I don't, though I imagine so.

Regardless going out of your way to annoy the Gardai isn't the most intelligent thing to do tbh.

What will you possibly gain from doing so?

Whether it would be illegal or not I don't, though I imagine so.

Regardless going out of your way to annoy the Gardai isn't the most intelligent thing to do tbh.

What will you possibly gain from doing so?

theoretical lulz, its funny in the same way as leaving loud clocks , playdo and wires in a bag at the airport

can you post your travel arrangements here whenever you are going away.

we Don't want to be at the same Airport as you :pac:

grounded :D

You're probably more of a danger to yourself, and will probably fall into a manhole never to be seen again.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Drug crime fighting.

I'm realistic. I know it couldn't happen exactly for the reason you mention - I do feel however they should be used at other locations a lot more when possible.
    Thats all. :)

AFAIK customs dogs deal with the airport.

The garda K-9 unit is for searching houses, cars etc. maintain public order etc.

Also, I'm pretty sure that the riot squad have their own K-9 detachment. different breed of dog and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

To the Garda and MI5 monitoring this thread - hello:)

Hi yourself :)

By the third post on this thread, they'd already booked a room at the Guantanamo Hilton for Eric Cartman, and are now getting the extraordinary rendition kicked off. He'll be there by breakfast tomorrow.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    By the third post on this thread, they'd already booked a room at the Guantanamo Hilton for Eric Cartman, and are now getting the extraordinary rendition kicked off. He'll be there by breakfast tomorrow.

Hope Eric likes cock meat sandwiches.

"Jaysus mick, would ye look what this lads poshtin on boarrrds DOT ieehhee"
    "Pip Pip Reganold , i think this chap may be a spot of bother to us, let us inform the local constabulary after a spot of tea and a few more wickets"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

I can just see it now;
    Garda: Give us back the manhole bolts or I'll rape you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Not enough to be honest.

Not to further push my off-topicness, but Revenue Customs have their own bomb dogs, cash dogs, drugs dogs etc on duty at the airports and ports all the time too. Dublin (and I'm sure Cork and Shannon too) Airport Police also have a dog unit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Id imagine the Gards are on edge at the minute and that anyone fecking about would be seen as a possible terrorist.

You would enjoy a wee stay at her Majestys pleasure:pac:,have your house searched and your background would be fully delved into.Not to mention future travel plans would be tricky for you.

Sure if all of that seems worth it,go fiddle with the nuts:pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

AH answer
    they could do you for impersonating a member of the general public :p

You can get done for wasting police time

You could also get done for loitering.

If you actually started work they could probably get you on health and safety or not having a valid C4 cert (imagine being handed to The Revenue and hearing the words "sure make an example of yer man now " :eek: )

If you were an avarage Irish motorist they could easily do you for loads of driving offences if they were pushed.

There are lots of goodies in the OFFENCES AGAINST THE STATE ACT and it's ammendments, enough to make you reconsider giving lip to a guard - if they accuse you of being in a heretofore unknown terrorist organisation , judges will give them them 24hours extensions for ages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Im just watching Diehard 4.0 at the minute.

I think you may be on the same wavelength as the criminal mastermind in front of me.

You guys are just caraaazy!