Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How much do you think I should get paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Everyone with a brain knows that the Minimum wage relates to an hourly rate except you and some other people that want it to be a net pay issue. CO's are at the right end of the pay scale if they can't even understand basics

I think you are struggling with this one. If the op was to take stock and say to himself am i really better off working here than on the dole what do you think he is going to compare??? His gross pay :rolleyes: or his spending power i.e. his take home vs the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,398 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Any civil servant earning €400 a week would be dear at half the price.

Really?

Any civil servant earning €400 a week would be dear at half the price.

Yeah dear at the same level as the dole? Thats a useful post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭tommy57

Its great the way people begrudge civil servents or public sector workers for having a job, it would seem people with no job want everyone unemployed. Remember the less people working the less money for ALL social welfare payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭macannrb

people with lots of skills, qualifications and experience, would prefer if public servants who earn more of them justified their pay by providing service that justify the tax we are obliged to pay.

Hiding behind unions and the threats of strike action is not the best way to justify PS wages in the light of massive gov debts and deficits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

sollar wrote: »
    I think you are struggling with this one. If the op was to take stock and say to himself am i really better off working here than on the dole what do you think he is going to compare??? His gross pay :rolleyes: or his spending power i.e. his take home vs the dole.

I'm not the one being thick here and him taking stock has nothing to with the minimum wage which is an hourly rate. The subsequent gross/net/take home are all relative to the hourly rate.

You mentioned earlier that you were unemployed last year (possibly getting €196). So now your earning approx €400 a week gross. If i asked you are you much better off working would you tell me, yes i.m 204 (400gross - 196) better off or would you tell me your about 150 better off working. As in the actual amount of money you get into your account.

You see you just focus on figures too much, I can truthfully say there isn't really a difference as you have to adapt to your environs. When I was on the dole I had too make some choices but still had the life I wanted and that's the exact same right now when working but I have more options obviously.

I'll add to that that I still rent as I wasn't stupid enough to buy in the last few years and I didn't have to dip into my savings while on the dole

You seem to have the typical govt mentality of not cutting costs to match revenue. Not everyone is like that and that's the issue people have with the way the deficit is being managed, they are all about take, take, take instead of reducing their cost base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

You see you just focus on figures too much

Economics forum?

You seem to have the typical govt mentality of not cutting costs to match revenue. Not everyone is like that and that's the issue people have with the way the deficit is being managed, they are all about take, take, take instead of reducing their cost base.

Thats not true, we have lost thousands of staff and we have taken up the work, we also have taken the paycut and the infamous pension levy. Its not all about take take take thats just more rubbish slung at public servants. Do you not take any of this in. Unless its a major slash and burn it doesn't seem to register.

If your boss cut your pay last year then asked you to pay more towards your pension for no net benefit to you at the end, didn't replace staff that left or retired and asked you all to take up the work. Then if he called yous into the office and said he wasn't happy because you are all take take take. I'm sure you'd tell him to cop on.

You see you just focus on figures too much, I can truthfully say there isn't really a difference as you have to adapt to your environs. When I was on the dole I had too make some choices but still had the life I wanted and that's the exact same right now when working but I have more options obviously.

I'll add to that that I still rent as I wasn't stupid enough to buy in the last few years and I didn't have to dip into my savings while on the dole

We bought in 2006, are you calling anyone who bought in the past decade stupid without knowing their precise circumstances?

People can only do so much to reduce their cost base. As I mentioned in countless threads the situation of any two families/individuals cannot always be compared fairly without knowing all the details.
    There are many costs that one has to pay if one is in employment- no matter how much you earn the costs are the same. And if one has a family then the costs can increase significantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 lasnoufle

If your boss cut your pay last year then asked you to pay more towards your pension for no net benefit to you at the end, didn't replace staff that left or retired and asked you all to take up the work. Then if he called yous into the office and said he wasn't happy because you are all take take take. I'm sure you'd tell him to cop on.
    Well that depends if the company does good or not obviously. If the company is about to go bankrupt I could consider getting pay cuts and working more in order to help the company staying afloat and keep my job.

If the company is doing good and the boss tells me something like that, he gets my notice straight away. And before you say I'm all talk, I've done it twice already, both times without any second thought, and for smaller things than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭waster81

Well when I see a large private sector business like our banks, just take take take and not reduce their cost base, you might forgive me for thinking all private sector business aint all just out for themselves.

kippy wrote: »
    We bought in 2006, are you calling anyone who bought in the past decade stupid without knowing their precise circumstances?

People can only do so much to reduce their cost base. As I mentioned in countless threads the situation of any two families/individuals cannot always be compared fairly without knowing all the details.
    There are many costs that one has to pay if one is in employment- no matter how much you earn the costs are the same. And if one has a family then the costs can increase significantly.

I am on about the govt adding taxes and levies without tackling their cost base, not individual PS workers.

waster81 wrote: »
    Well when I see a large private sector business like our banks, just take take take and not reduce their cost base, you might forgive me for thinking all private sector business aint all just out for themselves.

And you would be correct, the goal of any business is to make a profit. What's your point?

Maybe you have some issue with the way our wonderful govt employees let them operate with impunity and then our TD's that bailed them out. You, I and the rest of the country all feel the same about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭thebman

In fairness if most businesses were losing money and had a monopoly position in the market and trade unions, they would probably behave the same way.

Which is why we should run as many services as we can privately by multiple companies to ensure we don't end up this moronic situation of increasing taxes because it is easier than taking on unions.

Can't believe we are still in this situation despite electing the supposedly most right wing party in the country.

I am on about the govt adding taxes and levies without tackling their cost base, not individual PS workers.

You made the point about "not being STUPID ENOUGH to buy a house in the past few years"...........with the clear implication that anyone who bought a house in the past few years is/was stupid...........

