Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leicester Tigers vs. Northampton (Sky Sports 1)

• 14-05-2011 3:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Half -time:
    Leicester 3 - 0 Northampton

Interesting first half, the defense from both sides has been so good its hard for either team to get over the try line. Just one penalty from Flood.

Manu Tuilagi should have been given a red card a late and off-the-ball hit and then a haymaker of a punch on Ashton, insted the lines-man said they should both get yellows, even though Ashton never even threw a punch :eek:
    He will be cited and will prob get a very long ban, and you willl agree after you see the punch for yourself.

Nearly start of second half now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

More handbags in the second half please. Need the northampton players to get beat up for the final next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

ongarite wrote: »
    More handbags in the second half please. Need the northampton players to get beat up for the final next week.

That Tuilagi punch was no handbags, Ashton did well to stay steady on his feet.

Having seen it on replay, surprised Tigers put him back on tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

3-3 now, I'm hoping for ET

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

G'wan the Saints!
    Shocking punches from Tuilagi, no place for it whatsoever.

Leicster have to bring off Castro, he has given away four penalties in the scrum so far

esit cockerill obviously agrees with me, castro off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Waesfjord

Leicster have to bring off Castro, he has given away four penalties in the scrum so far

didn't release Sky Sports commentators post on here too :D;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

ongarite wrote: »

It was a disgraceful act on a sports field,a 12 month ban wouldnt be out of order.

No cutting edge from Northampton at all in this game. If Leinster can keep their midfield quiet I would be very confident for next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Score?

durkadurka wrote: »
    Score?

6-3 to Leicester after 60mins

brian1976 wrote: »
    didn't release Sky Sports commentators post on here too :D;):p
    I've my own count going :D

I don't pay attention to commentators usually when a prop gives away 4 penalties I tend to call for him to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

durkadurka wrote: »
    Score?

6-3 to tigers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

That pass was flat! And Ashton was one-on-one with the full back.

Shocker of a miss from Flood.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Please please please Extra Time!

Leicester's only route to try line seems to be through the Northampton pack

Day down receiving treatment, he is back up now but hobbling

Day had to come off for sorenson

Day down receiving treatment, he is back up now but hobbling

Day has been subbed.

Yesssss.
    A Tualigi try, game over it'd seem...

Great try for Leicester. All over now..

Leicester try at last. Northampton probably finished now, although 9mins left, 8 points down (conversion to come)

wixfjord wrote: »
    Yesssss.
    A Tualigi try, game over it'd seem...
    I guess we won't be seeing ET

11-3

Try for Tuilagi, terrible tackling leading up to it
    11-3 now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Try for Tuilagi, terrible tackling leading up to it
    11-3 now.

Won't be the first or the last man Tuilagi runs over to be fair.

Game over.
    Leicester 11 - 3 Northhampton.

I'm not seeing anything to fear from Northampton in this game for Leinster.
    They were on the back foot the 2nd half with no invention or line breaks at all.
    Their line-out can be disrupted and we can have parity in the scrum.

Ah shíte.
    Ah well, c'mon Northampton on Saturday!:D

baz2009 wrote: »
    Ah shíte.
    Ah well, c'mon Northampton on Saturday!:D

Your English eh! Didnt know that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Just saw the punch on Youtube. Jesus, it was vicious, he'll get a very very long ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Here is the Tuilagi incident for anyone who didn't see it, Shocking decision not to send him off.Whoever said it was handbags needs their head examined.
    quality not the best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

This thread has been going the whole time?! What the hell was I doing in the Leinster thread... :o

Anyway, Northampton will have felt every minute of that. Awful display of rugby and the lack of creativity was clear for all to see.
    Leicester: Youngs ---> Flood ---> Tuilagi/Tuilagi ---> recycle
    Northampton: Dickson ---> Myler ---> Downey/Clark ---> recycle

The lack of depth for N'hampton was worrying. They had nothing to introduce. Changed their locks after 71 minutes and their outhalf with about 4 minutes left. No impact players, no change on the game. Gulf between their starting players and bench. They could be out there still and not come close to scoring a try. Did Northampton get into the Leicester 22 in the second half?

The talking point of the game will be the Tuilagi punches but Saints, ironically, are no saints themselves. They put in several late hits trying to rough Leicester up and were well up for a bit of niggle. Not overly impressed with Downey throwing himself to the ground also trying to reverse a penalty.

If Ross can lock his side and we can keep Lawes away from our ball I don't see why we shouldn't be lifting a trophy next week on today's basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

GerM wrote: »
    Anyway, Northampton will have felt every minute of that. Awful display of rugby and the lack of creativity was clear for all to see.

