Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nightclubs and the people in them

• 14-05-2011 9:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

I honestly can't see how anyone can enjoy the places.

**** music, over priced booze, getting ripped off at the door all on top of having to pay some racist taxi driver a fortune to drive you home for fifteen minutes.

Seriously... why?

What's even more confusing are the people in the places. I swear, some of them think they're in some epic club in the heart of LA or NYC. You're in a glorified basement of some half-rate pub that's having its seventeenth 're-opening launch party'. ...

Then there's the obligatory people yammering on about 'last night' and who did what and what happened. Oh you should be so proud of yourself having vomiting twice, getting escorted from the place by the bouncers, fighting or whatever...

Grand places if you want a ride all the same... Avoid them like the plague though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Grand places if you want a ride all the same... Avoid them like the plague though!

sounds like you didn't deano!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

And what's the deal with these small bags of peanuts you get on airplanes? Could they be any smaller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

I was thinking the same thing.

"A girl looks at you but it turns out she doesnt love you at all."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Yugioh

**** music, over priced booze, getting ripped off at the door all on top of having to pay some racist taxi driver a fortune to drive you home for fifteen minutes.

Seriously... why?

What's even more confusing are the people in the places. I swear, some of them think they're in some epic club in the heart of LA or NYC. You're in a glorified basement of some half-rate pub that's having its seventeenth 're-opening launch party'. ...

Then there's the obligatory people yammering on about 'last night' and who did what and what happened. Oh you should be so proud of yourself having vomiting twice, getting escorted from the place by the bouncers, fighting or whatever...

People in Ireland have a strange concept of a night out. It's not fun unless you're hammered in a club, dancing to Rihanna while also patrolling around looking for the shift.

Pretty small minded stuff.

The same people say they can't go to these places sober because it'd be horrible. Why put up with such rubbish then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭double GG

They all go to get the shift obviously.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭woodturner

When i gave up drinking and smoking i still went out the odd weekend and drank 7up. The stuff you see when your sober would terrify you. I couldn't for a second picture myself staggering around the place off my trolly mumbling the height of rubbish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

A night out is what you make it, get lock collapse in the street and end up in A+E getting your stomach pumped, at least you'll have a story.

Either that or sit at home and log on to boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I Grand places if you want a ride all the same...

Meah, personally i prefer the comforts of the bedroom :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I swear, some of them think they're in some epic club in the heart of LA or NYC. You're in a glorified basement of some half-rate pub that's having its seventeenth 're-opening launch party'. ...

Those 'epic clubs' aren't much better.

cafecolour wrote: »
    Those 'epic clubs' aren't much better.

Just try some of these clubs and you'll realise what a nightclub actually is.

http://www.olddjmag.com/index.php?op=top100club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Nightclubs here would tend to be actually better then NYC or LA. Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

Main reason that I would contemplate going to a nightclub is because of this country's poxy opening hours laws.

Whoosh... half twelve...last orders. FÚCK sake! Night over or go to a club? Not even the option of a take-out from an off-licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Yugioh wrote: »

At this point I've been in a number of 'top clubs'. The aesthetic details are definitely better: i.e. better decor/brighter lights/better dressed people, but they're essentially the same to me. Though the crowd tends to have a higher proportion of them on drugs

Maybe I just don't like big crowds, but I tend to prefer less 'public' gatherings: i.e. outdoor raves/warehouse parties/house parties. They can be smaller and less aesthetically pleasing, but the vibe is better and people are friendlier.

Same way I'd rather see a band a didn't know in a small venue than a band I did know in a stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I like a bit of everything to be honest. House parties/wine bars are generally my choice, but a good dance in a club goes down great once in awhile! Its great for knob-spotting too, and not the get-the-ride type knobs :p trendies posing and people on the prowl are comedy gold to watch on a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

You must be doing it wrong. Night clubs can be great craic once you don't go to one every weekend. It also depends on who you go with and what mood your in. Music tastes and age also play a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I have a shmexy girlfriend so :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

There is plenty of decent clubs out there that have 2 or 3 rooms of different sounds and a different clientel in each, it sounds like you are just going to converted pubs that are nothing but sweat boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Bobjims

Number 8 watergate is the best club I've ever been to. It's just incredible.

