Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you a twin?

• 14-05-2011 9:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭

Now with jedward getting in to the eurovision, and when people find out I'm a twin, everyone seems to think the whole twin thing is really interesting.

Well boardies, is anyone here a twin? if yeah how do you find it? do you have any twin stories?

I'll start with mine,

Me and my twin bro cheated for our German oral exams, he was always crap at German so I did both of ours.
    I was first to do the test alphabetically (by first name) so after I did mine, I went into the bathroom and shaved my head, since that was the only difference between us.

I was a little nervous at the start in case she found out, but once the coversation got going, I could tell she just couldn't give a sh*t!!! She asked the EXACT same questions and all!!!!
    We both ended up getting B's:D

He owes me one!!!:mad:

Are you a twin 212 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    17% 37 votes
    I'm a triplet, so ha!
    64% 136 votes
    hmm, interesting topic...oh wait, NO IT'S NOT!!!!!!
    2% 5 votes
    Who the fu*k are Jedward?
    16% 34 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

pretty sure they didnt win yet dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Doolee

Yeah I've got a twin sister!

Never had the guts to do something like your trick. As teenagers we were going out with two friends and we decided each of us would go over to the other ones boyfriend when we were meeting up with them in town. They didnt cop for a bit, until we said it...which was kind of crap actully. You'd think your boyfriend would like you for you!!! :) Im always a bit aprehensive even now of introducing a guy to her, just in case and i always watch his reaction verrry closely.

I just dont see it all myself though, the whole, yer soooo alike thing. I know we are I suppose but i only realised what people were talking about when I met twins the same age as me in australia and we became friends. I had come without my twin, but spending time with these girls, hearing how there voices were really alike, and their mannerisms, and how much time they would spend together, and even I remember one saying, I'm just popping out to the shop for a sec, and the other saying yeah I'll come with you. We'd have done and do exactly the same.

People always say to us, I know yer different I just dont know which is which, and I understood for the first time what they ment after meeting those girls. Though I always make a point of knowing twins names when I meet them from the get go.!

Sure theres loads of stories. But anyway.

Jay do you two get on? or do ye do much together? Do you find you have changed alot since growing up or how do ye deal with eachothers differences...if you know what I mean. ?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Me and my brother are identical twins. I went looking for him one day, had a bad feeling, couldn't say why. He'd been hit by a car. Smashed his leg, but ok in the end.

We've also turned up to family outings in nearly the same clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

I have an evil twin. Never managed to track him down though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

My best friends are twins. Dont look anything alike though, and couldnt be more different from eachother in personality. I actually didnt even believe they were sisters when we went to school together, it was only when I went back to their house with one and saw the other there that I finally believed them! :o

They get on brilliantly, but also fight like crazy, same as any other siblings I suppose. They would always have eachothers back at the end of the day and get the twin-thing sense when something is wrong with the other if they're apart. Always freaked me out a bit tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Jay1989 wrote: »
    I was a little nervous at the start in case she found out, but once the coversation got going, I could tell she just couldn't give a sh*t!!! She asked the EXACT same questions and all!!!!

That story would have been way cooler if it ended with both of ye getting BJ's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

I have a twin sister and I'm a guy. We do look pretty alike I suppose. We get on but half the ****ing time when I say anything to her she acts like I've said nothing, makes me want to punch her. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Jay1989 wrote: »
    Now with jedward getting in to the eurovision, and when people find out I'm a twin, everyone seems to think the whole twin thing is really interesting.

Well boardies, is anyone here a twin? if yeah how do you find it? do you have any twin stories?

I'll start with mine,

Me and my twin bro cheated for our German oral exams, he was always crap at German so I did both of ours.
    I was first to do the test alphabetically (by first name) so after I did mine, I went into the bathroom and shaved my head, since that was the only difference between us.

Im sure if you ask nicely he'll give you one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭m-a-i-

I have an identical twin sister. No mad stories except in college a mature student in her class saw me and started asking me a ton of questions about choosing a particular subject. I told her I was her twin and she started yelling at me saying that she didn't believe me and it was a typical to play tricks on mature students...
    I have been done for plagirisim in my final year thesis as well when my lecturer found my twin hanging out with a guy a few years ahead of me doing phd...I promptly made my lecturer aware that I had a twin
    A few years ago I was driving to the shops with my mum when I just started bursting crying for no reason. I found out later that she had been in an accident in france but she was fine except for bumps and bruises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

m-a-i- wrote: »
    I have been done for plagirisim in my final year thesis as well when my lecturer found my twin hanging out with a guy a few years ahead of me doing phd...I promptly made my lecturer aware that I had a twin

You were done for plagiarism because the lecturer found you (well he or she thought it was you) hanging out with a guy doing a phd :confused:

Surely they needed proof of plagiarism to "do you for plagiarism" :confused:

This "story" makes no sense to me whatsoever.