Truely was a really poor quality game of rugby. Bad advertisement for the English game as a whole i think. The core group of the English national team is made up of players from both of those teams and to see the game pan out the way it did was really dissapointing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

That Tuilagi incident is absolutely shocking. Firstly, it was an illegal tackle with the ball nowhere in sight, which he's been doing all season, but that level of aggression and violence is sickening. I'm speechless with rage.

Whatever ban he gets won't be long enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭David900

Is it just me or have all the videos of the punch been taken down off youtube already?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

(if they are going to be consistent tuilagi should get off without a ban.
    o brien didnt get banned.
    tuilagi's only crime is his punch was actually a good one.
    are we banning people based on intent, whether they connected, or how well they connected)

devils advocate

wixfjord wrote: »
    Your English eh! Didnt know that!

Mother's from Northampton, I'm from Munster. What d'ya expect?:P

are we banning people based on intent, whether they connected, or how well they connected)

devils advocate

Tuilagi hit him 3 times with no retaliation or self defence from Ashton. It's a disgrace if he doesn't get banned.

• That was sick. Shouldn't be let near a pitch again imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Dr.Evil

I did laugh when Ashton got yellowcarded, essentially just for taking three punches. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Devil's advocate or not, there's absolutely no way that Tuilagi's and O'Brien's incident are consistent with one another. One was a player being held back off the ball and prevented from tackling a try scorer who appealed to the ref and lashed out unsighted once his appeals were not heard. The other was an assault where the player, who instigated the incident himself with a high tackle off the ball, walked towards the recipient and landed three clear punches to his face. SOB's incident was consistent with what happens on a rugby pitch. Tuilagi's incident was consistent with what happens in a prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

devils advocate

O'Brien swung his fist at Nyanga after being provoked.

Manu got to his feet, threw 2 initial punches, then quite clearly went for a knock-out right hand swing.

O'Brien's was so much less malicious that it's comical you even try to compare the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Wonder will Flood get cited for his punch too, though Hartley did deserve it so fair play to him.
    The above is despicable though, I'm not a huge fan of any of the Tuilagis to be honest especially as Manu's being acting the maggot a few times this season already as someone said before.
    Sky once again trying to deflect any action talking about the "manly" embrace between Ashton and him at the end.

Experiencing a tight game like this might be an advantage to Northampton but Leinster should still have enough (more variety especially) to put them away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

GerM wrote: »
    This thread has been going the whole time?! What the hell was I doing in the Leinster thread... :o

Leicester: Youngs ---> Flood ---> Tuilagi/Tuilagi ---> recycle
    Northampton: Dickson ---> Myler ---> Downey/Clark ---> recycle

The lack of depth for N'hampton was worrying. They had nothing to introduce. Changed their locks after 71 minutes and their outhalf with about 4 minutes left. No impact players, no change on the game. Gulf between their starting players and bench. They could be out there still and not come close to scoring a try. Did Northampton get into the Leicester 22 in the second half?

The talking point of the game will be the Tuilagi punches but Saints, ironically, are no saints themselves. They put in several late hits trying to rough Leicester up and were well up for a bit of niggle. Not overly impressed with Downey throwing himself to the ground also trying to reverse a penalty.

If Ross can lock his side and we can keep Lawes away from our ball I don't see why we shouldn't be lifting a trophy next week on today's basis.

Hate to tempt fate but totally agree with this. Northampton are predictable and just dont play with the same intensity as Leinster. Expect to see a whirlwind start from Leinster next saturday and Northampton to try and slow the game down as much as possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Every single video on youtube has been taken down, feck it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Dr.Evil wrote: »
    I did laugh when Ashton got yellowcarded, essentially just for taking three punches. :p

I thought you were taking the p!ss so I checked the match report (didn't see the game). Ashton got a yellow, and so did Tuilagi! How the fock did the ref/touch judge figure that out? Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Dr.Evil wrote: »

Hate to see it. If he'd went down it probably would have been just a red. All it does is encourage diving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Every single video on youtube has been taken down, feck it!

heres one, quck before it gets taken down!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

I thought you were taking the p!ss so I checked the match report (didn't see the game). Ashton got a yellow, and so did Tuilagi! How the fock did the ref/touch judge figure that out? Bizarre.

Touch judge said they both threw punches and both connected but Tuilagi threw first one, so yellow for both, peno to Leicester. Crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

That is absolutely disgusting. Not even Ashton deserves that ;)

Seriously though, Tuilagi deserves a very, very long ban for that.