Berghain at number 1 is the hardest club I've ever tried to get into, completely random door policy. You walk up and straight away they say you are not welcome here. I'd say about 7 out of ten people in the queue that night got rejected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

People in Ireland have a strange concept of a night out. It's not fun unless you're hammered in a club, dancing to Rihanna while also patrolling around looking for the shift.

Pretty small minded stuff.

The same people say they can't go to these places sober because it'd be horrible. Why put up with such rubbish then?

My sentiments exactly, very well put. Sounds like the typical Irish dishco And tbh I love Rihanna as much as the next man, in fact my google search history may suggest I love her more than the usual amount. But if the music 'policy' of your preferred dishco is strictly top 30 sh1te then that really is the nail in the coffin. It can only ever get so good.

You sum it up there pretty well. Ireland doesn't have nightclubs, it has dishcos. :pac:

Bobjims wrote: »
    Berghain at number 1 is the hardest club I've ever tried to get into, completely random door policy. You walk up and straight away they say you are not welcome here. I'd say about 7 out of ten people in the queue that night got rejected.

I haven't been but I heard that unless your part of a pair/couple you're not going to get in. It's meant to be worth multiple rejections though!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Black Leather

Nightclubs are full of sexy women - that is why we go to them - simple!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

cosanostra wrote: »
    There is plenty of decent clubs out there that have 2 or 3 rooms of different sounds and a different clientel in each, it sounds like you are just going to converted pubs that are nothing but sweat boxes.
    This. It seems that the majority of people on this forum don't realise that Coppers and The Palace aren't the only nightclubs in Ireland. Dublin isn't exactly spoilt for choice, but if you have any genuine interest in music you'll probably be ale to find one or two clubs around where the punters are tunes suit your tastes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Sure where else would you go? Home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Seriously... why?

How old are you dean0?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭shanec1928

I have a shmexy girlfriend so :P
    pics or gtfo:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You're going to the wrong places. I will use my favourite nightclub, NV on Leeson Street, as an example here.
    **** music,
    This place has probably the best DJ in Dublin.
    over priced booze
    €1 drinks until midnight on Friday and Saturday, 2 for 1 all night on Friday
    getting ripped off at the door
    Facebook, most clubs have a guest list you can sign up for each night
    all on top of having to pay some racist taxi driver a fortune to drive you home for fifteen minutes.
    Nitelink at the weekends.
    Seriously... why?
    Because it's FUN.

Just because you are incapable of enjoying a good night, doesn't mean everyone else is.
    Then there's the obligatory people yammering on about 'last night' and who did what and what happened.

Excuse us for wanting to reminisce the day after a great night which we enjoyed?
    Oh you should be so proud of yourself having vomiting twice, getting escorted from the place by the bouncers, fighting or whatever...

I have never vomited or fought in a nightclub, and the only time I was ever thrown out was at Wezz as a young fella when I was caught at the scene of a crime (table had just been smashed and I happened to be standing nearby)

Is this because you have regular access to the ride yourself, or because you have no chance whatsoever of actually pulling when you go out?
    Judging by your attitude here, I'm going to assume the latter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 cleo086

i Love night clubs and have never been to A+E because of going out if you love to dance where else is there???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Seriously... why?

I go to clubs that play good music, i don't drink, i'm almost always on the guest list as i know the lads who run the nights i go to and i live within a nice strolling distance of town.

I guess that's why.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Stuff
    Well said for the most part, but having read the blurb on NV's website:
    NV is a modern City Centre nightclub situated on Dublin’s historic- Lower Leeson Street. Offering a Chic, relaxed atmosphere with top DJ’s playing the very latest chart, mainstream and old school classics.

I'm going to have to politely disagree with:
    This place has probably the best DJ in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Give me a latebar over a nightclub. Free entry, decent price of a pint, usually a better atmosphere and clientele.