Please explain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My brothers are twins, they look nothing alike so no interesting switcharoo stories here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Yeah I'm a twin.

Once got in trouble by a teacher in first year. Just walked up to me and started yelling about how he'd told me five seconds ago to stay in the class etc etc... I was like WTF!!

Then I copped and told him it must have been my twin.Few other stories of people mistaking me for him etc...

We hang out a fair bit and get on. But have separate lives.

And no, if he gets a kick in the balls I won't feel it. ... we are telepathic though! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Im a twin but my sister is the evil one. She doesnt talk to half the family including me. Apparently we're all cnuts. She doesn't realise that she is the common denominator in many friendships and relationships failing within a short period of time. We'd have arguements just like any other siblings but she'd want ya to lick her boots and worship her for an apology without taking any consideration where she went wrong. Nothing I can do. There is people like that who holds grudges and isolates themselves away from others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

:) I have a brother & sister who are twins,but they are like chalk & cheese with one being redhead and the other very sallow.actually I look more like the sallow one then the twin :o;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

I don't have a genetic twin, but I met my look-a-like in Berlin a couple of years ago. Some of the lads started taking pictures of me and him. The poor fella hadn't a clue what was going on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

I'm not voting until I see atari jaguar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

Dj Stiggie wrote: »
    I don't have a genetic twin, but I met my look-a-like in Berlin a couple of years ago. Some of the lads started taking pictures of me and him. The poor fella hadn't a clue what was going on

you mean he couldn't see the resamblance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I've an identical twin but as we got older we looked less like each other. Turns out everyone thinks i'm an ignorant bastard as friends always see "me" in Dublin and apparently "I" ignore the sh1te out of them.

I must have to say you do get an awful lot of craic out from being a twin. I was in the city a few months back and walking by a cafe, some guy at the window started waving like mad. I waved back and continued on. Then I copped on he must know my sister. So I doubled back, went in for a tea, and asked him out for a drink that night pretending to be my sister. Of course I never turned up and I dont know his name. Bad b1tch my sister is standing him up.

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I must have to say you do get an awful lot of craic out from being a twin. I was in the city a few months back and walking by a cafe, some guy at the window started waving like mad. I waved back and continued on. Then I copped on he must know my sister. So I doubled back, went in for a tea, and asked him out for a drink that night pretending to be my sister. Of course I never turned up and I dont know his name. Bad b1tch my sister is standing him up.

And you said your twin was evil :confused:

amdublin wrote: »
    And you said your twin was evil :confused:

I never did anything like that before and no thought went into it. It was all on impulse.

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I never did anything like that before and no thought went into it. It was all on impulse.

Not a very nice impulse was it :confused:

The poor fella :mad:

Not a very nice impulse was it :confused:

The poor fella :mad:

I didnt really arrange a date though. I told him that I was going to be in such a pub with the girls if he wanted to meet for a drink. And sure maybe he didnt even turn up himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

milehip1 wrote: »
    you mean he couldn't see the resamblance?

Sort of, I was on a class trip at the time, and none of us explained to him in German what was going on. Then my teacher sat down and had a chat with him. I don't know if she explained what was going on but I suppose she would have.

Its gotten a few reactions on Facebook.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Twins.

Giggity! :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I was, but the world was not ready for two of us. RIP

Dont mind the queeen,If jedward dont win the eurovision there be riots on the streets.

:D:D:p And i just thought I would post this as it is my 1000th post :p:D:D

Well done me :p Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

My dad and my uncle are twins.

:o:o:o And i just posted above post in wrong thread :o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

I'm an only child but my name is the same as Thomas the Apostle which means "twin". So, for all I know, there could be a Thomas829 out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

No, but I always wished I had a twin.

I had a lovely neighbour a few years ago and two of her siblings were twins. She envied them because they were so close together. And she told me, friends come and go, families separate as they grow but with twins there is such a special bond that you always have a friend there in times of need and that you're never lonely.

What I hate the most is peoples attitudes towards twins. They are two separate individuals and people have a belief because one twin has an interest in such a thing and does such a such thing, the other twin must follow. Having said there have been times where we would scaringly match. Like years ago we were in town separately. Neither of us knew the other was in town. In the evening at home it turned out that we bought the exact same music cd that day. It wasnt a new release or anything and had been out for years and neither of us talked about it beforehand.

Then there was the time when our CAO form almost matched and she flew off her head shouting I copied her courses which I didnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Jay Pentatonic

Doolee wrote: »

Jay do you two get on? or do ye do much together? Do you find you have changed alot since growing up or how do ye deal with eachothers differences...if you know what I mean. ?

Hi doolee, we've always gotten on well:), I suppose you have to get along well, since twins are almost forced to be with each other all of the time, same home, school etc.

I think we were definitely similar in our younger years, both in apperance and personality, but I think now we've changed a bit and seem a bit different now, especially since we go to different colleges:) we pretty much have our own lives now, since we left school.

Having said that, whenever I introduce someone new to my brother they always say how exactly the same we are!!!:(

Oh well, I see him as a permanent friend, as well as a brother :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

No, I'm not a twin and I wouldn't have wanted to be one part of a set of twins.

I am unique.

Any quintuplets around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

We're almost identical, almost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    I was, but the world was not ready for two of us. RIP

Same here. I often wonder what it would be like now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

I'm a twin and have a twin sister. I'm the left handed one. So that makes her the evil one.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭rmchmufc

ive a twin and when we were school we were in nearly all the same subjects at the same level, so when we had homework we would each concentrate on one subject and then give each other the answers. never had the guts to try what the op did though!!

You were done for plagiarism because the lecturer found you (well he or she thought it was you) hanging out with a guy doing a phd :confused:

Surely they needed proof of plagiarism to "do you for plagiarism" :confused:

This "story" makes no sense to me whatsoever.

Please explain.

I shall clarify :)

I was in fourth year doing a final year thesis and my sister was friends with a guy doing a phd in my course,
    My supervisor would see my sister and her friend on a daily basis at computers and whatever and put two and two together and got 5
    When I got my initial results for the thesis I was given plagirisim citations and was told that my work was not my own ( meaning that *sarcasm font* obviously the phd did it)
    I discussed this with my supervisor and he said that he was suspicious that I was spending time with the phd...I was gobsmacked and stated that I had a twin. I had a further interview with supervisor and other person to show that I knew what I was talking about in the thesis and got my marks increased

I hope that clarifys :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I've got a twin. She's a parasite though. Couldn't let me live my own life. Was jealous of me getting on with my life. Used to blame me for all sorts that went on in her life. Wished me dead and split my head open. Hit the animals to get to me. She's very childish, so to fk with that. Dont need that crap in life. Moved away and for the first time ever im known for who i am, couldn't be happier away from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

There are 7 years between my mam and her sister but they are the spitting image of each other and always end up wearing the same clothes as each other, one lives in dublin the other in louth. very very strange.

I've got a twin. She's a parasite though. Couldn't let me live my own life. Was jealous of me getting on with my life. Used to blame me for all sorts that went on in her life. Wished me dead and split my head open. Hit the animals to get to me. She's very childish, so to fk with that. Dont need that crap in life. Moved away and for the first time ever im known for who i am, couldn't be happier away from her.

Jaysis you're username matches your outlook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

I have a twin sister....I wonder how many twins are actually in Ireland?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

I never really appreciated how special twins were because all my life I've known loads of them! Right now in my life I would know both twins of 10 sets well, and one twin of another 4 sets well. In my class of twenty-four in National School there were two sets of twins, one mixed :)! The mixed set had a brother and a sister, another older set of twins!

My granny is a twin, and I have twin cousins and second cousins, I'm afraid I might have twins because they're on both sides of the family :O :)

My Dad had a story about twins he knew, they were both in a snooker competition and the worse one got to the final. He wasn't doing well so at the mid-session interval they switched places, and of course the other lad managed to win it :)! I think they split the prize! Unfortunately one of them was in a car accident and is now paralysed in a wheelchair, but they're still identical besides!

One of the sets I know look very different. One is blonde and pale, the other is dark-haired and sallow! So many teachers wouldn't believe them when they said they were twins! It is hard to believe though, as they've got older their faces are more similar but you still wouldn't think they were related :)!

I do think it'd be cool to be a twin, all the twins I know are so close its lovely, they're each others best friend! Its hard to be that close to a regular sibling I think!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

I've an identical twin but as we got older we looked less like each other. Turns out everyone thinks i'm an ignorant bastard as friends always see "me" in Dublin and apparently "I" ignore the sh1te out of them.

Same thing happens to me in UCD when I was a student there. Bloody annoying

In the end I just started waving back to the people I didn't know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

My twin died before birth. Didn't find out until a few years ago.

apparently from what I head in the d'arcy show..2% of the worlds population are twins and 8% of that two percent are unidentical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

My dad and my uncle are twins.

Im sure they would have some great twin stories if they were on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

m-a-i- wrote: »
    apparently from what I head in the d'arcy show..2% of the worlds population are twins and 8% of that two percent are unidentical

So 92% of the twins in the world are identical?? (Obviously when they are the same sex!) More of the twins I know are from a mixed set! I've added up properly how many I know and so far I can think of 22 sets, 9 are mixed and of the other 13, 6 are identical! Its very interesting really! I know no triplets though :(