If you want to see that well then that's your choice, the fact you are so defensive about it says a lot really.

I was also told I was stupid not to have bought a house because prices were only going up. Well it didn't bother me then but if obviously bothers you if you feel this way about it. Considering both sides were called stupid, which one is in a better situation now? Personally I think I made a better choice.

Obviously this is a moot point for people that feel they didn't overpay and can still afford to live comfortably

If you want to see that well then that's your choice, the fact you are so defensive about it says a lot really.

I was also told I was stupid not to have bought a house because prices were only going up. Well it didn't bother me then but if obviously bothers you if you feel this way about it. Considering both sides were called stupid, which one is in a better situation now? Personally I think I made a better choice.

Obviously this is a moot point for people that feel they didn't overpay and can still afford to live comfortably

You made the generalisation that people who bought houses in the past few years were stupid. Being a person who bought a house in the past few years makes me stupid according to your logic. It bothers me that you believe me and a lot more like me to be stupid - based only on our decisions to purchase a house.
    You made a "Better choice" because it suited your circumstances not to buy, perhaps you weren't in a position to either - a position you no doubt reviewed, factored in future changes and realised you were better off not buying.
    We did the same reviews over the years and came to a point where it made a lot more sense to buy a house - a decision I dont regret now and I dont see regretting into the future.
    You made your decision and it worked out for you but calling a whole grouping of people stupid based on your own personal circumstances is foolish.

Being called stupid should bother anyone - it obviously bothered you back them, to be bringing it up now.

Its a moot point for people who made the decision to buy based on stable circumstances, reviewing their finances, lifestyle and factoring in future changes.

Sorry, appear to have brought the thread off topic - but again, I dont like absolute bull being written here as fact and it needs to be cleared up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Why do they have no say in the matter?

I think so long as you are thinking in terms of what is fair relative to other jobs, you should consider whether someone who is currently unemployed and capable of doing your job would be prepared to do it for. And if they would do it for less, what is it that you bring to the table that justifies the extra pay?

I'm currently unemployed and desperate for work. In fact, I would do his job for a fiver an hour. I don't mean to be disrespectful to you splendid101 but I badly need a job.

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    I'm currently unemployed and desperate for work. In fact, I would do his job for a fiver an hour. I don't mean to be disrespectful to you splendid101 but I badly need a job.

thats less than the dole.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,954 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Finnbar01 wrote: »

no you wouldnt, so stop being a liar!
    you earn more on the SW. factor in travel to work and the cost of lunch etc etc you would be on alot less than the current SW.

kceire wrote: »
    no you wouldnt, so stop being a liar!
    you earn more on the SW. factor in travel to work and the cost of lunch etc etc you would be on alot less than the current SW.
    A good argument to cutting welfare payments

You made the generalisation that people who bought houses in the past few years were stupid. Being a person who bought a house in the past few years makes me stupid according to your logic. It bothers me that you believe me and a lot more like me to be stupid - based only on our decisions to purchase a house.
    You made a "Better choice" because it suited your circumstances not to buy, perhaps you weren't in a position to either - a position you no doubt reviewed, factored in future changes and realised you were better off not buying.
    We did the same reviews over the years and came to a point where it made a lot more sense to buy a house - a decision I dont regret now and I dont see regretting into the future.
    You made your decision and it worked out for you but calling a whole grouping of people stupid based on your own personal circumstances is foolish.

Being called stupid should bother anyone - it obviously bothered you back them, to be bringing it up now.

Its a moot point for people who made the decision to buy based on stable circumstances, reviewing their finances, lifestyle and factoring in future changes.

Sorry, appear to have brought the thread off topic - but again, I dont like absolute bull being written here as fact and it needs to be cleared up.

You are "dead" right. Call it like it is.

These guys, cribbing and moaning is a lost opportunity. I don't know how people who engage in that don't commit....

macannrb wrote: »
    A good argument to cutting welfare payments

A good argument for cutting everything - why pay anyone for anything at all.
    Barter is where it is it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 506 ✭✭✭common sense brigade

Hiya,
    my opinion would be as a low grade clerical officer you should be paid 23,500 per annum, after so many years service rising to no more than 26,500 per annum.
    im basing this on my own salary. I am a higly skilled document controller in the private sector. I have 7 years exp and my job is very technical. I earn 25,750 per annum.
    Also i have a freind who is a clerical officer in the Dole Office. He encounters abuse daily and it is a hard demanding job. He is in a high grade and earning 30,000 a year. I think its a tad excessive myself but not due to the work, the work is hard. Only cos he gets alot of holidays and half days.

A good argument for cutting everything - why pay anyone for anything at all.
    Barter is where it is it.
    I think there are good economic reasons for having currency.

But solution to paying to much for basic services, would normally mean cutting the service, and with it the jobs of those who provide it, or cutting the cost of the service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

thats less than the dole.
    I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

I'm jumping out of my skin at this point to just WORK. (Partly the humour I'm in right now!). But that's how it feels. I just want to do something, anything. I feel like walking in the door of every place I pass and saying "could you just give me a job please, I'll do absolutely anything.Just let me work, feck the money".

That's how it feels when you're desperate for a job.And then you've to listen to people whinging about what they do all day vs what they get paid.It's....well, honestly, there's just no words for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

dan_d wrote: »

I'm jumping out of my skin at this point to just WORK. (Partly the humour I'm in right now!). But that's how it feels. I just want to do something, anything. I feel like walking in the door of every place I pass and saying "could you just give me a job please, I'll do absolutely anything.Just let me work, feck the money".

That's how it feels when you're desperate for a job.And then you've to listen to people whinging about what they do all day vs what they get paid.It's....well, honestly, there's just no words for it.

Maybe a little voluntary work??