Still do frequent clubs from time to time but lets face it - they could be a lot better. The prospect of a roide or more drink ( everyone cheer ) is the only thing going and both are usually overpriced :) Music is usually terrible and there are a lot of eijets cutting about the place. Also don't get me started on bouncers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭doopa

Bobjims wrote: »
    Number 8 watergate is the best club I've ever been to. It's just incredible.

Berlin is an excellent place to go clubbing. Couldn't believe it the first time I was there. Absolutely amazing.

Also - got rejected from Berghain.:mad: But its not like there is a shortage of great clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Well said for the most part, but having read the blurb on NV's website:

I'm going to have to politely disagree with:

Their site is hopelessly out of date.
    DJ there last Saturday played Meet Her At The Love Parade and The Launch, for example. Two fantastics tunes I have never heard a DJ in Dublin play before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Their site is hopelessly out of date.
    DJ there last Saturday played Meet Her At The Love Parade and The Launch, for example. Two fantastics tunes I have never heard a DJ in Dublin play before.

Being honest i would walk out of a club if those tracks were played, i would just know it wasn't gonna be my kind of spot.

Gotta love music though, something for everyone somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭CallMeFlo

I'm not into Dublin's night life what so ever, I'm not a big fan of drinking anyway and only ever do when people ask and apparently the main thing to do when clubbing is getting locked but why would I want to get drunk in front of a load of strangers, possibly make a fool out of myself and get chatted up by said strangers then have them trying to kiss me with their herpes riddled mouths? Also the places are sweatboxes and mainly filled with foreigners and scumbags. Not into it at all... God I'm such a boring eighteen year old :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

CallMeFlo wrote: »
    I'm not into Dublin's night life what so ever, I'm not a big fan of drinking anyway and only ever do when people ask and apparently the main thing to do when clubbing is getting locked but why would I want to get drunk in front of a load of strangers, possibly make a fool out of myself and get chatted up by said strangers then have them trying to kiss me with their herpes riddled mouths? Also the places are sweatboxes and mainly filled with foreigners and scumbags. Not into it at all... God I'm such a boring eighteen year old :rolleyes:

You're probably a ****e ride! :P oj

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

it's hard to find an Irish only place these days, there might even be foreigners on boards :eek:

Samich wrote: »
    You're probably a ****e ride! :P oj

How did you know!?! :eek: :p

ColeTrain wrote: »
    it's hard to find an Irish only place these days, there might even be foreigners on boards :eek:

Nowhere is safe!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

anyone else read the reviews of these clubs and think to themselves....what a load of utter ****?

not the clubs themselves so much as the pretentious gimpishness and utter fcukwittery of the reviews

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

If you don't like nightclubs then don't go. What's the big ****ing problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ICE HOUSE

Ireland + Nightclub = FAIL !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭DCUlad

Exactly, if you don't like nightclubs then stay the feck away from them untill you get a life of maybe even a few friends. Research has indicated that having said life or friends, ideally both, will enhance your nightclub experience.

There is a number of people here on this that constantly bash nightclubs, its the next common thing after bashing those baxtards in the catholic church.

I have had some absolute serious nights in nightclubs, some sh1te nights aswell, but ya have to take the rough with the smooth.

For the people giving out about music, what can a DJ do? he has to play a mix that suits the majority of the crowd. Not a selection that suits the 3 grungers in the corner trying to slit their wrists with broken glass.

You sound gas

and a wee bit xenophobic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I was in a club at the weekend sober.

It would have been ****e if i wasn't in for the shift.

Drunk people are annoying.

I would love to see a nightclub full of sober people with the odd drunk roaming around!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Seriously... why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Is somebody forcing you to go? Alot of people love them hence why they are packed out alot of the time.

You sound gas

and a wee bit xenophobic?

Well what can I say? I am, I'm hilarious :p

No not at all, I just don't like them on a night out because the majority of them are perves :o

Oh and to the people saying don't go and such like, I don't anymore :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

No not at all, I just don't like them on a night out because the majority of them are perves :o

and the majority of women are money grabbing whores.

oh oh oh, see what I did there?

SV wrote: »
    and the majority of women are money grabbing whores.

oh oh oh, see what I did there?

How so? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn