Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are you hoping for/expecting from Queen's visit?

• 14-05-2011 1:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭

Here is her itinerary:
    TUESDAY, MAY 17th

Arrival at Casement Aerodrome
    Meeting President and Dr McAleese at Áras an Uachtaráin
    Wreath-laying ceremony at the Garden of Remembrance
    Trip to view Book of Kells at TCD
    WEDNESDAY, MAY 18th
    “Windows” tour of Dublin at the Guinness Storehouse
    Greeted by the Taoiseach, Enda Kenny, at Government Buildings
    Wreath-laying ceremony at the Irish National War Memorial Garden, Islandbridge
    Visit to Croke Park
    State dinner at Dublin Castle
    THURSDAY, MAY 19th
    Visit to National Stud Kildare
    The Duke of Edinburgh wil lattend a reception at Farmleigh House with members of Gaisce – the President’s award
    A celebration of Queen’s visit at the Convention Centre Dublin
    FRIDAY, MAY 20th
    Tour of St Patrick’s Rock, Cashel
    Visit to English Market in Cork
    Visit to at Tyndall National Institute, Cork
    Departure from Cork airport

Personally:
    • I'm expecting a lot of argy bargy between Gardaí and protestors.
    • I'm half expecting an apology or clear acknowledgement of Irish fallen to British forces (because of Croke Park/Garden of Remembrance) - I'd be very disappointed if there wasn't.
    • Anywhere she goes will be like the Green Zone of Baghdad. It will be a joke of a visit in a way really. Any welcome will be very tempered by any security/security threats and protestors.
    • There will be a lot of arse licking.
    • Media (esp. UTV) will present this as something absolutely wonderful - everything smells of roses apart from the scum that don't agree(even moderate good Republican opponents like myself)... Sky News will have her every move (including her scheduled visits to the jacks filmed from a helicopter). RTé will try make it acceptable by having Mary Kennedy do the commentary and throw a few words as Gaeilge in here and there...
    I can't wait 'til it's over and done with...

Oh yeah, and Cameron will be over to give some cringy (something like 'I was on the mall for Diana and Charles' wedding) speech about how he loves nothing more than Guinness Stew on March 17th or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Knight990

As welcome as it would be, I don't think Big E will be acknowledging the Irish that have fallen to British forces over the years. Not sure why exactly, just a feeling. That said, I am more than prepared to be surprised.

I can see a mid-sized protest forming, no question, but it'll definitely be corralled by the Gardai who will be taking absolutely no crap from anyone, anywhere.

Basically, I think it'll go from peaceful protest to mildly boisterous protest.

Personally speaking, i'd hope she'd make a mention of Bloody Sunday while she's at Croker, but again I don't see it happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

For what it is worth, (possibly very little coming from a woman of her diminshed position) there will probably be some broad apology to satisfy the nationalists. It ought to satisfy the ever-important hunger for symbolic meaning that we seem to crave!

I would also expect some trouble from dissidents, who, owing to the rather 'new' nature of their awakened campaign, remain difficult for the security forces to identify.

I would imagine that the target of their trouble is not this rather harmless old biddy herself, but those who would go out onto the streets to welcome her. Personally, I would welcome the Garda decision to keep the public away from the QE2 on her state visit - that if you read between the lines, is probably every bit as much about protecting the public as about protecting the old dear herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Hoping for a peaceful event where nothing stupid happens.

Expecting? Some retard to do something stupid, whether it's a dissident attempt on her or some fool to throw something at her so the British tabloids can launch a media shítstorm on Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

An apology.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Soldie

Above all, I hope the visit is a peaceful one. A severe incident would do untold damage to Ireland in countless ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Soldie wrote: »
    Above all, I hope the visit is a peaceful one. A serve incident would do untold damage to Ireland in countless ways.

That is the ironic thing isn't it... those who consider themselves to be the most nationalist are also the ones most likely to cause trouble. Trouble which will be very bad for this countries reputation, the very country which they supposedly love so much. Irony is not their friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I am expecting that after all the media and else where hype surrounding the visit,That when it is over we be all saying is that it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

She would then to be clear to who she remembers. The old IRA or the PIRA. If the PIRA too, then she would need to remember the Ulster volunteers in her speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

KeithAFC wrote: »
    If the PIRA too, then she would need to remember the Ulster volunteers in her speech.
    The PIRA killed her friend and cousin, Mountbatten, the idea of her 'remembering' them (whatever that means) is a little far fetched to say the least. Sinn Fein will be lucky to get a look-in!

Having said that, a broader apology is likely, but one which is largely historical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭alan85

Whatever about a broad historical apology or what groups she includes, Croke Park most definitely deserves an unreserved apology. That was just barbaric!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Is Philip coming?
    I hope he says something funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,980 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Jim236 wrote: »
    An apology.
    What for? Loads of nasty things have been done in our name by IRA men over there (murdering kids in Warrington etc.) and the brits don't expect McAleese to apologise when she visits. It's time this history between us was let rest.

Some people are actually looking forward to seeing her, my old mum included. My mother lived in London in here late teens, early twenties and saw the queen a few times and wants to see her again after 45 odd years. There would be a fair number of people (especially women) of my mother's generation who like the queen. I want my mum to be able to go in to town and gawp at QEII if she so desires without some Celtic shirt wearing scummer from the flats throwing a paving stone at her (my mother's!) head (probably as a distraction so he can loot Schuh). Not too much to ask.

People have a right to peaceful, dignified protest if it genuinely annoys them that QEII is visiting. That's fine. Getting rowdy is absolutely not, so I just hope it is a quiet affair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Lustrum

I hope the Gardaí go to town on the aforementioned Celtic jersey wearing scummers - anyone looks at you sideways, baton to the head.

Éirigí and the likes of them embarrass me as a human being, never mind an Irishman.

I hope it all goes swimmingly, she enjoys it and we can all go back to living our lives without the constant threads about the visit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

alan85 wrote: »
    Here is her itinerary:

Personally:
    • I'm expecting a lot of argy bargy between Gardaí and protestors.
    • I'm half expecting an apology or clear acknowledgement of Irish fallen to British forces (because of Croke Park/Garden of Remembrance) - I'd be very disappointed if there wasn't.
    • Anywhere she goes will be like the Green Zone of Baghdad. It will be a joke of a visit in a way really. Any welcome will be very tempered by any security/security threats and protestors.
    • There will be a lot of arse licking.
    • Media (esp. UTV) will present this as something absolutely wonderful - everything smells of roses apart from the scum that don't agree(even moderate good Republican opponents like myself)... Sky News will have her every move (including her scheduled visits to the jacks filmed from a helicopter). RTé will try make it acceptable by having Mary Kenny do the commentary and throw a few words as Gaeilge in here and there...
    I can't wait 'til it's over and done with...

Oh yeah, and Cameron will be over to give some cringy (something like 'I was on the mall for Diana and Charles' wedding) speech about how he loves nothing more than Guinness Stew on March 17th or something...

eoghan harris will compalin in the sindo ( the following sunday ) about not having been invited on to RTE to offer his opinion on what in his view, is the proudest moment in the history of the state and how he is sad that conor cruise o brien is not alive to see it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭alan85

What numpty decided next week it would be good to have the largest security operation in the State's history along with 25,000 Portugese over trying to make a football match all in the same vicinity?! She'll be at Dublin Castle at the time...

Madness!

Lustrum wrote: »
    Éirigí and the likes of them embarrass me as a human being, never mind an Irishman.

Take a look at the 32CSM websites and have a good laugh. Campaigns for political status for the "Republican POWs" and other such hilarious pages. Embarrassing group of people to say the least.
    meglome wrote: »
    That is the ironic thing isn't it... those who consider themselves to be the most nationalist are also the ones most likely to cause trouble. Trouble which will be very bad for this countries reputation, the very country which they supposedly love so much. Irony is not their friend.

Indeed, people who claim to love this country to the core and say their Irishmen through and through. Yet many of them will have no problem advocating an attack on her whether it be big or small, ultimately causing serious damage to Ireland both financially and it's image abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Expecting anger and trouble chaos.

Hoping for nothing,what can a doddery auld granny give to Ireland lol

Predator_ wrote: »
    West brits like yourself embarrass me. Real Irishmen who will protest this visit are not scummers, the real scummers are the clowns who will cheers this woman on with a miniature butchers apron flags while my bothers in the north are still under foreign occupation.

I want to see a United Ireland and all that, but this "foreign occupation" crap really irritates me, it shows a basic lack of knowledge for the history of the country you apparently love. Various treaties and agreements from the 1921 Anglo-Irish treaty to the 1998 Good Friday Agreement, both of which were democratically supported have in essence agreed on the Republic / Northen borders and thus recognized the 2 as separate countries. Do you not think it's a bit idiotic rattling off the old "foreign occupation" line when the majority of Ireland has agreed to the respective borders and the fact that 2 separate countries will exist throughout our history?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

RMD wrote: »
    I want to see a United Ireland and all that, but this "foreign occupation" crap really irritates me, it shows a basic lack of knowledge for the history of the country you apparently love. Various treaties and agreements from the 1921 Anglo-Irish treaty to the 1998 Good Friday Agreement, both of which were democratically supported have in essence agreed on the Republic / Northen borders and thus recognized the 2 as separate countries. Do you not think it's a bit idiotic rattling off the old "foreign occupation" line when the majority of Ireland has agreed to the respective borders and the fact that 2 separate countries will exist throughout our history?

Wrong it was given under the threat of war, loyalists shipped in weapons and threatened armed revolt and many deaths if they didnt get their way.
    No vote there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

RMD wrote: »

Nonsense. The 1921 treaty was a gun put to the head of the Irish people, if they didnt agree then the evil fascist army promosed total war. The GFA was about peace. Neither asked directly the question on the 6 counties, if it was then we would have a United Ireland, everyone knows that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Queens visit? Which queen? Denmark? Is one Queen more important than another?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

A day off work. Our street is closed anyway for her leisurely jaunt down it so all we need is some security alert or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

caseyann wrote: »
    Expecting anger and trouble chaos.

Hoping for nothing,what can a doddery auld granny give to Ireland lol
    Have you got a doddery old granny? Do tell - we can have a cheap laugh at her expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

That it'll be called off or no one will turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

later10 wrote: »
    Having said that, a broader apology is likely, but one which is largely historical.

She should give us back all them spuds they stole..... ceremonially hand over a bag of kerrs pinks at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

At this stage I'm hoping that someone tests her reflexes with a shoe a la george dubya bush in iraq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

I'm hoping Playstation will be back up and working

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

murphaph wrote: »
    What for? Loads of nasty things have been done in our name by IRA men over there (murdering kids in Warrington etc.) and the brits don't expect McAleese to apologise when she visits. It's time this history between us was let rest. .

The British Army killed kids too during the Troubles. The IRA were not representative of the Irish people, the British Army are representative of the British people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

An apology for the past,

Failing that a clear message she is not welcome. ( with hopefully few or no people getting hurt)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

Nothing will happen.The Irish talk a lot of shyt in the pub but nothing ever happens.
    She will visit,she will have a nice time,the Police will be bored,she will go home,finished.
    Taxpayer coughs up about 40 million and the world quickly forgets about Ireland and taxpayer pays off the debt for several more years,what a ****hole.
    FG/Lab swan around patting themselves on the back for a job well done.Irish people moan but do absolutely nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

I am hoping that it will lash rain for the duration of the visit but I expect that rain will develop along the west coast on Monday night, and will persist through the night. Tuesday will be a cloudy day for much of the country with the rain in the west spreading countrywide, but amounts will tend to be small. Feeling mild with highs of 13 to 17 degrees in moderate to fresh westerly winds. Another band of rain will cross the country on Tuesday night and will be followed by showers on Wednesday with some brighter spells at times. Becoming noticeably cooler on Wednesday with highs of only 10 to 14 degrees in fresh westerly winds. A similar picture on Thursday with further showers and heavier rain in the north of the country. Staying fresh with highest temperatures of 10 to 14 degrees. The nights will be cold on Wednesday and Thursday with lows of 5 to 8 degrees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

I am hoping that it will lash rain for the duration of the visit...
    I'm hoping for good clear weather; lots of nice TV pictures of a friendly visit going off peacefully, and hopefully resulting in an increase in our tourist numbers from the UK over the next couple of years.

I can't say what I expect from the weather, but I do expect some peaceful protests and some not so peaceful ones that will quickly be put down by the Gardai.

After she's gone people will wonder what all the fuss was about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I'll take some land and a title from her no bother. Some household staff would go down well also, especially the French maid variety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 CalmDown...

I really hope nothing happens her. It would do so much damage and I can see some bored unemployed young men f*cking us all over to prove a point. I'll be staying well away from the city those days anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

I would imagine the ammount of bomb threats will significantly increase from tomm on to disrupt her schedule

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

That she announces the final stage of the British withdrawal from Ireland which began on 6 December 1922, because she appreciates that, no matter what they say out of politeness, the Irish can't really "leave the past in the past" while the family rapist still occupies one of the rooms in the family home.

Actions always speak louder than words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Here is her itinerary:

If the apology or expression of regret doesn't come then it was a total waste of time and money imo.

I hope that Mrs Windsor's advisors tell her to bring an apology for past injustices so we can move forward as a people and give those ****ing droolers who killed Ronan Kerr less to be agrieved about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

The 2 men who killed her relations and their boat boy when they were on holidays here in '79 would go and shake hands / say sorry to this 85 year old visiting tourist ( who was invited here by OUR president ), and we all live happily evermore. I'm also hoping her government will lend us another 6 billion later this year, the 6 billion they lent us last November will not last forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

When I heard that visiting Croke Park was on the agenda and then it's past was highlighted by the BBC during the rugby, it got me thinking that maybe she is going to say something conciliatory at the venue?

What are the bets? I reckon quite good!

gigino wrote: »
    I'm also hoping her government will lend us another 6 billion later this year, the 6 billion they lent us last November will not last forever.

I'm hoping they won't, because as a taxpayer I don't fancy having to pay for the losses of their private financial institutions in this state. Oh, wait, and you thought the British were giving the Irish state that money just to help the Irish? :rolleyes:

Not much will happen UNLESS a dissident or a few are actually on the ground and directing a riot and then it could get bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

The majority of the population will be indifferent to the visit.
    Some will be mildly annoyed at the inconvenience that this trip will cause (traffic disruption, security checks).
    There will be a small and vocal minority who'll vigourously oppose the visit and will protest and may cause trouble.

I hope the visit passes off quickly and without interference.
    And that we can get back to our recession asap :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

Personally I think its a disgrace known UDA members have been invited by the Irish President...:mad:

All this crap from her is just inviting trouble. She really is insufferable, and as much as I detest FF, I would take any lackey of theirs in the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Knight990

There'll be some nice pictures in the newspapers and we'll all go back to recessioning-it-up. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

The message must be she is not welcome, and even more so the UDA are not welcome. The UDA have no business in this event.

There should have been a referendum and rightly it would have been rejected if we had a choice.

FG/FF/Mary Mac, detest them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I reckon SF will be giving very direct instructions to it's members not to show themselves up imo.

SF's electoral popularity has grown since it softened its militancy and will be aware that votes and credibility will be lost if SF organised demonstrations go AWOL.

It's not a provocative 'love Ulster' 'parade'.

It's an invitation by a constitutional republic to the head of state of a former colonial occupier in order that relations be normalised for the benefit of both our peoples.

This time, for the first time, the British are here by invitation.

I reckon SF will be giving very direct instructions to it's members not to show themselves up imo.

SF's electoral popularity has grown since it softened its militancy and will be aware that votes and credibility will be lost if SF organised demonstrations go AWOL.

It's not a provocative 'love Ulster' 'parade'.

It's an invitation by a constitutional republic to the head of state of a former colonial occupier in order that relations be normalised for the benefit of both our peoples.

Well it was an Irish person who invited the English over first.

Its as provocative.

UDA members and nutjobs like Willie Frazer in attendance with his followers. No doubt Jim Allister will make an appearance. All bigoted criminals.

The Queen is one thing, these other nutjobs can stay the feck away.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Well it was an Irish person who invited the English over first.
    Northern Irish.

And an embarrassment of a president imo.

Ahem. I wonder what Diarmaid Mac Murchadha has to say about that. Don't let them get too comfortable.